Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nexus Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Nexus Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Dear Customer, we are out of the Google Nexus 16GB Tablet, and will not be receiving any more. You can look at and purchase the 32GB version by CLICKING HERE . The Black Google Nexus 7 Wi-Fi Tablet - ASUS-1B16 is the world's first Android tablet that combines the latest Android 4.1 mobile operating system with a powerful quad-core processor for high-performance computing on the go. An eye-catching 1280 x 800 high-definition display is your touchscreen interface for this Google tablet. The Google Nexus 16GB Tablet computer's LED-backlit IPS panel is made from scratch-resistant glass to offer crisp images, wide viewing angles and 10-finger multi-touch support. Advanced graphics come to life on the Google 7" tablet screen thanks to a 12-core GeForce GPU. It helps you take advantage of more than 600,000 apps and games on the Google Nexus 7 Tablet computer, as well
Average Customer Rating:
4.506 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(512 Reviews) 389
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
368
4 stars
96
3 stars
13
2 stars
9
1 star
26
Customer Recommendation92%473 out of 512reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
190 Questions | 800 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
368
4 stars
96
3 stars
13
2 stars
9
1 star
26
Customer Reviews
Review 141 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

HAPPY WITH MY NEXUS 7- 32 GB

12/18/2012
By ,
Boston, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you can afford the extra $50 for the 32 GBs, its worth it for the extra storage. Some of the aps use a lot of space and also music, photo and video files will use lots of space too.
I did a lot of research before I decided to get the Nexus. I like the processor speed, wifi, GPS, and touch screen. The speakers aren't great but adequate. I use my Bose headphones for better sound. The usb mini cable allows me to connect the Nexus to my laptop or pc for easy file transfers. I wish that there was a micro sd slot but I can use "the cloud" for storage. The front facing camera is lousy but I didn't buy this for a camera. If I want to take a picture or record a video, I will use my stand alone camera. I haven't skyped yet but I would say the nexus camera is adequate for skype, etc.
If you experience a weak wifi signal, call your internet service provider's tech support who will increase the channel of your router and now my signal is stronger. It wasn't bad before the adjustment but glad that tech support tweaked it. Overall, I am happy with the Nexus 7. If speaker and camera were better, I would have given Nexus a 5 star rating.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 142 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

best price

12/31/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a replacement tablet, my son cracked his orginal screen, this was by far the best price for it and we also got the insurance this time, a great deal for two years of potential accidents
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 143 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

For My Needs - Couldn't Ask For Better

10/19/2012
By ,
Sierra's in California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've has the Nexus 7 for a week now. It does alot for a tablet this size. The screen resolution is highly defined. Good feel to it. Comes preloaded with a bunch of applications. It was a breeze to connect to my network at home. No hassles what so ever. Wi-Fi range has been good. I use it out in the drive way with no reception problems. When I opened the box, I was a little disappointed in the instructions that came with it. Not more than what comes in the box, how to turn it on and a few other instructions. However, at the google play store, there is about a 103 page booklet that covers most everything you'd want to know. I down loaded it and am still referring to it quite often. Battery life is about 10 hrs for me with alot of usuage during the day. A hint: If your going to buy it, it comes with a Google Play Store credit of $25.00. There is no coupon or redemption code in the box. Here's what you need to do to get the $25.00 credit. If you do not have a google email account (gmail) create on and then you'll soon receive a notification that you have the credit. If you have a gmail account, merely log in to gmail during the setup process and you should too receive the credit. Googles version of what Apple calls SIRI I must say works pretty good. All in all, a very good item at a reasonable cost. Glad I made the purchase. Beats lugging around a laptop any day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 144 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

...buy this thing!

11/28/2012
By ,
Chula Vista CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
...in my IT job, I get to play with a lot of tablets, I have been impressed with a few. When the Nexus 7 16GB arrived it was love at first sight, or touch, as it felt good in my hand, not too heavy, and no sharp edges. I opened the box and patiently waited 4 hours. Power on was pleasantly fast, added my Google account and in just a few minutes was adding apps and discovering features!
Screen bright and rich colors.
Touch was responsive with fingers as well as stylus.
A quick run through settings showed screen rotation was set to off, changed that.
When access pint was added it quickly negotiated an IP address and the world awaited.
I own a dedicated GPS, but had to take a drive to test Navigation. Simply put, accurate, and updates position smoothly without jitters!
Added Bluetooth keyboard and speakers, now its a net-book!
Andriod 4.2 installed at some point here.
The surprise to me was the USB cable is not the best way to copy files between PC's Unless you are running Windows 7 or MacOsX with a driver! (free download) but with another free app, this becomes a non-issue. Do download and install ES File Explorer. Now you can simply 'share a folder on your PC and it will show up on ES Explorer! Just drag and drop!. Can also use FTP, Bluetooth etc.
Side note: The USB port supports MTP and OTG with a different cable. It does not support being used as an external hard drive though.
BTW - all of this is becoming true for most new tablets.
Software to sync iTunes is also available 'iSincr', also wireless!
Loaded with apps and live wallpapers and all services running, this tablet remained responsive and smooth in operation, did I mention quad-cores?
Like so many devices, the tablet has many sensors: magnetometer/compass, GPS, accelerometer, 2 microphones etc. I have downloaded apps that collect readings from each sensor, even a metal detector!
Only one speaker, but it is plenty loud! I'd rather that then 2 softer stereo speakers.
Battery is so good I hesitate to tell you that the second day I got 14hrs of nearly constant use and the battery was showing 30% charge! ! ! ! Surely you will get the 8 to 9 they promise :-)
Lastly, 16GB is plenty of ram, just manage it casually, and it will serve all of your needs.
I could go on, but as you can see, you won't go wrong, if you buy this tablet
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 145 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

fun once i figured it out

11/14/2012
By ,
lynn, ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am not computer literate. I have a laptop that I use for the basics. email, internet, bill paying, google. The nexus 7 was a little complicated for me and it took me several days to figure it out. The more apps I put on it, the slower it took to load but I probably didn't need the apps I put on. I put on suggested apps. the only other problem I encountered was that it said I wasn't on the internet two rooms away from my modem. I personally think that it is my cable service which I am not a big fan of. So I ended up returning it. I am either at work or at home so it defeated the purpose if my internet service wouldn't let me on two rooms away. It was fun while it lasted though. It will go landscape and the font can be set larger. just have to go to applications and keep looking. it was worth the 199.00 I paid for it. Too bad it didn't work out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 146 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Great tablet at an affordable price

11/18/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If your looking for a good, but affordable tablet this is for you. The Nexus is a fast an versatile tablet and the only one to get Android updates as soon as their released; meaning you get new features faster than all other tablets. This tablet is fast, i have a lot of music, apps and videos and never have any lag. Also the app selection from google play is very good. One of the best apps is chrome which is wicked fast. Battery life is phenomenal lasting me all day and sometime a day and a half. Videos have hd quality. Only gripe is no expandable storage. Overall I am happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 147 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Fast, sleek, great display, very good price

11/18/2012
By ,
Tel Aviv, Israel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got the nexus-7 after buying an ultra-cheap AKAI Android 4 tablet, which was slow, with short battery life, very bad multi-touch and didn't have full HD. This is much much better - altough I don't have a great camera or a MicroSD slot, the performance and display are ideal. The battery life is also impressive. For reading ebooks i still prefer the kindle, which has a better display with better battery life.
The price tag is the main attraction, and everything works real smooth with the Jelly Bean OS.
I'm happy with this one, and I don't regret not buying the 32gb model, yet...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 148 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

the quality is not good.

11/29/2012
By ,
Washington, DC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was happy when I got Nexus 7. It is very light and small, and the screen is very nice. I like the original google version of Android. It runs pretty fast. However, android is lagging when I rotate the tablet. The battery is ok for this weight. I set the brightness to the maximum, and it can play HD movie for a little bit more than 7 hours. However, after I charged the tablet for the first time, the left side of the screen popped out of the frame for about 1 mm. It felt like the screen may fall out of the frame. When I pressed the left side, I can feel there is void under the screen. The left side of the screen came back up about 1 mm out of the frame after I stopped pushing it down. I am going to take it back to the store for a replacement. If the replacement has the same problem, I will just get an iPad mini.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 149 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Great Tablet for a beginner

09/06/2012
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent tablet. Haven't figured out how to use camera yet. Everything else is great!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Perry Hall, MD
Google play
Posted 11/22/2012
Go to the app store and download the camera app. works great. not sure why it wasn't installed.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 150 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

love it!

03/21/2014
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 8 yr old son as a replacement for a cheaper brand that we bought him for Christmas. I'm not a fan of kids and electronics but something had to give. 4 of us, 1 laptop and 1 ipad. I got tired of all the "my turn" comments. Lol
If you are use to apple, it takes a little adjusting. We have android phones so no adjusting needed for us.
It plays all the fun games my kids want to play (minecraft, angry birds go, etc) and all the educational games they like to play. Also, both kids can play minecraft together...one on here, one on ipad, playing game linked together.
Definitely worth every penny!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 151 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

save the phone

05/13/2014
By ,
indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my wife was gaming on the cell phone a lot now she does it all on the tablet and not wearing out a $500 iphone
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 152 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Great tablet

05/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Tablet. fast delivery.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 153 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Great value for money!

11/25/2012
By ,
Madison, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros:
1. Great value for money
2. Light and portable
3. Directly from Google with any modifications to the software by other companies
4. Good screen resolution
5. Great integration with Google products such as Gmail, Google maps, Google Drive etc.
Cons:
1. Hardware is not as polished as an iPad mini
2. No rear camera
3. Not all apps are available on Android (for example, Economist)
I already have an iPad and was looking for a smaller and lighter 7" tablet that I could use for reading books and for carrying around more easily. The choice was between several Android based tablets and iPad mini.
I removed iPad mini from my options because of its higher price. Now, the choice was between a variety of Android based devices including Nexus 7, Kindle HD, Nook HD and some tablets from manufacturers such as Samsung and LG.
I went for the Nexus 7 because it is directly from Google with no modifications and add-on software being done by other intermediaries such as Amazon. It also ensures that I will be able to get Android updates in a timely manner.
So far, I have been extremely happy with this device. Android platform has made lots of progress in the last year or so. It is quite polished, the device is snappy and a pleasure to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 154 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Defective... everytime!

08/09/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The first one that I received had a blown speaker. I brought it back to the store, refund. Bought a second one thinking it was a fluke. Nope. The second one had a screen that was separating from the body of the tablet.
After the second time, I was done. I ended up buying the Asus Transformer Infinity. Sometimes you get what you pay for, sometimes you don't. This time I did.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 155 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)
10/18/2012
By ,
Massachusetts
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Basically the only reason I didn't give the Nexus 7 five stars is because of the storage issue. 16GB is good for a lot of apps and a few movies and TV shows downloaded from Google Play.
But if you want music and videos on the Nexus 7, you have to buy a wifi local drive like the Wi-Drive or Airstash to stream via wifi your music, video and pictures or use a cloud drive (cloud drive not recommended unless you want burn through data) since the Nexus 7 doesn't have a microSD card slot or plug-in USB Thumb Drive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 156 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Better than the iPad

11/23/2012
By ,
Crestview, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the Nexus 7 in every respect with one exception... It needs a camera lens on the backside of the tablet for shooting pictures normally. As is, it is difficult and awkward to take pictures of anything other than yourself. A huge plus over the iPad, the Nexus 7 features speech to text dictation allowing you to speak your emails and search entries rather than type them...and, it works quite good. In retrospect, I would not have bought the IPad.... I would have have waited for Google's Nexus 7.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 157 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Excellant

10/25/2012
By ,
Tulsa OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE this tablet. Its fast and easy to use. If you currently use an android phone, you will not have any trouble using this device. I love the fact that I can use both the Google Play market and the Amazon market on it to select games from. I have the nook app and the kindle app to read as many books as I wish. The music player is easy to use. The size of this tablet is the best part. Extremely easy to carry with you where ever you go. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it. Purchase - you will not be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 158 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Great Buy

05/04/2014
By ,
Montz, La.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Still learning all the features but so fat everything is great , I would like the power button to be a little more accessible but other than that 5 stars
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 159 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Great Value

11/12/2012
By ,
Silver Spring, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this nexus 7 for my mom. She's not very tech savvy but she loves the tablet. It's much easier for her to use this than a laptop. I also like using the nexus. I have an android phone so I'm familiar with the android platform. Videos and pictures look great on the tablet. The size is perfect for portability. I would recommend the nexus 7 for anyone looking for a great value on a tablet. It costs $130 less than the comparable iPad mini and has better specs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 160 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

agreed: an awesome tablet

11/29/2012
By ,
Waukesha, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The fastest, highest resolution, and most responsive screen. 16 mB of storage is great too. The reason for only 4 stars is the fact that the tablet lacks an HDMI output and a memory card reader. Seriously, makers of $90 knock-off tablets offer these features. Other recognized reviewing organizations say the same thing. This tablet was a pre-Christmas gift to myself and it replaced a generic 7" tablet that I had bought last summer (I was able to return).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
141-160 of 390 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  6 7 8 9 10  ...  20 Next