Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Enjoy a hot, fresh, individually brewed cup of coffee whenever you like with this Hamilton Beach Single Serve Coffee Maker. If you've wanted to own a K-Cup pack brewer, but the expense was just too great, take a look at this Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Custom Brewer that is compatible with all K-Cup Packs (not included). You'll love the convenience and customization of this FlexBrew Coffeemaker and the better coffee extraction than the leading competitor. This unit brews into a travel mug or regular coffee cup. As an added convenience, this brewer can also use regular ground coffee or Pods (not included). Brews 10 ounces in less than four minutes, so what are you waiting for? Also makes a great affordable gift.
Average Customer Rating:
3.647 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(467 Reviews) 417
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
220
4 stars
93
3 stars
20
2 stars
37
1 star
97
Customer Recommendation70%329 out of 467reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
46 Questions | 466 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
220
4 stars
93
3 stars
20
2 stars
37
1 star
97
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

A great little coffee brewer

05/30/2014
By ,
Western NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After trying other single-serve coffeemakers without success, my expectations were about as low as the price for this unit. Was I surprised !!!! Hamilton Beach has this figured out and at an awesome price. Just as advertised, takes 3-4 minutes, coffee is hot, small profile and is dependable. I never knew when the other 2 would foul up - the time I spent babying them. At this price it will make an awesome gift for someone who wants to try the single serve either with their own coffee or the pods.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 62 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

SAVE YOUR MONEY - WOW

06/13/2013
By ,
Madill, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have always loved Hamilton Beach Products. This has got to be the worst coffee maker or any other product I have ever used. No matter what I did, this thing spewed coffee and grounds everywhere. The K-Cups would not drain, they were pierced! The K-Cups would build up pressure where the release valve would blow the steam out the top. When it did FINALLY work right (ONCE) it too about 10 minutes for all of the coffee to drain into the cup. --- Seriously, save your money and buy something else!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Southern Pines, NC
Posted 02/03/2014
We are sorry to hear of the issue you experienced while using your Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker. Hamilton Beach Brands is committed to ensuring our consumers are satisfied and we take these matters seriously. Please contact us at customer.service@hamiltonbeach.com or 1-800-851-8900 and we will work to resolve your specific issue.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 63 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Great concept....but

12/19/2012
By ,
Bristol, CT
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
So excited to find a maker that would not only do the ground coffee I loved, however, it would do the KCups that my husband loves....
I brought it home, ran through 2 cycles of plain water and was a bit concerned to see plastic bits in the filter after the first cycle, however, the plastic bits were not present during the second run through.
Next, I got my ground coffee into the filter. Just plain old Maxwell House Daily Brew. I was careful to not over fill the filter as I know from reading reviews this is the exact thing that causes coffee grounds to end up all over the maker and into the cup because the filter will clog.
I put the water in...again, being careful to stay at the MAX line in the and pushed the button to brew my cup....rather than sit and watch for the coffee, I took the dog out. It took her about 10 minutes to be cold enough to come inside. And I smoked a cigarette....so I was out there for at least that long. Which is important because...
I came in and checked the cup.....I'm thinking it looks a little on the low side....but then I assume the grounds would hold some of the water.....at least that is what I'm thinking.....I take my cup o out from under the machine and then hold the machine around the main part to move it back on the counter. The machine immediately let loose with at least 2 ounces of scalding water onto my hand giving me first degree burns. The water never made it to the grounds. It was stuck in the machine.
Now before Hamilton Beach comes onto this site and says to call them to talk about my issue, I will tell you that I called them this morning. I was told that it was "normal" for the machine to hold about 2 ounces of water until you use it 2 times. Ok, the cup of coffee was my third time brewing with this machine, I waited a few minutes in between cups and it still held the water. I questioned it again asking if she was sure. She was. It will clear up.
I also let her know that on my machine, when I press the lever down, it does not lock into place. She told me this was not a cause for concern and this too was normal. Okay.
Then she tells me to hang on a minute and puts me on hold. She comes back about 45 seconds later and says "to keep an eye on the water issue". Are you kidding me?
The thing is.....it made a decent cup of coffee, like really decent using my grounds. The adapter I bought for the Keurig didn't make a decent cup of coffee. I also tried the new Mr. Coffee one with the Keurig adapter for my own coffee and again I was disappointed.
I am going to return this particular machine because I do believe that something is not right with it. However, Hamilton Beach really didn't want to acknowledge that there might be a problem with it and instead told me to keep an eye on it which might make me decide to try a different brand of single cup brewer that might not do KCups because they just didn't seem to care. On the other hand, it really made a great cup of coffee. As I decide I will update this post
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Southern Pines, NC
Posted 02/03/2014
We are sorry to hear of the issue you experienced while using your Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker. Hamilton Beach Brands is committed to ensuring our consumers are satisfied and we take these matters seriously. Please contact us at customer.service@hamiltonbeach.com or 1-800-851-8900 and we will work to resolve your specific issue.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 64 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Compact/easy to use. No mess at all. but plastic.

12/05/2012
By ,
San Francisco, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: Compact and very easy to use. No mess at all! Turns off automatically. Good looking, but I would prefer stainless steel or red steel look.
Cons: I don’t like plastic products that come into contact with food or hot water. It gives out plastic-y smell sometimes. I don’t like my coffee super strong thus would prefer if I could use more than 10.4 Oz of water with 1 K-cup. 12-16 oz would be ideal. You can always use less water if needed, but you can’t use more w/o creating a mess.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Athens
Posted 06/14/2013
Actually, you can add more water after the cycle, just turn it on again. It will weaken the coffee in your cup, or fill your bigger cup with weaker coffee.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 65 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Great product

06/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had a keurig machine for double the price that broke, this machine works just as well if not better. With the click of the attached k-cup holder you have an instant keurig or keep the cup out & you can use ground coffee, plus it is tall enough to handle a 26 oz travel mug. Although the max fill is only 8 oz so you'll have to run it twice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 66 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995
10/10/2013
By ,
Boston, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this coffee maker. I can use my fun flavored regular coffee and I can use K-Cups. I'm literally in coffee heaven. The only tiny problem with it is that it doesn't have the best filter and there is a tiny tiny bit of "dust" that gets passed into the cup that would normally be caught with a regular drip maker. However, if you just swirl the coffee before drinking it, you won't even notice :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Baton Rouge, LA
FlexBrew is a disaster - ZERO Stars!!
Posted 12/04/2013
I bought this coffee maker for my son to put in his dorm room. Easier to just make one cup and run to class, and takes less room in the dorm, right? WRONG!! This machine spewed coffee grounds and water all over his dorm room. I figured he didn't know what he was doing so I asked him to bring it home. Did the same thing for me. With the k-cups or grounds - doesn't matter which - water evaporates, leaving about a centimeter or two of liquid at the bottom of the cup and I had to run and get a towel to wrap around it until it finished spewing scalding hot water all over my counter. The biggest regret that I have is he threw the box away at school. I can't return it. But I would NOT recommend this product to anyone - FAIL!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 67 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Great for single cup of coffee or tea

11/18/2013
By ,
Asheboro,NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only had this a little over a week and have found it very easy to use. Was a little nervous after reading reviews, but glad I went ahead and took a chance. My boys and I use this at least once a day and haven't had any problems. It's more convient for me since I rarely drink coffee, and didn't like to waste a whole pot, now I can brew one cup when needed and even enjoy tea and hot cocoa with out having to boil water on the stove.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 68 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Quit Working after 2 Cups

07/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this product to take a on a family vacation. The first time we pulled it out, it took several tries to make the k-cup work properly (Assembly is very flimsy). Once we had it working it made two separate cups of coffee and after that would not produce anymore. It made lots of notice like it was working but no fluid actually came out. Tried several times, disassembled what we could to see if something was clogged, but could not diagnose. Be careful with this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Southern Pines, NC
Posted 07/17/2014
We are sorry to hear of the issue you experienced while using your Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker. Hamilton Beach Brands is committed to ensuring our consumers are satisfied and we take these matters seriously. Please contact us at customer.service@hamiltonbeach.com or 1-800-851-8900 and we will work to resolve your specific issue.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 69 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Nice Ideal but does a poor Job!!

12/28/2012
By ,
Tri-cites, Tn
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this unit for my wife for Christmas. The unit made one cup of coffee great! After that it failed and made a mess on my counter top. Five brands of K-cups later (thinking that it might have been one brand or the other that the unit did not like) I returned the unit to my local Walmart. I read the directions time and time again and cleaned the unit between the times I tried to make coffee or use the k-cups. Please don't waste your time with this unit. The only thing it might be good for is using your own coffee grounds. the mess was very little with this. However it still made a mess. It did take up most of my free time over Christmas day and my counter tops have never been so clean. I was forced to wipe them down too many times that day. Thanks to my local Walmart for making this online order easy to return and no hassle!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Southern Pines, NC
Posted 01/29/2014
We are sorry to hear of the issue you experienced while using your Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Coffeemaker. Hamilton Beach Brands is committed to ensuring our consumers are satisfied and we take these matters seriously. Please constact us at customer.service@hamiltonbeach.com or 1-800-851-8900 and we will work to resolve your specific issue.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 70 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Love it!

07/12/2014
By ,
Chattanooga, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using this coffee maker for a few months now and I love it! No more heating up old coffee I always get a fresh cup. I really like how hot the coffee brews. You must read the directions to operate the product correctly. You must pour the water in slowly. Others have written that theirs leaks and that's not the case they most likely poured the water to fast and it overflowed on the counter. Read the directions and you will have no problem. I have bought several now for all of my family members and they to love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 71 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Brews slow but works great

03/29/2014
By ,
South Bend, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my waiting room at my shop to cut cost a bit. I have a Kuerig at home so I'm use to the water being ready to go. Once you fill this one it takes about 3 min to get a cup and it's a true 1 cup system as you put the water in only when you ready to brew. My customers do love it and I don't have to make 12 cups a day and throw most out at the end of day and my customers love the variety of coffee we have. Perfect for the 1 or 2 cup a day house hold.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 72 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

The New Coffee Maker

05/30/2014
By ,
S. Dakota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the this coffee maker because of the flexibility of using Kcups and ground coffee of your choice. Makes excellent coffee and allows you to use a larger coffee mug/travel mug or a regular coffee cup.
Easy to operate and is sure more affordable compared to other Kcup units.
Value, flexible and affordable!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 73 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Not what I expected.

07/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Used it twice now. Both times only water would come out because the machine would not puncture the top foil seal of the k cup ( yes I did press down on it). I am going to dig the box out of the trash and return this dud. Sad because it had all the features I was looking for in a coffee maker.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Southern Pines, NC
Posted 07/21/2014
We are sorry to hear of the issue you experienced while using your Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker. Hamilton Beach Brands is committed to ensuring our consumers are satisfied and we take these matters seriously. Please contact us at customer.service@hamiltonbeach.com or 1-800-851-8900 and we will work to resolve your specific issue.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 74 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

I love this product!

05/31/2014
By ,
Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this product. Very easy to use. Clean up is a snap. I just rinse the coffee stand with water and wipe down the rest with a damp cloth. It looks nice on my counter too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 75 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

good machine for soft water areas

07/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
only one problem, it doesn't have a water filter. If you live in a hard water area use only bottled water or it clogs beyond repair. Until it clogged it worked great.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 76 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

FlexBrew using regular,fine ground or Kcup.

05/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price for online sale.
Auto shutoff.
Coffee ready in cup app 2 min..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 77 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Excellent value

01/23/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit performs better than the Keurig that stopped working after one year of limited use. The brew is also hotter which is another plus. Overall, a much better buy.
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 78 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

single serve coffee maker

07/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I didn't like this and maybe the one I got was defective. But it made aweful noises and when it was brewing so much steam came out it looked like smoke rolling and I was afraid it was going to catch on fire. I took mine back and got a Keurig.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Southern Pines, NC
Posted 07/16/2014
We are sorry to hear of the issue you experienced while using your Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker. Hamilton Beach Brands is committed to ensuring our consumers are satisfied and we take these matters seriously. If we can be of further assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us at customer.service@hamiltonbeach.com or 1-800-851-8900.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 79 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

a slim coffee maker with modern alternatives

05/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I always clean after I brew ' cause I want pure taste of each varied K-cups. I've had mine for a month; my hope is for this to last for years. A particular Espresso brand spews coffee granules on the holder--but that's not the only brand I use.I do the alternative basket for this particular 'Espresso'. All in all this is the most used single brewer in my apartment.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 80 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

The Hamilton Beach Coffee maker is a good .

05/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Love the Hamilton Beach Single cup coffee maker.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
61-80 of 418 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6  ...  21 Next