Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Enjoy a hot, fresh, individually brewed cup of coffee whenever you like with this Hamilton Beach Single Serve Coffee Maker. If you've wanted to own a K-Cup pack brewer, but the expense was just too great, take a look at this Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Custom Brewer that is compatible with all K-Cup Packs (not included). You'll love the convenience and customization of this FlexBrew Coffeemaker and the better coffee extraction than the leading competitor. This unit brews into a travel mug or regular coffee cup. As an added convenience, this brewer can also use regular ground coffee or Pods (not included). Brews 10 ounces in less than four minutes, so what are you waiting for? Also makes a great affordable gift.
Average Customer Rating:
3.655 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(588 Reviews) 538
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
270
4 stars
127
3 stars
29
2 stars
42
1 star
120
Customer Recommendation71%420 out of 588reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
58 Questions | 485 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
270
4 stars
127
3 stars
29
2 stars
42
1 star
120
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

A great way to make coffee at half the price !!!

01/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My old coffee maker bit the dust some time ago and I switched to instant coffee. Its good but just not the same as brewed coffee. So I went in search of a good single serve coffee maker. The K-cups looked like a great idea but the Keurig coffee makers priced at almost $200.00 turned me off right away. I almost gave up until I found The Hamilton Beach Flexbrew. The price was right and it does all a Kuerig does for a fraction of the cost. I've had mine for a week now and I love it !! Its light weight easy to use and makes a great cup of coffee. I've tried fresh ground coffee and the K- cups so far and both work equally well even with just plain tap water. Looking for the pods next and just dying to try tea and hot chocolate too. Don't believe all the bad reviews this is a great product....Thanks Walmart !!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 62 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Better than the Reviews!

01/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I debated getting this coffee maker after reading the reviews. So many people reported problems and issues. I have to say my experience has been nothing but positive. If you follow the simple start up instructions you will have great results. This is perfect for my office, I have it on the credenza and it means I don't have to get up to get a cup of coffee when I want one and if all I want is one cup a day then I don't have to brew a whole pot. I would recommend this to anyone, including just for personal home use. I am going to get another for home because this is so great!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 63 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Excellent value

01/23/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit performs better than the Keurig that stopped working after one year of limited use. The brew is also hotter which is another plus. Overall, a much better buy.
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 64 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995
10/10/2013
By ,
Boston, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this coffee maker. I can use my fun flavored regular coffee and I can use K-Cups. I'm literally in coffee heaven. The only tiny problem with it is that it doesn't have the best filter and there is a tiny tiny bit of "dust" that gets passed into the cup that would normally be caught with a regular drip maker. However, if you just swirl the coffee before drinking it, you won't even notice :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Baton Rouge, LA
FlexBrew is a disaster - ZERO Stars!!
Posted 12/04/2013
I bought this coffee maker for my son to put in his dorm room. Easier to just make one cup and run to class, and takes less room in the dorm, right? WRONG!! This machine spewed coffee grounds and water all over his dorm room. I figured he didn't know what he was doing so I asked him to bring it home. Did the same thing for me. With the k-cups or grounds - doesn't matter which - water evaporates, leaving about a centimeter or two of liquid at the bottom of the cup and I had to run and get a towel to wrap around it until it finished spewing scalding hot water all over my counter. The biggest regret that I have is he threw the box away at school. I can't return it. But I would NOT recommend this product to anyone - FAIL!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 65 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

LESS THAN NO STARS

03/12/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought this would be perfect being able to brew both K-cups and regular grind. After only 4 cups of coffee using a k-cup the screen on the brewing basket plugged up. Now every time I use the coffee maker I have to take it completely apart and clean the screen. I wish I had saved the money and put it toward another coffee maker. I would take it back but the box was taken to the trash and disposed of before I had a chance to retrieve it. First thing in the next yard sale. DON'T WASTE THE MONEY
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 66 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Great for on the go people

11/08/2012
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like that you can use, K-Cups, Pods, Ground Coffee on the same coffee maker. Great flavor out of the K-Cups
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 67 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Awesome

11/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the reviews before buying and the reviews don't do justice . The coffee comes out great tasting no plastic like some reviews said. It is easy to use and clean. I use it everyday and love the choice of k-pods or grounds to brew. Plus got 5.00 rebate from Hamiton beach so that lower the cost .
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 68 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

All you have to do is.......................

12/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
follow the directions!
I read hundreds of reviews for this coffee maker. My only thought is that other users were not following the very specific directions enclosed with the coffee maker.
Also, those complaining about their coffee not being hot enough, I definitely do not have this problem. The coffee is very hot after being brewed.
There were also reviews about how long it took the maker to work. From the time I push the on button until the coffee maker shuts off after brewing is approximately 3 minutes.
Maybe I just got lucky with my Flexbrew but I LOVE IT!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 69 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Great for single cup of coffee or tea

11/18/2013
By ,
Asheboro,NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only had this a little over a week and have found it very easy to use. Was a little nervous after reading reviews, but glad I went ahead and took a chance. My boys and I use this at least once a day and haven't had any problems. It's more convient for me since I rarely drink coffee, and didn't like to waste a whole pot, now I can brew one cup when needed and even enjoy tea and hot cocoa with out having to boil water on the stove.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 70 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

My Flexbrew stopped working after the 5th cup

12/08/2012
By ,
Port Jervis, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Was very excited to get my flexbrew at such a great price. After making about 5 cups of coffee the coffee maker stopped working. I am pretty sure its the pump because no water will come out. Its a shame because i was really looking forward to the K Cups. Guess i'll just need to go buy one of the more expensive ones.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Southern Pines, NC
Posted 02/03/2014
We are sorry to hear of the issue you experienced while using your Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker. Hamilton Beach Brands is committed to ensuring our consumers are satisfied and we take these matters seriously. Please contact us at customer.service@hamiltonbeach.com or 1-800-851-8900 and we will work to resolve your specific issue.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 71 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Quit working

11/24/2012
By ,
Knoxville, IA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Only used it a handful of times and then nothing would come out any more. It worked great until it quit.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Southern Pines, NC
Posted 11/28/2012
Hi AshleyJoT,
This is Hamilton Beach Customer Service. Thank you for your comments. We are committed to helping resolve any issue you may be having. Please contact us at customer.service@hamiltonbeach.com or 1-800-851-8900 so we can understand your issue more fully and help fix it for you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 72 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Good Product

05/10/2013
By ,
Gardner, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this a week ago for my wife and I after our old coffee pot died. I read several reviews before purchase, both good and bad... and after a week of use I can say this is a VERY good k-cup brewer for the price. It has it's quirks - I've noticed that you do get slightly less coffee out than water put in (presumably because of the steam). My solution to that was to add slightly more water than you intend to get out. We use a little measuring cup so we know exactly how much to use each time. We just keep it next to the pot.
Biggest issue my wife had was forgetting to get the cup in all the way until it snaps... that leads to overflow and grounds seeping out. Easily corrected by following directions :). The needle that punctures the top of the k-cup can also get clogged... a quick jab with a paper clip and run just water through once cleans it out. All in all it's a good product if you take a couple of minutes to figure out how to run it efficiently. This isn't a simple set it and forget it - you have to pay attention to what you're doing, and follow all the steps. Like I said, it's not without quirks and does require a little thought and problem solving to get the best performance, but once you figure it out it's a solid machine and well worth 50% of the cost of a grossly overpriced Keurig.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 73 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

not happy

01/13/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I find that this coffee maker does not preform as stated. I never get a full cup of coffee, even if I add additional water. Have to brew twice to get a full cup. Makes terrible noise's while brewing. Although it is a great concept to be able to brew k cups and regular coffee, does not preform as I thought it would.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 74 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995
12/13/2012
By ,
Pennsylvania
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
had to return - was a disaster - didn't work - spewed coffee and grinds all over while brewing
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Southern Pines, NC
Posted 02/03/2014
We are sorry to hear of the issue you experienced while using your Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker. Hamilton Beach Brands is committed to ensuring our consumers are satisfied and we take these matters seriously. Please contact us at customer.service@hamiltonbeach.com or 1-800-851-8900 and we will work to resolve your specific issue.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 75 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

so much more room!

12/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this unit because of its' size as I have a galley kitchen and my Keurig was way too big. This is wonderful. It makes 3 types of coffee from K cups to ground coffee. I have found if I add more water as it is brewing it will continue t0 brew until all water is gone; hence, a larger cup of coffee. It was $15 cheaper on Walmart website than in the store. Site to store took less than 4 hours on the same day! I would recommend this to all for the price, performance, and versatility!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 76 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

The K-cup brewer the store doesn't stock

02/02/2013
By ,
Cleveland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We discoverd this product on the internet and have been looking for one. Most retail stores don't have them, apparantly because it takes either a K-cup, A Mileta Pod, or your own ground coffee, and that doesn't sell overpriced K-cups.
Have to put water in each time you brew, but with practice it makes a great cup of coffee. Takes about 2 minutes to brew and I found 4 tsp to be about right.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 77 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

OK if you only care about price

01/08/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The thing "worked," but nothing close to Keurig.
First, it is very annoying and difficult to pour water into the brewer. It always spills.
Second, it takes a LONG time to heat up and then brew (5-7 minutes?). I honestly was able to start (measure/add water, scoop/add coffee) an entire 12 cup pot of coffee in my old traditional brewer in the time it took for this to brew.
It also is messy and tends to always drip a decent amount of coffee even after you think it is done.
I returned this and just got a Keurig. The Keurig at least has a much better and larger water reservoir and it will get your coffee brewed in about 1 minute.
This just wasnt worth the money saved in my opinion. I think a $15 traditional coffee pot is better than this one, and the coffee is much cheaper.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 78 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

"you get what you pay for"

02/26/2013
By ,
Starke, Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this coffee pot because I was looking for a less expensive alternative to the more expensive single coffee makers. The old saying "you get what you pay for" is true. I purchased some pods to use with it and they made a respectable cup of coffee. I tried using my own coffee from Kenya and it stopped up the coffee maker and I had a mess with overflow. Finding pods at store locations is difficult. There is no varity if you do find them. I am told that the nicer single cup coffee makers have a reader on them for the bar codes on the k-cups. I am not sure that will work with my coffee pot since it does not have a areader. I am reluctant to buy a box of k-cups and try them out if they may not work. I should have done a better job of investigating the pro's and con's of this purchase before making it. If I can find good coffee in pods I will be happy with it. I do not like coffee that is 15 minutes old. I prefere fresh brewed!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 79 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Horrible. Spend the extra for a better one

12/29/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received this as a gift for Christmas. This was the worst gift ever. First off, there is no size selection for the brew amount. Second, there was no steady stream of coffee ever during the brewing cycle. Only drips, spits and sputters. It made a terrible noise while brewing and shut off mid-cup. I had to press start again to make it finish brewing. Then, after my second try at it, thinking the first time was just a warm up for the machine, it started hissing and making a terrible choking noise again. I unplugged it after water started to drip from the top, where it wasnt suppose to be coming from. I let it cool for a moment and then after I pulled the tray out to clean it and put it back in the box to return, it started to POUR water out of the top which flooded the counter. Worthless.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 80 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Highly recommend this single cup coffee maker.

05/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used it for everyday for the past two weeks and love it. I read and follow the directions and have had none of the issues mentioned in other reviews. It is not compatible with Keurug k cups, however, I open them and put them into the filter and problem solved. It heats well and fast, under 2 minutes. I highly recommend this product, small, sleek design and easy to use, minimum clean up and it's a bargain.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
61-80 of 539 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6  ...  27 Next