Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Nesco Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop

Nesco Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop

This Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop is user-friendly and energy-efficient. Its smooth, ceramic-glass top wipes clean with ease. Features five different modes: melt/warm, simmer, boil, fry and sear. The instant temperature adjustments make cooking virtually fail-safe. Also, since the heat is generated in the pan, not the element, less energy is wasted than with gas or electric stoves.
Average Customer Rating:
3.894 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
15
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation74%35 out of 47reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 85 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
15
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop

Not reliable

04/11/2013
By ,
South Bend, IN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I used the cooktop to reduce maple sap into maple syrup. Induction is perfect for this because the constant power requirements are very high, so high efficiency is a must.
I placed a piece of parchment paper between the pot and the unit to prevent any spillage from landing on the face of the unit. The unit would operate for 1.5 hour or so, perfectly fine - but it would randomly shut off the induction portion with the fan running. It did this several times. I sent the unit back to NESCO for their engineering to determine the cause. They could not replicate; but it's no surprise because they didn't perform their testing using the same equipment or settings that I used.
Anyways, they sent an RMA packing slip for me to send the unit back to them free of charge. Standard shipping was 1 day, since I lived so close to the manufacturer. They received my unit at 10:30am on a Thursday and didn't ship me a replacement until the following Monday. By that time, I had purchased a different induction cooktop (NuWave) and it works flawlessly for over 48 hours straight.
I'm returning this product and will keep the NuWave.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop
08/12/2013
By ,
Yreka, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted to try induction cooking and this seemed the best, and most cost effective way. This product has delivered what it said it would. I am very pleased with it. It comes with a magnet, so you can determine what cookware you already own, is compatible to use. Turns out we had a lot. My first test was boiling water. It passed. So fast. I was surprised at how large the cooking surface is. It was hard to tell from the pix on line just how big the cooking surface is. One thing that I especially like, is the portability of the unit. My regular cook stove is on the opposite side of my kitchen from my sink. It is hard for me to lug a full pan of water from sink to stove. This unit allows me to have it on the counter, by my sink and not have to lug heavy pans/pots of water across the kitchen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop

Works well

10/08/2012
By ,
Marietta, Ga.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tested with 10" cast iron chicken fryer/pot
and 4 cups oil uncovered
Setting Watts Temperature F
1 .... 450 .. 170
2 .... 800 .. 195 - 220
3 ... 1000 .. 270 - 285
4 ... 1200 .. 330 - 345
5 ... 1500 .. 370 - 385
Some stainless steel works
NEVER PUT A BARE/EMPTY PAN/POT ON IT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+73points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop

good price for easy to use induction cooktop

09/11/2012
By ,
Nevada, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop is indeed portable. It is light weight, and I moved it from the dining room to the kitchen to cook on it two separate times. It is a nice way to find out if you like induction cooking, reasonable price and easy to use.
The cooking modes are easy to set and I like that I don't have to use a heated electric stove to prepare just one food item.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop

Very good for the price

09/14/2012
By ,
Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found the unit to be noisy. It only has 6 power settings and did not have a timer or temp readout.
The unit works good and very good buy for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop

So far it's a great appliance, very fast & easy.

11/23/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A tip if you're considering buying this product & wondering whether your pans or skillets will work with it, if a magnet sticks it will.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop

good value

09/14/2012
By ,
Stillwater, OK
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Purchased to use while I am waiting to replace my broken 6 year old expensive Kenmore Elite induction cook top. I am familiar with cooking with induction. The fan is a little noisier than I expected and the cycling on and off to maintain the temperature is annoying. In general though it is a good value and certainly better than my broken Kenmore.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop
09/18/2012
By ,
East Falmouth, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it. I don't have to worry about the water overflowing into the coils on the stove. I don't have to worry about food falling into the stove coils. Heats up fast too. I wanted the NuWave PIC, but this is just as good.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NM
still love it?
Posted 11/10/2012
Do you still love it?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop

Fast and Efficient

11/13/2013
By ,
Tucson
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With the right cookware, this is a fast and efficient way to cook. It is not good for slow-cooking. Walmart carries GraniteWare which works really well with induction cooking.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop

Perfect for rv

10/17/2012
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this induction cooktop for use in our RV. It is large enough to handle any size pot or pan. I actually thought is would be smaller but was pleasantly surprised. It is very fast so I use it more than the propane gas stove.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Farmington, MO
A great bargain and useful kitchen appliance
Posted 10/22/2012
I have used my induction cook top every day. It works great and the price was right. It heats water to a boil faster than a microwave and maintains a constant temperature. I hardly use the burners on my stove. It will not work with aluminum cookware but works great with cast iron or stainless steel so long as a magnet sticks to the bottom of the pan. It has become my most used kitchen appliance
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop

love it

09/11/2012
By ,
Niles, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brings water to full boil in 30 sec. burners do not get hot,, I can clean up spills on burner with out getting burned. low hum at beginning and end of cycle. I can take it with me to cook. I love it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop

Good product.

12/02/2012
By ,
Chagrin falls, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Before I bought this Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop, I bought a much more expensive one from Amazon. The expensive one didn't cook. I had to ship it back. The Nesco portable works great. Only sometimes when I change the power level, it still cooked the same. That is why I give it four stars. It cooks fast. Much better than gas or regular electric cook top. It is inexpensive. I also bought two year warranty on it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop

Great cooktop for price!

12/08/2012
By ,
Scottsdale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have another brand cooktop that I paid more for and this one works just as well if not better. Very pleased with how it works and functions on the front of cooktop. My other one has just an up/down buttons for temperature settings. The reason I ordered another one is because I love induction cooking and now I want another burner to take on our camper because they work so well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop

It gets the job done.

02/08/2013
By ,
Asheville, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am glad to have an induction cooker, but a little disappointed with this one. The cooking modes do not accurately do what is stated. For example, I brought something to a boil and then turned to simmer, however, it still continued in a raging boil. It gets the job done but not with the finesse I had hoped....Oh well, you get what you pay for and I went cheap! (P.S. I am using pots that are magnetic.)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop

Didn't work as I expected

05/21/2013
By ,
Narragansett, RI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Didn't work with my stainless steel pans and work only on my cast iron 10'in pan. Try to fry on it but would not stay hot long enough to complete my frying. I was disappointed and liked the idea to have a light weight energy efficient hotplate.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop

Seems to work good

11/10/2012
By ,
Silver Springs Fl.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Heats up fast .took me a few days to fine the cookware to use on it.Just have to learn how to use the settings..There is no cookbook with it to tell you how to cook at what temp??
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop

help in kitchen

11/10/2013
By ,
germantown, wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this small top comes with big results. it will help me make my candies. a regular electric stove makes it very hard to melt my chocolates. and for when you just need to make it perfect for small spaces. what a great buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop

Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop Great Product!!!!

12/05/2012
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVE IT!!!!!!
Its all I had hoped for & more...I highly recommend it.
Heats up extremely fast.
Works great with my pressure cooker & cast iron pans.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop

I enjoy

07/27/2013
By ,
TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the last 5 years I live in apartments, the one where I live now I never recommend "The Bridge at Timberline", honestly the old electric stoves make the food taste bad, burn, or not full kook, never get the right temperature, I think that affect the flavor. I just buy this induction cooktop.
Let me tell you, really good flavor, I buy a cast iron pan, I was a little afraid to spend a lot of time to heat the pan, but is so fast, so good and... just amazing, really happy to taste the good food at home, I don't know now what is best the gas stove or the induction?
Is just recommend this thing consume less electricity and cook excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop

extremely disappointed

06/28/2013
By ,
Phoenix, Az
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was extrememly disappointed, it took a long time to arrive and when it did arrive the entire top of the unit was cracked and gouged, with a big triangle shaped piece of glass missing. Unfortunately you couldn't see this until you opened it and upon doing that, tiny slivers of glass went all over the place. It suprised me that the box it was sent in had absolutely no warning that the product inside contained glass so evidently the shipper didn't know the contents were fragile . I took it back within 1 hr of opening, and received a refund. I went over to Target and was able to purchase the same thing for about $2 more but it was all in one piece. I could take it home the same day-it worked beautifully.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Baltimore, MD
Fragile does not matter...
Posted 09/08/2013
It makes ABSOLUTELY no difference whether or not the shipper knows that an item is fragile. ALL items must be packaged correctly, so that they can withstand the handling they get during the shipping process. Even when there is no accidental (or not) dropping of the item, packages have to withstand a lot of fast, rough handling, and the only way to ensure that items arrive safely and in one piece is to PACKAGE THEM PROPERLY TO BEGIN WITH. No amount of "Fragile" stickers will save them.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 40 total reviews
1 2 Next