Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Jitterbug Jitterbug Plus No Contract Cell Phone, Red

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Jitterbug Jitterbug Plus No Contract Cell Phone, Red

The Jitterbug Plus 'no contract' cell phone is the easiest cell phone to use yet. The built-in 1.3 megapixels camera of this Jitterbug cell phone features one-touch photo sharing. This red cell phone provides easy to read large, legible numbers on a backlit keypad and a bright color screen with sharp graphics. Perfect for those with less than perfect hearing, this Jitterbug cell phone offers a powerful speaker with loud, clear sound. Intuitive menus for easy navigating and the one-touch photo sharing make this Jitterbug Plus 'no contract' cell phone as simple as pie to use. This Jitterbug cell phone has a long-lasting battery with up to 25 days standby and up to 5 hours of talk time.
Average Customer Rating:
4.082 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation82%40 out of 49reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Jitterbug Plus No Contract Cell Phone, Red

Fantastic little phone!!!

03/24/2013
By ,
Danville, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Jitterbug Plus has everything I wanted in a phone and more. At 86, with a computer at home, I have no need for cyberspace on the road. The camera on it is great - much better than I'd expected, and so easy to operate. I can drape the phone from my neck as it has a place to insert a cord, which is reassuring if I'm alone and ever need to call for help. At a very affordable price it has an optional 24/7 GPS service where I can be located and aided by certified medical personnel no matter how many miles away from home base I am. Reception on it is fantastic. Additionally, I can readily see the calls I've missed - how many minutes I've used up to a certain time, etc. Customer service is wonderful too. My monthly plan is so much less than I was paying before - I opted for 200 minutes at $19.99/mo - and any unused minutes carry over for an additional 30 days. No contract if I ever become disenchanted (which AINT gonna happen, I'm sure.) What more can I say... I love it!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+273points
Review 2 for Jitterbug Plus No Contract Cell Phone, Red

Easy to use but services are over-priced.

08/25/2013
By ,
Chicagoland
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pluses: the phone itself is easy to handle, easy to read, easy to understand. It's to be used by a man who has slightly compromised vision and limited hand dexterity, and he has no problems with the Jitterbug. The Great Call service plan that comes with it has operators who answer in person, are knowledgeable and helpful. I have no complaints there, but on the minus side I marked down the value because we're required to carry Great Call's service which is too expensive. I couldn't transfer service from another carrier which was less pricey so I feel we're overpaying for the limited number of calls we make and receive. With taxes and fees the $14.99 monthly plan becomes nearly $20! Voice Mail isn't included so we do without rather than spending another monthly fee. Would I buy the Jitterbug again? Yes, if there were no other choices. The phone itself and customer service are excellent but service plan cost is out of line.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+102points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Arizona
Posted 02/25/2014
Can you please explain the price/minute plans for this phone? And what carrier does it use?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Jitterbug Plus No Contract Cell Phone, Red

Good Basic Phone. Good Service.

05/06/2013
By ,
Lawrenceville,GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great phone phone for anyone that needs reliable phone service. The screen is easy enough to read. Menus are simple and straight forward. The phone seems durable. There are some extra bells and whistles that can be added through Great Call after activating. Some are free, some have a slight up charge. The service, so far, has been excellent with Great Call. They followed through with the number transfer from Virgin Mobile and didn't forget about the transfer. Virgin mobile had to release my old number and it became time consuming releasing it. Wait time when contacting customer service has always been short and the phone utilizes the Verizon network so it makes and receives calls reliably. Customer service operators very polite and helpful. I should be a customer of Great Call for a long time if the phone and service maintain this level of quality. No complaints, no regrets.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+101points
Review 4 for Jitterbug Plus No Contract Cell Phone, Red

Great phone for an elderly person.

05/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this phone for my mother-in-law who is 95 and lives in an assisted living facility. She wanted some contact with the outside world without having to pay for an expensive landline. The Jitterbug Plus amplifies the other person's voice so it's much easier for someone with a hearing problem to hear the conversation. We were amazed at how clear the voice was. She can now call her other two siblings who live in another state. The one problem with this phone is that the ringer isn't quite loud enough for her due to her hearing problem. We wish there was one additional choice for a ringer that would be louder for someone like her.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+21points
Review 5 for Jitterbug Plus No Contract Cell Phone, Red

Big buttons, easy to read, simple to use

01/15/2014
By ,
Dallas OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The phone is exactly as advertised with big, easy to read buttons and a simple "yes" "no" command center. I purchased this for emergencies while on the go for my parents and it was easy to explain to them, how to use the phone. It was fairly simple to go on line to set up the service. The instructions did NOT tell me that when I plug it in to charge the battery that it also turns the unit on.
My criticism: It was VERY DIFFICULT to open the battery compartment. They will have to take this phone to a service center if they ever need to do it. My second criticism: I purchased the phone for $68.86 with free shipping and when it came the bill said $60. I would like to know, where is my $8.86?
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+19points
Review 6 for Jitterbug Plus No Contract Cell Phone, Red

Not in use yet so can't review performance

07/07/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought a Jitterbug cell phone through WalMart. I picked it up a couple of days ago. It is touted as being so simple and easy to use. So, being the naive O/F that I am, I read the instructions for getting it set up and started through the registration process on the internet. The next step said to install the battery. There was no battery in the box. So I figured, alright-maybe it is already in the phone but not fully seated or something. The instructions said to press down and slide the back in the direction of the arrow on the bottom of the case. There is not an arrow anywhere on the case and nothing presses down or slides. Talk about feeling old and out of it and helpless. I will take it back to WalMart tomorrow and get somebody in the Electronics department to help me.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+50points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
East Texas
arrow
Posted 10/14/2013
The arrow is in the instruction book showing which way to slide the cover.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Jitterbug Plus No Contract Cell Phone, Red

Great for an elderly person

01/26/2014
By ,
Nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works just as described, very easy, large buttons, the emergency number on on call works great. Took seconds to program. Very easy online setup. It did take a while to finish the program but wasn't too bad. I love the yes and no easy for a elderly person to understand rather than the normal send and receive phone. The prices are perfect for someone that barely uses the phone it's basically an emergency phone for my in laws.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+31points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
HORRIBLE Customer Service!
Posted 05/29/2014
I will never trust or buy a Jitterbug again! Great Call the service provider has decided all of their phones from last year and beyond are ABSOLUTE. You must buy a new phone and trash the old expensive one. I can't believe they would do such a stupid and irresponsible thing! NEVER AGAIN WILL I DO BUSINESS WITH jitterbug!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Jitterbug Plus No Contract Cell Phone, Red

My best friend

08/30/2013
By ,
Visalia, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my Jitterbug. I have had it for approx eight years. When the first one the battery wore out they replaced the whole phone. I had never had a dropped call. I am 76 yrs old and they are great with operator assit. Thank you Jitterbug.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+48points
Review 9 for Jitterbug Plus No Contract Cell Phone, Red

Perfect cell phone for a senior!

04/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is awesome for a senior or anyone that wants a simple "user friendly" cell phone. My Mom is in her 80s and just wasn't comfortable with any of the other cell phones she had. But when the Jitterbug arrived she immediately was thrilled with just how easy it is to use. Clear, large numbers , simple stay on menu and phone book selections. She is actually using her cell phone now! And she just loves the style and color!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+20points
Review 10 for Jitterbug Plus No Contract Cell Phone, Red
08/30/2013
By ,
Marengo,Oh.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good phone,simple to operate,uses verizon towers so coverage is good,real reasonable price for the phone,no contract monthly rate is great,but you do have to pay $3 dollars extra for voice mail.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Review 11 for Jitterbug Plus No Contract Cell Phone, Red

Easier for sight-challenged; improvements needed

11/22/2013
By ,
S.C.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Menu is 'yes/no', which should help navigate menus for the tech-challenged. Operator function!! Large buttons. Built-in way to attach a lanyard.
Cons: Panel light doesn't stay on long (problem for sight challenged; no way to configure), no speed-dial function, operator is @call, unless doctor provides letter of sight problem. Plug-in spot is tiny (as on most phones), but for sight-challenged this is a problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 12 for Jitterbug Plus No Contract Cell Phone, Red

Jitterbug phone cannot be activated.

04/09/2014
By ,
San Diego
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Phone I recieved had been previosuly activiated so I am unable to activate it on line. Spent 25 minutes on phone with customer service and tech support. Still not activated. I now need to take time to figure how to return it.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+21points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
San Diego, CA
Secondhand Activation
Posted 04/14/2014
Hello,
We are sorry that we were unable to activate your secondhand handset. We encourage customers to purchase directly from GreatCall or an authorized dealer to ensure that the phone you receive can be activated. We apologize for the inconvenience.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Jitterbug Plus No Contract Cell Phone, Red

Great Basic Cell Phone for calls and texting

08/06/2013
By ,
Morgan City, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is JUST what I needed. I did not want a phone with too many gadgets and it is simple and easy to use for calls and texting. The reason I could not give it 5 stars is because it is a great cell phone but it is so simple that it misses that element of suprise and challenge. But if you want a basic phone, then this is a great phone to have. I have dropped it three times and not one scratch!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+35points
Review 14 for Jitterbug Plus No Contract Cell Phone, Red

Jitterbug cell phone is perfect for my elderly Mom

07/22/2013
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to work, large buttons, very good sound and she loves it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+24points
Review 15 for Jitterbug Plus No Contract Cell Phone, Red

Not reliable

08/21/2013
By ,
Chicago, IL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The battery won't hold a charge. Customer service was helpful and is sending a new charger. They said I had the wrong charger. I don't understand how that could happen.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+16points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
In Response To Your Comment
Posted 08/27/2013
My name is Sue Weaver, and I’m the VP of Customer Service at GreatCall, creator of the Jitterbug cell phone. I saw your post today and hoped I could personally discuss your concerns with you.
We apologize that you encountered these issues, and I’d like to learn more from you about your experience so that we can resolve this for you and prevent this for other customers in the future. If you would like to discuss with me, you may contact me at your convenience at 760-602-6700 and ask to speak with Sue Weaver.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Jitterbug Plus No Contract Cell Phone, Red

Good Basic Cell Phone

11/11/2013
By ,
St. Onge, SD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very easy to use, with great simplistic directions. The only negative is that the ring volume is not very loud, even at the high setting.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 17 for Jitterbug Plus No Contract Cell Phone, Red

Excellent for Senior Citizens

08/30/2013
By ,
Long Beach, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this phone for my 86 year old mother. I'm very happy with it, it is designed to be simple to operate, and the option to easily call and talk to a human operator is excellent in this digital age with infinite phone tree menus.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 18 for Jitterbug Plus No Contract Cell Phone, Red

Jitterbug Plus is simply the way to go! :-)

09/06/2013
By ,
Sarasota County, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Camera takes clear photos. Prepare for the camera to lag a bit. The screen shows "Saving" but the shutter has yet to sound. There is a delay for the sound and for the photo to save. Call volume is loud even at the lowest call volume. Call ringer is low in noisy areas. That is to be expected. Certain ring tones are more audible than others. For example, the "Telephone" sound is loud and clear, even in moderately noisy areas. The assigned phone number is displayed in the "PHONE INFO" and on the main screen when the phone is flipped open. "PHONE INFO" also displays the battery meter in percentage, signal strength as "Poor" "Fair" "Good" and strong. The time is ONLY displayed on the exterior screen. Entering contacts requires extra steps when using the device. The simplest way, out of three ways, is to create a login for "MyGreatCall" and enter the contacts online. The contacts are saved to the device wirelessly and take a few minutes to update. The third way is to call GreatCall's 24/7 Customer Service centers, verify your account, and allow the representatives to enter the contact for you.
I love GreatCall's 24/7/365 Customer Service based in the USA. Each representative I have spoken with over the 10 or more times I have called GreatCall regarding their plans, devices (including the newest addition, the Jitterbug Touch 2), and MyApps have been clear to understand and more than willing to assist me with any and all my needs regarding GreatCall. Activation was a bit long, in that this device takes up to an hour to download all the required information to properly allow the device to be activated. However, once the updating completed, the process was quick and painless. I ported in two numbers. In order to port my numbers in, I needed to receive a temporary phone number from GreatCall. This number was given upon activation of my Jitterbug Plus phone. Second, I called GreatCall Customer Service and gave my departing company's account number and PIN, if any existed. The first ported number came from Net10 wireless. This number was ported (transferred) over in less than 30 minutes. I was told it could take up 2 hours for the port to complete. I was thankful it took less time. The second number ported (transferred) from AT&T GoPhone. This number ported over completely within 20 minutes. I was amazed with the quick service I received from GreatCall.
The following starred information is NOT related to GreatCall but shows why I am partially amazed with GreatCall's number transferring times. **I ported a number to T-Mobile from Verizon Wireless prepaid and it took T-Mobile more than 18 hours to transfer my number in. What a disappointment T-Mobile.** On the other hand, GreatCall has more than exceeded my expectations.
For a company that has existed for less than the major wireless carriers, while using Verizon's network, GreatCall has earned my business. My family and I have activated 3 Jitterbug Plus devices in the last month (since August 19, 2013) and we may very well add another two lines in the near future. GreatCall offers shared plans and discount off activation fees. They offer monthly bills, so there is no need to find retailers to purchase airtime cards. There is NO CONTRACT to sign. I find this to be an advantage over some of the other, more popular companies. No contract is the way to go for my family and I. Check GreatCall out.
**On a different note but with respect to Walmart Product Assist protection plans, check them out too. I have purchased the product care plans for most of my cellular or electronic products over the last few months. They are fairly inexpensive, compared to monthly plans from all the companies that offer monthly protection plans. For accidental damages and incidentals, all claims I have submitted were covered 100%. Make sure you call or visit the website (PRODUCTASSIST.COM/WALMART) after you've purchased the protection plan in-store or online with your WALMART.COM purchase(s). The automated system understands 75% of what is said with voice recognition. Some times, however, it would be nice to speak with a human being to enter all the registration information. Filing a claim is quick and easy. Approval or rejection of claims, once submitted, may take up to 2 hours. I have experienced less than 30 minutes to receive the email with my postage paid shipping label to return, to a specified address, the item in the claim and all the original parts purchased with the item. The refund process is via electronic gift card for the original amount paid including taxes paid. The electronic gift card is sent via email once UPS has received, scanned, and issued a receipt for the returned items using the prepaid shipping label issued by walmart.com product assist. Hold on to your original purchase receipt with TE#, ST#, TR#, date, and how many items purchased in the transaction. These are some of the items requested for registration.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 19 for Jitterbug Plus No Contract Cell Phone, Red

BAD Company! Don't buy from!

05/29/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I will never trust or buy a Jitterbug again! Great Call the service provider has decided all of their phones from last year and beyond are ABSOLUTE. You must buy a new phone and trash the old expensive one. I can't believe they would do such a stupid and irresponsible thing! NEVER AGAIN WILL I DO BUSINESS WITH jitterbug!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
San Diego, CA
Obsolete Handsets
Posted 06/06/2014
Hello,
We are sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with your GreatCall experience.
Occasionally, cellphone models do become obsolete. Unfortunately, we are unable to activate handsets once they have become obsolete. If your handset is active at the time the model become obsolete, we will continue to provide you with service and support.
Please contact GCCustomerSatisfaction@GreatCall.com if you need support for a previously activated handset model that is now obsolete.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Jitterbug Plus No Contract Cell Phone, Red

Most user friendly phone of all

07/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love my Jitterbug. I'm a senior citizen and I wouldn't leave home without it...Almost cried when I dropped in into the water glass I was carrying. But now, thanks to Walmart, I have a new one with a two year contract. Please, don't bath your Jitterbug!!! It will die on you...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
1-20 of 49 total reviews
1 2 3 Next