Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hot Wheels Hot Wheels Terrain Twister Radio-Controlled Vehicle, Red

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Hot Wheels Hot Wheels Terrain Twister Radio-Controlled Vehicle, Red

No terrain or off-road conditions are too tough for the Terrain Twister vehicle. The possibilities for excitement are endless. This Hot Wheels RC vehicle is equipped with pontoons sporting corkscrew-shaped treads rather than wheels. The result is a radio-controlled vehicle that can handle just about any environment. Kids will enjoy guiding the Terrain Twister to conquer snow, water, dirt, sand, grass and other tricky terrains as it moves off into any adventure.
Average Customer Rating:
3.818 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(77 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
33
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation81%62 out of 77reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
33
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hot Wheels Terrain Twister Radio-Controlled Vehicle, Red

Twister looks great but thumbs down product!

01/26/2014
By ,
Cape Breton, Nova Scotia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought the Twister for my son for Christmas worked for about 1 week and then just died. It did all the things it said it was suppose to but because it died in the first week of use I do NOT recommend this toy to anyone. After reading other reviews other people were having similar issues with the Twister. Also the battery life is TERRIBLE maybe they should put two batteries with it or figure out a way to make the batter last longer. All in all in my opinion this is not a very good toy for children as it comes with WAY too much disappointment for a child!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 2 for Hot Wheels Terrain Twister Radio-Controlled Vehicle, Red
This review is fromHot Wheels Terrain Twister Radio-Controlled Vehicle, Green.

Disappointing

03/11/2013
By ,
Lindsay, Ontario
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We gave this to our grandson as a Christmas gift. He has played with it 3 times, but never for more than 5 minutes at a time because the switch seems to be defective as you have to keep turning it off & on. Although it comes with a 1 year exchange warranty - no stores have had it in stock since Christmas.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 3 for Hot Wheels Terrain Twister Radio-Controlled Vehicle, Red

Does not live up to the hype

01/07/2013
By ,
Atlanta Ga
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this for my son for christmas. I'm sorry to say that it does not work as advertised on tv.
It is super slow on grass or uneven terrain. These are about the only surfaces where it goes slow enough to go straight forward/backward. Most of the time, on hardwood or similar smooth surface it goes so fast and moves in all different directions that I don't think it is actually being "controlled" by the remote. It slides sideways more than anything else.
When they say it works on water, they mean that it CAN "skim" across very shallow water ie puddles etc. It will not go across deeper water. We put it in the 3 foot end of the pool and it just spun around in circles until the battery died. Then it was time for the net!
Battery life is terrible no matter what the surface. We were able to get 15 minutes out of it at the longest before it crept along then stopped.
My son played with this on Christmas day and hasn't picked it up since.
I got this at a very good sale, so I just have the "it is what it is" attitude with it or more like "win some, lose some" but if you're looking at full price, I would look at other review sites for this product and then for something else.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+5points
Review 4 for Hot Wheels Terrain Twister Radio-Controlled Vehicle, Red
01/02/2013
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grandkids love it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Hot Wheels Terrain Twister Radio-Controlled Vehicle, Red

Gave it as a gift to my grandson.

01/02/2013
By ,
Washington DC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Haven't gotten a report yet as to how it is holding up. We were not able to open the screw in the batter compartment had to pry it open which I am afraid compromises the toy's ability to go into water. this part was troublesome but just hope it functions well as the toy it is advertised to be.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 6 for Hot Wheels Terrain Twister Radio-Controlled Vehicle, Red

Fun...for about 5 minutes

12/31/2012
By ,
Huntsville, AL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My oldest son (21) bought this for my youngest son (8) for Christmas. It's been a week and the thing has already stopped working. He had a blast with it while it worked. The battery cover on the toy poorly covers the battery, does not screw in tightly and no way to tell if the battery was fully charged or not. When played with in water, water got into the battery compartment. My son was diligent about keeping it clean and dry after playing with it outside. At times it would only go forward or only go side to side. For the money that was spent, VERY disappointed in the quality and life of the product. It's advertised to play in water and to go 27mph...my son said it went pretty fast the first time he played with it and that was it. Almost $80 for a toy that lasted less than one week. VERY disappointed. We will be returning the toy and buying something completely different with the refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 7 for Hot Wheels Terrain Twister Radio-Controlled Vehicle, Red

Fun toy

12/31/2012
By ,
RI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got it for my son for Christmas. We tried it out in the snow yesterday and it really didn't do anything except dig itself in. To be fair it was soft snow and very deep. Earlier in the week we played with it on the lawn and it wasn't too bad, but would get stuck sometimes with the leaves and taller grass. Where it was best was on the ice on the pool cover. It went great, doing slides and spins, etc. On the driveway it works, but only going sideways. There you can do some spins too. Not bad.
Looking forward to summer again so we can take it on the beach and in the dunes. I have a feeling this is where it will really perform best.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Hot Wheels Terrain Twister Radio-Controlled Vehicle, Red

Free shipping and availability was a plus

12/25/2012
By ,
Spartanburg, South Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was delivered on time. Great Job
will be using Walmart.com more often
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 9 for Hot Wheels Terrain Twister Radio-Controlled Vehicle, Red
12/25/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered two. One green and one red. I got two greens. Now I have to worry about my nephews arguing.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Review 10 for Hot Wheels Terrain Twister Radio-Controlled Vehicle, Red

Bought as Xmas present

12/08/2012
By ,
Casa Grande AZ.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have not seen this toy in action yet, Xmas present.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-7points
Review 11 for Hot Wheels Terrain Twister Radio-Controlled Vehicle, Red
12/03/2012
By ,
Fort Worth, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I rated the value poor because, a few days after i purchased the gift it when on sale.
My daughter pick up the gift for me. I was surprised to see there was no automatic price adjustment.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
-11points
Review 12 for Hot Wheels Terrain Twister Radio-Controlled Vehicle, Red
  • Staff Sparks

top toy

11/30/2012
By ,
san bruno,CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
the product had a great recommend but didn't quite live up to the hype. it just felt like playing with any other remote controlled car. but it only spins to the left for the most part not really going forward.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 13 for Hot Wheels Terrain Twister Radio-Controlled Vehicle, Red

Beware - arrives in a "hot wheels" box. Bad Santa

11/28/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have not tried the product yet, but was disappointed to come home to a "hot wheels" labeled box and not a generic Wal-Mart package.
Recommends this product? Yes
-19points
Review 14 for Hot Wheels Terrain Twister Radio-Controlled Vehicle, Red

awesome toy!

11/26/2012
By ,
norwalk,california
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son loves this remote controlled vehicle. I would recommend this toy to any parent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for Hot Wheels Terrain Twister Radio-Controlled Vehicle, Red
This review is fromHot Wheels Terrain Twister Radio-Controlled Vehicle, Green.
01/02/2013
By ,
KCMO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased as christmas gift for my 8 year old son. Played with it on Christmas day in the house and a week later after 5 minutes out in the snow the right side stop working. Now it won't go forward and backwards, only side to side. For the money this is not worth it and if it was not for my son loving it and I having purchased the protection plan, I would take it back and get something else. I have a feeling based on its proformance and other reviews that I'll end up doing that at the end anyway. Don't waste your money on this, bercause you and your child will be far more disapointed after getting, then if you had not.
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for Hot Wheels Terrain Twister Radio-Controlled Vehicle, Red
This review is fromHot Wheels Terrain Twister Radio-Controlled Vehicle, Green.

Great for any age as long as you have a large area

12/31/2012
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Terrain Twister is FUN, FUN, FUN!!! It's fast, needs lots of room and is best outdoors.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Hot Wheels Terrain Twister Radio-Controlled Vehicle, Red
This review is fromHot Wheels Terrain Twister Radio-Controlled Vehicle, Green.

Awesome

12/29/2012
By ,
Amherst, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this was a Christmas present for our 10 year old son and he just loves it. We had a lot of mud the day after Christmas so he got to enjoy putting it to the test. It's just Awesome!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 18 for Hot Wheels Terrain Twister Radio-Controlled Vehicle, Red
This review is fromHot Wheels Terrain Twister Radio-Controlled Vehicle, Green.

This remote all terrain vehicle works

12/29/2012
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product works good on carpet biut needs to go sideways on hard floors. Works great outdoors.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Hot Wheels Terrain Twister Radio-Controlled Vehicle, Red
This review is fromHot Wheels Terrain Twister Radio-Controlled Vehicle, Green.
12/28/2012
By ,
Jacksonvi;;e, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought for my 7 year old grandson that lives in Maine and he is thrilled by this item, loves that it goes on land, snow, ice and water all the year round elements for Maine
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Review 20 for Hot Wheels Terrain Twister Radio-Controlled Vehicle, Red
This review is fromHot Wheels Terrain Twister Radio-Controlled Vehicle, Green.

Not worth the money at all

12/26/2012
By ,
Missouri
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Got this toy for a Christmas present. My son was so excited because it snowed last night and we took it outside, in not very deep snow at all and it ran for about 2 minutes then quit. This toy will be going back to the store. For the money we could buy a lot better things.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1 2 Next