Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nexus Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Nexus Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Dear Customer, we are out of the Google Nexus 16GB Tablet, and will not be receiving any more. You can look at and purchase the 32GB version by CLICKING HERE . The Black Google Nexus 7 Wi-Fi Tablet - ASUS-1B16 is the world's first Android tablet that combines the latest Android 4.1 mobile operating system with a powerful quad-core processor for high-performance computing on the go. An eye-catching 1280 x 800 high-definition display is your touchscreen interface for this Google tablet. The Google Nexus 16GB Tablet computer's LED-backlit IPS panel is made from scratch-resistant glass to offer crisp images, wide viewing angles and 10-finger multi-touch support. Advanced graphics come to life on the Google 7" tablet screen thanks to a 12-core GeForce GPU. It helps you take advantage of more than 600,000 apps and games on the Google Nexus 7 Tablet computer, as well
Average Customer Rating:
4.521 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(509 Reviews) 386
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
368
4 stars
95
3 stars
13
2 stars
9
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation93%472 out of 509reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
190 Questions | 798 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
368
4 stars
95
3 stars
13
2 stars
9
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 141 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Great Low Cost Tablet

09/26/2012
By ,
Houston
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You can't beat the price versus performance of the Nexus 7. Runs latest Android version, Jelly Bean. Like other tablets in this price range, it lacks expansion or connectivity but that's expected. There are ways to allow the tablet to use a USB key with a special cable and software but that takes a fair amount of computer knowledge.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 142 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

The elite of Android tablets.

08/20/2012
By ,
Avoyelles, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an amazing tablet. It is the perfect size (fits in a pocket, but great size screen), has great specs, and is one of the best Android experiences available.
In the short time I've owned it, I have noticed that sometimes the responsiveness of the screen becomes "wonky", but locking the screen and unlocking it clears it right up, and it doesn't happen that often.
While it would come in handy once in a while, I am glad they didn't include a rear camera. It would have raised the price, and not having it keeps people from looking silly trying to take pics with this out in public.
This tablet is well worth the price, and I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 143 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Speed and performance exceeds expectations

10/25/2012
By ,
WI, US
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So I bought the Nexus 7 Tablet after using my iPod Touch for a while and wanting to move up from the Touch to a tablet, but I didn't really know what to get. I know I wanted Android, but I didn't know I wanted the Nexus 7 and now I couldn't be more happy! The first thing I noticed was the speed. Unlike Apple, it doesn't take a minute to boot. More like 30 seconds if that. The setup is easy and only takes a few steps. After setup, the thing I noticed was the design of the pages. Unlike Apple, the Jellybean OS allows you to make and resize different widgets and gadgets to make a customized page for you, and with 4 pages of possible content, you can have one of the most personalized tablets in your hand. Also, the transitions are, as the Android team would say, "buttery" and the lag is gone! Also comes pre-loaded with Transformers: Dark of the Moon, some sample music, 5 magazines, and some live wallpapers. The internet is amazingly fast, especially YouTube. You can buffer HD content on YouTube in a matter of seconds! Also, with Google Wallet, you get 25 dollars of Google Play Credit if you attach a credit/debit card to your account! Finally, the nVidia TEGRA graphics processor in this bad boy is the icing on the cake to an amazing product. Battery life is amazing, speed surpasses Apple, and graphics blow you away. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 144 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Great Tablet

03/16/2014
By ,
St Albans, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a really good tablet for the money. I have a Motorola Moto X cellphone and this tablet is almost identical in setup so it was a perfect match for me. I love Google Chrome and also use it as the browser on my laptop computer. There is a newer version of this tablet available but frankly for me the minimal upgrades were just not worth the additional $60 in price. All in all, if you're looking for a basic tablet for browsing and playing, the Google Nexus 7 can't be beat!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 145 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Parents: This is a must have!

11/30/2012
By ,
Langley, BC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this for our 2 and a half year old son for car trips and when we're out for dinner, etc. We didn't want to buy a high priced IPad in case something happened to it but children's tablets are very limited in their scope, so this seemed like a good option. We did buy a heavy duty case to go with it (BobjGear off amazon) so if it does fall it's okay. We're completely satisfied and amazed by this product! The video quality is amazing, it's better than our TV! It's super fast, no lag at all. And the apps available for kids on Google Play are great (the interactive ebooks are the best)! I did a lot of research and compared many tablets and this was by far the best choice. We even figure out how to upload our own DVDs using a DVD ripper onto it (super easy) so we're not paying a bunch to buy movies and TV shows to keep him entertained. At first I was a little concerned that the 16gb wasn't enough but for our purposes (a few movies, some apps, etc) we've got way more than we need. If it starts to get filled up, we could just swap out movies for something new by connecting it like a storage device to our computer but we're nowhere close to filling up. Overall, great buy! I want one of my own and have to keep reminding myself we got it for our son! But the best part is it completely fulfilled it's purpose: IT KEEPS OUR SON ENTERTAINED! Hooray!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 146 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

HAPPY WITH MY NEXUS 7- 32 GB

12/18/2012
By ,
Boston, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you can afford the extra $50 for the 32 GBs, its worth it for the extra storage. Some of the aps use a lot of space and also music, photo and video files will use lots of space too.
I did a lot of research before I decided to get the Nexus. I like the processor speed, wifi, GPS, and touch screen. The speakers aren't great but adequate. I use my Bose headphones for better sound. The usb mini cable allows me to connect the Nexus to my laptop or pc for easy file transfers. I wish that there was a micro sd slot but I can use "the cloud" for storage. The front facing camera is lousy but I didn't buy this for a camera. If I want to take a picture or record a video, I will use my stand alone camera. I haven't skyped yet but I would say the nexus camera is adequate for skype, etc.
If you experience a weak wifi signal, call your internet service provider's tech support who will increase the channel of your router and now my signal is stronger. It wasn't bad before the adjustment but glad that tech support tweaked it. Overall, I am happy with the Nexus 7. If speaker and camera were better, I would have given Nexus a 5 star rating.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 147 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

For My Needs - Couldn't Ask For Better

10/19/2012
By ,
Sierra's in California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've has the Nexus 7 for a week now. It does alot for a tablet this size. The screen resolution is highly defined. Good feel to it. Comes preloaded with a bunch of applications. It was a breeze to connect to my network at home. No hassles what so ever. Wi-Fi range has been good. I use it out in the drive way with no reception problems. When I opened the box, I was a little disappointed in the instructions that came with it. Not more than what comes in the box, how to turn it on and a few other instructions. However, at the google play store, there is about a 103 page booklet that covers most everything you'd want to know. I down loaded it and am still referring to it quite often. Battery life is about 10 hrs for me with alot of usuage during the day. A hint: If your going to buy it, it comes with a Google Play Store credit of $25.00. There is no coupon or redemption code in the box. Here's what you need to do to get the $25.00 credit. If you do not have a google email account (gmail) create on and then you'll soon receive a notification that you have the credit. If you have a gmail account, merely log in to gmail during the setup process and you should too receive the credit. Googles version of what Apple calls SIRI I must say works pretty good. All in all, a very good item at a reasonable cost. Glad I made the purchase. Beats lugging around a laptop any day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 148 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

...buy this thing!

11/28/2012
By ,
Chula Vista CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
...in my IT job, I get to play with a lot of tablets, I have been impressed with a few. When the Nexus 7 16GB arrived it was love at first sight, or touch, as it felt good in my hand, not too heavy, and no sharp edges. I opened the box and patiently waited 4 hours. Power on was pleasantly fast, added my Google account and in just a few minutes was adding apps and discovering features!
Screen bright and rich colors.
Touch was responsive with fingers as well as stylus.
A quick run through settings showed screen rotation was set to off, changed that.
When access pint was added it quickly negotiated an IP address and the world awaited.
I own a dedicated GPS, but had to take a drive to test Navigation. Simply put, accurate, and updates position smoothly without jitters!
Added Bluetooth keyboard and speakers, now its a net-book!
Andriod 4.2 installed at some point here.
The surprise to me was the USB cable is not the best way to copy files between PC's Unless you are running Windows 7 or MacOsX with a driver! (free download) but with another free app, this becomes a non-issue. Do download and install ES File Explorer. Now you can simply 'share a folder on your PC and it will show up on ES Explorer! Just drag and drop!. Can also use FTP, Bluetooth etc.
Side note: The USB port supports MTP and OTG with a different cable. It does not support being used as an external hard drive though.
BTW - all of this is becoming true for most new tablets.
Software to sync iTunes is also available 'iSincr', also wireless!
Loaded with apps and live wallpapers and all services running, this tablet remained responsive and smooth in operation, did I mention quad-cores?
Like so many devices, the tablet has many sensors: magnetometer/compass, GPS, accelerometer, 2 microphones etc. I have downloaded apps that collect readings from each sensor, even a metal detector!
Only one speaker, but it is plenty loud! I'd rather that then 2 softer stereo speakers.
Battery is so good I hesitate to tell you that the second day I got 14hrs of nearly constant use and the battery was showing 30% charge! ! ! ! Surely you will get the 8 to 9 they promise :-)
Lastly, 16GB is plenty of ram, just manage it casually, and it will serve all of your needs.
I could go on, but as you can see, you won't go wrong, if you buy this tablet
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 149 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

fun once i figured it out

11/14/2012
By ,
lynn, ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am not computer literate. I have a laptop that I use for the basics. email, internet, bill paying, google. The nexus 7 was a little complicated for me and it took me several days to figure it out. The more apps I put on it, the slower it took to load but I probably didn't need the apps I put on. I put on suggested apps. the only other problem I encountered was that it said I wasn't on the internet two rooms away from my modem. I personally think that it is my cable service which I am not a big fan of. So I ended up returning it. I am either at work or at home so it defeated the purpose if my internet service wouldn't let me on two rooms away. It was fun while it lasted though. It will go landscape and the font can be set larger. just have to go to applications and keep looking. it was worth the 199.00 I paid for it. Too bad it didn't work out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 150 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Excellent tablet and exceptional value

03/30/2014
By ,
Langley, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The tablet is the best of my three I currently own. It functions smoothly and without a hitch right out of the box. It is very easy to use and response is immediate. I think this is one of the best tablets on the market.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 151 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Great tablet at an affordable price

11/18/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If your looking for a good, but affordable tablet this is for you. The Nexus is a fast an versatile tablet and the only one to get Android updates as soon as their released; meaning you get new features faster than all other tablets. This tablet is fast, i have a lot of music, apps and videos and never have any lag. Also the app selection from google play is very good. One of the best apps is chrome which is wicked fast. Battery life is phenomenal lasting me all day and sometime a day and a half. Videos have hd quality. Only gripe is no expandable storage. Overall I am happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 152 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

don't bother

02/04/2014
By ,
Boston
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had it for three days, picked it up on Tuesday, charged it overnight. It worked on Wednesday charged it overnight, and it wouldn't turn on on Thursday. Waste of money, I returned it on Friday and got my full refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
From Asus_Answers02/06/2014
Dear Valued Customer,

I apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you. To charge the battery successfully, please ensure the USB cable and AC adapter are securely connected from the tablet to a working surge protector or AC outlet. Should you need further assistance, please email me at cl-rodel@asus.com and write down service# 3414082 on the subject line.

Thank you for choosing an ASUS product.

Regards,

Rodel
ASUS Customer LoyaltyAsus
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 153 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Fast, sleek, great display, very good price

11/18/2012
By ,
Tel Aviv, Israel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got the nexus-7 after buying an ultra-cheap AKAI Android 4 tablet, which was slow, with short battery life, very bad multi-touch and didn't have full HD. This is much much better - altough I don't have a great camera or a MicroSD slot, the performance and display are ideal. The battery life is also impressive. For reading ebooks i still prefer the kindle, which has a better display with better battery life.
The price tag is the main attraction, and everything works real smooth with the Jelly Bean OS.
I'm happy with this one, and I don't regret not buying the 32gb model, yet...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 154 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

the quality is not good.

11/29/2012
By ,
Washington, DC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was happy when I got Nexus 7. It is very light and small, and the screen is very nice. I like the original google version of Android. It runs pretty fast. However, android is lagging when I rotate the tablet. The battery is ok for this weight. I set the brightness to the maximum, and it can play HD movie for a little bit more than 7 hours. However, after I charged the tablet for the first time, the left side of the screen popped out of the frame for about 1 mm. It felt like the screen may fall out of the frame. When I pressed the left side, I can feel there is void under the screen. The left side of the screen came back up about 1 mm out of the frame after I stopped pushing it down. I am going to take it back to the store for a replacement. If the replacement has the same problem, I will just get an iPad mini.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 155 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Great Tablet for a beginner

09/06/2012
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent tablet. Haven't figured out how to use camera yet. Everything else is great!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Perry Hall, MD
Google play
Posted 11/22/2012
Go to the app store and download the camera app. works great. not sure why it wasn't installed.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 156 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Just what my wife needed

01/09/2014
By ,
East Greenwich, RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife has spent the past year typing emails on her Android Smartphone. She had problems with mistyping and the autofill features which at one point substituted Sexy for Lexi, our granddaughter. She also has been hearing from friends who read books on their tablets.
We looked at solutions that were pricey (good, but pricey!) or sold by booksellers. We looked at various tablets and read reviews. The reviews for this product were very favorable and it had both those features used most by my wife. And the price was excellent as a Christmas gift!
So far, it has been quiet around the house. She is busy typing or reading. I would call this a "peaceful" product!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 157 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Great value for money!

11/25/2012
By ,
Madison, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros:
1. Great value for money
2. Light and portable
3. Directly from Google with any modifications to the software by other companies
4. Good screen resolution
5. Great integration with Google products such as Gmail, Google maps, Google Drive etc.
Cons:
1. Hardware is not as polished as an iPad mini
2. No rear camera
3. Not all apps are available on Android (for example, Economist)
I already have an iPad and was looking for a smaller and lighter 7" tablet that I could use for reading books and for carrying around more easily. The choice was between several Android based tablets and iPad mini.
I removed iPad mini from my options because of its higher price. Now, the choice was between a variety of Android based devices including Nexus 7, Kindle HD, Nook HD and some tablets from manufacturers such as Samsung and LG.
I went for the Nexus 7 because it is directly from Google with no modifications and add-on software being done by other intermediaries such as Amazon. It also ensures that I will be able to get Android updates in a timely manner.
So far, I have been extremely happy with this device. Android platform has made lots of progress in the last year or so. It is quite polished, the device is snappy and a pleasure to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 158 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Defective... everytime!

08/09/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The first one that I received had a blown speaker. I brought it back to the store, refund. Bought a second one thinking it was a fluke. Nope. The second one had a screen that was separating from the body of the tablet.
After the second time, I was done. I ended up buying the Asus Transformer Infinity. Sometimes you get what you pay for, sometimes you don't. This time I did.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 159 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)
10/18/2012
By ,
Massachusetts
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Basically the only reason I didn't give the Nexus 7 five stars is because of the storage issue. 16GB is good for a lot of apps and a few movies and TV shows downloaded from Google Play.
But if you want music and videos on the Nexus 7, you have to buy a wifi local drive like the Wi-Drive or Airstash to stream via wifi your music, video and pictures or use a cloud drive (cloud drive not recommended unless you want burn through data) since the Nexus 7 doesn't have a microSD card slot or plug-in USB Thumb Drive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 160 for Google Nexus 7" Tablet 16 GB Memory (2012)

Better than the iPad

11/23/2012
By ,
Crestview, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the Nexus 7 in every respect with one exception... It needs a camera lens on the backside of the tablet for shooting pictures normally. As is, it is difficult and awkward to take pictures of anything other than yourself. A huge plus over the iPad, the Nexus 7 features speech to text dictation allowing you to speak your emails and search entries rather than type them...and, it works quite good. In retrospect, I would not have bought the IPad.... I would have have waited for Google's Nexus 7.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
141-160 of 387 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  6 7 8 9 10  ...  20 Next