Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Neato Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Neato Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

The Neato XV-21 is equipped with onboard Room Positioning System (RPS) technology, a revolutionary system developed by Neato Robotics that combines laser vision with mapping. With RPS technology, the robot uses its laser to see its surroundings and create accurate maps of areas to be cleaned, including furniture, objects and doorways. The robot constantly updates its map of the room, so if a new object is added into the room during a cleaning run, the robot will add it to the map.
Average Customer Rating:
4.044 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
39
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation81%55 out of 68reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 46 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
39
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

slow and lost

12/10/2012
By ,
Arkansas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It had a great suction but it got stuck under/around chairs. It would just go in a circle completely lost. I spent more time putting it back on track than it was worth. Took back to store for refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Amazing technology!

09/01/2012
By ,
Cocoa, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The XV-21 exceeded all my expectations. I could not believe the dirt it removed from my carpet right after a thorough vacuuming with my Dirt Devil upright. It cleaned closer to the room perimeters than my upright. After the third week, the dirt bin did not fill as quickly, but I think it will take two more weeks of weekly cleanings before it can vacuum the entire home with out overflowing the dirt bin where I need to empty it during each charging session. It runs about 45 minutes on a carpeted area (roughly two rooms or 300 square feet) before requiring a 3 hour recharge, so it takes about 12 hours to vacuum my entire 1400 sq. ft. home. After about 5 weeks I should be able to leave it unattended (no longer emptying the dirt bin). If there is a drawback, it is having to frequently empty the dirt bin the first month since it is more efficient than any vacuum I ever owned and is extracting 9 years of dirt in the carpet that my other vacuums failed to remove.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Best purchase ever!

12/06/2013
By ,
Beaumont tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love love my neato soooo much!!! I'm a full time working wife and this has taken one of my chores off the list! It works extremely well! I have thick hair down to my low back and it picks up hair, dirt, dust and everything in between! I was sooo surprised the first time I ran it.. It covered my entire 1600 sq ft home and went from my tile to carpet to bathroom rugs whith no problem! I even tested it- after it vacuumed my house I went over my carpets with my cyclonic vacuum and nothing came up! I couldn't believe it! My mom bought the roomba and she is returning it for a neato because the roomba hardly picks up anything. The neato also goes in a methodical pattern so when I come home it looks like a freshly vacuumed . It is a little loud but I don't mind because I appreciate the power of the suction- I just turn it on and go to work!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Neato rocks

03/07/2014
By ,
Northern Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our Neato XV-21 navigates and cleans very well, more so than I thought possible for a small robotic vacuum cleaner. It doesn't just "sweep" the floor (surface cleaning) - it actually cleans up the pet hair, dirt, etc. really good. It goes effortlessly from the carpeted areas to the vinyl, hardwood floors. Our smaller throw rugs have felt pads and have a little height to them. No problem for the Neato to handle. Also, because of the flat squared off front design it goes right into the corners and picks up that dust etc. Goes all the way under our beds to clean which is really neat :-)
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

works well, sometimes gets stuck

11/11/2013
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We let this loose, and it came back with a bin full of dust, even when the place looked fairly clean, and it's sure a lot easier than doing it with a manual vacuum cleaner! However, it does sometimes get itself stuck in tight corners, so it can't really be left completely without supervision except in rooms with simple geometries. So... kind of like a dishwasher -- a lot better than doing it by hand, but you might still need to clean the occasional dish.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Tiny little Decepticon to do my bidding

11/10/2013
By ,
port charlotte, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
in 2004 i purchased a gen 1 Roomba, thinking it would naturally do what this Neato actually does. to my chagrin it was programmed only to drive in circles till it can find a shoelace. it went back asap. fast forward to 2013? i have to say i am impressed, not 100% mind you but my tiny killer robot has earned his keep. after a few weeks of careful scrutiny by myself, my wife, the cat and the dogs i am comfortable leaving him on autopilot. all i do is empty the bin and pat him on the optics. on my overall rating i gave him 4 stars on value just because he did cost quite a bit, yet i don't feel bad about spending the money really for what i got. 4 stars for durability because we've only had him a month.
THE GOOD: he does tend to go over the sames areas a few times, miss others, but over the course of the three scheduled cleanings i'd say he gets better than 95% of his assigned area. he picks up dirt, fur, kitty litter, grass, etc, doesn't miss much. keeps it from ever having the chance to drift under the furniture or into corners. he made a big deal of going around the table and chair legs too, showoff. he really earns his paycheck on my hardwood floors and tile.
THE BAD: he does a great job on carpet too, though it really burns the battery fast with med thick carpet. i just keep those rooms boundry'd off. yes he sounds like a jet turbine, but that's why i set him to clean five minutes before i leave for work m/w/f.
In short, he's a great time saver for us. would buy again :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Love it, but.....

03/29/2014
By ,
Leland, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the Neato, but find that it doesn't quite operate as described. The video shows that it vacuums in an up-and-down fashion unlike others that do circles. Well, my Neato does circles. I was told by Neato to return it and order a new one. And when programed to "clean house," it seems to concentrate repeatedly on the same places. Also, it seems to have occasional difficulty finding its docking station for recharging. With all that said, I will return it for a new one because I do love to hear it start up every morning at 8:00 sharp. We have a Chocolate Lab and the hair that Neato has picked up is incredible.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

confused robot

10/10/2013
By ,
Portland, OR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We did heavy research between this product, consumer reports, roomba, and the other competing models. This seemed like the best machine for several reasons: pet hair, features, durability, reviews, and design.
We we're totally let down. Upon running the device for the first time it kept getting stuck under furniture and since it was scanning the room to a program and we had to keep moving it, it became confused and started to keep vacuuming the same areas over and over, never going to another part of the house and then eventually wouldn't leave the dock to vacuum at all even after a reset and attempting to work with Neato customer service. They want you to send them video which is fine but it seems like that was going to take forever to resolve.
After enough disappointment and realizing we could have swept and moped the floors twice by the time this thing barely covered the living room, we decided to return it. Just seemed like more trouble than its worth even though we wanted it because we knew we'd be busy with the new baby and with pets you must sweep weekly at least. We gave it several fair chances.
Let down.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum
12/22/2012
By ,
IA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased this to deal with the constant shedding from 3 dogs. My home has a combination of wood floors, area rugs, and throw rugs. After 2 weeks of daily use it does works as advertised.
It's set to clean daily, however it does get 'stuck' at times requiring me to clear it's path or to clear it's brush, hence I don't leave it alone. I'm not so sure it actually follows an organized pattern, if it bumps up against a retrieved toy from the basket it may go around it, over it, or just turn around to vacuum another area. When it does get stuck, it will shut down and beep, if you can't get to it right away it will shut itself down.
It does get under furniture very well, the dust bin is easily emptied, battery lasts about 2 hours of continuous cleaning, the boundary marker is pliable enough to be curved, when it needs assistance the display will say please and thank you. Maintenance on the brush is same as an upright. Unlike the upright vacuum, none of the dogs bark at it, instead they ignore it. Yes, it is noisy, but not as noisy as my Hoover upright if left on for an hour. I haven't noticed an scratches or other marks on the wood floor from using it, nor has it sucked up a throw rug because of a loose string.
During the first couple of day of use the dust bin had to be emptied a couple of times per cycle, now it's emptied at the end. It doesn't pick up every bit of dust, my upright still gets a weekly workout but the house feels and looks cleaner. For me, Gladys, (yep I named it) was a good investment.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Always Lost or Stuck

04/02/2014
By ,
Spring Hill, Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product with great expectations. It has never found its way back to the charger as advertised. Nor has it ever finished one room before moving to the other unless you shut the door.So much money for such a great let down. Even tried moving it to different locations in the house. If you have an open concept home DON'T BUY! Very poor navigation.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

worth the money...works better than roomba

08/29/2012
By ,
Oregon Coast
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I still can't believe i dropped this much money.....but it is well worth it. Very high tech little gadget. cleans VERY well. easier to empty and keep clean than roombas. you will not be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Great vacuum!

01/24/2014
By ,
Palatka, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using my Neato robot vacuum for 2 weeks and thoroughly enjoy it! We have 2 cats and a large, hairy dog that shed endlessly. With this jewel of a vacuum, I don’t have to vacuum every day. My BFF does most of it for me!
I have found that if it can clearly see the area to be cleaned, it has no problem doing the job. I pick up shoes, pet toys and electric cords and it goes to town.
My current upright, bagless vacuum was purchased several years ago and rated #2 by “Consumer Reports Magazine”. The Neato has done as good a job and can get into places I would have to move furniture to reach.
I hate putting my vacuum up, walking through the foyer and seeing a dog hair dust bunny roll by. That doesn’t happen now. The only complaint I have is the manufacturer should add an accessory to clean the top of the baseboards.
I compared prices and Walmart's price was the best.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

We love our new Neato (Nellie). She's a workhorse!

03/08/2013
By ,
Hemphill TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I bought the Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum a couple of weeks ago and she has become a part of our household. We call her Nellie and she cleans for us twice a day. It's absolutely amazing at the hair and dust that she is still picking up from our floors (and I thought I was a pretty good house cleaner). We do have both cats and dogs so we needed the pet and allergy vacuum. The folks who clean for me on a monthly basis were very impressed with the work that Nellie had done before they got to my house this past week. I gave her 5 stars because so far that's what she has earned...sorry I didn't know about this product sooner. Another plus is the easy-to-clean canister that catches the dust and hair. Nellie is my new best friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Great product

02/03/2013
By ,
Georgetown, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been very pleased with this product. It moves slowly and thoroughly vacuums. The nap on the carpet looks new after the vacuum is done. It also moves easily from hardwood to tile to area rugs and over heavier door mats and does an excellent job on these surfaces also. It picks up the dog hair and does a good job on the edges against the walls or furniture. I love using it in the bedroom. I just lift up the bed skirt, turn it on and close the door. When I come back it's all vacuumed including under the bed and the vacuum is back charging again. I'm amazed at how much it picks up. My only suggestion would be to make the lint/dirt collection box a little larger. And an added benefit is that it doesn't scare my dog like the regular vacuum does.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Worked for 2 weeks, now losing charge in minutes.

03/10/2014
By ,
Bartlesville, OK
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have 5 siberian huskies in the house, so I have a ton of dog hair. I got the Neato, depsite the battery problem, because of the rave reviews on dog hair. It worked great for the first 2 weeks, and I was really impressed how well it cleaned the dog hair, but after 2 weeks it started losing it's battery charge within minutes of cleaning, it wouldn't even go back to it's charging base and just stay there. I bought the walmart warranty, so I'm now in the process to see what they can do. So loved it, but very disapointed in the 2 week battery life.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum
11/15/2012
By ,
Saint Peters, Mo
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am very pleased with my vacuum. No more pet hair! Can't wait until they start selling robots that do the rest of my cleaning for me. Only problem I have is that sometimes it gets confused and gets a little to friendly with my floor lamp. I just have to pick it up and put it back on track but other than that, no problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

AWESOME!

08/26/2013
By ,
St. Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This vacuum is by far the best vacuum I have ever had, and I don't have to push it around. We recently put laminate flooring throughout our whole house. Was tired of the carpet and dust allergies I have. I can't vacuum under furniture all the time as I have three jobs. Anyway, this little vacuum gets under furniture and places I only vacuumed once a year. It truly is amazying how much dust it does pick up, dust I didn't even know was there. The laminate flooring shows the dirt more than carpet does, however, just schedule this little vacuum to clean and it does it all for you. And, if it doesn't finish on one charge, it goes back to its base, recharges and then finsihes the job. It's better than the kids! AWESOME!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum
12/20/2012
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a long hair cat and dog that shed constantly. The Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum has been the best investment since I purchased my laptop.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

It doesnt last for long....

01/06/2014
By ,
Diamond Bar, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I researched a while before I purchase this product, I did realize there were a lot of complaints about how easy this vacuum got defective, but since it's a lot cheaper than the irobot and one of my friends are using it quite well I was hopping i might get lucky and went for it. Obviously there's no luck for me, I got it on sept 2013, and it is already not functioning, only lasted 4 months.
When it is functioning, it works actually not too bad, the carpets are relatively clean, miss a spot here and there but you notice the difference. I turned it on 3 times a week cuz I have 2 cats and 1 dog, try to get rid of the hairs as much as we can. It stucks a lot, which I think it shouldnt be only by hairs... anyhow. I'd not recommend this product to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Way better than expected

03/24/2013
By ,
Manitowoc, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little sceptical about how well a robot vacuum would work in the real world but I was completely impressed. It doesen't do quite as good a job as a regular vacuum but it's close.
The enjoyment of watching it work while you go about doing other things is fantastic. Even my six cats like to watch it and they aren't afraid at all. We have it set to run in the middle of the afternoon because although it's not as loud as a regular vacuum, you wouldn't want to try and watch TV while it's working. Our house is about 1100 square feet and it will work for about an hour before it has to return to base to recharge for about 2 hours and then it will go back to where it left off, work for about another 30 minutes to finish the job and then return to base and go to sleep.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 64 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next