Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nexus Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Nexus Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Dear Customer, we are out of the Google Nexus 16GB Tablet, and will not be receiving any more. You can look at and purchase the 32GB version by CLICKING HERE . The Black Google Nexus 7 Wi-Fi Tablet - ASUS-1B16 is the world's first Android tablet that combines the latest Android 4.1 mobile operating system with a powerful quad-core processor for high-performance computing on the go. An eye-catching 1280 x 800 high-definition display is your touchscreen interface for this Google tablet. The Google Nexus 16GB Tablet computer's LED-backlit IPS panel is made from scratch-resistant glass to offer crisp images, wide viewing angles and 10-finger multi-touch support. Advanced graphics come to life on the Google 7" tablet screen thanks to a 12-core GeForce GPU. It helps you take advantage of more than 600,000 apps and games on the Google Nexus 7 Tablet computer, as well
Average Customer Rating:
4.521 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(509 Reviews) 386
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
368
4 stars
95
3 stars
13
2 stars
9
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation93%472 out of 509reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
190 Questions | 798 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
368
4 stars
95
3 stars
13
2 stars
9
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

don't bother

02/04/2014
By ,
Boston
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had it for three days, picked it up on Tuesday, charged it overnight. It worked on Wednesday charged it overnight, and it wouldn't turn on on Thursday. Waste of money, I returned it on Friday and got my full refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
From Asus_Answers02/06/2014
Dear Valued Customer,

I apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you. To charge the battery successfully, please ensure the USB cable and AC adapter are securely connected from the tablet to a working surge protector or AC outlet. Should you need further assistance, please email me at cl-rodel@asus.com and write down service# 3414082 on the subject line.

Thank you for choosing an ASUS product.

Regards,

Rodel
ASUS Customer LoyaltyAsus
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

I've had colds that lasted longer!

04/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We were so excited to get this tablet for our 9-year old son. We received it on Wednesday. It worked great Thursday and Friday but when our son tried turning it on Saturday, it was dead. That was after a full charge. We had to return the tablet. WOW, what a terrible experience!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
From Asus_Answers04/15/2014
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for the positive comment with the tablet. I apologize if the system suddenly failed to power on after a couple of days. To successfully power on the system, please verify if the USB cable and AC adapter are properly connected from the tablet to a working surge protector or AC outlet. Please try to disconnect the AC adapter and let the unit drain for 24 hours to reset and clear the memory. After doing this, please reconnect your AC adapter then power on the unit. If the problem persists, please press and hold the power button, repeat this process a couple of times, until you see an ASUS logo or a battery icon. If a battery icon shows up, let the battery charge fully before turning it on again. If you need further assistance, please email me at cl-rodel@asus.com and write down service# 3613374 on the subject line.

Thank you for choosing an ASUS product.

Regards,

Rodel
ASUS Customer LoyaltyAsus
From Asus_Answers04/15/2014
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for the positive comment with the tablet. I apologize if the system suddenly failed to power on after a couple of days. To successfully power on the system, please verify if the USB cable and AC adapter are properly connected from the tablet to a working surge protector or AC outlet. Please try to disconnect the AC adapter and let the unit drain for 24 hours to reset and clear the memory. After doing this, please reconnect your AC adapter then power on the unit. If the problem persists, please press and hold the power button, repeat this process a couple of times, until you see an ASUS logo or a battery icon. If a battery icon shows up, let the battery charge fully before turning it on again. If you need further assistance, please email me at cl-rodel@asus.com and write down service# 3613374 on the subject line.

Thank you for choosing an ASUS product.

Regards,

Rodel
ASUS Customer LoyaltyAsus
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Loved the software. The hardware was poor!

08/26/2012
By ,
Urbana, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I went thru four before giving up and returning the item! The Nexus 7's I received were poorly manufactured. The first had a bad screen. The second the screen was not attached well. The Third and forth suffered the same issue!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Not Ready for Primetime

08/27/2012
By ,
Colorado
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nice design and specs but falls down in actual use. I returned at the 14 day mark due to multiple issues. The touch screen sensitivity would drop at random causing characters to be missed on the keyboard and making zooming and scrolling problematical. Then the left side of the screen started lifting. When I researched this on Google it turned out that Google was sending out replacements for people reporting these issues and advising that later hardware builds had addressed them.
From the SN, mine was from the first batch, so I just returned it for a refund. I might try again when the problems have been worked out.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

lasted 7 days

10/04/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i read the reviews. the tablet sounded great except for some tablets that stopped working shortly after they were purchased . "that is not going to happen to me" i thought and click i made the purchase. 7 days later it DIED !! black screen , does not turn... :( i am now waiting for a replacement. it was nice while it lasted, but i don't get it if this is a common problem WHY is this thing on the market ? this one better work , because i am not going to continue sending this thing in - plus i guess i lose the $25 in apps i download :(
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

junk

11/07/2012
By ,
arbutus md.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i purchased one of these tablets and could not get wi-fi to work after spending 2 hours on the phone with one of there reps i was told to return the tablet,very dissapionted wont buy another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Not for Amazon Prime or Kindle users

11/19/2012
By ,
Lincoln, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I finally gave up trying to get all the "features" to work. I love Google and expected better. The truth is, I have tons of Kindle eBooks and Audible audiobooks. I have only had minor difficulties getting the Kindle Fire HD 8.9 inch to work for me.
If you are an Amazon Prime member, it's even better to have the Kindle Fire HD. If I can take the Nexus 7 back to Walmart, I will. I won't say it isn't a good product for many, but if you are a Amazon Kindle eBook fan, and if you have Amazon Prime, better to get the Kindle Fire HD.
I like the size and weight of the Nexus 7, but for me it's a no-brainer to use the Kindle Fire HD 8.9 for the reasons cited above.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Won't Hold A Charge

09/03/2012
By ,
SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Never held a charge for more than a few hours, and eventually it would not charge at all.
I have cousins that have ASUS Transformer TF101, they have never had a problem with them, and they have more features like, HDMI, and SD memory slot.
I didn't find anything special about the Nexus 7 besides for the lower cost, and it is cheaper for a reason. I'm not sure I want to take a chance on another Nexus 7.
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Buyer Beware

11/01/2012
By ,
Tracy, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
You can't get Netflix, and since tablets are used mainly for intertainment, what is the point? Sure YouTube is fun, and Crackle is ok, but Netflix has the best selection of movies.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
-69points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
St George, UT
Netflix DOES Work
Posted 11/29/2012
I've seen this "no Netflix" comment on several posts and wonder why... I just downloaded Netflix from the Google Play Store on my Nexus 7 and it works awesomely! My daughter tried to use Netflix on her Galaxy, but she had downloaded the version from Netflix that is designed for Windows, and obviously it won't work. You have to get the Android version from the Play Store.
0points
Customer Avatar
Netflix
Posted 11/25/2012
I have this tablet and it is Netflix ready right out of the box.I am not sure why your device didn't have it.I watch Netflix more than anything else on this tablet.
0points
Customer Avatar
You can get netflix!
Posted 11/17/2012
You are incorrect, I watch Netflix on my Nexus 7 all the time. Just download the app from Google play and Netflix to your hearts content.
+6points
Customer Avatar
Tennessee
Netflix does work on the Nexus 7
Posted 11/02/2012
I own the 16GB model of the Nexus 7 tablet and it is my go to portable choice for watching Netflix especially if the husband is on the main television. It is possible to watch Netflix on the Nexus 7 and it works great! There are times it works better during streaming in comparison to a PS3 or computer.
+26points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 10 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Very unstable and unreliable

12/08/2012
By ,
Foster city, ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The nexus 7 tab simply stopped working in 2 weeks after purchase. The lock screen on the main page just does not open any more and there is no customer support. Big mistake that I ought this product
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Too many defective ones

09/03/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am on my fourth one now. Very determined to get one without hardware defect.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Junk

09/25/2012
By ,
Warminster, Pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased unit and it worked for 6 hrs. I attached it to my wireless network and began to charge it. That was the end of it's functioning. I began to charge it and the screen stopped responding to touch commands. I called google support, they suggested restarting it which I had already done. Still no resolution. They're advice was to return it. Really? That is all the tech support I get?
I followed the advice of a few forums and tried to reset the unit to factory defaults. It could never complete the reset process.
So much for the glowing reviews. I expect a lemon once in a while, but to get so little out of tech support...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)
10/14/2012
By ,
harrisburg
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this is one of the worst tablet in the market ever ... i bought one and the display was very lose so i went back to exchange and the other one had some dead pixels on the screen
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

to lock or not to lock, that is the question

01/11/2014
By ,
brooklyn
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the screen on our unit **randomly** doesn't unlock when the passcode is typed. after a reboot, it unlocks just fine, same passcode. when it's given an instruction, say googling something, it then locks us back out. we then have to hope that the passcode will unlock it again.
hopefully this is just a faulty unit. we are going to get a replacement today.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
From Asus_Answers01/14/2014
Dear Valued Customer,

I apologize for the issue you are having with the screen. Please verify if the unit is running with the most current firmware update. If you need further assistance, please email me at cl-rodel@asus.com and write service# 3340971 on the subject line.

Thank you for choosing an ASUS product.

Regards,

Rodel
ASUS Customer LoyaltyAsus
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

JUNK

01/20/2014
By ,
SD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JUNK! DO NOT BUY. Had one for 1 year and 2 days and it quit working. Sent it in and was told it would cost $200 to fix. Will never buy another nexus, they are junk and don't stand behind their product. Get something good and look at a different company.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
From Asus_Answers01/24/2014
Dear Valued Customer,

I apologize if you were not satisfied with the warranty policy of the tablet. If I can be of further assistance, please email me at cl-rodel@asus.com and write down service# 3374548 on the subject line.

Thank you for choosing an ASUS product.

Regards,

Rodel
ASUS Customer LoyaltyAsus
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Overpriced

09/22/2012
By ,
Seaside, Or
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Aside from the fact that it stopped working after a few days use, the only thing useful was that fact that it was small. Other than that, a total piece of garbage.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

DOA

01/28/2014
By ,
greensboro nc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ORDER A NEW ONE THINKING THIS WOULD BE BETTER THAN THE 2 REFURB ONES I BOUGHT. WRONG!!!!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
From Asus_Answers01/28/2014
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for choosing an ASUS product. I apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you. All ASUS products undergo intensive quality control testing and inspection, this is an isolated case. If I can be of further assistance, please email me at cl-rodel@asus.com and write down service# 3386170 on the subject line.

Regards,

Rodel
ASUS Customer LoyaltyAsus
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

It stopped working after a few days.

11/09/2012
By ,
Green Bay, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was my first tablet. I wanted something small that would fit in my purse, to be able to use during a trip to Europe. I just wanted to be able to look at maps, check mail, and communicate with my kids back in US while I was there. I decided to purchase the Nexus 7 because of the excellent reviews I read about it online and the smaller size. It looked great, easy to use and I loved it, with the exception that it stopped working on the 4th day of my trip. I didn't drop it or anything. Maybe it was the x-ray from passing thru the security at the airport in one of my connections, I don't know, I'm not an expert. I can't recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Fragile

08/24/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
So after two weeks of getting the new device after
the first one showed up DOA, the screen shattered in my pocket. Which would
make sense if I dropped it or had my keys in with it. However, in this
case it was in my front pocket by itself in the official case and was lightly
tapped by a door and crunch. I don't know if this qualifies for a return
but I was expecting a little more durability from Google/Asus. Especially since I have been using ASUS mobos for years.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Screen coming out of bezel like all nexus 7s.

08/25/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The screen has been defective twice already it has been popping out of the device you can look on YouTube for this problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 387 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  20 Next