Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for DISH DISH Network Tailgater Portable HDTV System Bundle with VIP211Z HD Receiver

DISH DISH Network Tailgater Portable HDTV System Bundle with VIP211Z HD Receiver

The DISH Network Tailgater Portable HDTV System Bundle with VIP211Z HD Receiver is like a TV valet, it brings your service when you need it. Connect the Tailgater Dish Network to the receiver and start watching TV wherever you are, in the parking lot of the big game, on a camping trip or picnicking by a stream. The Tailgater Portable HDTV Dish Network consists of a fully automatic portable satellite antenna and an HD receiver. It's easy to set up and automatically finds the right satellite for your signal. Portable and lightweight, the DISH Network Tailgater Portable HDTV System Bundle with VIP211Z HD Receiver easy to carry from one outdoor activity to the next.
Average Customer Rating:
3.731 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation73%19 out of 26reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 17 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for DISH Network Tailgater Portable HDTV System Bundle with VIP211Z HD Receiver

Beware of DISH sales and marketing reps

04/17/2014
By ,
Virginia
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I called DISH about this product before purchasing. I asked if the "pay as you go" plan allowed the purchaser to buy in daily or weekly increments, as opposed to buying one month at a time. I was told "yes", only to find that this was not true. You have to buy one month, even if you intend to use the service only for a few days at a time.
Too bad, because it was easy to set up, and I like the portability aspects of it.
If you already have DISH for home service, purchasing a month at a time is not a big issue, since adding this receiver is allegedly less than $10/month. I don't know for sure, since I have FIOS at home.
I'm probably going to return this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for DISH Network Tailgater Portable HDTV System Bundle with VIP211Z HD Receiver

Great little no hassle sat setup

07/14/2014
By ,
Brownsville, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Traveling with my travel trailer in places that may have no tv this works well. Easy to setup and use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for DISH Network Tailgater Portable HDTV System Bundle with VIP211Z HD Receiver

Not as easy as 1-2-3

11/21/2013
By ,
Lake Havasu City, AZ.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We just received the Tailgater HDTV system and the ViP211K HD receiver last week. The intention is to use it in an RV. Now, we also have Dish Network in our home, but chose not to use one of those receivers because it is way too much trouble to unhook and hook it all back up with our home setup as it is. Lots and lots of cables in a small area. Anyway, what they don't tell you when you buy this, so save the money on a service call, is that the initial downloads for the new receiver must be done from a home Dish Network system first, which was a crazy mess for us! Not sure how to set it up if you don't have a Dish Network system at home, but this is what we had to do. It was such a frustrating couple of days of phone calls and trials......BUT, I will say, the Technical support thru Dish was terrific! Outstanding! Once we got the right person on the phone, he walked us thru EVERYTHING, step by step; which was no easy task for us non-techno, impatient people. He was patient, kind and dealt with our frustration like a champ! Our receiver is now programmed correctly and works in the RV, which is another long story but I'll spare you the details. Of course, the RV hasn't left the garage yet, but soon to be remedied! Hopefully now it will be as easy as 1-2-3!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for DISH Network Tailgater Portable HDTV System Bundle with VIP211Z HD Receiver

Bad experience

07/09/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
System not what I expected. Had a lot of problems getting it to work. I was on the phone with Dish for about an hour and a half before the system would operate at all. The next day it would not operate . I was told to call the manufacturer, called and was told it would 2 to 3 hours before they could help me and to leave a message. I never did get to speak to them. After the third day of working with it I finally got it to work, but not the way it should. I have not had a very pleasant experience with the system. Wish I had purchased the warranty with it, had I had known the problems it could create I would have.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for DISH Network Tailgater Portable HDTV System Bundle with VIP211Z HD Receiver

Works great and easy to setup

04/07/2014
By ,
Ky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We use the Tailgater for camping. The Tailgater was easy to setup. After calling Dish to initialize the receiver, we were watching TV in less than 15 minutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for DISH Network Tailgater Portable HDTV System Bundle with VIP211Z HD Receiver

No Hassle Satellite TV While Traveling

08/13/2013
By ,
Great Sand Dunes, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a full time RVer and the tailgater is perfect. It beats the pricey satellite antennas that go on top of your rig and lugging around a large satellite dish that you have to calibrate, not to mention the room it takes up when traveling. I spoke to Dish about replacing my existing equipment with this setup and was assured that it could be done. They did caution me about the fact that this is a mini dish and clouds could affect service. Thus far have gone thru about 3 weeks of monsoon rains and have had no problem losing service. Sets up in about 15 minutes!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for DISH Network Tailgater Portable HDTV System Bundle with VIP211Z HD Receiver

Nice idea, unable to get local channels

09/04/2013
By ,
Auburn, AL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The setup is super easy, and if you don't need local channels you will be happy with it. I worked with DISH customer support for 2 days trying to get local channels (other people with one of these less than 100ft away could get locals) and they basically gave up and told me to contact a retailer for assistance. I would think that DISH advanced technical support would have more knowledge than a local retailer... I returned the product because I was unable to get my local channels, but that was the only problem I had - deal breaker for me, but maybe not for others. I was unimpressed with the DISH tech support team, so I didn't waste any more time trying to troubleshoot.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for DISH Network Tailgater Portable HDTV System Bundle with VIP211Z HD Receiver

Very easy to set up.

06/20/2013
By ,
Cape Coral, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to set up and works great. Must call Dish Network whenever you change locations to get local networks and then you have to go through the system setup again. The dish gets it's power from the receiver and, when you power the receiver down to go through the system setup (to get local channels), the dish has to repeat the process to locate the satellites. It takes twenty minutes or so to go through the process. If you have a power outage, the process starts all over again. However, once it's up and running it works great. Perfect for our motorhome. We also purchased the external hard drive to use the DVR. Must buy the one with the external power supply.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for DISH Network Tailgater Portable HDTV System Bundle with VIP211Z HD Receiver

Disappointment

06/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Receiver did not work.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for DISH Network Tailgater Portable HDTV System Bundle with VIP211Z HD Receiver

Expensive but worth the money

09/13/2012
By ,
Malibu, Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have taken the DISH satelite to USC games and have enjoyed watching the game with friends. We will be retiring soon and look forward to many rving trips with our DISH. Walmart has great service and though we are not planning on returning our DISH it is comforting to know Walmart has a "Costco-like" return policy....LOVE THAT!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for DISH Network Tailgater Portable HDTV System Bundle with VIP211Z HD Receiver

non functional in nw pa

05/29/2013
By ,
nw pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
tailgater not designed to work in nw pa. tried it in three different locations all within 100 mi. of pgh.Need three satellites to recieve full programming and hd. we could only get two and that was at home where we have a dish on the roof. other two locations yielded one satellite. dish tech support was as helpful as always. read the script and said to call King controls. They advised they had no secret information. Tailgater was designed to pick up western satellites. Fortunately the device was purchased from Walmart. Best part of the experience. IT arrived when it was scheduled and picked up without any fuss. It was returned without fuss either crediting card with purchase price and price of extended warranty. If you are considering this item, make sure you buy it from Walmart
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for DISH Network Tailgater Portable HDTV System Bundle with VIP211Z HD Receiver

The Tailgater is exactly what we needed.

06/12/2013
By ,
Flinton, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is great for camping. Set up is very easy once you find a spot to let it find the satellite. It is kind of like you set it and forget it. I would highly recommend this unit to everyone. So far it has work great. We live in PA and were going to be camping in VA so I had this item ship to the Walmart in Gordonsville, VA. I also received excellent help from Kim in the electronics department at this Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for DISH Network Tailgater Portable HDTV System Bundle with VIP211Z HD Receiver

Still trying to get it set up

06/09/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Still trying to get it set up. Says no satellite detected
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for DISH Network Tailgater Portable HDTV System Bundle with VIP211Z HD Receiver

A must have for RV'ers

04/14/2014
By ,
Avon Park, Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a no brainier for RV'ers. The Tailgater was easy to setup and performed flawlessly. Just follow the instructions and when prompted contact Dish to activate your receiver and in minutes you are watching TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for DISH Network Tailgater Portable HDTV System Bundle with VIP211Z HD Receiver

WILL NOT GO ANYWHERE WITHOUT IT

04/17/2013
By ,
OKLAHOMA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LIVING IN OKLAHOMA AND BEING IN 3 TORNADO'S AT LAKE EUFULA WITHOUT GOOD WEATHER INFO. FROM TULSA, WE USED THE TAILGATER AT THE LAKE FOR THE LAST TWO WEEKS ,IT WAS GREAT, WE WILL NOT GO ANYWHERE WITHOUT IT, WE LIKE KEEPING IN TOUCH WITH THE WORLD.
A.D.L.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for DISH Network Tailgater Portable HDTV System Bundle with VIP211Z HD Receiver

Do not buy

03/28/2014
By ,
Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Did not ever pick satellite up tech support from dish network was bad was very disappointed with prpduct.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for DISH Network Tailgater Portable HDTV System Bundle with VIP211Z HD Receiver

good product

04/06/2014
By ,
Paris, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
easy to set an use good picture on the television arrivied 2 days early
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for DISH Network Tailgater Portable HDTV System Bundle with VIP211Z HD Receiver

Excellent

05/25/2013
By ,
Ormond Beach, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love our new Tailgater satellite, very lightweight & portable, & love the pay as you go plan.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for DISH Network Tailgater Portable HDTV System Bundle with VIP211Z HD Receiver

Easy system for hunting cabin

11/25/2013
By ,
Nashville, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the Tailgater to use during hunting season at our cabin. The initial set up takes time for the receiver to download software, and for the account to be activated. Overall, it works as advertised.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for DISH Network Tailgater Portable HDTV System Bundle with VIP211Z HD Receiver

As easy to use as advertised.

10/27/2013
By ,
Victoria, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We received the product sooner than expected. Everything was in great shape. It was easy to set up and after Dish activated it we got full service in 5 minutes. And of course Walmart had the best price around. We would definitively recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1 2 Next