Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Neato "$30 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Neato "$30 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Robotic vacuums are not to be used as a primary vacuum. They're meant as supplemental cleaning between regular cleaning. The Neato XV-21 is equipped with onboard Room Positioning System (RPS) technology, a revolutionary system developed by Neato Robotics that combines laser vision with mapping. With RPS technology, the robot uses its laser to see its surroundings and create accurate maps of areas to be cleaned, including furniture, objects and doorways. The robot constantly updates its map of the room, so if a new object is added into the room during a cleaning run, the robot will add it to the map.
Average Customer Rating:
3.984 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(184 Reviews) 178
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
96
4 stars
48
3 stars
6
2 stars
9
1 star
25
Customer Recommendation83%153 out of 184reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 82 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
96
4 stars
48
3 stars
6
2 stars
9
1 star
25
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for "$30 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

slow and lost

12/10/2012
By ,
Arkansas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It had a great suction but it got stuck under/around chairs. It would just go in a circle completely lost. I spent more time putting it back on track than it was worth. Took back to store for refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "$30 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Disappointed with the replacement

04/22/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When I first got the Neato XV-21 I was fascinated by it's ability to navigate through chairs, around objects, and otherwise to a great job of vacuuming the house. I'd leave it upstairs for a week and then move it downstairs in order to keep the whole house clean. Then the display died.
Sent it in for a return and Neato sends a slightly older version of the XV-21 (I didn't even know there were older versions - but this one didn't have the battery power switch)....they also had a newer firmware version....and it is abysmal. While the first one could do the whole house and maybe get lost once - this one can't do 1/2 a room. Gets stuck on walls (yep, a wall with nothing around - it'll back up into it and then stop). After a string of 10 emails/calls with their customer service, I'm losing hope. Keep away - unless you end up with one of the good ones.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "$30 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

AVOID NEATO ROBOTICS

05/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought my current XV21 exactly 13 months ago with a 3 year extended warranty. It was awesome for the 1st 6 months and then it all of a sudden now after running a cycle it dies before finishing and the power light is half illuminated with unresponsive buttons, so i have to unscrew the battery compartments and unplug both batteries then it powers on and I have to reset the clock.
I called Neato and they said they would send a replacement and I would pay a $25 fee. I said well I have an extended warranty so I'll just use that since there is no added fee. Well needless to say I have sent it to Asurion 3 times while waiting about 3 weeks each time to get the unit back in seemingly worse condition (dirty and more scratched) with the exact same issue. I run it 1 or 2 cycles and it is half lit power requiring a battery pull and reset.
So then I call Neato and the rep says I am 30 days past the 1 year warranty even though i called 4 months ago and they don't have any options for replacement. I said, "So I paid $380 for a small vacuum that worked for less than 6 months? When I calculate the 2 times a week for 6 months that I ran it I paid over $10 a use. Unbelievably the Neato rep actually said "unfortunately these vacuums don't have a long life." Well, I have a Roomba that is 5 years old that does my office and although it doesn't clean as thoroughly nor is as intelligent as my Neato it has gone over 500 cycles and hasn't even had the battery changed. So a durable Roomba cleans better than a smart but unreliable Neato that consistently doesn't work.
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "$30 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Great until.... the LCD screen quits

04/30/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The robot is great until it dies at 15 months. The LCD screen is going blank on many of these so it is a known problem but Neato is not doing anything about it. If it happens in the first 12 months they will send you a refurbished one that has a 90 day warranty. If that LCD quits you now own a $300 anchor.
Seek vacuums that last longer for your money.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "$30 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Amazing technology!

09/01/2012
By ,
Cocoa, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The XV-21 exceeded all my expectations. I could not believe the dirt it removed from my carpet right after a thorough vacuuming with my Dirt Devil upright. It cleaned closer to the room perimeters than my upright. After the third week, the dirt bin did not fill as quickly, but I think it will take two more weeks of weekly cleanings before it can vacuum the entire home with out overflowing the dirt bin where I need to empty it during each charging session. It runs about 45 minutes on a carpeted area (roughly two rooms or 300 square feet) before requiring a 3 hour recharge, so it takes about 12 hours to vacuum my entire 1400 sq. ft. home. After about 5 weeks I should be able to leave it unattended (no longer emptying the dirt bin). If there is a drawback, it is having to frequently empty the dirt bin the first month since it is more efficient than any vacuum I ever owned and is extracting 9 years of dirt in the carpet that my other vacuums failed to remove.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+112points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "$30 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Not Happy

01/02/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased Neato because of previous ratings and great Black Friday deal. Overall, easy to get started and program. But, after it kept stopping in the middle of the room and reading to clear it's path when there was nothing around it, I began to get worried. Then it started repeating it's cycle and getting stuck under a chair. Before the sale ended, I decided to refund my money and start with a new Neato. As soon as my new Neato arrived. I put it on the base to charge and programed it. It started as scheduled, but died 10 mins after it left the base even after a 48 hr charge. I hit the start button to restart and it took off to do its job but after about 5 mins out it stopped in the hallway and asked for the path to be cleared. My house is all hardwood and clear of all possible interruptions. I was done! I returned the Neato and purchased a Roomba for $150 more, but well worth it. Love My Roomba!!!! Sorry Neato, but you left me very disappointed.
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "$30 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

bad product and worst customer service

05/20/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought a Neato XV-21 because it seemed to provide good warranty. Less than one month in to use, it began to have battery charging issue, which made it almost impossible to charge the battery. I tried all I could to resolve the issue, but could not, I then contacted the seller, following their instruction to resolve the issue, but could not. I then contacted Neato service. It took me an average of more than one hour to go through the conversation multiple times, yet the problem could not be resolved. Out of my frustration, I asked to return the production, but I was told it might take up a two months for Neato to possibly have the return approved. The only option I have was to get another Neato for which I was told I had to pay $50 if I wanted it delivered to me within 10 days. I did not have another choice. So, I had to pay the shipping. I am waiting for possibly another bad Neato to my door, and this one will have only 30 day warranty. I am prepared to ship it right back in case it is defective again. I really regret that I chose to buy a Neato. I thought I was getting a good warranty. But I got one with hardly any substance. It surely sounded good.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "$30 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Love It But.....

12/31/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This works better than I ever thought it could!!! The only complaint I have is the documentation is almost non existent!! Even when I emailed a question to support they gave me the wrong answer. Got the right one from another owner on here.
The docs tell you what you have to do when you install a new battery. What they DON'T tell you is that the battery in your vac-bot is, guess what, NEW, so you have to break it in also. That is why you have people complaining about the short time it runs before needing to charge.
You will be surprised how well it does it's job after you give it a chance to learn your rooms. Even if you think it has missed part of it give it a chance. Most of the time it will go back and get it even if it does another room first.
You need to run it about 3 or 4 times before it learns what it needs to. You need to learn where it needs help also. Like areas it might get stuck or what you should maybe move so it can work more efficiently.
All in all I LOVE mine after I got to know how it works.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "$30 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Great item with bad customer service

05/21/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After receiving my item I charged it up to see how it worked! So excited to see how it worked on my wood floors. The machine went to work, it only did 2 of my big rooms before needing to charge again. Did three smaller rooms then needed to charge. Does great on carpet and ok on wood floors - has a hard time picking up stuff that is stuck to the floor. I don't have animals inside just needed something to help with dust and it does that. Doesn't get the corners great but does the job for the most part.
I tried to turn in my rebate stuff to Neato but that process is taking FOREVER, going on three months now.
Also having a problem with my dirt tray popping up and had to put tape on it for a while now it is ok.
All and all I would say it is a good investment!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "$30 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Vacuums the floor so you or your wife doesn't have

02/02/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is now my second XP 21 I've owned over the last two years. The device does a very good job in picking up the hair from our dog and two cats. There are some caveats however. We have one couch that sits just a little too low for a complete clearance of the robot such that it gets stuck under the couch. To remedy that I placed a few pieces of cardboard under legsof the couch. Also, there is a small bathroom where the robot frequently gets caught between the toilet and the wall. I leave the door to this bathroom close. Other than that the robot does a good job of cleaning for a good period of time going back to charge and then continue to clean where he left off.we named our robot Lance, after a famous cyclist who would do anything to win. I had to send the original robot back to the company at least one time however they sent me a new unit without charge. This happened again after the first year and my VISA warranty covered for a brand new one.
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "$30 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Truly a wife pleaser

12/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This vacuum is a very welcome asset to our family, 3 dogs, cat and many birds.
After extensive research, we selected the Neato XV-21 vacuum and very glad we did.
Bottom Line Up Front: Wife very happy, I am happy, animals accept it and do not bother it and it cleans deep (even picked up dog hair etc after she used the Kirby an hour before.
Exceptional easy to put into service and operates without any assistance other than picking up items on the floor like dog bones, etc. We programmed it to do our 1200 square foot downstairs two days a week at a specific time and it vacuums on schedule. We can control what rooms it vacuums by leaving doors open or closing them.
Be careful! It does such a good job getting under the couches and beds that it finds things you did not know are there. Ours found a roll of paper towels under a couch and when it ate into it the machine shut down and displayed text to extract the item and return it to service. Our only issue was finding it when it did not return to it's home.
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "$30 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Great product, just accept it for what it is not

02/10/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am pleased with the price of the product and also with it's ability to be a HELP in the fight to keep my house clean. Know that this product doesn't replace vacuuming entirely, and you will be pleased.
The only limitation I have really found is it is unable to get right up against the wall/baseboard etc. and the suction isn't strong enough to pull in that dirt and hair. Otherwise if the dirt/hair is directly in it's path, it does a great job cleaning it up.
I really enjoy using it to go under the beds and behind couches etc.
One tip that I have found-once you start it doing a "house clean", do NOT move any pieces of furniture. If I move a chair slightly and it has already gone in that area, it gets very confused and tries to continue on the original path.
At times it may seem like it is doing random paths-but in the end it will clean the entire main floor of my home. So it does keep good track of where it has been and where it hasn't been.
We can usually do two full vacuum cycles between emptying the dirt container and wiping off the filter.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "$30 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Big improvement over Roomba

05/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We recently replaced our 500 Series Roomba with the Neato XV-21 and are very pleased. We had to replace the Roomba cleaning head twice and at the third time decided to try Neato. The Neato seems to have a much better program for coverage. It maps out the areas and does a thorough job. If it runs out of battery power it will go back to the station and recharge and then return to where it left off and finish the job. Does a good job with pet hairs...we have two dogs. It climbs up easily onto area rugs and is pretty good at back out from under furniture if it gets 'trapped'. Been using it for about 3 months.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "$30 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Neato Review by Dave

05/25/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hi all, unit was fantastic initially but would shut down intermittently with LCD message saying "replace dirt bin" when it was still in place. We decided to keep the unit because for the most part it works great. Purchased from Wal-Mart vs. other retailers because of Wal-Mart's great customer service.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "$30 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

neato sweeper

05/21/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Neato does a nice job and it gets around pretty well. it does have a problem getting hung up now and again but eventually learn its way. the only unfortunate thing is that it does not sweep close to the baseboard and leaves about a two inch strip where it can't reach after several sweepings this area becomes evident and you must sweep it by hand or some other means but in general it does a nice job and I'm glad I bought it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "$30 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Best purchase ever!

12/06/2013
By ,
Beaumont tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love love my neato soooo much!!! I'm a full time working wife and this has taken one of my chores off the list! It works extremely well! I have thick hair down to my low back and it picks up hair, dirt, dust and everything in between! I was sooo surprised the first time I ran it.. It covered my entire 1600 sq ft home and went from my tile to carpet to bathroom rugs whith no problem! I even tested it- after it vacuumed my house I went over my carpets with my cyclonic vacuum and nothing came up! I couldn't believe it! My mom bought the roomba and she is returning it for a neato because the roomba hardly picks up anything. The neato also goes in a methodical pattern so when I come home it looks like a freshly vacuumed . It is a little loud but I don't mind because I appreciate the power of the suction- I just turn it on and go to work!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "$30 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

This is the greatest robot vacuum

05/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have it set to run every day. I have a long-haired Chihuahua that sheds terribly. Every day when I clean out the filter, it is filled with dog hair. I have a very bad back and it used to kill me to vacuum. This is the best investment I ever made. I read all the reviews on this vacuum. They all said it was great. But definitely get it from Walmart and get the three year extended warranty.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "$30 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

JAWS

05/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All you need to do is set the day(s) and time that you want it to start cleaning and it does the job. It will clean each room until the battery runs low. Then, it goes back to it's charger and recharges. Then, it starts back up where it left off until it dining room chair or a dog or grandkid stuffed animal will shut it down. We just keep things picked up ahead of it. Also, it is powerful enough that our 10 year old carpet now has wrinkles that need to be stretched out.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "$30 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

10 minute battery life

05/19/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Great product as far as cleaning but my battery lasted 10 minutes. Had for 1 day and returning.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "$30 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Neato robot

05/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best thing I ever purchased does a better job than the house keeper did!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 179 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next