Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Neato Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Neato Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Robotic vacuums are not to be used as a primary vacuum. They're meant as supplemental cleaning between regular cleaning. The Neato XV-21 is equipped with onboard Room Positioning System (RPS) technology, a revolutionary system developed by Neato Robotics that combines laser vision with mapping. With RPS technology, the robot uses its laser to see its surroundings and create accurate maps of areas to be cleaned, including furniture, objects and doorways. The robot constantly updates its map of the room, so if a new object is added into the room during a cleaning run, the robot will add it to the map.
Average Customer Rating:
3.962 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(106 Reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
60
4 stars
20
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation77%82 out of 106reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 68 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
60
4 stars
20
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

slow and lost

12/10/2012
By ,
Arkansas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It had a great suction but it got stuck under/around chairs. It would just go in a circle completely lost. I spent more time putting it back on track than it was worth. Took back to store for refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Disappointed with the replacement

04/22/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When I first got the Neato XV-21 I was fascinated by it's ability to navigate through chairs, around objects, and otherwise to a great job of vacuuming the house. I'd leave it upstairs for a week and then move it downstairs in order to keep the whole house clean. Then the display died.
Sent it in for a return and Neato sends a slightly older version of the XV-21 (I didn't even know there were older versions - but this one didn't have the battery power switch)....they also had a newer firmware version....and it is abysmal. While the first one could do the whole house and maybe get lost once - this one can't do 1/2 a room. Gets stuck on walls (yep, a wall with nothing around - it'll back up into it and then stop). After a string of 10 emails/calls with their customer service, I'm losing hope. Keep away - unless you end up with one of the good ones.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

AVOID NEATO ROBOTICS

05/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought my current XV21 exactly 13 months ago with a 3 year extended warranty. It was awesome for the 1st 6 months and then it all of a sudden now after running a cycle it dies before finishing and the power light is half illuminated with unresponsive buttons, so i have to unscrew the battery compartments and unplug both batteries then it powers on and I have to reset the clock.
I called Neato and they said they would send a replacement and I would pay a $25 fee. I said well I have an extended warranty so I'll just use that since there is no added fee. Well needless to say I have sent it to Asurion 3 times while waiting about 3 weeks each time to get the unit back in seemingly worse condition (dirty and more scratched) with the exact same issue. I run it 1 or 2 cycles and it is half lit power requiring a battery pull and reset.
So then I call Neato and the rep says I am 30 days past the 1 year warranty even though i called 4 months ago and they don't have any options for replacement. I said, "So I paid $380 for a small vacuum that worked for less than 6 months? When I calculate the 2 times a week for 6 months that I ran it I paid over $10 a use. Unbelievably the Neato rep actually said "unfortunately these vacuums don't have a long life." Well, I have a Roomba that is 5 years old that does my office and although it doesn't clean as thoroughly nor is as intelligent as my Neato it has gone over 500 cycles and hasn't even had the battery changed. So a durable Roomba cleans better than a smart but unreliable Neato that consistently doesn't work.
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Great until.... the LCD screen quits

04/30/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The robot is great until it dies at 15 months. The LCD screen is going blank on many of these so it is a known problem but Neato is not doing anything about it. If it happens in the first 12 months they will send you a refurbished one that has a 90 day warranty. If that LCD quits you now own a $300 anchor.
Seek vacuums that last longer for your money.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Amazing technology!

09/01/2012
By ,
Cocoa, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The XV-21 exceeded all my expectations. I could not believe the dirt it removed from my carpet right after a thorough vacuuming with my Dirt Devil upright. It cleaned closer to the room perimeters than my upright. After the third week, the dirt bin did not fill as quickly, but I think it will take two more weeks of weekly cleanings before it can vacuum the entire home with out overflowing the dirt bin where I need to empty it during each charging session. It runs about 45 minutes on a carpeted area (roughly two rooms or 300 square feet) before requiring a 3 hour recharge, so it takes about 12 hours to vacuum my entire 1400 sq. ft. home. After about 5 weeks I should be able to leave it unattended (no longer emptying the dirt bin). If there is a drawback, it is having to frequently empty the dirt bin the first month since it is more efficient than any vacuum I ever owned and is extracting 9 years of dirt in the carpet that my other vacuums failed to remove.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+92points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Wow!

11/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me start by saying I have owned 4 roombas over the years. 3 vacuums and the scuba floor washer. I liked them but the improvements seemed to be in scheduling and not much improvement in the cleaning ability...a yet I would purchase the newer models in hopes of a better clean. So I checked out the newest model, new rubber brushes making cleaning the brushes an easier task...and I will tell you the time cleaning those brushes at times took as long as if I had vacuumed the room myself. When I saw the price...$700!...I decided to look around and see what else was out there.
The first thing that caught my eye was a youtube video showing the comparison between the neato and the irobot...a massive difference in what the units would pick up. My next question...would it last? My last roomba lasted about a year which really ticked me off. When I called the company they gave me a "deal" on another unit which lasted about six months before dying. I was tired of spending money on the better batteries to make it last longer for a unit that would last about a year...just enough time for the warranty to expire...I started using the regular vacuum again.
So I checked out the prices on the Neato and found a great deal here at Walmart $140 off the regular price! Got the unit the night before a really busy day at work and started charging right away. When I got home exhausted I put the unit to work. I had read reviews about the noise but I found the unit was no more noisy than the roomba and in fact was a less annoying noise. The dog barked at it for a minute and then ignored it. I had the charger tucked in a corner and didn't expect the unit to find its way back but it was the only logical place for it...then I fell asleep in the living room chair. I woke up at 4 am and started searching for the unit...I was used to finding the roomba under my queen bed usually just out of my reach. When I didn't see it I checked the charger and there it was, back in place and fully charged again...I was shocked. Next I emptied the dust bin and found it was STUFFED with debris much beyond what I expected. I have wood floors and low pile woven carpet so dirt shows quickly. I emptied the unit and sent it out again to cover the same area...again the bin came back stuffed! Next I sent it out to tackle the bedrooms with similar results. Once it got stuck under a chair and had to be rescued...no problem, I will reverse the chairs on the dining room table next time.
The biggest difference between the units...aside from price is that the Neato has an actual vacuum whereas the roomba is strictly a sweeper. I didn't think that would make so much of a difference on my type of flooring...I was very wrong about that.
Although the run life between charging is much less in a Neato, I found the intelligence of the unit and the way it cleaned was much more logical and efficient than the roomba and did in that shorter time as much or more than the roomba did with up to 3 times longer. If the roomba hit a fringe in a rug...game over. The Neato backs off the fringe and untangles itself. It did once stop when a 1 inch wide cloth strap got stuck...my fault I thought I had gotten it out of the way. One reviewer mentioned it didn't go over saddles well...I found no issues and was surprised to see it navigate over a large saddle at an angle after it couldn't get over it going straight. As far as the unit not lasting more than a year..I got the 3 year contract with Walmart, I don't care if they send me another refurbished unit as long as it cleans as well as this one. I have used the unit now 4 times and haven't even looked at the brushes for cleaning...with the roomba I HAD to clean them after each use.
So even WITH the 3 year contract I got this unit for HALF the price of the newest roomba and am much happier with this unit than I have been with ANY roomba.
I will go as far as to say this unit is more efficient than my regular vacuum and although there will always be areas it won't get to...nothing that a swiffer or a dust buster won't handle.
irobot has lost a long time customer...I'm a Neato fan now.
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

great vac

12/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The unit is heavier then the cheaper units so therefor it has more traction and can get it self out of fixes.
I used the unit on the whole house and it would go back to the charging base, charge up and go back to where it left off and continue and that is what I was looking for so I can schedule the unit to start when I go to work and it will be done by the time I get home.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Nice little helper

12/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Being owned by two bi-color Rag Doll cats keeping the shed fur under control is no easy task. It's funny because I can run it and pick up a good deal of hair, however immediately running again (after charging) and it still picks up more. Not a great deal, as in the first pass, but still picks up stuff. I run it daily, sometimes more. After ten months I had to replace the batteries ($55.00 on ebay). Most battery manufacturers list 300-500 recharges, so while on the low side they still lived up to that number.
I guess I had not read the manual to closely (like most men, no patience) so I didn't realize the filler could be washed and cleaned which made them effective for many months. Now I wash them well, then with my shop vac dry them, and remove any dirt left from the soaping. It is VERY important to empty the collection box each time it is done. I clean the filter each time also, guess I'm a bit OCl,lol.
Don't think this will replace your upright. However I can go three or four days between major vacuuming thanks to the Neato. And easy. Set it to clean as often as you like. It will wake up, clean the house(Apt.)then return to it's charger to get ready for tomorrow.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

It actually works!

12/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In today's world of big promises for all the gadgets that companies want you to buy and then they underperform or just flat out don't do what they say they will, this vacuum does an awesome job! I bought a referbished Neato XV-21 in Jan of 2014. We have 4 kids and 3 dogs. It works great! We just bought one for Christmas for my parents and one for my wife's Mom. Walmart's price is now cheaper for a new one than we paid for the referbished one.
It does not get along the edge of the wall and it will get stuck on socks that kids somehow manage to leave under their bed every day, but it cleans up a huge amount of dog hair and dirt the kids bring in daily. We have wood floors and low carpets. I don't think I'd recommend it for thick carpets though.
All in all... love it!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Best purchase ever!

12/06/2013
By ,
Beaumont tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love love my neato soooo much!!! I'm a full time working wife and this has taken one of my chores off the list! It works extremely well! I have thick hair down to my low back and it picks up hair, dirt, dust and everything in between! I was sooo surprised the first time I ran it.. It covered my entire 1600 sq ft home and went from my tile to carpet to bathroom rugs whith no problem! I even tested it- after it vacuumed my house I went over my carpets with my cyclonic vacuum and nothing came up! I couldn't believe it! My mom bought the roomba and she is returning it for a neato because the roomba hardly picks up anything. The neato also goes in a methodical pattern so when I come home it looks like a freshly vacuumed . It is a little loud but I don't mind because I appreciate the power of the suction- I just turn it on and go to work!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Love it!!

11/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought one when I installed hardwood floors in my house. This thing works great! You could knit a sweater a week with the dog hair my Bassett sheds but this machine keeps it manageable. I have a 2800 sq ft home and I loved it so much, I bought a second one. I'm using one in the front half of the house and one in the back half. You still need to vacuum once a week to get the stuff it misses but it REALLY is a big help.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Why I cannot live without my Neato

12/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this last year. The dirt this product picks up is amazing. A few months after receiving this had problems with it. Called and whomever I spoke to could not have been more courteous and helpful. The problem was solved temporarily. Called back, they tried to help me remedy the problem, it was not able to be repaired via telephone guidance. They sent me within a week a new XV-21 and the damaged one was returned in the box and label they provided. We were gone for Thanksgiving and when we returned I noticed that it was not working. Another person walked me through trying to fix it and once again, this person could not have been more courteous and helpful even though dealing with someone to whom electronics are a mystery. I had less then one week on my warranty. They sent me another one and I am in the process of returning the damaged one. I cannot recommend this Company enough. They make an outstanding product, one that makes you unable to live without. Their public relations are excellent and whomever is at the top, which is where all of this starts, certainly knows what he or she is doing. I would, have and continue to recommend this product as well as any one that this Company produces to anyone who will listen. It is priced within the means of most and certainly lives up to any advertising that is posted regarding it. Would certainly look forward to purchasing another Neato from this Company without hesitation.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Powerful, smart and easy to use.

12/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Efficient robotic vacuum cleaner and easy to operate.
His pumping engine the most powerful in the category, as is evident from its cleanliness.
Smart and efficient algorithm prevents waste of time and repeated the places that already vacuum cleaner past them. The navigation system remembers the last position if the battery level dropped and requires charging. After charging the robot returns to where he'd left off.
We enjoy a clean house, all it takes is to pick up what advance not need to be on the floor or carpet.
Strongly recommend one at home - to maintain sanity ... (-:
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

New butler

12/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my new Neato Butler, he is amazing....he navigates around chairs, dogs etc. and did very well picking up the dog hair on both the wood floors and the carpet. I have a Golden Retriever that sheds enough everyday to make a new dog and the Neato picked it up. I am going to try the pet hair roller as some of the hair got caught in the brushes on the regular roller.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Needs more stigma

12/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got the Neato XV-21 on Black Friday. It runs for 10-15 minutes and then says it needs to recharge. I emailed customer service and they told me to let it go back to recharge and cancel the rest of my cleaning. I did this for three days like they said and the battery life still didn't get better. Very disappointed!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

confused robot

10/10/2013
By ,
Portland, OR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We did heavy research between this product, consumer reports, roomba, and the other competing models. This seemed like the best machine for several reasons: pet hair, features, durability, reviews, and design.
We we're totally let down. Upon running the device for the first time it kept getting stuck under furniture and since it was scanning the room to a program and we had to keep moving it, it became confused and started to keep vacuuming the same areas over and over, never going to another part of the house and then eventually wouldn't leave the dock to vacuum at all even after a reset and attempting to work with Neato customer service. They want you to send them video which is fine but it seems like that was going to take forever to resolve.
After enough disappointment and realizing we could have swept and moped the floors twice by the time this thing barely covered the living room, we decided to return it. Just seemed like more trouble than its worth even though we wanted it because we knew we'd be busy with the new baby and with pets you must sweep weekly at least. We gave it several fair chances.
Let down.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

It's a fun toy

12/13/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Vacuum's well; get's under beds; nice to have ; however the unit is prone to getting itself stuck by obstacles.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Terrible battery

12/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm returning this today. The battery life is terrible. Lasted 30 minutes at the absolute longest, most often shorter than that.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Better than the other brand

12/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great vac. I have had the other brand and there gen. Like this one better ! Even though the battery life is about the same.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Nice Vacuum

12/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works great on both carpet and hardwood floors.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 101 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next