Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Neato Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Neato Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Robotic vacuums are not to be used as a primary vacuum. They're meant as supplemental cleaning between regular cleaning. The Neato XV-21 is equipped with onboard Room Positioning System (RPS) technology, a revolutionary system developed by Neato Robotics that combines laser vision with mapping. With RPS technology, the robot uses its laser to see its surroundings and create accurate maps of areas to be cleaned, including furniture, objects and doorways. The robot constantly updates its map of the room, so if a new object is added into the room during a cleaning run, the robot will add it to the map.
Average Customer Rating:
3.95 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(160 Reviews) 154
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
83
4 stars
40
3 stars
6
2 stars
8
1 star
23
Customer Recommendation82%132 out of 160reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 69 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
83
4 stars
40
3 stars
6
2 stars
8
1 star
23
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

slow and lost

12/10/2012
By ,
Arkansas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It had a great suction but it got stuck under/around chairs. It would just go in a circle completely lost. I spent more time putting it back on track than it was worth. Took back to store for refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Disappointed with the replacement

04/22/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When I first got the Neato XV-21 I was fascinated by it's ability to navigate through chairs, around objects, and otherwise to a great job of vacuuming the house. I'd leave it upstairs for a week and then move it downstairs in order to keep the whole house clean. Then the display died.
Sent it in for a return and Neato sends a slightly older version of the XV-21 (I didn't even know there were older versions - but this one didn't have the battery power switch)....they also had a newer firmware version....and it is abysmal. While the first one could do the whole house and maybe get lost once - this one can't do 1/2 a room. Gets stuck on walls (yep, a wall with nothing around - it'll back up into it and then stop). After a string of 10 emails/calls with their customer service, I'm losing hope. Keep away - unless you end up with one of the good ones.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

AVOID NEATO ROBOTICS

05/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought my current XV21 exactly 13 months ago with a 3 year extended warranty. It was awesome for the 1st 6 months and then it all of a sudden now after running a cycle it dies before finishing and the power light is half illuminated with unresponsive buttons, so i have to unscrew the battery compartments and unplug both batteries then it powers on and I have to reset the clock.
I called Neato and they said they would send a replacement and I would pay a $25 fee. I said well I have an extended warranty so I'll just use that since there is no added fee. Well needless to say I have sent it to Asurion 3 times while waiting about 3 weeks each time to get the unit back in seemingly worse condition (dirty and more scratched) with the exact same issue. I run it 1 or 2 cycles and it is half lit power requiring a battery pull and reset.
So then I call Neato and the rep says I am 30 days past the 1 year warranty even though i called 4 months ago and they don't have any options for replacement. I said, "So I paid $380 for a small vacuum that worked for less than 6 months? When I calculate the 2 times a week for 6 months that I ran it I paid over $10 a use. Unbelievably the Neato rep actually said "unfortunately these vacuums don't have a long life." Well, I have a Roomba that is 5 years old that does my office and although it doesn't clean as thoroughly nor is as intelligent as my Neato it has gone over 500 cycles and hasn't even had the battery changed. So a durable Roomba cleans better than a smart but unreliable Neato that consistently doesn't work.
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Great until.... the LCD screen quits

04/30/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The robot is great until it dies at 15 months. The LCD screen is going blank on many of these so it is a known problem but Neato is not doing anything about it. If it happens in the first 12 months they will send you a refurbished one that has a 90 day warranty. If that LCD quits you now own a $300 anchor.
Seek vacuums that last longer for your money.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Not Happy

01/02/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased Neato because of previous ratings and great Black Friday deal. Overall, easy to get started and program. But, after it kept stopping in the middle of the room and reading to clear it's path when there was nothing around it, I began to get worried. Then it started repeating it's cycle and getting stuck under a chair. Before the sale ended, I decided to refund my money and start with a new Neato. As soon as my new Neato arrived. I put it on the base to charge and programed it. It started as scheduled, but died 10 mins after it left the base even after a 48 hr charge. I hit the start button to restart and it took off to do its job but after about 5 mins out it stopped in the hallway and asked for the path to be cleared. My house is all hardwood and clear of all possible interruptions. I was done! I returned the Neato and purchased a Roomba for $150 more, but well worth it. Love My Roomba!!!! Sorry Neato, but you left me very disappointed.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Love It But.....

12/31/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This works better than I ever thought it could!!! The only complaint I have is the documentation is almost non existent!! Even when I emailed a question to support they gave me the wrong answer. Got the right one from another owner on here.
The docs tell you what you have to do when you install a new battery. What they DON'T tell you is that the battery in your vac-bot is, guess what, NEW, so you have to break it in also. That is why you have people complaining about the short time it runs before needing to charge.
You will be surprised how well it does it's job after you give it a chance to learn your rooms. Even if you think it has missed part of it give it a chance. Most of the time it will go back and get it even if it does another room first.
You need to run it about 3 or 4 times before it learns what it needs to. You need to learn where it needs help also. Like areas it might get stuck or what you should maybe move so it can work more efficiently.
All in all I LOVE mine after I got to know how it works.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Truly a wife pleaser

12/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This vacuum is a very welcome asset to our family, 3 dogs, cat and many birds.
After extensive research, we selected the Neato XV-21 vacuum and very glad we did.
Bottom Line Up Front: Wife very happy, I am happy, animals accept it and do not bother it and it cleans deep (even picked up dog hair etc after she used the Kirby an hour before.
Exceptional easy to put into service and operates without any assistance other than picking up items on the floor like dog bones, etc. We programmed it to do our 1200 square foot downstairs two days a week at a specific time and it vacuums on schedule. We can control what rooms it vacuums by leaving doors open or closing them.
Be careful! It does such a good job getting under the couches and beds that it finds things you did not know are there. Ours found a roll of paper towels under a couch and when it ate into it the machine shut down and displayed text to extract the item and return it to service. Our only issue was finding it when it did not return to it's home.
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Amazing technology!

09/01/2012
By ,
Cocoa, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The XV-21 exceeded all my expectations. I could not believe the dirt it removed from my carpet right after a thorough vacuuming with my Dirt Devil upright. It cleaned closer to the room perimeters than my upright. After the third week, the dirt bin did not fill as quickly, but I think it will take two more weeks of weekly cleanings before it can vacuum the entire home with out overflowing the dirt bin where I need to empty it during each charging session. It runs about 45 minutes on a carpeted area (roughly two rooms or 300 square feet) before requiring a 3 hour recharge, so it takes about 12 hours to vacuum my entire 1400 sq. ft. home. After about 5 weeks I should be able to leave it unattended (no longer emptying the dirt bin). If there is a drawback, it is having to frequently empty the dirt bin the first month since it is more efficient than any vacuum I ever owned and is extracting 9 years of dirt in the carpet that my other vacuums failed to remove.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+100points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

It really WORKS!

01/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First, I really like this machine. I'm a skeptic and a hard sell, but we have two cats. Cats go where a traditional vacuum cannot. The robot goes most of those places. The first couple of times we ran the robot we were surprised at how much cat hair it found. The dust bin is not large but it packed it pretty good. You need to empty the bin after each use and brush off the filter. We program it to run every couple of days now and the amount of hair has significantly decreased (cleaner house). It doesn't like 'shaggy' bathroom rugs, it bogs down then shuts itself down. Pick it up and set it on flat floor and press the GO button and it's off again. Expect about 45 minutes of power before it docks itself for a recharge. The cats just ignore it now. We have dark hardwood, kitchen tile and short pile carpet. It does well on all these surfaces but pick up any socks or cat toys first. No buyer remorse here, our home has never been so well swept.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Wow!

11/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me start by saying I have owned 4 roombas over the years. 3 vacuums and the scuba floor washer. I liked them but the improvements seemed to be in scheduling and not much improvement in the cleaning ability...a yet I would purchase the newer models in hopes of a better clean. So I checked out the newest model, new rubber brushes making cleaning the brushes an easier task...and I will tell you the time cleaning those brushes at times took as long as if I had vacuumed the room myself. When I saw the price...$700!...I decided to look around and see what else was out there.
The first thing that caught my eye was a youtube video showing the comparison between the neato and the irobot...a massive difference in what the units would pick up. My next question...would it last? My last roomba lasted about a year which really ticked me off. When I called the company they gave me a "deal" on another unit which lasted about six months before dying. I was tired of spending money on the better batteries to make it last longer for a unit that would last about a year...just enough time for the warranty to expire...I started using the regular vacuum again.
So I checked out the prices on the Neato and found a great deal here at Walmart $140 off the regular price! Got the unit the night before a really busy day at work and started charging right away. When I got home exhausted I put the unit to work. I had read reviews about the noise but I found the unit was no more noisy than the roomba and in fact was a less annoying noise. The dog barked at it for a minute and then ignored it. I had the charger tucked in a corner and didn't expect the unit to find its way back but it was the only logical place for it...then I fell asleep in the living room chair. I woke up at 4 am and started searching for the unit...I was used to finding the roomba under my queen bed usually just out of my reach. When I didn't see it I checked the charger and there it was, back in place and fully charged again...I was shocked. Next I emptied the dust bin and found it was STUFFED with debris much beyond what I expected. I have wood floors and low pile woven carpet so dirt shows quickly. I emptied the unit and sent it out again to cover the same area...again the bin came back stuffed! Next I sent it out to tackle the bedrooms with similar results. Once it got stuck under a chair and had to be rescued...no problem, I will reverse the chairs on the dining room table next time.
The biggest difference between the units...aside from price is that the Neato has an actual vacuum whereas the roomba is strictly a sweeper. I didn't think that would make so much of a difference on my type of flooring...I was very wrong about that.
Although the run life between charging is much less in a Neato, I found the intelligence of the unit and the way it cleaned was much more logical and efficient than the roomba and did in that shorter time as much or more than the roomba did with up to 3 times longer. If the roomba hit a fringe in a rug...game over. The Neato backs off the fringe and untangles itself. It did once stop when a 1 inch wide cloth strap got stuck...my fault I thought I had gotten it out of the way. One reviewer mentioned it didn't go over saddles well...I found no issues and was surprised to see it navigate over a large saddle at an angle after it couldn't get over it going straight. As far as the unit not lasting more than a year..I got the 3 year contract with Walmart, I don't care if they send me another refurbished unit as long as it cleans as well as this one. I have used the unit now 4 times and haven't even looked at the brushes for cleaning...with the roomba I HAD to clean them after each use.
So even WITH the 3 year contract I got this unit for HALF the price of the newest roomba and am much happier with this unit than I have been with ANY roomba.
I will go as far as to say this unit is more efficient than my regular vacuum and although there will always be areas it won't get to...nothing that a swiffer or a dust buster won't handle.
irobot has lost a long time customer...I'm a Neato fan now.
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

I'm never vacuuming again!

01/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This "Neato" vacuum saves me so much work & time. It works it's way into corners of the rooms, under chairs & tables & then works it's way through the entire room. It has a strong battery life. When the battery is low, it returns itself to the docking station for recharging. It can go from flooring to carpeting & back again with ease. Surprisingly, it vacuums up pet hair completely; nothing left behind. I wish I could find fault with this product but as of now, it meets the needs of our household which consists of 2 adults, 3 dogs & a cat. Added plus - pets don't mind it traveling around the house on it's own unlike a standard vacuum cleaner. If you have pets, I would highly recommend trying this product.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Best purchase ever!

12/06/2013
By ,
Beaumont tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love love my neato soooo much!!! I'm a full time working wife and this has taken one of my chores off the list! It works extremely well! I have thick hair down to my low back and it picks up hair, dirt, dust and everything in between! I was sooo surprised the first time I ran it.. It covered my entire 1600 sq ft home and went from my tile to carpet to bathroom rugs whith no problem! I even tested it- after it vacuumed my house I went over my carpets with my cyclonic vacuum and nothing came up! I couldn't believe it! My mom bought the roomba and she is returning it for a neato because the roomba hardly picks up anything. The neato also goes in a methodical pattern so when I come home it looks like a freshly vacuumed . It is a little loud but I don't mind because I appreciate the power of the suction- I just turn it on and go to work!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

So far, so good

01/14/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I can't make any comments about the longevity of this vacuum since I've only had it for a couple weeks at this point. But I will say that I am very pleased with the amount of dirt and hair that it is able to pick up when it cleans and that it does a good job where it goes. I'm hoping the mapping system will get better as we go, because as of right now it skips a couple of rooms regularly. I have to put it in those rooms and shut the door! But it has helped me tremendously throughout the week. I'm not spending an hour vacuuming each day, now I only have to do it once or twice and I let Neato do it the rest of the days! I'm happy with my purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

It's Fascinating to Watch!!

01/20/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall, we really like this vacc. It's relatively quiet and has an entertaining mind of its own. It's especially fun to watch it return to its base and do a little dance getting into just the right place to recharge. My major complaints are that it doesn't get as close to the baseboards as I would like and it repeats a lot of what it has already done when it restarts after recharging. I would also like it more if its charge lasted longer. But it still accomplishes more vacuuming in our house than would otherwise get done!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

great vac

12/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The unit is heavier then the cheaper units so therefor it has more traction and can get it self out of fixes.
I used the unit on the whole house and it would go back to the charging base, charge up and go back to where it left off and continue and that is what I was looking for so I can schedule the unit to start when I go to work and it will be done by the time I get home.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

R2 D2 Vacuum

12/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Setup is easy and a 2 hr charge is recommended. Worked well in my 1300 sq ft house. You need to follow the unit around a few times to find the "catch" spots and place barriers there. That being said it does a good job keeping my GSDs hair off the floor.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

More bugs, quirks, and flaws that Windows Vista

01/01/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have owned 4 of these Neato XV-21's, from the earliest build (dark grey, no power switch behind the dust bin) to one I just purchased a month ago. Every one of these vacs, under light use, and what I would consider easy vacuuming conditions, has completely failed my expectations. The XV-xx models are all the same, except the accessories. Therefore, these comments should apply to all of them. On every one of them (except the new one), the batteries all died within 6 months. When they start to fail, the vac exhibits really weird behavior, including: Stops and shuts off for no reason in the middle of the floor, gives the "my fan is stuck" error all the time, gives the "clear my path" error, fails to find the charging base (a common problem even with good batteries), etc. Even with good batteries, this thing gets hung up on everything, including floor vents, the springy door stops near the floor, corners, transition strips between carpet and vinyl flooring, area rugs without fringes, and often in the rocking mechanism of my easy chair (God only knows how it manages this). I have tried every bit of advice from the manufacturer, including cleaning the side sensors, blowing out the unit with compressed air, etc. The unit WILL NOT return to the charging base if there is a lot of ambient light in the room, if you have the base near a corner, facing a window, near a bunch of electronics, and when the moon is full (well, I made up the moon bit, but it probably does affect this thing in some way). The vacuuming performance is okay, especially given the very limited suction power (it is a 12 volt squirrel cage computer case fan), and limited battery power onboard. Neato absolutely needs to address the bugs and quirks, and do MUCH MORE TESTING of its products before releasing them. As it stands, I would say Windows Vista is far less maddening than this thing. As I wrote this review, my brand new XV-21 got stuck 5 times, gave me the "my brush is stuck" error 3 times (on low pile carpet), and tried finding the charging station at the wrong end of the room (it never did find it).
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Convenient little auto-vac!

01/14/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've only had my Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum for a few weeks, but with 3 dogs and a cat running around the house, I use it just about every day. It picks up dirt and pet hair very well, but does tend to get caught up under lower furniture and tight spaces at times, and it is pretty loud. I had to order another roll of the barrier tape as the one that comes with the unit was too short for my needs. The convenience and performance outweigh the little glitches and overall I'm satisfied with it . Very nice returning to a freshly swept home free of dust and pet hair tumbleweeds!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Where have you been all my life!

01/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I cant say enough about this product. I have it set at nite when I get home from work every nite. It does a great job. With 2 kids, cat, dog, and their father I need a little helper like this. I have 5 rooms and 2 small hallways and it does them all. Sometimes runs out of charge but recharges and comes back out and finishes. I think its when I dont flip dining room chairs up on top of table. It takes it longer to go around all the chairs and anything else that I dont remove from its way. My house has been sooo much cleaner cause everyone hears him charging up and knows they have to hurry and pick everything up cause hes coming out to clean. It took about the 1st three times and then it was really efficient in its cleaning time and how it did every room. Got an almost shagish big throw rug in den and it even runs on that. First time said its wheels were stuck thought it wasnt gonna be able to do but came out the 2nd time and has done it ever since. Also have gaming chair in there with round cylinder base and it climbs it and goes around it in a circle and cleans that too. Unreal! So it is now my best friend and helper here. Dont think I will ever go without this machine in my life ever. Sorry so long but cant say enough about my robot vacuum/sweeper.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Why I cannot live without my Neato

12/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this last year. The dirt this product picks up is amazing. A few months after receiving this had problems with it. Called and whomever I spoke to could not have been more courteous and helpful. The problem was solved temporarily. Called back, they tried to help me remedy the problem, it was not able to be repaired via telephone guidance. They sent me within a week a new XV-21 and the damaged one was returned in the box and label they provided. We were gone for Thanksgiving and when we returned I noticed that it was not working. Another person walked me through trying to fix it and once again, this person could not have been more courteous and helpful even though dealing with someone to whom electronics are a mystery. I had less then one week on my warranty. They sent me another one and I am in the process of returning the damaged one. I cannot recommend this Company enough. They make an outstanding product, one that makes you unable to live without. Their public relations are excellent and whomever is at the top, which is where all of this starts, certainly knows what he or she is doing. I would, have and continue to recommend this product as well as any one that this Company produces to anyone who will listen. It is priced within the means of most and certainly lives up to any advertising that is posted regarding it. Would certainly look forward to purchasing another Neato from this Company without hesitation.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 155 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next