Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Seagate Seagate Retail 3TB Expansion Desktop Hard Drive

Seagate Seagate Retail 3TB Expansion Desktop Hard Drive

Expand your desktop's computer's storage capacity with this Seagate external hard drive. The Seagate desktop hard drive features an ultra-fast USB 3.0 interface and comes with an 18" USB cable.
Average Customer Rating:
4.304 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation91%21 out of 23reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 14 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Seagate Retail 3TB Expansion Desktop Hard Drive

Stores lots of movies!

12/10/2012
By ,
Guam
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good amount of storage for movies, pictures, files, etc. Unfortunately, it doesn't work on our Playstation 3 like the other external hard drive we have to watch movies which is why our rating for this product was average.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Sioux Falls
***it DOES work for PS3 or XBOX360***
Posted 03/06/2014
the drive will come with factory settings, it will be formatted with NTFS. While this is a superior format, it is not compatible with 360 or PS3 as they use the format FAT32. You will need to reformat a Partition of the drive to FAT32 before it will recognize it.
This goes for EVERY EXTERNAL HARD DRIVE WALMART SELLS TODAY, they all come with the newer factory settings, and its a quick simple change.
most computers are equipped with a "partition program" if yours doesnt, its a simple download, any partitioning software will do just fine. i used EaseUS partition manager, because it was very basic and easy. Do as much of the drive as you want, if its just for your console then go ahead and do it all (however big you want, but personal recommendation dont format more than 99 percent of the drive, you'll avoid problems down the road this way). remember your reformatting it to FAT32. it takes about 20 seconds, and tada! then start putting your movies on there and watch them on your game console =]
0points
Customer Avatar
Are you streaming or through USB?
Posted 01/21/2014
I was wandering if you are streaming the movies through a Media Server or what?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Seagate Retail 3TB Expansion Desktop Hard Drive

Lives up to the Seagate reputation

03/29/2014
By ,
New Smyrna Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just upgraded from Windows XP and was looking for an external hard drive to store a total backup of the Windows 7 Home Premium OS, plus all files. The new computer came with a one terabyte hard drive, so I needed something at least that large. As soon as I saw this 3 terabyte unit by Seagate with a usb 3.0 connection, I felt that I couldn't go wrong. The unit arrived a day earlier than the anticipated date, and was well packaged/protected. (The packaging by Seagate, alone, provided substantial protection. The additional shipping packaging just added to it).
Upon receiving the unit, I looked at the brief pictorial instructions and simply plugged it in and connected it to the computer. This thing is literally plug 'n' play. With the imaging backup software already installed, you just make a few clicks and off you go. It's so quiet, that if not for the blinking blue light indicating that it was running, you would wonder if anything was happening. I'm very pleased with the Seagate unit.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Seagate Retail 3TB Expansion Desktop Hard Drive

Great Storage

01/02/2014
By ,
Claremont, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The hard drive comes equipped with the Windows software; if you are on Mac as I am, you will first need to go through the pains of using the Disk Utility to format it (your Mac will see the drive but you will not be able to write on it otherwise). Meets expectations - Good, because this detail was not mentioned in the product description.
That little thing done, the disk works well.
The missing part is the on-off button; hence the ease of use grade, Good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Seagate Retail 3TB Expansion Desktop Hard Drive

Good When They Work

07/05/2014
By ,
Louisville, KY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I took my first one of these back with a bad USB 3.0 port, right out of the box. They exchanged it with no problems, but now that I have 1.6 TB stored on it, it decides to go out. Not a happy camper at all. It's well under a year old and it's all but gone. Sometimes it will mount, but usually not. When it does, the max transfer rate is about 700 KBPS. Try transferring 1.6 TB to a new drive at that speed! I think I'll give the WD a try next time.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Seagate Retail 3TB Expansion Desktop Hard Drive

Great product great price.

01/07/2014
By ,
Santee, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a project to expand storage and limit extra drives. Had it set up and partitioned into 3 drives in minutes. Haven had a problem since.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Seagate Retail 3TB Expansion Desktop Hard Drive
10/30/2012
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow, I got a consistent 160MB Write speed and 170MB Read speed on this for a 1TB folder that took just 2 hours.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Seagate Retail 3TB Expansion Desktop Hard Drive

Great Add On

06/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only had it for a week, but I have others that are 2TB, This 3TB was so easy to hook up, Plug and Play, I find it top notch!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Seagate Retail 3TB Expansion Desktop Hard Drive

less than a year harddrive crashes

10/25/2013
By ,
Arkansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Will never buy another Seagate product
not even a year yet and lost everything on the drive
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Seagate Retail 3TB Expansion Desktop Hard Drive

good external hard drive to own

02/03/2013
By ,
carbondale, pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i had this for a month it is what i want to have for my files and others' that i have sitting arround the house and some others that i can think about put some more on my external hard drive and yes i would to see some friends and family to use this for their home computer and or laptop.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Seagate Retail 3TB Expansion Desktop Hard Drive

Works well with USB 2.0

01/23/2014
By ,
E Rochester
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just plug and play.
Windows 7 Pro with USB 2.0.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Seagate Retail 3TB Expansion Desktop Hard Drive

GREAT GREAT LOVE IT

02/19/2014
By ,
tacoma wa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy yo set-up and use
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Seagate Retail 3TB Expansion Desktop Hard Drive

Great fo everyone

01/10/2014
By ,
Palm Coast, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly as I expected. Good, Reliable, Fast
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Seagate Retail 3TB Expansion Desktop Hard Drive

Great product.

04/07/2014
By ,
Shepherdstown, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not used yet but have used Seagate hard drives in the past and they have always worked with no problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Seagate Retail 3TB Expansion Desktop Hard Drive

Great capacity as an external hard drive

03/31/2014
By ,
Victoria, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Great value for its capacity as an external hard drive.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Seagate Retail 3TB Expansion Desktop Hard Drive

fast, very reliable

03/19/2013
By ,
NW Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought one at St@pels online for under $100 delivered free. Great deal, watch for price wars on this item. Backward comparable USB, no software to install, easy to setup.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Seagate Retail 3TB Expansion Desktop Hard Drive

Great product

03/12/2013
By ,
Elyria, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Seagate expansion hard drive was SO easy to install, plug and play, and works great. Using it to store camera videos and am very pleased with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Seagate Retail 3TB Expansion Desktop Hard Drive

desk top had drive

01/25/2014
By ,
Tx.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I haven't figure out how to use it. I got it to save my pictures on it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Seagate Retail 3TB Expansion Desktop Hard Drive

great product

03/16/2013
By ,
Oshkosh, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to install and use!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Seagate Retail 3TB Expansion Desktop Hard Drive
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5