Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Neato "$40 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Neato "$40 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Robotic vacuums are not to be used as a primary vacuum. They're meant as supplemental cleaning between regular cleaning. The Neato XV-21 is equipped with onboard Room Positioning System (RPS) technology, a revolutionary system developed by Neato Robotics that combines laser vision with mapping. With RPS technology, the robot uses its laser to see its surroundings and create accurate maps of areas to be cleaned, including furniture, objects and doorways. The robot constantly updates its map of the room, so if a new object is added into the room during a cleaning run, the robot will add it to the map.
Average Customer Rating:
4.01 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(191 Reviews) 185
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
101
4 stars
50
3 stars
6
2 stars
9
1 star
25
Customer Recommendation84%160 out of 191reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 82 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
101
4 stars
50
3 stars
6
2 stars
9
1 star
25
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for "$40 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

slow and lost

12/10/2012
By ,
Arkansas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It had a great suction but it got stuck under/around chairs. It would just go in a circle completely lost. I spent more time putting it back on track than it was worth. Took back to store for refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "$40 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Disappointed with the replacement

04/22/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When I first got the Neato XV-21 I was fascinated by it's ability to navigate through chairs, around objects, and otherwise to a great job of vacuuming the house. I'd leave it upstairs for a week and then move it downstairs in order to keep the whole house clean. Then the display died.
Sent it in for a return and Neato sends a slightly older version of the XV-21 (I didn't even know there were older versions - but this one didn't have the battery power switch)....they also had a newer firmware version....and it is abysmal. While the first one could do the whole house and maybe get lost once - this one can't do 1/2 a room. Gets stuck on walls (yep, a wall with nothing around - it'll back up into it and then stop). After a string of 10 emails/calls with their customer service, I'm losing hope. Keep away - unless you end up with one of the good ones.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "$40 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

AVOID NEATO ROBOTICS

05/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought my current XV21 exactly 13 months ago with a 3 year extended warranty. It was awesome for the 1st 6 months and then it all of a sudden now after running a cycle it dies before finishing and the power light is half illuminated with unresponsive buttons, so i have to unscrew the battery compartments and unplug both batteries then it powers on and I have to reset the clock.
I called Neato and they said they would send a replacement and I would pay a $25 fee. I said well I have an extended warranty so I'll just use that since there is no added fee. Well needless to say I have sent it to Asurion 3 times while waiting about 3 weeks each time to get the unit back in seemingly worse condition (dirty and more scratched) with the exact same issue. I run it 1 or 2 cycles and it is half lit power requiring a battery pull and reset.
So then I call Neato and the rep says I am 30 days past the 1 year warranty even though i called 4 months ago and they don't have any options for replacement. I said, "So I paid $380 for a small vacuum that worked for less than 6 months? When I calculate the 2 times a week for 6 months that I ran it I paid over $10 a use. Unbelievably the Neato rep actually said "unfortunately these vacuums don't have a long life." Well, I have a Roomba that is 5 years old that does my office and although it doesn't clean as thoroughly nor is as intelligent as my Neato it has gone over 500 cycles and hasn't even had the battery changed. So a durable Roomba cleans better than a smart but unreliable Neato that consistently doesn't work.
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "$40 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Great until.... the LCD screen quits

04/30/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The robot is great until it dies at 15 months. The LCD screen is going blank on many of these so it is a known problem but Neato is not doing anything about it. If it happens in the first 12 months they will send you a refurbished one that has a 90 day warranty. If that LCD quits you now own a $300 anchor.
Seek vacuums that last longer for your money.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "$40 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Amazing technology!

09/01/2012
By ,
Cocoa, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The XV-21 exceeded all my expectations. I could not believe the dirt it removed from my carpet right after a thorough vacuuming with my Dirt Devil upright. It cleaned closer to the room perimeters than my upright. After the third week, the dirt bin did not fill as quickly, but I think it will take two more weeks of weekly cleanings before it can vacuum the entire home with out overflowing the dirt bin where I need to empty it during each charging session. It runs about 45 minutes on a carpeted area (roughly two rooms or 300 square feet) before requiring a 3 hour recharge, so it takes about 12 hours to vacuum my entire 1400 sq. ft. home. After about 5 weeks I should be able to leave it unattended (no longer emptying the dirt bin). If there is a drawback, it is having to frequently empty the dirt bin the first month since it is more efficient than any vacuum I ever owned and is extracting 9 years of dirt in the carpet that my other vacuums failed to remove.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+113points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "$40 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Not Happy

01/02/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased Neato because of previous ratings and great Black Friday deal. Overall, easy to get started and program. But, after it kept stopping in the middle of the room and reading to clear it's path when there was nothing around it, I began to get worried. Then it started repeating it's cycle and getting stuck under a chair. Before the sale ended, I decided to refund my money and start with a new Neato. As soon as my new Neato arrived. I put it on the base to charge and programed it. It started as scheduled, but died 10 mins after it left the base even after a 48 hr charge. I hit the start button to restart and it took off to do its job but after about 5 mins out it stopped in the hallway and asked for the path to be cleared. My house is all hardwood and clear of all possible interruptions. I was done! I returned the Neato and purchased a Roomba for $150 more, but well worth it. Love My Roomba!!!! Sorry Neato, but you left me very disappointed.
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "$40 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Love It But.....

12/31/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This works better than I ever thought it could!!! The only complaint I have is the documentation is almost non existent!! Even when I emailed a question to support they gave me the wrong answer. Got the right one from another owner on here.
The docs tell you what you have to do when you install a new battery. What they DON'T tell you is that the battery in your vac-bot is, guess what, NEW, so you have to break it in also. That is why you have people complaining about the short time it runs before needing to charge.
You will be surprised how well it does it's job after you give it a chance to learn your rooms. Even if you think it has missed part of it give it a chance. Most of the time it will go back and get it even if it does another room first.
You need to run it about 3 or 4 times before it learns what it needs to. You need to learn where it needs help also. Like areas it might get stuck or what you should maybe move so it can work more efficiently.
All in all I LOVE mine after I got to know how it works.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "$40 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Best purchase ever!

12/06/2013
By ,
Beaumont tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love love my neato soooo much!!! I'm a full time working wife and this has taken one of my chores off the list! It works extremely well! I have thick hair down to my low back and it picks up hair, dirt, dust and everything in between! I was sooo surprised the first time I ran it.. It covered my entire 1600 sq ft home and went from my tile to carpet to bathroom rugs whith no problem! I even tested it- after it vacuumed my house I went over my carpets with my cyclonic vacuum and nothing came up! I couldn't believe it! My mom bought the roomba and she is returning it for a neato because the roomba hardly picks up anything. The neato also goes in a methodical pattern so when I come home it looks like a freshly vacuumed . It is a little loud but I don't mind because I appreciate the power of the suction- I just turn it on and go to work!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "$40 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Truly a wife pleaser

12/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This vacuum is a very welcome asset to our family, 3 dogs, cat and many birds.
After extensive research, we selected the Neato XV-21 vacuum and very glad we did.
Bottom Line Up Front: Wife very happy, I am happy, animals accept it and do not bother it and it cleans deep (even picked up dog hair etc after she used the Kirby an hour before.
Exceptional easy to put into service and operates without any assistance other than picking up items on the floor like dog bones, etc. We programmed it to do our 1200 square foot downstairs two days a week at a specific time and it vacuums on schedule. We can control what rooms it vacuums by leaving doors open or closing them.
Be careful! It does such a good job getting under the couches and beds that it finds things you did not know are there. Ours found a roll of paper towels under a couch and when it ate into it the machine shut down and displayed text to extract the item and return it to service. Our only issue was finding it when it did not return to it's home.
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "$40 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Vacuums the floor so you or your wife doesn't have

02/02/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is now my second XP 21 I've owned over the last two years. The device does a very good job in picking up the hair from our dog and two cats. There are some caveats however. We have one couch that sits just a little too low for a complete clearance of the robot such that it gets stuck under the couch. To remedy that I placed a few pieces of cardboard under legsof the couch. Also, there is a small bathroom where the robot frequently gets caught between the toilet and the wall. I leave the door to this bathroom close. Other than that the robot does a good job of cleaning for a good period of time going back to charge and then continue to clean where he left off.we named our robot Lance, after a famous cyclist who would do anything to win. I had to send the original robot back to the company at least one time however they sent me a new unit without charge. This happened again after the first year and my VISA warranty covered for a brand new one.
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "$40 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

We love our new Neato (Nellie). She's a workhorse!

03/08/2013
By ,
Hemphill TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I bought the Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum a couple of weeks ago and she has become a part of our household. We call her Nellie and she cleans for us twice a day. It's absolutely amazing at the hair and dust that she is still picking up from our floors (and I thought I was a pretty good house cleaner). We do have both cats and dogs so we needed the pet and allergy vacuum. The folks who clean for me on a monthly basis were very impressed with the work that Nellie had done before they got to my house this past week. I gave her 5 stars because so far that's what she has earned...sorry I didn't know about this product sooner. Another plus is the easy-to-clean canister that catches the dust and hair. Nellie is my new best friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "$40 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

worth the money...works better than roomba

08/29/2012
By ,
Oregon Coast
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I still can't believe i dropped this much money.....but it is well worth it. Very high tech little gadget. cleans VERY well. easier to empty and keep clean than roombas. you will not be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+67points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "$40 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

confused robot

10/10/2013
By ,
Portland, OR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We did heavy research between this product, consumer reports, roomba, and the other competing models. This seemed like the best machine for several reasons: pet hair, features, durability, reviews, and design.
We we're totally let down. Upon running the device for the first time it kept getting stuck under furniture and since it was scanning the room to a program and we had to keep moving it, it became confused and started to keep vacuuming the same areas over and over, never going to another part of the house and then eventually wouldn't leave the dock to vacuum at all even after a reset and attempting to work with Neato customer service. They want you to send them video which is fine but it seems like that was going to take forever to resolve.
After enough disappointment and realizing we could have swept and moped the floors twice by the time this thing barely covered the living room, we decided to return it. Just seemed like more trouble than its worth even though we wanted it because we knew we'd be busy with the new baby and with pets you must sweep weekly at least. We gave it several fair chances.
Let down.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "$40 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

works well, sometimes gets stuck

11/11/2013
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We let this loose, and it came back with a bin full of dust, even when the place looked fairly clean, and it's sure a lot easier than doing it with a manual vacuum cleaner! However, it does sometimes get itself stuck in tight corners, so it can't really be left completely without supervision except in rooms with simple geometries. So... kind of like a dishwasher -- a lot better than doing it by hand, but you might still need to clean the occasional dish.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "$40 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Great product, just accept it for what it is not

02/10/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am pleased with the price of the product and also with it's ability to be a HELP in the fight to keep my house clean. Know that this product doesn't replace vacuuming entirely, and you will be pleased.
The only limitation I have really found is it is unable to get right up against the wall/baseboard etc. and the suction isn't strong enough to pull in that dirt and hair. Otherwise if the dirt/hair is directly in it's path, it does a great job cleaning it up.
I really enjoy using it to go under the beds and behind couches etc.
One tip that I have found-once you start it doing a "house clean", do NOT move any pieces of furniture. If I move a chair slightly and it has already gone in that area, it gets very confused and tries to continue on the original path.
At times it may seem like it is doing random paths-but in the end it will clean the entire main floor of my home. So it does keep good track of where it has been and where it hasn't been.
We can usually do two full vacuum cycles between emptying the dirt container and wiping off the filter.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "$40 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Best Little ROBO in Town.

05/29/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was our first step into the arena of robo vacuums. There are so many reviews and lots of different options out there right now. I read as many as I could before my head exploded.
My criteria was,
$300 budget
Hardwood, carpet and rugs capable
Return to charge (A MUST)
Ease of use, easy to emty
Established supplier with parts available to buy
I decided on the XV-21 because not only did it meet all the above criteria, but was on sale for $277.
After I unpacked the box and introduced the newest member of the family to the other residence in our house, wife 2 dogs and an 18 year old, I plugged in the base.
I pushed Robo to the charger and waited for the light to go green. I love the fact that you can program a 7 day cleaning schedule. Which takes about 4 pushes of a button for each day. A breeze to do. VERY EASY TO PROGRAM. you can also just press the start button to send it on a house clean. Very cool when you have visitors, Robo becomes the center of attention when we have company over.
I didn't intend to sit and watch my house being vacuumed, but guess what, I did as did the dogs, my wife and the 18 year old. TOO FUNNY. It got to the point of making sure Robo was ok and checking on him when he was out of site. LOL.
When Robo gets tired, it returns to his base to recharge and lets you know with a message on the LCD display.
Still, it cleaned and cleaned and cleaned. Can't do the whole house in one charge would be my only negative, but who cares as long as it does a good job. It got to all the places it could and left the floors free of dirt and dog hair.
Its only been a week, but so far Robo is top notch and I would recommend this.
DML
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "$40 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum
12/20/2012
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a long hair cat and dog that shed constantly. The Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum has been the best investment since I purchased my laptop.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "$40 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum
11/15/2012
By ,
Saint Peters, Mo
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am very pleased with my vacuum. No more pet hair! Can't wait until they start selling robots that do the rest of my cleaning for me. Only problem I have is that sometimes it gets confused and gets a little to friendly with my floor lamp. I just have to pick it up and put it back on track but other than that, no problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "$40 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

bad product and worst customer service

05/20/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought a Neato XV-21 because it seemed to provide good warranty. Less than one month in to use, it began to have battery charging issue, which made it almost impossible to charge the battery. I tried all I could to resolve the issue, but could not, I then contacted the seller, following their instruction to resolve the issue, but could not. I then contacted Neato service. It took me an average of more than one hour to go through the conversation multiple times, yet the problem could not be resolved. Out of my frustration, I asked to return the production, but I was told it might take up a two months for Neato to possibly have the return approved. The only option I have was to get another Neato for which I was told I had to pay $50 if I wanted it delivered to me within 10 days. I did not have another choice. So, I had to pay the shipping. I am waiting for possibly another bad Neato to my door, and this one will have only 30 day warranty. I am prepared to ship it right back in case it is defective again. I really regret that I chose to buy a Neato. I thought I was getting a good warranty. But I got one with hardly any substance. It surely sounded good.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "$40 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Neato Review by Dave

05/25/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hi all, unit was fantastic initially but would shut down intermittently with LCD message saying "replace dirt bin" when it was still in place. We decided to keep the unit because for the most part it works great. Purchased from Wal-Mart vs. other retailers because of Wal-Mart's great customer service.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 186 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next