Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Remington Remington F4-4900 Foil Shaver with Interceptor Shaving Technology

Remington Remington F4-4900 Foil Shaver with Interceptor Shaving Technology

Featuring interceptor shaving technology, the Remington Shaver delivers a close and reliable shave. The F4-4900 Remington Foil Shaver is designed with pivot and flex technology to use two independently flexing foil screens and a pivoting neck that adjusts to the curves of your chin, cheeks and neck to provide a comfortable and smooth shave while maximizing closeness. This sharp shaver also has a pop-up trimmer for quick detailing of facial hair and trimming sideburns. The Remington Foil Shaver, F4-4900 is built with sharp, lasting blades made with surgical steel. The Remington Shaver’s Interceptor shaving technology cuts through up to three days of growth with ease for a great shave without preparatory trimming. Its sleek glossy design and elegant grip make this grooming tool a functional and stylish addition to your morning routine.
Average Customer Rating:
3.619 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
6
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation67%28 out of 42reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 24 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
6
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Remington F4-4900 Foil Shaver with Interceptor Shaving Technology

Surprisingly good

08/22/2012
By ,
Madison, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'd been using a Remington double foil shaver for the past few years, but it finally gave out. So, back to searching for something good at a decent price. WalMart had just gotten these in, so decided to give the Intercept idea a try. And it does a very good job...better than my old shaver ever did.
Actually, I bought a Braun Series 1 at the same time to compare and here are my findings after using each shaver every other day.
Appearance:
The Braun is a better looking shaver, being smaller and more modern looking. The Remington F4 is noticeably larger and bulkier looking.
Operation/Use:
The Braun is a single foil shaver, so not really a fair comparison, but I wanted to be in the same price range. The Remington is smoother in shave comfort and overall feel while shaving. With the Braun, I could feel motor vibration and it was noisy. The Remington is smooth and not as noisy. The Braun's motor would bog down when shaving slightly heavier areas of stubble or when pressing a bit harder against the skin, while the Remington has yet to show any signs of bogging down, no matter what. Closeness of shave is among the best I've experienced with the Remington, I believe in part, due to the center cutter in conjunction with the two foils. The Remington's head swivels to conform to the face when shaving areas such as the chin, jaw, etc. Absolutely no irritation. I'm still on the first charge, and have completed six shaves with no loss of power. I wanted to see how the F4 performed on 3-day stubble, so allowed a short beard to grow, and the F4 cut through it like butter....smooth and sure without bogging down a bit. Nice.
Cordless run time:
The Braun's run time is listed at 20 minutes, but it began to deplete within three shaves. The Remington's run time is listed at 30 minutes and as mentioned, after six shaves, including one with 3-day stubble, it's still running strong.
Trimmer:
The Braun's trimmer worked fairly well, probably better than the F4. I don't particularly like the perpendicular orientation of the F4's trimmer but I use a dedicated trimmer for sideburns, etc anyway, so not an issue.
I also don't like the power button placement on the F4 and keep accidentally turning it off while shaving. It's located right in the center of the handle and can be easily pressed while shaving. I'm trying to get used to holding it in a different position.
One other thing, I searched for the foil/cutter replacement spf300 as noted on the box, but doesn't exist at this time. I contacted Remington and was told the F4 is a new product and they expect the replacement foil/cutter to be available soon...but WILL be available.
Overall, I like this shaver, although I have no idea how it will hold up over time. At this price, if I can get at least a year or two our of it, I'll be happy.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+71points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Remington F4-4900 Foil Shaver with Interceptor Shaving Technology

Disappointing shave

06/12/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My three year old Remington shaver with a two year old cutter gave a closer shave. Easy to clean.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 06/16/2014
Hi , thank you for providing your feedback regarding your Remington product. We are sorry that our product did not meet your expectations and want to ensure your concerns are resolved. Please contact us at Contactus@remingtonproducts.com and reference case ID number 1238649 so that we may better assist you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Remington F4-4900 Foil Shaver with Interceptor Shaving Technology

Great Shaver for Seasoned User!!!

12/15/2012
By ,
Citrus Heights, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Shaver all around. I have been a Remington user for over 30 years, switched to a Braun Series 3-320, and went back to my Remington F4790 with new blades and cutter with a better shave than the Braun. Then tried this new F4-4900 at Walmart for $29.99, and I love it. The Interceptor is great for the neck and long hairs, and the two foils give great close shave with little effort. They have the F5-5800 Interceptor on sale for $44.95, which if I was not so happy the F4-4900, I might look into. Hope Walmart carries the replacement blades soon, at least online for a fair price. I remain faithful to the Remington and highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Remington F4-4900 Foil Shaver with Interceptor Shaving Technology

Good razor but costly to maintain as recommended.

10/08/2013
By ,
Creston BC, Canada
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This purchase was a replacement for a Remington F$-4900 Shaver. The original worked well until the foil wore out after nearly three years of use. I had chosen not to follow the manufacturer's recommendation to replace the foil and cutter every six months, at the cost of 75% of the original price of the razor. And I chose not to replace the foil and cutter when it wore out. Investing 75% of the cost of a replacement razor in a razor with aging, irreplaceable, rechargable batteries was not a good bet. A redesign, with user replaceable NiCad batteries might induce the user to replace the extremely overpriced replacement screen and cutter, but no one in their right mind would have spent three times the price of the razor over a three year period.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Remington F4-4900 Foil Shaver with Interceptor Shaving Technology

A nice shaver at a good price

05/23/2014
By ,
Streetsboro, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the flexible head and how easy the shaver is to use. It works extremely well and is easy to clean and maintain. Charging it is easy and the shaver does not have to be re-charged as often as I was anticipating based upon the information booklet.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Remington F4-4900 Foil Shaver with Interceptor Shaving Technology

Best I 've ever owned

11/15/2012
By ,
tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This shaver works great in all aspects..like all electrics, better with one days' growth but handles 2 with a couple of passes..swiveling head adds to comfort. All good here. The shaver does not run on power cord alone so keep it charged.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Remington F4-4900 Foil Shaver with Interceptor Shaving Technology

GREAT SHAVER

01/08/2013
By ,
WINSTON SALEM, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I hadn't used an electric shaver in 3 years. The last one I had was the $130.00 Braun shaver that sat in its cleaning fluid. The one before it was the $100.00 Norelco. They worked fine, but when they needed new heads, I went back to a razor and shaving cream. A week before Christmas, I developed a cold sore on my lip and when you shaved with a razor, you cut it. So I decided to buy a Cheap electric shaver to use in times like that and when I didn't want to lather up. So I saw this Remington F4 shaver reg $39.00 at Walmart for $29.00 which I bought. Boy was I suprised! It shaves just as good as the $100.00 + Norelco and Braun. I got a full weeks shaves out of it before I had to recharge it. Plus you just brush the cutters with a brush and once a month rince the head under the faucet. I was so impresed with the razor, I decided to go ahead and order another head for it , since the instructions said you should replace them in 6 months. It is a new razor and no one has the heads yet so you order the heads on line direct from Remington for $24.00. Before I did I went to WalMart on line and saw I could order another new shaver $5.00 cheaper than the heads. They had the shaver on sale on line for $19.95. So I now have 2 F4 shavers. Like I said, I love the the shaver. It shaves just as good as the high priced brands and a 1/3 the cost. I would highly recommend the Remington F4 shaver.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Remington F4-4900 Foil Shaver with Interceptor Shaving Technology

Awful

10/02/2013
By ,
Manchester, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This thing leaves stubble all over my face, no matter how many times I go over it.
My last shaver was the MS-280. It lasted 5 years and did a wonderful job. But my local Wal-Mart doesn't carry it anymore. So I decided to try this thing. Big disappointment.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Remington F4-4900 Foil Shaver with Interceptor Shaving Technology

Good value for the price

04/18/2014
By ,
St Louis, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've only shaved with Remington Electric Razors for 30 years and this is not like the previous ones, but for the price paid its probably what we are going to get.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Remington F4-4900 Foil Shaver with Interceptor Shaving Technology

really good shaver

01/20/2014
By ,
Mesa, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The shave is much better than any rotary or the Braun. The trimmer is greatly improved and works well. The grill does not last as long as I'd like, but it's still my favorite choice for a shaver. I wish the black blade cover stayed on better.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Remington F4-4900 Foil Shaver with Interceptor Shaving Technology

This Is Not Your Father's Remington Shaver

03/29/2014
By ,
Palm Beach, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This Remington never came close to equaling the shave you got from the American made models of yore. On top of that it gave up the ghost after 14 months and was not repairable.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Remington F4-4900 Foil Shaver with Interceptor Shaving Technology

Best Remington I've owned

03/29/2014
By ,
Denver
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
light weight, easy to clean, good close shave,
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Remington F4-4900 Foil Shaver with Interceptor Shaving Technology

TRY IT...YOU'LL LIKE

12/03/2012
By ,
York County, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a 15-year-old Braun Activator that finally gasped its last breath.
I read others' ratings of this shaver--including one who chose this one over a new Braun. I completely agree with his evaluation. Not only is it much less expensive than anything Braun makes--it does at least as good a job. Fast, quiet, cuts quick and you are done!
Great product at ANY price!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Remington F4-4900 Foil Shaver with Interceptor Shaving Technology
04/07/2013
By ,
Thousand Oaks, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This shaver is more expensive than the other Remington shavers I have used, but it does a better job and is much quieter. After 1-2 months, I have not yet learned when it is time for recharging: there is no indicator, and not much difference in the noise between fully charged and when it suddenly dies. Nevertheless, I am pleased with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Remington F4-4900 Foil Shaver with Interceptor Shaving Technology
06/24/2013
By ,
Martha's Vineyard, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have used Remington shavers since the 1950s and this is the best of them. Purchased this to replace my F4790. It's much quieter and easier on sensitive skin.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Remington F4-4900 Foil Shaver with Interceptor Shaving Technology
05/31/2013
By ,
Ontario, Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned a lot of razors in my 79 years of life & this remington F4 intercepter is the best razor ever.
Close shave no burning. Just love it
Kressnut
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Remington F4-4900 Foil Shaver with Interceptor Shaving Technology

Great shaver

10/27/2013
By ,
Louisville, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first time I tried a foil shaver and like it over a rotary one
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Remington F4-4900 Foil Shaver with Interceptor Shaving Technology

nice idea!

01/08/2013
By ,
maine
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
appears that remington tried to copy Brauns/panasonics foil razors using an integrated cutter between the foils in this low-budget shaver. It lacks power from my previous F-5 triple foil and did not shave as well. I returned it and purchased a Panasonic which I love. Too bad walmart does not carry panasonic shavers.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Remington F4-4900 Foil Shaver with Interceptor Shaving Technology
06/29/2013
By ,
MAINE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Like most electric razers they do not shave as close as a blade but i am happy with this one i think it does a pretty good job i like the moving head which gives a close shave under the nose
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Remington F4-4900 Foil Shaver with Interceptor Shaving Technology

Great shaver for the price.

01/09/2013
By ,
Columbus, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very smooth operation, easy to hold. I have only had it for a week, but it does a very good job.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1 2 Next