Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Neato "$30 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Neato "$30 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Robotic vacuums are not to be used as a primary vacuum. They're meant as supplemental cleaning between regular cleaning. The Neato XV-21 is equipped with onboard Room Positioning System (RPS) technology, a revolutionary system developed by Neato Robotics that combines laser vision with mapping. With RPS technology, the robot uses its laser to see its surroundings and create accurate maps of areas to be cleaned, including furniture, objects and doorways. The robot constantly updates its map of the room, so if a new object is added into the room during a cleaning run, the robot will add it to the map.
Average Customer Rating:
3.964 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(168 Reviews) 162
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
87
4 stars
43
3 stars
6
2 stars
9
1 star
23
Customer Recommendation83%139 out of 168reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 82 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
87
4 stars
43
3 stars
6
2 stars
9
1 star
23
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for "$30 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

slow and lost

12/10/2012
By ,
Arkansas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It had a great suction but it got stuck under/around chairs. It would just go in a circle completely lost. I spent more time putting it back on track than it was worth. Took back to store for refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "$30 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Disappointed with the replacement

04/22/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When I first got the Neato XV-21 I was fascinated by it's ability to navigate through chairs, around objects, and otherwise to a great job of vacuuming the house. I'd leave it upstairs for a week and then move it downstairs in order to keep the whole house clean. Then the display died.
Sent it in for a return and Neato sends a slightly older version of the XV-21 (I didn't even know there were older versions - but this one didn't have the battery power switch)....they also had a newer firmware version....and it is abysmal. While the first one could do the whole house and maybe get lost once - this one can't do 1/2 a room. Gets stuck on walls (yep, a wall with nothing around - it'll back up into it and then stop). After a string of 10 emails/calls with their customer service, I'm losing hope. Keep away - unless you end up with one of the good ones.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "$30 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

AVOID NEATO ROBOTICS

05/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought my current XV21 exactly 13 months ago with a 3 year extended warranty. It was awesome for the 1st 6 months and then it all of a sudden now after running a cycle it dies before finishing and the power light is half illuminated with unresponsive buttons, so i have to unscrew the battery compartments and unplug both batteries then it powers on and I have to reset the clock.
I called Neato and they said they would send a replacement and I would pay a $25 fee. I said well I have an extended warranty so I'll just use that since there is no added fee. Well needless to say I have sent it to Asurion 3 times while waiting about 3 weeks each time to get the unit back in seemingly worse condition (dirty and more scratched) with the exact same issue. I run it 1 or 2 cycles and it is half lit power requiring a battery pull and reset.
So then I call Neato and the rep says I am 30 days past the 1 year warranty even though i called 4 months ago and they don't have any options for replacement. I said, "So I paid $380 for a small vacuum that worked for less than 6 months? When I calculate the 2 times a week for 6 months that I ran it I paid over $10 a use. Unbelievably the Neato rep actually said "unfortunately these vacuums don't have a long life." Well, I have a Roomba that is 5 years old that does my office and although it doesn't clean as thoroughly nor is as intelligent as my Neato it has gone over 500 cycles and hasn't even had the battery changed. So a durable Roomba cleans better than a smart but unreliable Neato that consistently doesn't work.
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "$30 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Great until.... the LCD screen quits

04/30/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The robot is great until it dies at 15 months. The LCD screen is going blank on many of these so it is a known problem but Neato is not doing anything about it. If it happens in the first 12 months they will send you a refurbished one that has a 90 day warranty. If that LCD quits you now own a $300 anchor.
Seek vacuums that last longer for your money.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "$30 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Amazing technology!

09/01/2012
By ,
Cocoa, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The XV-21 exceeded all my expectations. I could not believe the dirt it removed from my carpet right after a thorough vacuuming with my Dirt Devil upright. It cleaned closer to the room perimeters than my upright. After the third week, the dirt bin did not fill as quickly, but I think it will take two more weeks of weekly cleanings before it can vacuum the entire home with out overflowing the dirt bin where I need to empty it during each charging session. It runs about 45 minutes on a carpeted area (roughly two rooms or 300 square feet) before requiring a 3 hour recharge, so it takes about 12 hours to vacuum my entire 1400 sq. ft. home. After about 5 weeks I should be able to leave it unattended (no longer emptying the dirt bin). If there is a drawback, it is having to frequently empty the dirt bin the first month since it is more efficient than any vacuum I ever owned and is extracting 9 years of dirt in the carpet that my other vacuums failed to remove.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+110points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "$30 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Not Happy

01/02/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased Neato because of previous ratings and great Black Friday deal. Overall, easy to get started and program. But, after it kept stopping in the middle of the room and reading to clear it's path when there was nothing around it, I began to get worried. Then it started repeating it's cycle and getting stuck under a chair. Before the sale ended, I decided to refund my money and start with a new Neato. As soon as my new Neato arrived. I put it on the base to charge and programed it. It started as scheduled, but died 10 mins after it left the base even after a 48 hr charge. I hit the start button to restart and it took off to do its job but after about 5 mins out it stopped in the hallway and asked for the path to be cleared. My house is all hardwood and clear of all possible interruptions. I was done! I returned the Neato and purchased a Roomba for $150 more, but well worth it. Love My Roomba!!!! Sorry Neato, but you left me very disappointed.
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "$30 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Love It But.....

12/31/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This works better than I ever thought it could!!! The only complaint I have is the documentation is almost non existent!! Even when I emailed a question to support they gave me the wrong answer. Got the right one from another owner on here.
The docs tell you what you have to do when you install a new battery. What they DON'T tell you is that the battery in your vac-bot is, guess what, NEW, so you have to break it in also. That is why you have people complaining about the short time it runs before needing to charge.
You will be surprised how well it does it's job after you give it a chance to learn your rooms. Even if you think it has missed part of it give it a chance. Most of the time it will go back and get it even if it does another room first.
You need to run it about 3 or 4 times before it learns what it needs to. You need to learn where it needs help also. Like areas it might get stuck or what you should maybe move so it can work more efficiently.
All in all I LOVE mine after I got to know how it works.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "$30 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Vacuums the floor so you or your wife doesn't have

02/02/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is now my second XP 21 I've owned over the last two years. The device does a very good job in picking up the hair from our dog and two cats. There are some caveats however. We have one couch that sits just a little too low for a complete clearance of the robot such that it gets stuck under the couch. To remedy that I placed a few pieces of cardboard under legsof the couch. Also, there is a small bathroom where the robot frequently gets caught between the toilet and the wall. I leave the door to this bathroom close. Other than that the robot does a good job of cleaning for a good period of time going back to charge and then continue to clean where he left off.we named our robot Lance, after a famous cyclist who would do anything to win. I had to send the original robot back to the company at least one time however they sent me a new unit without charge. This happened again after the first year and my VISA warranty covered for a brand new one.
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "$30 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Great product, just accept it for what it is not

02/10/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am pleased with the price of the product and also with it's ability to be a HELP in the fight to keep my house clean. Know that this product doesn't replace vacuuming entirely, and you will be pleased.
The only limitation I have really found is it is unable to get right up against the wall/baseboard etc. and the suction isn't strong enough to pull in that dirt and hair. Otherwise if the dirt/hair is directly in it's path, it does a great job cleaning it up.
I really enjoy using it to go under the beds and behind couches etc.
One tip that I have found-once you start it doing a "house clean", do NOT move any pieces of furniture. If I move a chair slightly and it has already gone in that area, it gets very confused and tries to continue on the original path.
At times it may seem like it is doing random paths-but in the end it will clean the entire main floor of my home. So it does keep good track of where it has been and where it hasn't been.
We can usually do two full vacuum cycles between emptying the dirt container and wiping off the filter.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "$30 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Truly a wife pleaser

12/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This vacuum is a very welcome asset to our family, 3 dogs, cat and many birds.
After extensive research, we selected the Neato XV-21 vacuum and very glad we did.
Bottom Line Up Front: Wife very happy, I am happy, animals accept it and do not bother it and it cleans deep (even picked up dog hair etc after she used the Kirby an hour before.
Exceptional easy to put into service and operates without any assistance other than picking up items on the floor like dog bones, etc. We programmed it to do our 1200 square foot downstairs two days a week at a specific time and it vacuums on schedule. We can control what rooms it vacuums by leaving doors open or closing them.
Be careful! It does such a good job getting under the couches and beds that it finds things you did not know are there. Ours found a roll of paper towels under a couch and when it ate into it the machine shut down and displayed text to extract the item and return it to service. Our only issue was finding it when it did not return to it's home.
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "$30 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Easily worth every penny!

04/16/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We've been using our Neato for about a month now. We couldn't be happier. Our only complaint is it takes a long time to vacuum our apartment. It'll run for about an hour, then charge for an hour. It takes 3 charges to completely clean our apartment. But this isn't a big deal, it runs quietly enough that our infant son naps right through it. We do have to move some items off the floor (toys, infant furniture, etc.) But again that's not much of an inconvenience. It's low enough that it easily vacuums under furniture.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "$30 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

It really WORKS!

01/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First, I really like this machine. I'm a skeptic and a hard sell, but we have two cats. Cats go where a traditional vacuum cannot. The robot goes most of those places. The first couple of times we ran the robot we were surprised at how much cat hair it found. The dust bin is not large but it packed it pretty good. You need to empty the bin after each use and brush off the filter. We program it to run every couple of days now and the amount of hair has significantly decreased (cleaner house). It doesn't like 'shaggy' bathroom rugs, it bogs down then shuts itself down. Pick it up and set it on flat floor and press the GO button and it's off again. Expect about 45 minutes of power before it docks itself for a recharge. The cats just ignore it now. We have dark hardwood, kitchen tile and short pile carpet. It does well on all these surfaces but pick up any socks or cat toys first. No buyer remorse here, our home has never been so well swept.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "$30 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Best purchase ever!

12/06/2013
By ,
Beaumont tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love love my neato soooo much!!! I'm a full time working wife and this has taken one of my chores off the list! It works extremely well! I have thick hair down to my low back and it picks up hair, dirt, dust and everything in between! I was sooo surprised the first time I ran it.. It covered my entire 1600 sq ft home and went from my tile to carpet to bathroom rugs whith no problem! I even tested it- after it vacuumed my house I went over my carpets with my cyclonic vacuum and nothing came up! I couldn't believe it! My mom bought the roomba and she is returning it for a neato because the roomba hardly picks up anything. The neato also goes in a methodical pattern so when I come home it looks like a freshly vacuumed . It is a little loud but I don't mind because I appreciate the power of the suction- I just turn it on and go to work!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "$30 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

Wow!

11/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me start by saying I have owned 4 roombas over the years. 3 vacuums and the scuba floor washer. I liked them but the improvements seemed to be in scheduling and not much improvement in the cleaning ability...a yet I would purchase the newer models in hopes of a better clean. So I checked out the newest model, new rubber brushes making cleaning the brushes an easier task...and I will tell you the time cleaning those brushes at times took as long as if I had vacuumed the room myself. When I saw the price...$700!...I decided to look around and see what else was out there.
The first thing that caught my eye was a youtube video showing the comparison between the neato and the irobot...a massive difference in what the units would pick up. My next question...would it last? My last roomba lasted about a year which really ticked me off. When I called the company they gave me a "deal" on another unit which lasted about six months before dying. I was tired of spending money on the better batteries to make it last longer for a unit that would last about a year...just enough time for the warranty to expire...I started using the regular vacuum again.
So I checked out the prices on the Neato and found a great deal here at Walmart $140 off the regular price! Got the unit the night before a really busy day at work and started charging right away. When I got home exhausted I put the unit to work. I had read reviews about the noise but I found the unit was no more noisy than the roomba and in fact was a less annoying noise. The dog barked at it for a minute and then ignored it. I had the charger tucked in a corner and didn't expect the unit to find its way back but it was the only logical place for it...then I fell asleep in the living room chair. I woke up at 4 am and started searching for the unit...I was used to finding the roomba under my queen bed usually just out of my reach. When I didn't see it I checked the charger and there it was, back in place and fully charged again...I was shocked. Next I emptied the dust bin and found it was STUFFED with debris much beyond what I expected. I have wood floors and low pile woven carpet so dirt shows quickly. I emptied the unit and sent it out again to cover the same area...again the bin came back stuffed! Next I sent it out to tackle the bedrooms with similar results. Once it got stuck under a chair and had to be rescued...no problem, I will reverse the chairs on the dining room table next time.
The biggest difference between the units...aside from price is that the Neato has an actual vacuum whereas the roomba is strictly a sweeper. I didn't think that would make so much of a difference on my type of flooring...I was very wrong about that.
Although the run life between charging is much less in a Neato, I found the intelligence of the unit and the way it cleaned was much more logical and efficient than the roomba and did in that shorter time as much or more than the roomba did with up to 3 times longer. If the roomba hit a fringe in a rug...game over. The Neato backs off the fringe and untangles itself. It did once stop when a 1 inch wide cloth strap got stuck...my fault I thought I had gotten it out of the way. One reviewer mentioned it didn't go over saddles well...I found no issues and was surprised to see it navigate over a large saddle at an angle after it couldn't get over it going straight. As far as the unit not lasting more than a year..I got the 3 year contract with Walmart, I don't care if they send me another refurbished unit as long as it cleans as well as this one. I have used the unit now 4 times and haven't even looked at the brushes for cleaning...with the roomba I HAD to clean them after each use.
So even WITH the 3 year contract I got this unit for HALF the price of the newest roomba and am much happier with this unit than I have been with ANY roomba.
I will go as far as to say this unit is more efficient than my regular vacuum and although there will always be areas it won't get to...nothing that a swiffer or a dust buster won't handle.
irobot has lost a long time customer...I'm a Neato fan now.
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "$30 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

We love our new Neato (Nellie). She's a workhorse!

03/08/2013
By ,
Hemphill TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I bought the Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum a couple of weeks ago and she has become a part of our household. We call her Nellie and she cleans for us twice a day. It's absolutely amazing at the hair and dust that she is still picking up from our floors (and I thought I was a pretty good house cleaner). We do have both cats and dogs so we needed the pet and allergy vacuum. The folks who clean for me on a monthly basis were very impressed with the work that Nellie had done before they got to my house this past week. I gave her 5 stars because so far that's what she has earned...sorry I didn't know about this product sooner. Another plus is the easy-to-clean canister that catches the dust and hair. Nellie is my new best friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "$30 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

worth the money...works better than roomba

08/29/2012
By ,
Oregon Coast
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I still can't believe i dropped this much money.....but it is well worth it. Very high tech little gadget. cleans VERY well. easier to empty and keep clean than roombas. you will not be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "$30 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

confused robot

10/10/2013
By ,
Portland, OR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We did heavy research between this product, consumer reports, roomba, and the other competing models. This seemed like the best machine for several reasons: pet hair, features, durability, reviews, and design.
We we're totally let down. Upon running the device for the first time it kept getting stuck under furniture and since it was scanning the room to a program and we had to keep moving it, it became confused and started to keep vacuuming the same areas over and over, never going to another part of the house and then eventually wouldn't leave the dock to vacuum at all even after a reset and attempting to work with Neato customer service. They want you to send them video which is fine but it seems like that was going to take forever to resolve.
After enough disappointment and realizing we could have swept and moped the floors twice by the time this thing barely covered the living room, we decided to return it. Just seemed like more trouble than its worth even though we wanted it because we knew we'd be busy with the new baby and with pets you must sweep weekly at least. We gave it several fair chances.
Let down.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "$30 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

works well, sometimes gets stuck

11/11/2013
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We let this loose, and it came back with a bin full of dust, even when the place looked fairly clean, and it's sure a lot easier than doing it with a manual vacuum cleaner! However, it does sometimes get itself stuck in tight corners, so it can't really be left completely without supervision except in rooms with simple geometries. So... kind of like a dishwasher -- a lot better than doing it by hand, but you might still need to clean the occasional dish.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "$30 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum

vacuums well but not worth all the trouble

03/14/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Vacuums better than expected for such a small unit. However, non-stop problems having to empty the small dirt bin, unclog the brush, etc. Now, having used it for three months, the battery will not even hold a charge for more than 10 minutes. [Note: the manufacturer's warranty on the battery is ONLY 6 months]. When talking to the manufacturer concerning the battery problem, they will not answer a straight question about how long the battery should last before needing replacement, under normal conditions. All in all, not a time saver when you have to spend all your "saved" time trying to get it to run again. Not recommended.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "$30 Rebate Available" Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum
11/15/2012
By ,
Saint Peters, Mo
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am very pleased with my vacuum. No more pet hair! Can't wait until they start selling robots that do the rest of my cleaning for me. Only problem I have is that sometimes it gets confused and gets a little to friendly with my floor lamp. I just have to pick it up and put it back on track but other than that, no problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 163 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next