Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Neato **$50 Rebate Available** Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Neato **$50 Rebate Available** Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Robotic vacuums are not to be used as a primary vacuum. They're meant as supplemental cleaning between regular cleaning. The Neato XV-21 is equipped with onboard Room Positioning System (RPS) technology, a revolutionary system developed by Neato Robotics that combines laser vision with mapping. With RPS technology, the robot uses its laser to see its surroundings and create accurate maps of areas to be cleaned, including furniture, objects and doorways. The robot constantly updates its map of the room, so if a new object is added into the room during a cleaning run, the robot will add it to the map.
Average Customer Rating:
3.868 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(83 Reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
45
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
6
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation76%63 out of 83reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 62 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
45
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
6
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for **$50 Rebate Available** Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

slow and lost

12/10/2012
By ,
Arkansas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It had a great suction but it got stuck under/around chairs. It would just go in a circle completely lost. I spent more time putting it back on track than it was worth. Took back to store for refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for **$50 Rebate Available** Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Disappointed with the replacement

04/22/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When I first got the Neato XV-21 I was fascinated by it's ability to navigate through chairs, around objects, and otherwise to a great job of vacuuming the house. I'd leave it upstairs for a week and then move it downstairs in order to keep the whole house clean. Then the display died.
Sent it in for a return and Neato sends a slightly older version of the XV-21 (I didn't even know there were older versions - but this one didn't have the battery power switch)....they also had a newer firmware version....and it is abysmal. While the first one could do the whole house and maybe get lost once - this one can't do 1/2 a room. Gets stuck on walls (yep, a wall with nothing around - it'll back up into it and then stop). After a string of 10 emails/calls with their customer service, I'm losing hope. Keep away - unless you end up with one of the good ones.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for **$50 Rebate Available** Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

AVOID NEATO ROBOTICS

05/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought my current XV21 exactly 13 months ago with a 3 year extended warranty. It was awesome for the 1st 6 months and then it all of a sudden now after running a cycle it dies before finishing and the power light is half illuminated with unresponsive buttons, so i have to unscrew the battery compartments and unplug both batteries then it powers on and I have to reset the clock.
I called Neato and they said they would send a replacement and I would pay a $25 fee. I said well I have an extended warranty so I'll just use that since there is no added fee. Well needless to say I have sent it to Asurion 3 times while waiting about 3 weeks each time to get the unit back in seemingly worse condition (dirty and more scratched) with the exact same issue. I run it 1 or 2 cycles and it is half lit power requiring a battery pull and reset.
So then I call Neato and the rep says I am 30 days past the 1 year warranty even though i called 4 months ago and they don't have any options for replacement. I said, "So I paid $380 for a small vacuum that worked for less than 6 months? When I calculate the 2 times a week for 6 months that I ran it I paid over $10 a use. Unbelievably the Neato rep actually said "unfortunately these vacuums don't have a long life." Well, I have a Roomba that is 5 years old that does my office and although it doesn't clean as thoroughly nor is as intelligent as my Neato it has gone over 500 cycles and hasn't even had the battery changed. So a durable Roomba cleans better than a smart but unreliable Neato that consistently doesn't work.
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for **$50 Rebate Available** Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Great until.... the LCD screen quits

04/30/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The robot is great until it dies at 15 months. The LCD screen is going blank on many of these so it is a known problem but Neato is not doing anything about it. If it happens in the first 12 months they will send you a refurbished one that has a 90 day warranty. If that LCD quits you now own a $300 anchor.
Seek vacuums that last longer for your money.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for **$50 Rebate Available** Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Amazing technology!

09/01/2012
By ,
Cocoa, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The XV-21 exceeded all my expectations. I could not believe the dirt it removed from my carpet right after a thorough vacuuming with my Dirt Devil upright. It cleaned closer to the room perimeters than my upright. After the third week, the dirt bin did not fill as quickly, but I think it will take two more weeks of weekly cleanings before it can vacuum the entire home with out overflowing the dirt bin where I need to empty it during each charging session. It runs about 45 minutes on a carpeted area (roughly two rooms or 300 square feet) before requiring a 3 hour recharge, so it takes about 12 hours to vacuum my entire 1400 sq. ft. home. After about 5 weeks I should be able to leave it unattended (no longer emptying the dirt bin). If there is a drawback, it is having to frequently empty the dirt bin the first month since it is more efficient than any vacuum I ever owned and is extracting 9 years of dirt in the carpet that my other vacuums failed to remove.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+61points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for **$50 Rebate Available** Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Best purchase ever!

12/06/2013
By ,
Beaumont tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love love my neato soooo much!!! I'm a full time working wife and this has taken one of my chores off the list! It works extremely well! I have thick hair down to my low back and it picks up hair, dirt, dust and everything in between! I was sooo surprised the first time I ran it.. It covered my entire 1600 sq ft home and went from my tile to carpet to bathroom rugs whith no problem! I even tested it- after it vacuumed my house I went over my carpets with my cyclonic vacuum and nothing came up! I couldn't believe it! My mom bought the roomba and she is returning it for a neato because the roomba hardly picks up anything. The neato also goes in a methodical pattern so when I come home it looks like a freshly vacuumed . It is a little loud but I don't mind because I appreciate the power of the suction- I just turn it on and go to work!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for **$50 Rebate Available** Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Still Deciding

05/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased My Neato last week. In only 7 days the charging base has already quit working. I called the company and they're sending another one out....in the next 7-10 days. I would think after only having it a week that they would expedite a base to me. I'm glad I bought the Extended Warranty on it. This makes me a little apprehensive.
I have a large open floor plan house. It cleans 3 of my rooms but cannot find my master bedroom and master bath on the main floor where I have it stationed. I always have to place it in my bedroom as tell it to spot clean that room. The only bad thing about this option is that it will not return to it's base. I like it to return to it's base when the battery is low or it finishes cleaning. The verdict is still out but so far it's pretty good at cleaning.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for **$50 Rebate Available** Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

I was surprised at the results.

05/21/2014
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first robot allowed in my house. I thought really hard about spending $400+ on a "gadget" like this. Now that I've had it about two weeks I can say I was surprised at how well it works for me. I have a clowder of cats (that's a herd of cats, in case you didn't know). The main reason for buying the vac was to see if it could collect the cat hair off the floor. It seems to do this job very well. I have a small house and the floors are all hardwood so I can't report on how it would work on carpet. So far, I am very pleased with Rosie.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for **$50 Rebate Available** Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

***AMAZING!!!!***

04/29/2014
By ,
Somerset ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Fiance and I purchased the Neato Vac because I clean all the time. He is a dog groomer so obviously we are animal lovers. At any time it is not unusual to have boarded pets on top of our 4 dogs, 2 cats, a bird, a 4 year old boy, and a busy schedule. This vac has cut my cleaning time in half. Not only does it keep our main walkways clear it also goes under the beds and furniture. We have all hardwood and tile so it maneuvers great. It picks up more dirt than I ever imagined it would, all the pet hair, even cat litter! t
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for **$50 Rebate Available** Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Please don't buy Neato.

06/25/2014
By ,
West Palm Beach, Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't waste your money. My first one did not work right. After being on hold 90 min we did a reset on it. Had to leave it off for a period of time so we hung up. Still didn't work called back again girl said it may have ran over water. I don think so. Sent me a new one. Also malfunctions. Stops every few mins. Says clear my vision or something like that so it can see. # 1 issue is dirt bin keeps popping up. I currently have 2 bricks on top of it to keep it down but brick keep getting knocked off. It also keeps cleaning same areas. I have to pick it up and close the door to clean certain rooms. Constantly gets caught on rug corners. Waste of money. I should have bought a Rumba.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for **$50 Rebate Available** Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum
12/22/2012
By ,
IA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased this to deal with the constant shedding from 3 dogs. My home has a combination of wood floors, area rugs, and throw rugs. After 2 weeks of daily use it does works as advertised.
It's set to clean daily, however it does get 'stuck' at times requiring me to clear it's path or to clear it's brush, hence I don't leave it alone. I'm not so sure it actually follows an organized pattern, if it bumps up against a retrieved toy from the basket it may go around it, over it, or just turn around to vacuum another area. When it does get stuck, it will shut down and beep, if you can't get to it right away it will shut itself down.
It does get under furniture very well, the dust bin is easily emptied, battery lasts about 2 hours of continuous cleaning, the boundary marker is pliable enough to be curved, when it needs assistance the display will say please and thank you. Maintenance on the brush is same as an upright. Unlike the upright vacuum, none of the dogs bark at it, instead they ignore it. Yes, it is noisy, but not as noisy as my Hoover upright if left on for an hour. I haven't noticed an scratches or other marks on the wood floor from using it, nor has it sucked up a throw rug because of a loose string.
During the first couple of day of use the dust bin had to be emptied a couple of times per cycle, now it's emptied at the end. It doesn't pick up every bit of dust, my upright still gets a weekly workout but the house feels and looks cleaner. For me, Gladys, (yep I named it) was a good investment.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for **$50 Rebate Available** Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Tiny little Decepticon to do my bidding

11/10/2013
By ,
port charlotte, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
in 2004 i purchased a gen 1 Roomba, thinking it would naturally do what this Neato actually does. to my chagrin it was programmed only to drive in circles till it can find a shoelace. it went back asap. fast forward to 2013? i have to say i am impressed, not 100% mind you but my tiny killer robot has earned his keep. after a few weeks of careful scrutiny by myself, my wife, the cat and the dogs i am comfortable leaving him on autopilot. all i do is empty the bin and pat him on the optics. on my overall rating i gave him 4 stars on value just because he did cost quite a bit, yet i don't feel bad about spending the money really for what i got. 4 stars for durability because we've only had him a month.
THE GOOD: he does tend to go over the sames areas a few times, miss others, but over the course of the three scheduled cleanings i'd say he gets better than 95% of his assigned area. he picks up dirt, fur, kitty litter, grass, etc, doesn't miss much. keeps it from ever having the chance to drift under the furniture or into corners. he made a big deal of going around the table and chair legs too, showoff. he really earns his paycheck on my hardwood floors and tile.
THE BAD: he does a great job on carpet too, though it really burns the battery fast with med thick carpet. i just keep those rooms boundry'd off. yes he sounds like a jet turbine, but that's why i set him to clean five minutes before i leave for work m/w/f.
In short, he's a great time saver for us. would buy again :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for **$50 Rebate Available** Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

worth the money...works better than roomba

08/29/2012
By ,
Oregon Coast
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I still can't believe i dropped this much money.....but it is well worth it. Very high tech little gadget. cleans VERY well. easier to empty and keep clean than roombas. you will not be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for **$50 Rebate Available** Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

works well, sometimes gets stuck

11/11/2013
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We let this loose, and it came back with a bin full of dust, even when the place looked fairly clean, and it's sure a lot easier than doing it with a manual vacuum cleaner! However, it does sometimes get itself stuck in tight corners, so it can't really be left completely without supervision except in rooms with simple geometries. So... kind of like a dishwasher -- a lot better than doing it by hand, but you might still need to clean the occasional dish.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for **$50 Rebate Available** Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Great product

02/03/2013
By ,
Georgetown, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been very pleased with this product. It moves slowly and thoroughly vacuums. The nap on the carpet looks new after the vacuum is done. It also moves easily from hardwood to tile to area rugs and over heavier door mats and does an excellent job on these surfaces also. It picks up the dog hair and does a good job on the edges against the walls or furniture. I love using it in the bedroom. I just lift up the bed skirt, turn it on and close the door. When I come back it's all vacuumed including under the bed and the vacuum is back charging again. I'm amazed at how much it picks up. My only suggestion would be to make the lint/dirt collection box a little larger. And an added benefit is that it doesn't scare my dog like the regular vacuum does.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for **$50 Rebate Available** Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

We love our new Neato (Nellie). She's a workhorse!

03/08/2013
By ,
Hemphill TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I bought the Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum a couple of weeks ago and she has become a part of our household. We call her Nellie and she cleans for us twice a day. It's absolutely amazing at the hair and dust that she is still picking up from our floors (and I thought I was a pretty good house cleaner). We do have both cats and dogs so we needed the pet and allergy vacuum. The folks who clean for me on a monthly basis were very impressed with the work that Nellie had done before they got to my house this past week. I gave her 5 stars because so far that's what she has earned...sorry I didn't know about this product sooner. Another plus is the easy-to-clean canister that catches the dust and hair. Nellie is my new best friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for **$50 Rebate Available** Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum
11/15/2012
By ,
Saint Peters, Mo
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am very pleased with my vacuum. No more pet hair! Can't wait until they start selling robots that do the rest of my cleaning for me. Only problem I have is that sometimes it gets confused and gets a little to friendly with my floor lamp. I just have to pick it up and put it back on track but other than that, no problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for **$50 Rebate Available** Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Great housecleaning aide

07/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This robotic vacuum does a fantastic job picking up the dirt. I'm especially pleased with the way it cleans the carpet under the beds. I have a large house and manual vacuuming is quite a chore. This robotic vacuum relieves most of my work, leaving the floors consistently clean. It is such a pleasure walking through the house now and seeing clean floors. My husband is especially pleased with the way he feels since removing the hidden dirt and dog hair on the carpet as he has major allergy problems. Even the air filter we have in the rooms don't go into high filtering mode when we pass by it anymore.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for **$50 Rebate Available** Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Don't waste your money

06/21/2014
By ,
Fernley, NV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought the Neato VX-12 last week, finally came, lasted one day before it won't clean carpet just hardwood floors. As soon as it hits the carpet the machine says "please remove debris from brushes", nothing there, just too weak a motor to spin the brush on carpet. Glad I didn't waste more money on the more expensive model.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for **$50 Rebate Available** Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

confused robot

10/10/2013
By ,
Portland, OR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We did heavy research between this product, consumer reports, roomba, and the other competing models. This seemed like the best machine for several reasons: pet hair, features, durability, reviews, and design.
We we're totally let down. Upon running the device for the first time it kept getting stuck under furniture and since it was scanning the room to a program and we had to keep moving it, it became confused and started to keep vacuuming the same areas over and over, never going to another part of the house and then eventually wouldn't leave the dock to vacuum at all even after a reset and attempting to work with Neato customer service. They want you to send them video which is fine but it seems like that was going to take forever to resolve.
After enough disappointment and realizing we could have swept and moped the floors twice by the time this thing barely covered the living room, we decided to return it. Just seemed like more trouble than its worth even though we wanted it because we knew we'd be busy with the new baby and with pets you must sweep weekly at least. We gave it several fair chances.
Let down.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 79 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next