Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Enjoy a hot, fresh, individually brewed cup of coffee whenever you like with this Hamilton Beach Single Serve Coffee Maker. If you've wanted to own a K-Cup pack brewer, but the expense was just too great, take a look at this Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Custom Brewer that is compatible with all K-Cup Packs (not included). You'll love the convenience and customization of this FlexBrew Coffeemaker and the better coffee extraction than the leading competitor. This unit brews into a travel mug or regular coffee cup. As an added convenience, this brewer can also use regular ground coffee or Pods (not included). Brews 10 ounces in less than four minutes, so what are you waiting for? Also makes a great affordable gift.
Average Customer Rating:
3.641 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(576 Reviews) 526
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
262
4 stars
125
3 stars
28
2 stars
42
1 star
119
Customer Recommendation71%410 out of 576reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
58 Questions | 480 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
262
4 stars
125
3 stars
28
2 stars
42
1 star
119
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

All you have to do is.......................

12/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
follow the directions!
I read hundreds of reviews for this coffee maker. My only thought is that other users were not following the very specific directions enclosed with the coffee maker.
Also, those complaining about their coffee not being hot enough, I definitely do not have this problem. The coffee is very hot after being brewed.
There were also reviews about how long it took the maker to work. From the time I push the on button until the coffee maker shuts off after brewing is approximately 3 minutes.
Maybe I just got lucky with my Flexbrew but I LOVE IT!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Don't buy for K Cups

02/21/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this coffee maker to use in our 5th wheel trailer. It didn't work with the K cups that I use in my Keurig coffee maker. Also, it's VERY slow heating the water. So, I took it back to the store. (It "may" work O.K. with regular ground coffee. I didn't try that.)
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Good product but....

12/08/2012
By ,
Hollywood, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is good. It brews k-cups exceptionally well but it is very selective on the type of coffee that it can brew. If the coffee is grinded too fine it will prevent the water from dripping through the mesh causing the coffee and water to spill over from the coffee filter. To prevent this from happening, try using coffee grinds that are ground up a little larger than fine. Customer service at Hamilton Beach suggests Maxwell House.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

SAVE YOUR MONEY - WOW

06/13/2013
By ,
Madill, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have always loved Hamilton Beach Products. This has got to be the worst coffee maker or any other product I have ever used. No matter what I did, this thing spewed coffee and grounds everywhere. The K-Cups would not drain, they were pierced! The K-Cups would build up pressure where the release valve would blow the steam out the top. When it did FINALLY work right (ONCE) it too about 10 minutes for all of the coffee to drain into the cup. --- Seriously, save your money and buy something else!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Southern Pines, NC
Posted 02/03/2014
We are sorry to hear of the issue you experienced while using your Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker. Hamilton Beach Brands is committed to ensuring our consumers are satisfied and we take these matters seriously. Please contact us at customer.service@hamiltonbeach.com or 1-800-851-8900 and we will work to resolve your specific issue.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 45 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Better than Keurig

11/05/2013
By ,
Bethesda, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This small machine brews a single cup of delicious coffee without creating a lot of waste for the landfill. It can use either loose coffee or K-cups, but I prefer to use the former. The resulting coffee is great and the grounds can go right down the drain with no paper filter or plastic cup to throw away. Being green never tasted so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

A little slow

02/18/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The first one I ordered sputtered and didn't work well. Walmart sent me a new one which works much better. I do like that it fits travel mugs, but it doesn't fit really tall ones like mine. It is slower than a Keurig, but it doesn't cost as much and it has the room for travel mugs, so it all evens out.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

OK if you only care about price

01/08/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The thing "worked," but nothing close to Keurig.
First, it is very annoying and difficult to pour water into the brewer. It always spills.
Second, it takes a LONG time to heat up and then brew (5-7 minutes?). I honestly was able to start (measure/add water, scoop/add coffee) an entire 12 cup pot of coffee in my old traditional brewer in the time it took for this to brew.
It also is messy and tends to always drip a decent amount of coffee even after you think it is done.
I returned this and just got a Keurig. The Keurig at least has a much better and larger water reservoir and it will get your coffee brewed in about 1 minute.
This just wasnt worth the money saved in my opinion. I think a $15 traditional coffee pot is better than this one, and the coffee is much cheaper.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Awesome

11/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the reviews before buying and the reviews don't do justice . The coffee comes out great tasting no plastic like some reviews said. It is easy to use and clean. I use it everyday and love the choice of k-pods or grounds to brew. Plus got 5.00 rebate from Hamiton beach so that lower the cost .
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Single brew cup

02/16/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was skeptical before I bought it, thinking it would be difficult. I was amazed how simple it is to brew a single cup of coffee....in the morning I have it all set up the night before, just have to hit the power button, less then 5 minutes later my cup of coffee is ready and I'm out the door!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

so much more room!

12/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this unit because of its' size as I have a galley kitchen and my Keurig was way too big. This is wonderful. It makes 3 types of coffee from K cups to ground coffee. I have found if I add more water as it is brewing it will continue t0 brew until all water is gone; hence, a larger cup of coffee. It was $15 cheaper on Walmart website than in the store. Site to store took less than 4 hours on the same day! I would recommend this to all for the price, performance, and versatility!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Hamilton Beach Flexbrew

02/16/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shipped more quickly than expected. Like the fact that stand changes for small or large mugs and like the fact that grounds or cups can be used
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Great coffeemaker--highly recommend

03/19/2013
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I wanted a one cup coffee maker for those times when just one of us wanted a cup of coffee and couldn't be bothered to fire up the 12 cup Grind and Brew. I couldn't justify buying a Keurig because they are so pricey so I did some research on other brands and the Hamilton Beech FlexBrew looked great. I liked that there was an option to use K cups or ground coffee and I liked the price--about $50 at Walmart. So, even though there were quite a few bad reviews, we went ahead and ordered it. We have had this little brewer for about a month and used it pretty much every day. It makes excellent coffee, tea, and hot cocoa. Some people complained that the coffee splashed on the counter or wasn't hot enough, but it's all influenced by the size and shape of the cup you use. You have the option of using the little platform to raise a more shallow cup up higher to avoid splashing and if you remove that, you can actually fit a tall travel mug. But you con only make one cup at a time so you would have to run it twice if you wanted to fill a mug. We have ceramic mugs that are sort of egg shaped and these worked perfectly on the platform-no splashing and the coffee was nice and hot. However, there is a problem when brewing using ground coffee. The grounds get pushed over the side of the brew basket during the brew cycle, and end up in the coffee and on the counter. After trying several different grinds of coffee and amounts of water as recommended in the directions, I went on the Hamilton Beech website and wrote an email to customer service about this problem. I received a prompt reply and within a week they mailed me a small filter basket that fits in the brew basket and works like a charm. So now I get great coffee with either brewing method. I would definitely recommend this coffeemaker, it was a good value and it makes great coffee. I was impressed with Hamilton Beech and their excellent customer service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Horrible. Spend the extra for a better one

12/29/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received this as a gift for Christmas. This was the worst gift ever. First off, there is no size selection for the brew amount. Second, there was no steady stream of coffee ever during the brewing cycle. Only drips, spits and sputters. It made a terrible noise while brewing and shut off mid-cup. I had to press start again to make it finish brewing. Then, after my second try at it, thinking the first time was just a warm up for the machine, it started hissing and making a terrible choking noise again. I unplugged it after water started to drip from the top, where it wasnt suppose to be coming from. I let it cool for a moment and then after I pulled the tray out to clean it and put it back in the box to return, it started to POUR water out of the top which flooded the counter. Worthless.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Great for a Small Area

01/20/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only used my machine for a couple weeks. Is works fine and brews a quick cup of coffee. Faster than my French Press. You need to read the directions and you should have no problems. The resivor only holds 10 ounces, but if you don't mind waiting you can add more water as it brews. It maybe a bit slow but you can add a few more ounces at a time or brew two "cups" to fill your 20 ounce travel mug! I have only used it with the K cups once and had no problems, once again follow the directions and you should have no problems. Simpler than the Kuerig mini that won't brew at all if you don't follow the sequence exactly. You must read the directions for both coffee makers!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

The best product machine ever

11/03/2013
By ,
Chester, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the option of pods, k-cups, or ground. It brews a perfect hot cup off coffee. My fear was getting a warm cup, but not with this. The coffee is very hot.
I do wish it would brew a larger cup like 12 and 16 oz. but it only brews a 10 oz.
I couldn't have made a better choice in coffee makers. I did own a Keurig and it was bulky and expensive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Great Coffee Maker

02/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am extremely happy with the Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995. Makes the best cup of coffee I ever made at home. Easy to use, fast, HOT coffee and not to expensive. Finally I can get a coffee shop quality cup of coffee at home for a price I can afford. I highly recommend this coffee maker.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

works well

02/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well and less expensive than a keurig
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995
02/15/2013
By ,
N. C.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Says it takes 10 oz of water...no...9 oz is all I can get in. Does not make good coffee in my opinion, others may like it.
Also, It leaks like a sieve and yesterday water sprayed out on my counter from the machine... It is going back.
Of course, this could have been a lemon, and others who have purchased may or may not have had problems with it.
I also would have preferred if I could have used my personal K-cup with it, but it cannot be used because of the way the k cup is perforated at the bottom and on the side of the cup. Of course you can use your own coffee with the built in filter if you remove the k cup holder.
I have had two keurig's, two Mr. Coffee by Keurig and now this Hamilton Beach all which have had problems. My first Keurig lasted 6 mos, the second one 1 month, Personal Mr coffee by keurig 3 months the newest Mr Coffee by Keurig 2 weeks and now this Hamilton Beach one 2 wks.
So, I have ordered the single serve Bunn coffee maker as it had 99 percent perfect reviews and I also read that people loved the coffee the machine dispensed.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Southern Pines, NC
Posted 02/03/2014
We are sorry to hear of the issue you experienced while using your Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker. Hamilton Beach Brands is committed to ensuring our consumers are satisfied and we take these matters seriously. Please contact us at customer.service@hamiltonbeach.com or 1-800-851-8900 and we will work to resolve your specific issue.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 59 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Love it!

01/09/2013
By ,
Highland, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first single-serve k-cup type coffee maker. I absolutely LOVE IT! After a month of use, I noticed my second cup didn't brew. After reading the instructions, I discovered the needle that punches the kcup was clogged. A simple cleaning with a paper clip, as recommended, did the trick.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Great Single Cup

02/12/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A handy, quick and easy cup of coffee at any time. Versatile in cup sizes and coffee. Enjoyable appliance.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 527 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  27 Next