Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Nesco Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop

Nesco Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop

This Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop is user-friendly and energy-efficient. Its smooth, ceramic-glass top wipes clean with ease. Features five different modes: melt/warm, simmer, boil, fry and sear. The instant temperature adjustments make cooking virtually fail-safe. Also, since the heat is generated in the pan, not the element, less energy is wasted than with gas or electric stoves.
Average Customer Rating:
3.857 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
16
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation73%36 out of 49reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 86 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
16
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop

Good Induction Cooktop

09/05/2014
By ,
Oakland, California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Use Induction Cookware (Magnetic). Cast Iron Cookware get's too hot and the Cooktop turns off while you are still cooking.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop

Not reliable

04/11/2013
By ,
South Bend, IN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I used the cooktop to reduce maple sap into maple syrup. Induction is perfect for this because the constant power requirements are very high, so high efficiency is a must.
I placed a piece of parchment paper between the pot and the unit to prevent any spillage from landing on the face of the unit. The unit would operate for 1.5 hour or so, perfectly fine - but it would randomly shut off the induction portion with the fan running. It did this several times. I sent the unit back to NESCO for their engineering to determine the cause. They could not replicate; but it's no surprise because they didn't perform their testing using the same equipment or settings that I used.
Anyways, they sent an RMA packing slip for me to send the unit back to them free of charge. Standard shipping was 1 day, since I lived so close to the manufacturer. They received my unit at 10:30am on a Thursday and didn't ship me a replacement until the following Monday. By that time, I had purchased a different induction cooktop (NuWave) and it works flawlessly for over 48 hours straight.
I'm returning this product and will keep the NuWave.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop
08/12/2013
By ,
Yreka, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted to try induction cooking and this seemed the best, and most cost effective way. This product has delivered what it said it would. I am very pleased with it. It comes with a magnet, so you can determine what cookware you already own, is compatible to use. Turns out we had a lot. My first test was boiling water. It passed. So fast. I was surprised at how large the cooking surface is. It was hard to tell from the pix on line just how big the cooking surface is. One thing that I especially like, is the portability of the unit. My regular cook stove is on the opposite side of my kitchen from my sink. It is hard for me to lug a full pan of water from sink to stove. This unit allows me to have it on the counter, by my sink and not have to lug heavy pans/pots of water across the kitchen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop

Cool cook top

10/13/2014
By ,
Erie, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This product I did not like as well as the Nu wave unit that I have with the variable settings.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop

Works well

10/08/2012
By ,
Marietta, Ga.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tested with 10" cast iron chicken fryer/pot
and 4 cups oil uncovered
Setting Watts Temperature F
1 .... 450 .. 170
2 .... 800 .. 195 - 220
3 ... 1000 .. 270 - 285
4 ... 1200 .. 330 - 345
5 ... 1500 .. 370 - 385
Some stainless steel works
NEVER PUT A BARE/EMPTY PAN/POT ON IT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+81points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop

Very good for the price

09/14/2012
By ,
Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found the unit to be noisy. It only has 6 power settings and did not have a timer or temp readout.
The unit works good and very good buy for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop

good price for easy to use induction cooktop

09/11/2012
By ,
Nevada, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop is indeed portable. It is light weight, and I moved it from the dining room to the kitchen to cook on it two separate times. It is a nice way to find out if you like induction cooking, reasonable price and easy to use.
The cooking modes are easy to set and I like that I don't have to use a heated electric stove to prepare just one food item.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop

good value

09/14/2012
By ,
Stillwater, OK
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Purchased to use while I am waiting to replace my broken 6 year old expensive Kenmore Elite induction cook top. I am familiar with cooking with induction. The fan is a little noisier than I expected and the cycling on and off to maintain the temperature is annoying. In general though it is a good value and certainly better than my broken Kenmore.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop

So far it's a great appliance, very fast & easy.

11/23/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A tip if you're considering buying this product & wondering whether your pans or skillets will work with it, if a magnet sticks it will.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop
09/18/2012
By ,
East Falmouth, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it. I don't have to worry about the water overflowing into the coils on the stove. I don't have to worry about food falling into the stove coils. Heats up fast too. I wanted the NuWave PIC, but this is just as good.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NM
still love it?
Posted 11/10/2012
Do you still love it?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop

Fast and Efficient

11/13/2013
By ,
Tucson
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With the right cookware, this is a fast and efficient way to cook. It is not good for slow-cooking. Walmart carries GraniteWare which works really well with induction cooking.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop

Perfect for rv

10/17/2012
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this induction cooktop for use in our RV. It is large enough to handle any size pot or pan. I actually thought is would be smaller but was pleasantly surprised. It is very fast so I use it more than the propane gas stove.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Farmington, MO
A great bargain and useful kitchen appliance
Posted 10/22/2012
I have used my induction cook top every day. It works great and the price was right. It heats water to a boil faster than a microwave and maintains a constant temperature. I hardly use the burners on my stove. It will not work with aluminum cookware but works great with cast iron or stainless steel so long as a magnet sticks to the bottom of the pan. It has become my most used kitchen appliance
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop

love it

09/11/2012
By ,
Niles, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brings water to full boil in 30 sec. burners do not get hot,, I can clean up spills on burner with out getting burned. low hum at beginning and end of cycle. I can take it with me to cook. I love it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop

Good product.

12/02/2012
By ,
Chagrin falls, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Before I bought this Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop, I bought a much more expensive one from Amazon. The expensive one didn't cook. I had to ship it back. The Nesco portable works great. Only sometimes when I change the power level, it still cooked the same. That is why I give it four stars. It cooks fast. Much better than gas or regular electric cook top. It is inexpensive. I also bought two year warranty on it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop

Great cooktop for price!

12/08/2012
By ,
Scottsdale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have another brand cooktop that I paid more for and this one works just as well if not better. Very pleased with how it works and functions on the front of cooktop. My other one has just an up/down buttons for temperature settings. The reason I ordered another one is because I love induction cooking and now I want another burner to take on our camper because they work so well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop

It gets the job done.

02/08/2013
By ,
Asheville, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am glad to have an induction cooker, but a little disappointed with this one. The cooking modes do not accurately do what is stated. For example, I brought something to a boil and then turned to simmer, however, it still continued in a raging boil. It gets the job done but not with the finesse I had hoped....Oh well, you get what you pay for and I went cheap! (P.S. I am using pots that are magnetic.)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop

Didn't work as I expected

05/21/2013
By ,
Narragansett, RI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Didn't work with my stainless steel pans and work only on my cast iron 10'in pan. Try to fry on it but would not stay hot long enough to complete my frying. I was disappointed and liked the idea to have a light weight energy efficient hotplate.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop

Seems to work good

11/10/2012
By ,
Silver Springs Fl.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Heats up fast .took me a few days to fine the cookware to use on it.Just have to learn how to use the settings..There is no cookbook with it to tell you how to cook at what temp??
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop
06/09/2013
By ,
Central Forida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I live in a studio that has no range, and had been using my microwave and a hot plate for cooking. For items that don't ccok well in a microwave, the hotplate takes FOREVER to get to temperature.
The Nesco was pretty well rated and inexpensive, so i gave it a shot. I am very pleased with it overall. It will bring a 3 quart sauce pan full of tap water to a boil in less than 5 minutes. MUCH faster than the hot plate. It takes a bit of learning how to use it (like any new toy), because the 5 heat levels cannot be fine tuned like a $2,000.00 cook top. Since it is an induction device, the size of the cooking vessel affects how quick, and how hot it will run on each setting. You quickly learn how to run it. Just don't for example, turn it to "boil" and leave it unattended, no more than you would leave a skillet full of frying chicken unattended. You may have to play with the heat level as you work with it. Depending on the size of the pan, "warm" can simmer, and "simmer" can boil. Anyway, I have no trouble at all operating it. If you want a set and forget cooker, go ahead and buy that $2,000.00 cook top.
There appears to be an internal limit thermostat, in that at times it will "appear" to quit working. If you stir the pot, it starts working again. Normal operation. As I said you have to learn how to use it. I like mine enough, that I have ordered a second one, so I will have a makeshift "cooktop".
The glass top makes for easy cleanup, and the appearance is good. There have been mentions of noisy fans, and a hum. For goodness sakes, it is a budget cooking device, shut up and cook. I use T-Fal stainless cookware I also bought at Walmart, works well.
Don't forget, you need MAGNETIC STEEL cookware for any induction cooker to work.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop

Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop Great Product!!!!

12/05/2012
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVE IT!!!!!!
Its all I had hoped for & more...I highly recommend it.
Heats up extremely fast.
Works great with my pressure cooker & cast iron pans.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 42 total reviews
1 2 3 Next