Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nexus Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Nexus Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Dear Customer, we are out of the Google Nexus 16GB Tablet, and will not be receiving any more. You can look at and purchase the 32GB version by CLICKING HERE . The Black Google Nexus 7 Wi-Fi Tablet - ASUS-1B16 is the world's first Android tablet that combines the latest Android 4.1 mobile operating system with a powerful quad-core processor for high-performance computing on the go. An eye-catching 1280 x 800 high-definition display is your touchscreen interface for this Google tablet. The Google Nexus 16GB Tablet computer's LED-backlit IPS panel is made from scratch-resistant glass to offer crisp images, wide viewing angles and 10-finger multi-touch support. Advanced graphics come to life on the Google 7" tablet screen thanks to a 12-core GeForce GPU. It helps you take advantage of more than 600,000 apps and games on the Google Nexus 7 Tablet computer, as well
Average Customer Rating:
4.501 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(513 Reviews) 390
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
368
4 stars
96
3 stars
13
2 stars
10
1 star
26
Customer Recommendation92%473 out of 513reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
190 Questions | 802 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
368
4 stars
96
3 stars
13
2 stars
10
1 star
26
Customer Reviews
Review 141 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

...buy this thing!

11/28/2012
By ,
Chula Vista CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
...in my IT job, I get to play with a lot of tablets, I have been impressed with a few. When the Nexus 7 16GB arrived it was love at first sight, or touch, as it felt good in my hand, not too heavy, and no sharp edges. I opened the box and patiently waited 4 hours. Power on was pleasantly fast, added my Google account and in just a few minutes was adding apps and discovering features!
Screen bright and rich colors.
Touch was responsive with fingers as well as stylus.
A quick run through settings showed screen rotation was set to off, changed that.
When access pint was added it quickly negotiated an IP address and the world awaited.
I own a dedicated GPS, but had to take a drive to test Navigation. Simply put, accurate, and updates position smoothly without jitters!
Added Bluetooth keyboard and speakers, now its a net-book!
Andriod 4.2 installed at some point here.
The surprise to me was the USB cable is not the best way to copy files between PC's Unless you are running Windows 7 or MacOsX with a driver! (free download) but with another free app, this becomes a non-issue. Do download and install ES File Explorer. Now you can simply 'share a folder on your PC and it will show up on ES Explorer! Just drag and drop!. Can also use FTP, Bluetooth etc.
Side note: The USB port supports MTP and OTG with a different cable. It does not support being used as an external hard drive though.
BTW - all of this is becoming true for most new tablets.
Software to sync iTunes is also available 'iSincr', also wireless!
Loaded with apps and live wallpapers and all services running, this tablet remained responsive and smooth in operation, did I mention quad-cores?
Like so many devices, the tablet has many sensors: magnetometer/compass, GPS, accelerometer, 2 microphones etc. I have downloaded apps that collect readings from each sensor, even a metal detector!
Only one speaker, but it is plenty loud! I'd rather that then 2 softer stereo speakers.
Battery is so good I hesitate to tell you that the second day I got 14hrs of nearly constant use and the battery was showing 30% charge! ! ! ! Surely you will get the 8 to 9 they promise :-)
Lastly, 16GB is plenty of ram, just manage it casually, and it will serve all of your needs.
I could go on, but as you can see, you won't go wrong, if you buy this tablet
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 142 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

fun once i figured it out

11/14/2012
By ,
lynn, ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am not computer literate. I have a laptop that I use for the basics. email, internet, bill paying, google. The nexus 7 was a little complicated for me and it took me several days to figure it out. The more apps I put on it, the slower it took to load but I probably didn't need the apps I put on. I put on suggested apps. the only other problem I encountered was that it said I wasn't on the internet two rooms away from my modem. I personally think that it is my cable service which I am not a big fan of. So I ended up returning it. I am either at work or at home so it defeated the purpose if my internet service wouldn't let me on two rooms away. It was fun while it lasted though. It will go landscape and the font can be set larger. just have to go to applications and keep looking. it was worth the 199.00 I paid for it. Too bad it didn't work out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 143 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Great tablet at an affordable price

11/18/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If your looking for a good, but affordable tablet this is for you. The Nexus is a fast an versatile tablet and the only one to get Android updates as soon as their released; meaning you get new features faster than all other tablets. This tablet is fast, i have a lot of music, apps and videos and never have any lag. Also the app selection from google play is very good. One of the best apps is chrome which is wicked fast. Battery life is phenomenal lasting me all day and sometime a day and a half. Videos have hd quality. Only gripe is no expandable storage. Overall I am happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 144 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

great e-reader,laptop substitute travel companion

12/30/2013
By ,
collegeville pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned one of these for about a year and I really like it. I use it primarily to Skype, run some game apps, and for email/internet. It is a very convenient size and I'm a huge can of android as an operating system. It isn't an iPad, but for so much less money, it is a perfect substitute. My recommendation is save your money and buy this instead of an iPad.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 145 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Fast, sleek, great display, very good price

11/18/2012
By ,
Tel Aviv, Israel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got the nexus-7 after buying an ultra-cheap AKAI Android 4 tablet, which was slow, with short battery life, very bad multi-touch and didn't have full HD. This is much much better - altough I don't have a great camera or a MicroSD slot, the performance and display are ideal. The battery life is also impressive. For reading ebooks i still prefer the kindle, which has a better display with better battery life.
The price tag is the main attraction, and everything works real smooth with the Jelly Bean OS.
I'm happy with this one, and I don't regret not buying the 32gb model, yet...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 146 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Great Tablet for a beginner

09/06/2012
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent tablet. Haven't figured out how to use camera yet. Everything else is great!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Perry Hall, MD
Google play
Posted 11/22/2012
Go to the app store and download the camera app. works great. not sure why it wasn't installed.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 147 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

the quality is not good.

11/29/2012
By ,
Washington, DC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was happy when I got Nexus 7. It is very light and small, and the screen is very nice. I like the original google version of Android. It runs pretty fast. However, android is lagging when I rotate the tablet. The battery is ok for this weight. I set the brightness to the maximum, and it can play HD movie for a little bit more than 7 hours. However, after I charged the tablet for the first time, the left side of the screen popped out of the frame for about 1 mm. It felt like the screen may fall out of the frame. When I pressed the left side, I can feel there is void under the screen. The left side of the screen came back up about 1 mm out of the frame after I stopped pushing it down. I am going to take it back to the store for a replacement. If the replacement has the same problem, I will just get an iPad mini.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 148 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Product Non-Functional Upon Receipt

02/03/2014
By ,
Morganville, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Everything was fine until I received the product - which did not work.
Return process was smooth.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
From Asus_Answers02/05/2014
Dear Valued Customer,

I'm sorry if the tablet failed to power on when received. All ASUS products undergo intensive quality control testing and inspections, this is an isolated case. If I can be of further assistance, please email me at cl-rodel@asus.com and write down service# 3410958 on the subject line.

Thank you for choosing an ASUS product.

Regards,

Rodel
ASUS Customer LoyaltyAsus
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 149 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Defective... everytime!

08/09/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The first one that I received had a blown speaker. I brought it back to the store, refund. Bought a second one thinking it was a fluke. Nope. The second one had a screen that was separating from the body of the tablet.
After the second time, I was done. I ended up buying the Asus Transformer Infinity. Sometimes you get what you pay for, sometimes you don't. This time I did.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 150 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Great value for money!

11/25/2012
By ,
Madison, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros:
1. Great value for money
2. Light and portable
3. Directly from Google with any modifications to the software by other companies
4. Good screen resolution
5. Great integration with Google products such as Gmail, Google maps, Google Drive etc.
Cons:
1. Hardware is not as polished as an iPad mini
2. No rear camera
3. Not all apps are available on Android (for example, Economist)
I already have an iPad and was looking for a smaller and lighter 7" tablet that I could use for reading books and for carrying around more easily. The choice was between several Android based tablets and iPad mini.
I removed iPad mini from my options because of its higher price. Now, the choice was between a variety of Android based devices including Nexus 7, Kindle HD, Nook HD and some tablets from manufacturers such as Samsung and LG.
I went for the Nexus 7 because it is directly from Google with no modifications and add-on software being done by other intermediaries such as Amazon. It also ensures that I will be able to get Android updates in a timely manner.
So far, I have been extremely happy with this device. Android platform has made lots of progress in the last year or so. It is quite polished, the device is snappy and a pleasure to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 151 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

best price

12/31/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a replacement tablet, my son cracked his orginal screen, this was by far the best price for it and we also got the insurance this time, a great deal for two years of potential accidents
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 152 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Google Nexus 7' inch tablet

06/02/2014
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it! This is my first tablet. It's amazing, and why did I wait so long ? I haven't a clue. Tablet set up is very easy, the colors are clear and vibrant. It has everything I need. I can play my games, go on social media, read books, and magazines. There are many free books to download, and many movies to watch. I truly don't know why I waited so long. The nexus tablet 1st generation ( 2012 ) is wonderful. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice tablet. And I would buy again
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 153 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)
10/18/2012
By ,
Massachusetts
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Basically the only reason I didn't give the Nexus 7 five stars is because of the storage issue. 16GB is good for a lot of apps and a few movies and TV shows downloaded from Google Play.
But if you want music and videos on the Nexus 7, you have to buy a wifi local drive like the Wi-Drive or Airstash to stream via wifi your music, video and pictures or use a cloud drive (cloud drive not recommended unless you want burn through data) since the Nexus 7 doesn't have a microSD card slot or plug-in USB Thumb Drive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 154 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Better than the iPad

11/23/2012
By ,
Crestview, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the Nexus 7 in every respect with one exception... It needs a camera lens on the backside of the tablet for shooting pictures normally. As is, it is difficult and awkward to take pictures of anything other than yourself. A huge plus over the iPad, the Nexus 7 features speech to text dictation allowing you to speak your emails and search entries rather than type them...and, it works quite good. In retrospect, I would not have bought the IPad.... I would have have waited for Google's Nexus 7.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 155 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Excellant

10/25/2012
By ,
Tulsa OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE this tablet. Its fast and easy to use. If you currently use an android phone, you will not have any trouble using this device. I love the fact that I can use both the Google Play market and the Amazon market on it to select games from. I have the nook app and the kindle app to read as many books as I wish. The music player is easy to use. The size of this tablet is the best part. Extremely easy to carry with you where ever you go. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it. Purchase - you will not be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 156 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Great Value

11/12/2012
By ,
Silver Spring, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this nexus 7 for my mom. She's not very tech savvy but she loves the tablet. It's much easier for her to use this than a laptop. I also like using the nexus. I have an android phone so I'm familiar with the android platform. Videos and pictures look great on the tablet. The size is perfect for portability. I would recommend the nexus 7 for anyone looking for a great value on a tablet. It costs $130 less than the comparable iPad mini and has better specs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 157 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

agreed: an awesome tablet

11/29/2012
By ,
Waukesha, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The fastest, highest resolution, and most responsive screen. 16 mB of storage is great too. The reason for only 4 stars is the fact that the tablet lacks an HDMI output and a memory card reader. Seriously, makers of $90 knock-off tablets offer these features. Other recognized reviewing organizations say the same thing. This tablet was a pre-Christmas gift to myself and it replaced a generic 7" tablet that I had bought last summer (I was able to return).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 158 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

This tablet is great for travel and vacations.

11/13/2012
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I took this tablet to Mexico. The off-line maps were very helpful when trying to navigate the city streets. Great for consuming content such as movies, games and books. The browser works well and the front facing camera allowed the kids to Skype their friends back home. At home I'll probably use this tablet more as an eReader. The 7-inch screen feels a little too small for everyday surfing. But, the Nexus is a lot easier to hold than my 1st gen iPad.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 159 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

very nice one.

11/14/2012
By ,
Searcy, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nexus 7 is one of the best tablet in 7" screen tablets. lightly, fast.
But somehow, the screen would flash and have a black line flash cross the screen.
However, those situations wont last long time. Basically, they just happened in a second. So they wont affect me during I use it.
I did research work for the problems online, they said it's the common failing on Nexus 7.
Except that, Nexus 7 is a excellent one. The most important is the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 160 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

I've only had it for one week so I'm not so sure.

12/02/2012
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I'm a Google girl. Not an Apple girl. So I opted for this. I have an Android phone so I figured this would be the same thing just a bit bigger. And I was almost right. I've had two problems so far. The power button has to be held down a long time before it finally starts booting up. And secondly, which is the one I'm very disappointed about, is that I can't move my already stored movies onto it. It simply won't play them and I don't know why. I have a bunch of movies and tv shows on my laptop. I watch them when I travel. I thought this would be a great light-weight alternative. But unfortunately it was as good as a brick on my last flight.
So what are the pros. It's so light weight and it fits in my purse. It came with some songs already downloaded so that I could sample the sound quality right away. Also free was a stream of the movie Ice Age. So, it was cool to see the video quality. What was the con? The movie froze very close to the end and the tablet shut off. It took a long time to get it turn back on and when I re-started the movie, it started up at some random point in the film. Very frustrating.
Obviously, it has some bugs which I hope they will fix on the next generation of this tablet because overall I liked its size and feel, and the fact that it came pre-downloaded with the apps I like (youtube, words with friends, and netflix, to mention a few).
All in all, I'm considering returning it to buy an ipad since I can't play any of my movies on it. I may as well switch to a system that uses iTunes. I'm pretty sad about it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
141-160 of 391 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  6 7 8 9 10  ...  20 Next