Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Dyson Dyson DC23 Turbinehead Canister Vacuum with Bonus Mini-Turbinehead Tool ($70 Value)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Dyson Dyson DC23 Turbinehead Canister Vacuum with Bonus Mini-Turbinehead Tool ($70 Value)

The Dyson DC23 Turbinehead Canister Vacuum ($70 Value) is a powerful vacuum, for all-around performance. The DC23 Turbinehead features Dyson Level 3 Root Cyclone Technology, the most efficient technology for capturing microscopic dust. Turbine head refers to the air-driven brush bar, which spins up to 90 times per second, and is ideal for cleaning medium and short pile carpets. It can also be turned off for hard floor and delicate surfaces. An extension tube adjusts to the length you want and it is sealed to maximize airflow and increase suction. It also features a detachable handle, which allows you to fit tools directly to the end of the hose for cleaning in tighter places. The clear bin is made of tough polycarbonate to let you see when it's ready to empty and is hygienic and quick to empty. There are no extra costs with its lifetime HEPA filter and no bags to buy.
Average Customer Rating:
4.539 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(206 Reviews) 179
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
147
4 stars
38
3 stars
10
2 stars
7
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation92%190 out of 206reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
147
4 stars
38
3 stars
10
2 stars
7
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dyson DC23 Turbinehead Canister Vacuum with Bonus Mini-Turbinehead Tool ($70 Value)

I LOVE MY DYSON!!!!!

12/10/2012
By ,
Cicero NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this Dyson model for about 2 weeks now. I'm very impressed with the suction power and in particular the great job it does on hardwood floors. This is my 3rd Dyson, and I would never switch. I've had 2 uprights & decided to try a canister style this time. I believe the canister is better on hardwords for ease of use compared to the uprights (though both styles are great) and easier to vacuum steps.
I would recommend this vacuum to anyone who has both hardwoods, carpet and pets.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 2 for Dyson DC23 Turbinehead Canister Vacuum with Bonus Mini-Turbinehead Tool ($70 Value)

Never thought I would actually enjoy vacuuming

10/31/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best vacuum I have ever owned. I have always wanted to purchase a Dyson, but the sticker price scared me away. The price Walmart was offering the vacuum for was too good to pass up. Free shipping also factored into my purchase. I literally received the vacuum 48 hours after I had placed my order.
I used the video below as part of my research before I made this purchase. The vacuum does everything in the video.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4oC3wJ9IsLU&noredirect=1
(click to see the video)
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Review 3 for Dyson DC23 Turbinehead Canister Vacuum with Bonus Mini-Turbinehead Tool ($70 Value)

great compact option for a vacuum

11/16/2012
By ,
Nashville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second Dyson. I still have the first one that I bought which is an upright. I have a business and was using it several times a day for 4 years. I needed a second vacuum that was a little more compact and easy to load so I chose the DC23. It fits in a 24" duffle bag that I can easily load into the car with the rest of my equipment. I have found that when first using most Dysons, there are quirky little things that tend to be hard to get used to but once I get used to them, I love my Dysons. They are a true workhorse. I have sucked up many things that I should not have and been able to take apart the machine easily and quickly and unclog it. I have never had to send my Dyson in for repairs but I have heard that their customer service is excellent. Many people have told me that Dyson doesn't even make it in the top ten for best vacuums but I am here to say it is the #1 vacuum for me. They are really worth every penny I have spent on them. I just wish they would come out with a floor cleaning machine.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 4 for Dyson DC23 Turbinehead Canister Vacuum with Bonus Mini-Turbinehead Tool ($70 Value)
09/07/2012
By ,
Benton, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Haven't had the vacuum long but so far I like it. The suction is great. The cord is a nice length and the auto winder works well. It is easy to extend the wand and easy to remove the motorized head. The only problems so far are minor. It is easy to remove and open the canister to empty but shaking it is not enough to remove the contents. Hair and dust bunnies get caught and have to be removed with a long, narrow tool. The other inconvenience is the feature to turn off the motor in the head. You have to lay down the wand and reach down with both hands to pull out the button so switching from wood floor to rug or carpet is not as easy as it could be. It seems like the connectors are better built than most canister vacuums I have tried so I think they will last longer.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+42points
Review 5 for Dyson DC23 Turbinehead Canister Vacuum with Bonus Mini-Turbinehead Tool ($70 Value)
10/06/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has been on clearance for some time, and I was hesitant to purchase it- due to the fact that it was on clearnace to begin with. I just took the plunge, and purchased my new dyson. I owned my last dyson for 5 years, never had one problem. I just wanted a new one. I have been happy with my new dyson so far. Suction is just as good, if not better, than my upright dyson was. And best of all, I can easily vacumm under our beds and dressers. I love this dyson! What an amazing deal. Thank you walmart! No complaints! 100% 5 stars!
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Review 6 for Dyson DC23 Turbinehead Canister Vacuum with Bonus Mini-Turbinehead Tool ($70 Value)

Dyson DC23

10/26/2012
By ,
Ottawa, IL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Owned a trusty Hoover bagged canister for 15 years. Did a ton on online research to get up to speed and replace it. Finally decided to order and test drive: Dyson DC23 and Hoover Platinum Bagless. I returned the DC23. Hoover has a better powerhead; you can feel the suction/tension between the power head and the carpet. It lifts and fluffs the carpet pile back into shape. You can visually see where you've been. This is how vacuuming should be. DC23, no...while it sucked alot of debris, it seemed to be skimming along the carpet surface. Hoover won out, though I DID prefer the way the DC23 collection bin released/emptied, onboard tools, etc. (Hoover should pay attention here!) I felt the DC23 was overpriced (bad enough at $270 sale, but original $400??). Also looking at a Shark vacuum... Good Luck in your vacuum shopping endeavors.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+12points
Review 7 for Dyson DC23 Turbinehead Canister Vacuum with Bonus Mini-Turbinehead Tool ($70 Value)

There is a difference to a Dyson!

01/12/2013
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been reluctant to spend the money for a Dyson but with the special purchase model available at Walmart, I decided to buy. The quality is top notch. The turbine head canister vacuum is extremely well constructed. The design is efficient and user friendly - parts snap together smoothly and easily. Emptying the canister is simple and clean. I'm really impressed (especially when comparing to a "similar" competitive vacuum I own) with every aspect. It also cleans very effectively - I purchased a separate head for hardwood/tile floors. While it probably wasn't necessary, the attachment is very versatile in getting to the hard to reach places. I opted for a canister model because a shoulder injury makes it difficult to maneuver an upright. This model is light weight and easy to operate without giving up cleaning power. Thanks to Walmart for providing a great item at a reasonable price!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 8 for Dyson DC23 Turbinehead Canister Vacuum with Bonus Mini-Turbinehead Tool ($70 Value)

Good performance, easy to use

10/08/2012
By ,
Martinsville, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The vaccuum cleaner has very good suction power, the rotary "beater" works well getting dog hair off of rugs. Also the canister is easy to remove and clean. However, the vacuum would serve my purposes better if it had included a different attachment with a brush designed specifically for hardwood or tile floors. I have a lot of hardwood and tile and feel as if the current attachment leaves fine dust and some of the dog hair on my hard floor surfaces. I clean these surfaces with a micro fiber dust mop to really get them clean. Overall the vaccum is easy to use and carry around house and would be perfect for a house with a lot of rugs.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Review 9 for Dyson DC23 Turbinehead Canister Vacuum with Bonus Mini-Turbinehead Tool ($70 Value)

great value

09/30/2012
By ,
Northern Mass
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The day my last vacuum cleaner handle snapped off was the last straw! I went on Walmart.com and found the Dyson DC23 on clearance. It arrived within a week and snapped together quite easily. I have mostly hard wood floors with area rugs. This vac cleans both very well. I was shocked by the amount of dust and hair it picked up as I had vacuumed only a few days prior. I've always had an upright vac but now will never own anything but a canister. I can get under furniture and beds with ease due to the low profile turbine head. Also, very easy to dump the container. I would definitely buy this vac again. I plan to get one for a Christmas gift for my daughter.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 10 for Dyson DC23 Turbinehead Canister Vacuum with Bonus Mini-Turbinehead Tool ($70 Value)

Powerful

08/29/2012
By ,
north GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a good value even at $279 because it came with the optional upholstry cleaner which works very well and retails for $70. Overall a powerful vacuum and does not require bags which will probably save $150 over the life of the vacuum.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Review 11 for Dyson DC23 Turbinehead Canister Vacuum with Bonus Mini-Turbinehead Tool ($70 Value)

Best vacuum!

08/29/2012
By ,
Tampa, Fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best vacuum that I've ever owned! It makes my rugs look brand new. I can't believe how much stuff it gets up from my floors!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Review 12 for Dyson DC23 Turbinehead Canister Vacuum with Bonus Mini-Turbinehead Tool ($70 Value)

Great suction, but quality isn't all that

12/07/2012
By ,
Philadelphia
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've had two Dyson uprights, and I will say there are very effective vacuums; I had problems with the foot release lever jamming on them and one of these levers broke once - wasn't impressed. SO! I decide to try a canister vacuum this time around. The suction is great, as I expected it would be. The powerhead was a disappointment. On the uprights the powerbar is powered by an electric motor; on this canister (and all new model canisters) the powerhead is driven by the SUCTION from the vacuum, which reduces the amount of suction available to pick up the dirt - which is the whole point of vacuuming, isn't it? Also, the powerhead that shipped with it worked just OKAY on bare floors, but when I sent to vacuum a VERY short pile oriental carpet the powerbar stopped, altogether. Completely. It didn't have enough power to even turn itself on even the lowest pile of carpet. Then the powerhead started speeding up and slowing down on its own, at times winding up to near-jet-engine screaming noise so much so you couldn't hear anyone talking next to you, then it would slow right down again - all just sitting there on a bare floor, not even moving. I called Dyson and they sent a replacement powerhead. Same thing, it barely has enough force to turn the powerhead, leaves hair and lint behind on carpet. It took me 15 minutes of going over the carpet again and again and again before I eventually got all the lint up - and then the powerhead clogged. Come on, for $400?? My $75 dirt devil upright does a better job!! I am unhappy. It works great on upholstery - whoopie - a $400 sofa vacuum.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 13 for Dyson DC23 Turbinehead Canister Vacuum with Bonus Mini-Turbinehead Tool ($70 Value)

Great Power & Suction for a Canister Vac

09/26/2012
By ,
Berryville VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this Dyson Canister Vac because I needed something more lightweight. I have an older Dyson upright and I really love it but it is just too heavy for me to lug up and down the stairs. I was attracted to this particular model because it is small and packs a lot of power. I especially like the Mini Turbinehead Tool, great for the stairs and furniture. I also like the retractable cord - no more winding the cord!! However, I have one very small complaint, the cord is a few feet shorter than my other Dyson. With my upright Dyson, I can vacuum through three rooms before I have to move to another electrical outlet, with this one the cord can reach through 2 rooms. Other than that one minor issue I love it and would recommend it to anyone looking for a powerful canister vac.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 14 for Dyson DC23 Turbinehead Canister Vacuum with Bonus Mini-Turbinehead Tool ($70 Value)

Best vacuum I have ever had

09/25/2012
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The vacuum takes a little while to assemble, but it is not difficult. The canister is much easier for me to use vs. an upright vacuum. Does well with pet hair, too
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 15 for Dyson DC23 Turbinehead Canister Vacuum with Bonus Mini-Turbinehead Tool ($70 Value)

Worth every penny!

12/07/2012
By ,
Huntsville, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have never bought a Dyson before, but decided to go for it since my cheap, $100 Bissell was dying. It had been dying for just over a year now, and the frustration it caused made this $250 price tag look more than reasonable. As I pulled my brand new Dyson out of its box, I still wasn't sure that I would keep it. Any other time of the year and I wouldn't feel so guilty about this significant splurge. After struggling to connect the hose to the machine, the white ring stays on btw (I had to look it up!), I turned it on and immediately fell in love! It works beautifully; even on carpet! I have replaced both of my vacuum cleaners!! This wonderful little machine sucks up animal hair from every side. It works great against walls and in corners. Disconnecting the attachments is quick and simple. The power cord is 21ft long, and I expect it to retract as intended for the life of the vacuum.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for Dyson DC23 Turbinehead Canister Vacuum with Bonus Mini-Turbinehead Tool ($70 Value)

Love it!!!

11/12/2012
By ,
Riverside,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my Dyson. I had an upright Dyson but wanted the canister. We recently got rid of all our carpet . I shopped around for a good price and when I saw it on sale, I decided to get it. I also read the reviews about this model and how much others loved it on their harwood floor and decided to give it a try. I love it too !! I have two big dog and 2 kids . It follows me when I vacuum and as a Dyson vaccum doesn't loose suction. I would recommend this or any dyson vac to anyone looking for a good vacuum that has kids or animals and wants to keep their house clean!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 17 for Dyson DC23 Turbinehead Canister Vacuum with Bonus Mini-Turbinehead Tool ($70 Value)

NOt for hard floors.

12/07/2012
By ,
Alabama
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If this had a good hard floor attachment, it might have been good, but neither attachments work well with hard floors. My house has no carpet, so this is not the vacuum for me. Returning it.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+4points
Review 18 for Dyson DC23 Turbinehead Canister Vacuum with Bonus Mini-Turbinehead Tool ($70 Value)

I love it, love it, love it!

09/25/2012
By ,
Haymarket VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have four dogs, and it handily tackles their sheddings on my carpets. I believe that I will never own anything but a Dyson in the future.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Review 19 for Dyson DC23 Turbinehead Canister Vacuum with Bonus Mini-Turbinehead Tool ($70 Value)

Nothing to write home about

12/08/2012
By ,
San Juan,PR
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Maybe I had high expectations but this vaccum is nothing to write home about. Yes it doesnt loose sucction but is not that incredible to start with. I had an old magic blue kenmore and it did the job well. True that I had to spend money in bags but the vaccum costed less than $100 so you do the math. This Dyson is advertised as great for carpets and bare floors and this is not accurate. The floor/ carpet piece is not great for bare floors. I had to buy a separate part for bare floors and it works a lot better but that was another $50. This vaccum does the job but I do not think it's worth it price.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 20 for Dyson DC23 Turbinehead Canister Vacuum with Bonus Mini-Turbinehead Tool ($70 Value)

Love this vacuum!

12/05/2012
By ,
Louisburg, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
love this vacuum. I have only hardwood floors and decided to order the articulating floor attachment that is more like the one on my old vacuum. We have two loveable but shedding pugs. I was amazed how much hair it picked up on my first cleaning. The handle has a clamp that releases the suction when you run over door mats that allows you to vacuum them without having to have the brushes turned on. Very handy also when you accidently pick up beads or things you don't mean too. The suction when have the brushes activated is great. Makes for quick work when you don't have to change heads etc.My only major complant is that I puchased my vacuum one week at $269 and the next the price went down to $250. My other complant is that some of the really great attachments have to be purchased separately. The attachments that come with the machine function well and actually stay stored on the machine with out falling off unlike my previous machine. And the cord would be much beter tif it was longer. Walmart sent this package to my home several days earlier than expected and all was in great condition.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 88 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next