Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Masterbuilt Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Masterbuilt Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

The Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker creates a new standard for slow smoked barbeque. Just plug in this electric smoker, set the temperature and timer, load with food and sit back and wait. Impress your friends and family with delicious smoked sausages, brisket, turkey, pork and more. Perfect for family gatherings, holidays, or any time you want delicious smoked meat and seafood. The Masterbuild Smoker features adjustable thermostat control, 4 chrome coated smoking racks, a generous 548 square inches of smoking space, a removable wood chip tray for easy use, and includes a water and grease pan. The door of the smoker features a temperature gauge
Average Customer Rating:
4.1 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation90%18 out of 20reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 9 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Not as good as advertised

06/09/2013
By ,
Rochester, ny
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Keeps a good low 200's temp, but doesn't go as high as advertised. Thermometer is inaccurate as well. Welds leak drippings from bottom pan, very messy. Almost Impossible to level because of non adjustable legs
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

If you want a cool smoke, this isn't for you.

03/22/2014
By ,
Thompson Falls, MT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The product seems well made, sturdy, easy to assemble, although it has space for a couple more racks.
The element is huge, 1500 watts, and the way the smoke tray is located, you need to turn up the heat to get it to smoke. On low, which appeared to keep the temperature at about 175, the wood chips would only dry out for me, not char. When I turned it up to medium, the chips started to smoke, but the temperature went up to 275.
I do not like to smoke fish hot, I like to keep the temp around 175 for a longer period of time so I can put a couple of batches of smoke chips in. This doesn't work for me.
The only way I could get the chips to smoke on low was to remove the chip and water tray holder, place the chip tray directly on the element, near the calrod entry point.
The water and chip trays appear to be Stainless Steel. The smoker is double walled, so temp should be easier to maintain. The racks are chrome plated and look good. The temp control is similar to one used in your electric fry pan, but does not have any temperature settings other than low, med and high.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Masterbuilt Electric smoker

12/29/2013
By ,
Lincold, DE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is our first smoker but my husband has had experience in smoking meats and cheeses in a smoke house on the family farm in the past. Living in a "neighborhood" we needed a better option than building a smoke house in the back yard. The smoker was very easy to set up, kept a very even temperature during the smoking process. We made 50 lbs of deer sausage the first day and smoked racks of ribs a week later. There are alot of great websites that will give recipes and info on the types of chips to purchase. I ordered a bag of each flavor online but found them much cheaper when I went to the Walmart store a few days later. Since it was out of season, I ordered the smoker online and had it delivered to the house. It was pretty heavy... too heavy, in fact for me to have loaded and unloaded myself to hide it for my hubby for Christmas. Much easier to have it shipped to the door!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Well made, good smoker for the money.

04/05/2013
By ,
Atlanta Ga.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this smoker based on the information provided on the Wal Mart web site. One of my criteria for an electric smoker was to be able to add wood chips without having to open the main door where the food is cooking due to the fact that when the door is opened to add chips, heat is lost and on an electric smoker it takes time to re-heat the inside. The information on the site mentioned that the wood chip tray was on the outside of the box under the the smoker, so i purchased this smoker based on the fact that the wood chip tray was on the outside as stated in the article on the web site.
When i started assembling the smoker, i realized that the wood chip tray was not on the outside of the smoker as stated. The grease drip pan is on the outside, on bottom of the smoker.
This is disappointing to me, the product was misrepresented in the description on the web site. Once again, i made this purchase based on the fact that the wood chip tray was on the outside of the unit.
If you are wanting to purchase an electric smoker with the wood chip tray on the outside, stay away from this one.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kansas
Wood Chip Tray
Posted 02/17/2014
Thanks for making it clear that the wood chip tray is located on the inside of the unit versus the outside as in their digital model. It totally makes all the difference for me.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Good value - does the job

09/25/2012
By ,
Manassas, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a basic electric smoker, my first, after doing alot of research and wanting one that was double walled (for heat control) with the capacity to smoke a turkey or multiple smaller food items. Price was also a factor. I've used it just twice with good results. Unlike more expensive digital thermostat controlled models, this is manual, which requires you to monitor and adjust it to get the chips smoking and set at the right cooking temperature using the dial-type thermostat regulator. I found little correlation between the dial settings of low-medium-high on the regulator and the actual temperature attained as the dial allows you to spin it around more than 360 degrees (that was somewhat disappointing). Overall, it's a good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Good for both smoking and cooking

01/27/2014
By ,
wyoming
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product because no digital controls to go bad. Most smokers only go to 275 degrees. This smoker, cooker has simple control and goes to 400 degrees. It will cook or smoke anything you wish to cook or smoke.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Great Smoker

03/01/2013
By ,
Lansing, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This smoker exceeded my expectation. I was a bit skeptical about an electric smoker, as I am a fan of real fire/charcoal. This smoker heats up quickly and stays at the correct temp. The smoker is easy to maintain and requires very little tending. The water pan and the wood chip pan lasted about 3 hours per fill at 225 degrees. The first use was with pork baby back ribs with apple wood chips and no sauce. Was the best ribs I have made to date. I see this smoker getting some use and making some awesome BBQ meals.
The folks a Masterbuilt did a good job making this smoker. The packaging department did quite well too. If you get one, you will see.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Worth the purchase price

11/18/2013
By ,
Richmond, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a beginner at meat smoking; this works better than I expected. More heat generated than I thought would be; wood chips last longer than I expected them to.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Very good smoker

03/23/2014
By ,
Edgard, La
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Smoke real good. Heats up well. Really enjoying it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Very Nice Really Happy With It

03/08/2014
By ,
Portland, Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Product For Excellent Price Great For Family Use But Feels Like Professional Equipment So Happppppyyyyy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Very good value for smoker of this quality.

11/10/2013
By ,
Mebane, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to complete assembly. Worked very well. My previous electric smoker was the round kettle type. This one heats up and holds heat much better. Easy to get to good, water, and wood chips using convenient front door.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Smoker that is very easy to use

04/26/2013
By ,
Katy,Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Smoker works very good temperture is consistant and cooks very well it's great not having to constantly monitor temperture plug it in set temperture and walk away . The wood chip bowl & water bowl should have been made a little larger in my opinion and the water bowl should not be sitting directly over the heating element . I have only used it twice since receiving it and have not gotten as much of a smoke flavor as I would like like I had on my charcoal smoker . Price wise I have found this same smoker at Tractor Supply Company for $129.00 now I will have to see if Walmart will match this .
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

This is a great smoker

04/04/2013
By ,
worcester, ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great smoker, much better than the "bullet" type. Lots of control with the thermostat so you can slow cook ribs so they fall off the bone.Smoked a turkey and then some ribs, both came out fantastic. I would recommend this product to the novice or experienced backyard warrior.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Recieved control unit defective

12/02/2012
By ,
Cheney,Ks
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recieved new Dec 1 2012 Saturday, unit heats up but control unit shuts down after 3min and goes to 32deg then error message. Plugged and unplugged unit to reset same fault, now i have to wait till Monday to call Mastrbuilt to see if they will exchange the controller, or do a return. Dont think i will buy another Masterbuilt Electric Smoker, should of just got a Yoder.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

great value

12/26/2013
By ,
tucson az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good quality - excellent
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Easy to use

08/11/2013
By ,
Kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Simple to construct and operate. We are new to smoking meats and are loving the ease, smell, and taste! We have enjoyed some of the recipes included and have even came up with some awesome dessert recipes to top of our meals. We haven't had the smoker very long, but all our grown children want one of their own. If we were to be able to re- select, we'd buy the electric Masterbuilt but in a bigger size. Hope you get one ... enjoy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

A good value

09/05/2013
By ,
Newaygo, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sturdy built and easy assembly. Temperature control was easy to use to find the desired temperature. Makes good smoke using a small amount of wood chips. Easy to clean. Looking forward to many tasty meals from it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Good smoker for the price

09/26/2013
By ,
Kenosha, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to assemble. Fit and finish were good. I have only used it once. Cheap english cut beef brisket came out perfect. Way better tasting than a crock-pot. Boneless country pork ribs (done at the same time on the upper rack) came out overdone. I used a remote read-out meat thermometer in the brisket and I should have realized that the pork ribs were smaller cuts so I should have taken them out sooner. I only opened the door once to check on things. I relied on the meat thermometer to let me know when it was done.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Poor respesentation Walmart

05/01/2013
By ,
NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
In switching from gas to electric, I felt this was the best bang for the buck. Don't want digital, too much to break. Don't want a glass door (Really? It's a smoker). It's a fine smoker for the money, but Walmart advertises it w/ four racks (it only has three), and an external wood feed door...No, it's a drip pan.
But value for the dollar it seems to work just fine.
After debating on returning it, I kept it as I didn't see anything else out there that would suit me as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5