Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Masterbuilt Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Masterbuilt Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

The Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker creates a new standard for slow smoked barbeque. Just plug in this electric smoker, set the temperature and timer, load with food and sit back and wait. Impress your friends and family with delicious smoked sausages, brisket, turkey, pork and more. Perfect for family gatherings, holidays, or any time you want delicious smoked meat and seafood. The Masterbuild Smoker features adjustable thermostat control, 4 chrome coated smoking racks, a generous 548 square inches of smoking space, a removable wood chip tray for easy use, and includes a water and grease pan. The door of the smoker features a temperature gauge
Average Customer Rating:
4.203 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
37
4 stars
22
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation91%63 out of 69reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 45 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
37
4 stars
22
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Very good smoker

05/03/2014
By ,
Martinsburg, WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love it. It's nice and sturdy. I have used it several times and it does a great job at smoking food.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Not as good as advertised

06/09/2013
By ,
Rochester, ny
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Keeps a good low 200's temp, but doesn't go as high as advertised. Thermometer is inaccurate as well. Welds leak drippings from bottom pan, very messy. Almost Impossible to level because of non adjustable legs
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Messy

07/19/2014
By ,
Deltaville, Va
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had all types of smokers and have gotten lazy in old age so went back to electric. I wanted to have a fixed temp. It did a good job. I loaded ir down with two racks of ribs, one whole chicken and a deer roast. The roast should have come out sooner, it was too too dry. The ribs and chicken were fine. The inside of the smoker looks like a black grease fire happened inside.
I cleaned the racks and the water and chip containers half way and the bottom of the smokers the best I could. I might try to put a pan on the bottom rack to catch the grease next time with some water in it. The door somehow on the inside is bent and sticks when you try to open or close it. I don't know if I put the handle screws in too tight and put too much pressure on it or just from the heat it warped. My temperature was fine I try to keep my smoker between 225 and 250 the chips smoked fine. I could see smoke coming out of the unit the whole time, but then again it could have been from all the grease.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Food taste great and easy to use!

06/08/2014
By ,
Northeast, Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After 20 years of using bullet type charcoal smokers I didn't expect the electric smoker to please my taste requirements. But after using this smoker a few times I love the food and ease of use. If you are tired of spending more money on charcoal than the meat your cooking then electric may just be a great option for you. Also after you get the temp set where you want it, you will not have to mess with it till your food is ready or you run it out of water. Doing a whole chicken really slow took around five hours and used about 2/3 of the water up. So if you were doing a large meat item you would need to add some water.
Suggestion: A wireless thermometer or any thermometer with a probe you can run in the back hole of the unit to give you a temp reading without opening the door helps a lot.
Warning: If you are wanting to cook really low and slow with lots of smoke this may not be for you. I don't get lots of smoke from the wood chips till around 250* But I don't care for a heavy smoke flavor so I like this aspect. Also THIS IS NOT A GRILL it is a smoker!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

If you want a cool smoke, this isn't for you.

03/22/2014
By ,
Thompson Falls, MT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The product seems well made, sturdy, easy to assemble, although it has space for a couple more racks.
The element is huge, 1500 watts, and the way the smoke tray is located, you need to turn up the heat to get it to smoke. On low, which appeared to keep the temperature at about 175, the wood chips would only dry out for me, not char. When I turned it up to medium, the chips started to smoke, but the temperature went up to 275.
I do not like to smoke fish hot, I like to keep the temp around 175 for a longer period of time so I can put a couple of batches of smoke chips in. This doesn't work for me.
The only way I could get the chips to smoke on low was to remove the chip and water tray holder, place the chip tray directly on the element, near the calrod entry point.
The water and chip trays appear to be Stainless Steel. The smoker is double walled, so temp should be easier to maintain. The racks are chrome plated and look good. The temp control is similar to one used in your electric fry pan, but does not have any temperature settings other than low, med and high.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Masterbuilt Electric smoker

12/29/2013
By ,
Lincold, DE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is our first smoker but my husband has had experience in smoking meats and cheeses in a smoke house on the family farm in the past. Living in a "neighborhood" we needed a better option than building a smoke house in the back yard. The smoker was very easy to set up, kept a very even temperature during the smoking process. We made 50 lbs of deer sausage the first day and smoked racks of ribs a week later. There are alot of great websites that will give recipes and info on the types of chips to purchase. I ordered a bag of each flavor online but found them much cheaper when I went to the Walmart store a few days later. Since it was out of season, I ordered the smoker online and had it delivered to the house. It was pretty heavy... too heavy, in fact for me to have loaded and unloaded myself to hide it for my hubby for Christmas. Much easier to have it shipped to the door!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Great Smoker

06/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have used it a few times and each time worked great. One time, we smoked over 20lbs of meat including 12 lbs of pork sholder, 5lbs of brisket, 6 lbs of turkey breast and a couple of pounds of chicken wings for a party. Added them at different intervals but pulled them all out around the same time. All of it came out great with that smoke smell and taste.
Not sure where people say that it will not smoke at low temps, I had no issues with the small chips (pre-soaked) smoking until they were ash as they are right above the element. I had the temp at between 180 and 210. For a 6-8 hour smoke, we did have to add chips every 1.5-2 hours as the chip tray is a bit small but not really a big deal. The chips smell like burnt wood to start but once the meat start to warm, you get that smokey smell. I recommend it
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Good value

10/01/2014
By ,
Remington, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had a charcoal smoker for 20 years, and finally broke down and bought an electric. The double walls are what really sold me on this model. Once you get the temperature where you want it, it will stay right there. I always had to finish my Boston Butts in the oven for an hour on my charcoal smoker, but cooked one last weekend for 6 hours on 225 degrees, and it was perfect. Have also done ribs and 2 Cornish game hens stuffed with wild rice. The ribs were the best I have ever made, and the hens were great. The secret to good smoking is constant heat, and this unit gives you that. I also purchased the Masterbuilt cover, and was shocked when I opened it and it said "Not intended for outdoor use". If I was going to keep it inside, I wouldn't need a cover. One hint, if you have stink bugs in your area, you may want to make some sort of plug for the little vent hole in the back. I had the cover on the smoker on my covered porch, and when I took the cover off to use it, it was loaded with stink bugs, and about ten had gotten inside the smoker. All in all a great smoker for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

From ECE1203

11/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Worth the price. good heating coil. lots of room. Smokes well lots of good flavor. Only problem i would say is get a drip pan to put the unit on because the water steams and condenses and will drain out the front door a little which you will have to clean off the concrete later, no big deal though.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Well made, good smoker for the money.

04/05/2013
By ,
Atlanta Ga.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this smoker based on the information provided on the Wal Mart web site. One of my criteria for an electric smoker was to be able to add wood chips without having to open the main door where the food is cooking due to the fact that when the door is opened to add chips, heat is lost and on an electric smoker it takes time to re-heat the inside. The information on the site mentioned that the wood chip tray was on the outside of the box under the the smoker, so i purchased this smoker based on the fact that the wood chip tray was on the outside as stated in the article on the web site.
When i started assembling the smoker, i realized that the wood chip tray was not on the outside of the smoker as stated. The grease drip pan is on the outside, on bottom of the smoker.
This is disappointing to me, the product was misrepresented in the description on the web site. Once again, i made this purchase based on the fact that the wood chip tray was on the outside of the unit.
If you are wanting to purchase an electric smoker with the wood chip tray on the outside, stay away from this one.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kansas
Wood Chip Tray
Posted 02/17/2014
Thanks for making it clear that the wood chip tray is located on the inside of the unit versus the outside as in their digital model. It totally makes all the difference for me.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

smoking goodnes

11/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this was my first electric smoker It put the great smoke taste in the meat that I always loved it was worth every penny I never thought it would smoke a brisket as good as it did all he videos I seen was about jerky making the only down side was the Wal-Mart ad said there was four racks that is why I got it after three day of waiting for it I read the reviews on it they said it had three and when I got it. it had three but over all I Realy enjoy it great smoker
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Good value - does the job

09/25/2012
By ,
Manassas, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a basic electric smoker, my first, after doing alot of research and wanting one that was double walled (for heat control) with the capacity to smoke a turkey or multiple smaller food items. Price was also a factor. I've used it just twice with good results. Unlike more expensive digital thermostat controlled models, this is manual, which requires you to monitor and adjust it to get the chips smoking and set at the right cooking temperature using the dial-type thermostat regulator. I found little correlation between the dial settings of low-medium-high on the regulator and the actual temperature attained as the dial allows you to spin it around more than 360 degrees (that was somewhat disappointing). Overall, it's a good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Best smoked turkey ever !!!

11/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product works great. I did have an issue with the doors inner liner coming loose during the pre-seasoning stage. I just had to replace two rivets and I was back in business. I used it to smoke a turkey and it turned out to be a hit. Will be using this smoker many times in the future.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

So far so good

11/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Smoke comes mainly out the door but food is gettin smoked and it's super yum! Thank you Walmart gods :)
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Best thing cents peanut butter

11/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Plug in and cook. I'm loving this baby. Im having a hard time learning the wood chips. Next time I'm not going to soak them in water like the paper said All t greases all go in the drip pan some run down the legs but don't matter it still cooks with out sweating more time to drink BEER
forget this baby is still brand new its impressing me now next time i use it. It could depress me
This is GOOD OLE PORKY DESHOTEL and i approve this message
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Great price, great smoker.

10/11/2014
By ,
Granite Falls, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this smoker to replace my trusty bullet style smoker. Just used it for the first time today and did a turkey breast and a butt. Like the ease of access. No problems with the assembly. Instructions were more than adequate. Slight leakage around door, but not problematic. Don't know if I'll put on a gasket as suggested or not. Thermometer on door was correct within 10 degrees +/-. No problem getting smoke as long as you like it kind of light. Cup of chips soaked briefly lasted 2 hours. Thought about propane, but electric is so easy! Temperature control is accurate and easy. Decided all that digital stuff was just something else to go wrong. I will line the liquid pan with foil next time as it was hardest to clean. For the money, you can't beat this smoker.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Smokin'

11/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this smoker for my son for his birthday. He loves it. The only problem was there was a large dent on the top and a small one on the side. He said he did not mind, but I wished he would have exchanged it for one that was not damaged. It makes great jerky.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Low cost value

11/11/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Inside metal warped after 2 uses. Doesn't seem to affect the function but now moisture gets trapped in the wall and drips out black fluid over the next day.
Overall works good for now. It can be difficult to maintain temperature.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Great Smoker

03/01/2013
By ,
Lansing, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This smoker exceeded my expectation. I was a bit skeptical about an electric smoker, as I am a fan of real fire/charcoal. This smoker heats up quickly and stays at the correct temp. The smoker is easy to maintain and requires very little tending. The water pan and the wood chip pan lasted about 3 hours per fill at 225 degrees. The first use was with pork baby back ribs with apple wood chips and no sauce. Was the best ribs I have made to date. I see this smoker getting some use and making some awesome BBQ meals.
The folks a Masterbuilt did a good job making this smoker. The packaging department did quite well too. If you get one, you will see.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Great little smoker

05/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Having never smoked meat before I was a little fearful of how things would turn out. In fact, the process was very easy and the results very satisfying. The smoker itself arrived in good condition with the exception of missing one of three bolt sleeves on one of the legs. The unit was sturdy enough so I just added some gorilla glue and secured it with the other two bolts. The smoker is actually a bit sturdier, thicker and better well built than I was expecting. My first foray into smoking involved four chicken quarters and a rack of St. Louis ribs. The chicken quarters were mildly smoky in flavor and super juicy. The ribs were tasty but not as tender as I would have liked. I smoked the chickens for four hours and the ribs for five. Will leave the ribs in a bit longer next time and see if they soften up a bit more. Excited to try some more stuff and this smoker is so easy to use I won't be so fearful next time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 68 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next