Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Masterbuilt Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Masterbuilt Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

The Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker creates a new standard for slow smoked barbeque. Just plug in this electric smoker, set the temperature and timer, load with food and sit back and wait. Impress your friends and family with delicious smoked sausages, brisket, turkey, pork and more. Perfect for family gatherings, holidays, or any time you want delicious smoked meat and seafood. The Masterbuild Smoker features adjustable thermostat control, 4 chrome coated smoking racks, a generous 548 square inches of smoking space, a removable wood chip tray for easy use, and includes a water and grease pan. The door of the smoker features a temperature gauge
Average Customer Rating:
4.205 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation89%39 out of 44reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 33 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Very good smoker

05/03/2014
By ,
Martinsburg, WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love it. It's nice and sturdy. I have used it several times and it does a great job at smoking food.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Not as good as advertised

06/09/2013
By ,
Rochester, ny
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Keeps a good low 200's temp, but doesn't go as high as advertised. Thermometer is inaccurate as well. Welds leak drippings from bottom pan, very messy. Almost Impossible to level because of non adjustable legs
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Messy

07/19/2014
By ,
Deltaville, Va
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had all types of smokers and have gotten lazy in old age so went back to electric. I wanted to have a fixed temp. It did a good job. I loaded ir down with two racks of ribs, one whole chicken and a deer roast. The roast should have come out sooner, it was too too dry. The ribs and chicken were fine. The inside of the smoker looks like a black grease fire happened inside.
I cleaned the racks and the water and chip containers half way and the bottom of the smokers the best I could. I might try to put a pan on the bottom rack to catch the grease next time with some water in it. The door somehow on the inside is bent and sticks when you try to open or close it. I don't know if I put the handle screws in too tight and put too much pressure on it or just from the heat it warped. My temperature was fine I try to keep my smoker between 225 and 250 the chips smoked fine. I could see smoke coming out of the unit the whole time, but then again it could have been from all the grease.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Food taste great and easy to use!

06/08/2014
By ,
Northeast, Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After 20 years of using bullet type charcoal smokers I didn't expect the electric smoker to please my taste requirements. But after using this smoker a few times I love the food and ease of use. If you are tired of spending more money on charcoal than the meat your cooking then electric may just be a great option for you. Also after you get the temp set where you want it, you will not have to mess with it till your food is ready or you run it out of water. Doing a whole chicken really slow took around five hours and used about 2/3 of the water up. So if you were doing a large meat item you would need to add some water.
Suggestion: A wireless thermometer or any thermometer with a probe you can run in the back hole of the unit to give you a temp reading without opening the door helps a lot.
Warning: If you are wanting to cook really low and slow with lots of smoke this may not be for you. I don't get lots of smoke from the wood chips till around 250* But I don't care for a heavy smoke flavor so I like this aspect. Also THIS IS NOT A GRILL it is a smoker!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

If you want a cool smoke, this isn't for you.

03/22/2014
By ,
Thompson Falls, MT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The product seems well made, sturdy, easy to assemble, although it has space for a couple more racks.
The element is huge, 1500 watts, and the way the smoke tray is located, you need to turn up the heat to get it to smoke. On low, which appeared to keep the temperature at about 175, the wood chips would only dry out for me, not char. When I turned it up to medium, the chips started to smoke, but the temperature went up to 275.
I do not like to smoke fish hot, I like to keep the temp around 175 for a longer period of time so I can put a couple of batches of smoke chips in. This doesn't work for me.
The only way I could get the chips to smoke on low was to remove the chip and water tray holder, place the chip tray directly on the element, near the calrod entry point.
The water and chip trays appear to be Stainless Steel. The smoker is double walled, so temp should be easier to maintain. The racks are chrome plated and look good. The temp control is similar to one used in your electric fry pan, but does not have any temperature settings other than low, med and high.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Great Smoker

06/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have used it a few times and each time worked great. One time, we smoked over 20lbs of meat including 12 lbs of pork sholder, 5lbs of brisket, 6 lbs of turkey breast and a couple of pounds of chicken wings for a party. Added them at different intervals but pulled them all out around the same time. All of it came out great with that smoke smell and taste.
Not sure where people say that it will not smoke at low temps, I had no issues with the small chips (pre-soaked) smoking until they were ash as they are right above the element. I had the temp at between 180 and 210. For a 6-8 hour smoke, we did have to add chips every 1.5-2 hours as the chip tray is a bit small but not really a big deal. The chips smell like burnt wood to start but once the meat start to warm, you get that smokey smell. I recommend it
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Great little smoker

05/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Having never smoked meat before I was a little fearful of how things would turn out. In fact, the process was very easy and the results very satisfying. The smoker itself arrived in good condition with the exception of missing one of three bolt sleeves on one of the legs. The unit was sturdy enough so I just added some gorilla glue and secured it with the other two bolts. The smoker is actually a bit sturdier, thicker and better well built than I was expecting. My first foray into smoking involved four chicken quarters and a rack of St. Louis ribs. The chicken quarters were mildly smoky in flavor and super juicy. The ribs were tasty but not as tender as I would have liked. I smoked the chickens for four hours and the ribs for five. Will leave the ribs in a bit longer next time and see if they soften up a bit more. Excited to try some more stuff and this smoker is so easy to use I won't be so fearful next time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Masterbuilt Electric smoker

12/29/2013
By ,
Lincold, DE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is our first smoker but my husband has had experience in smoking meats and cheeses in a smoke house on the family farm in the past. Living in a "neighborhood" we needed a better option than building a smoke house in the back yard. The smoker was very easy to set up, kept a very even temperature during the smoking process. We made 50 lbs of deer sausage the first day and smoked racks of ribs a week later. There are alot of great websites that will give recipes and info on the types of chips to purchase. I ordered a bag of each flavor online but found them much cheaper when I went to the Walmart store a few days later. Since it was out of season, I ordered the smoker online and had it delivered to the house. It was pretty heavy... too heavy, in fact for me to have loaded and unloaded myself to hide it for my hubby for Christmas. Much easier to have it shipped to the door!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Well made, good smoker for the money.

04/05/2013
By ,
Atlanta Ga.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this smoker based on the information provided on the Wal Mart web site. One of my criteria for an electric smoker was to be able to add wood chips without having to open the main door where the food is cooking due to the fact that when the door is opened to add chips, heat is lost and on an electric smoker it takes time to re-heat the inside. The information on the site mentioned that the wood chip tray was on the outside of the box under the the smoker, so i purchased this smoker based on the fact that the wood chip tray was on the outside as stated in the article on the web site.
When i started assembling the smoker, i realized that the wood chip tray was not on the outside of the smoker as stated. The grease drip pan is on the outside, on bottom of the smoker.
This is disappointing to me, the product was misrepresented in the description on the web site. Once again, i made this purchase based on the fact that the wood chip tray was on the outside of the unit.
If you are wanting to purchase an electric smoker with the wood chip tray on the outside, stay away from this one.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kansas
Wood Chip Tray
Posted 02/17/2014
Thanks for making it clear that the wood chip tray is located on the inside of the unit versus the outside as in their digital model. It totally makes all the difference for me.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Great beginnner smoker

07/28/2014
By ,
Shelby, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality is great for the price. Did a fantastic job on some pork ribs. Although I soaked the wood chips, I was surprised that they lasted for the whole slow cooking process. This is a great smoker if you have never owned one, assembly was easy, instructions were clear.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Good value - does the job

09/25/2012
By ,
Manassas, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a basic electric smoker, my first, after doing alot of research and wanting one that was double walled (for heat control) with the capacity to smoke a turkey or multiple smaller food items. Price was also a factor. I've used it just twice with good results. Unlike more expensive digital thermostat controlled models, this is manual, which requires you to monitor and adjust it to get the chips smoking and set at the right cooking temperature using the dial-type thermostat regulator. I found little correlation between the dial settings of low-medium-high on the regulator and the actual temperature attained as the dial allows you to spin it around more than 360 degrees (that was somewhat disappointing). Overall, it's a good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Simple to set up and use

07/29/2014
By ,
Brookings, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Only used once as a first time smoker. Too soon to give much of a review other than first batch turned out good. Looking to learn and become more experienced.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

great smoker!

05/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
first, the smoker arrived within days... very fast shipping. next, all the pieces.. legs, handles, shelves,.. etc. were wrapped in foam paper.. very well packed! after seasoning per the instructions, we smoked a 6 lb brisket on med for 8 hours. it was very tender, and there were no leftovers!! I tested the temp dial and found lo gives you about 125 degrees. med is 225 and high puts the temp at the max of 400. I picked an electric smoker because it is easier to maintain temp. for long smoking times. I highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Great Smoker

03/01/2013
By ,
Lansing, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This smoker exceeded my expectation. I was a bit skeptical about an electric smoker, as I am a fan of real fire/charcoal. This smoker heats up quickly and stays at the correct temp. The smoker is easy to maintain and requires very little tending. The water pan and the wood chip pan lasted about 3 hours per fill at 225 degrees. The first use was with pork baby back ribs with apple wood chips and no sauce. Was the best ribs I have made to date. I see this smoker getting some use and making some awesome BBQ meals.
The folks a Masterbuilt did a good job making this smoker. The packaging department did quite well too. If you get one, you will see.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

this is a great smoker

07/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for my husband and I'm so glad that I did. He has smoked some kind of meat every weekend since we got it. It's absolutely fantastic. The electric thermometer keeps the temperature stead for as long as it's on. My husband needs to figure out exactly how long to smoke somethings but other than that, he's been very pleased. I think he finds it much easier
than trying to regulate the temperature using charcoal.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Great first smoker

06/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first smoker I ever owned or used so I don't have anything to compare except comparing experiences with friends that have one. Was first thinking I wanted a gas smoker but I'm glad I went with the electric. It's very easy to maintain desired temp using the built in thermometer and temp controller. I checked the thermometer for accuracy and it reads about 12 or 13 degrees low at 250. (I bought a "must have/use" digital meat thermometer for about $15 at Wal-Mart.) The door doesn't fit perfectly as a lot of smoke comes out on the hinge side. I haven't looked close to see if it can be tightened up but I think it is riveted with no way to adjust. There is an adjustment on the latch side. Like other reviews I read stated, you can't add chips without opening the door (the smoker description says you can). This hasn't been a problem because I've had it going over 6 hours without needing more chips. I've had the smoker 2 weeks and have smoked 5 pork butts (3 10lb'er last night for church lunch today), a couple chickens (smoking 3 more right now for lunch today at our church), salmon, and a brisket. The only time I added more chips was for the brisket (9 hrs - which was too long). I ordered some chips with the smoker but they didn't come until several days later. Instructions say to use chips to "season" the smoker before first use so had to go to Wal-Mart and found the chips cheaper than what I paid on-line. It's a little messy with drippings falling on chip and water pans. Nothing soap and water won't fix. I line the bottom with tin foil. Made sure I poked a hole through foil for drip pan. For the price, I may buy a second smoker to have on hand for large get togethers.
Can wait to do some ribs next weekend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

LOVE this Smoker!

07/09/2014
By ,
Round Rock, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This smoker is wonderful! The meat is always so tender. Our BBQ pit is jealous, we never use it. The meat is very flavorful and this is easy to use. LOVE IT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Good for both smoking and cooking

01/27/2014
By ,
wyoming
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product because no digital controls to go bad. Most smokers only go to 275 degrees. This smoker, cooker has simple control and goes to 400 degrees. It will cook or smoke anything you wish to cook or smoke.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Smokes very little even with dry chips!!!!!!!

07/01/2014
By ,
Arkansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Smokes very little even with dry chips!!!!!!!!!!
Most likely because it does not have a vent system.
Built very well but, very disappointed!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smoker, Black

Great smoker for a beginner

06/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A gift for fathers day. Got ideas online on smoking ribs, followed that persons way of doing them and they were great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 44 total reviews
1 2 3 Next