Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Enjoy a hot, fresh, individually brewed cup of coffee whenever you like with this Hamilton Beach Single Serve Coffee Maker. If you've wanted to own a K-Cup pack brewer, but the expense was just too great, take a look at this Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Custom Brewer that is compatible with all K-Cup Packs (not included). You'll love the convenience and customization of this FlexBrew Coffeemaker and the better coffee extraction than the leading competitor. This unit brews into a travel mug or regular coffee cup. As an added convenience, this brewer can also use regular ground coffee or Pods (not included). Brews 10 ounces in less than four minutes, so what are you waiting for? Also makes a great affordable gift.
Average Customer Rating:
3.641 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(449 Reviews) 399
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
212
4 stars
88
3 stars
19
2 stars
36
1 star
94
Customer Recommendation70%315 out of 449reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
46 Questions | 463 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
212
4 stars
88
3 stars
19
2 stars
36
1 star
94
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Better than Keurig

11/05/2013
By ,
Bethesda, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This small machine brews a single cup of delicious coffee without creating a lot of waste for the landfill. It can use either loose coffee or K-cups, but I prefer to use the former. The resulting coffee is great and the grounds can go right down the drain with no paper filter or plastic cup to throw away. Being green never tasted so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

The best product machine ever

11/03/2013
By ,
Chester, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the option of pods, k-cups, or ground. It brews a perfect hot cup off coffee. My fear was getting a warm cup, but not with this. The coffee is very hot.
I do wish it would brew a larger cup like 12 and 16 oz. but it only brews a 10 oz.
I couldn't have made a better choice in coffee makers. I did own a Keurig and it was bulky and expensive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

It is easy to use

12/07/2012
By ,
North tonawanda,ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is easy to use and it comes with it's own kcup filter for your own coffee
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Brews slow but works great

03/29/2014
By ,
South Bend, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my waiting room at my shop to cut cost a bit. I have a Kuerig at home so I'm use to the water being ready to go. Once you fill this one it takes about 3 min to get a cup and it's a true 1 cup system as you put the water in only when you ready to brew. My customers do love it and I don't have to make 12 cups a day and throw most out at the end of day and my customers love the variety of coffee we have. Perfect for the 1 or 2 cup a day house hold.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

OK, but splatters; returned it to store

06/09/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The coffeemaker works like a Keurig...advantage is that you can do k-packs or your own coffee easier than with Keurig. But, when it dispenses, it splatters around the rim of the coffee cup...if you were really careful about finding a cup that "fits" just right, you would probably still like the brewer. I returned mine to the store.
If you really are a "coffee" person, I would recommend going ahead and spending the extra for a Keurig (or Keurig-type), but if you are a casual coffee drinker and don't mind wiping up your countertops every time and/or have a cup that you can use especially for that, it's pretty good.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Southern Pines, NC
Posted 06/17/2014
We are sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction while using your Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker. Hamilton Beach Brands is committed to ensuring our consumers are satisfied and take these matters seriously. If we can be of further assistance in the future please contact us at customer.service@hamiltonbeach.com or 1-800-851-8900.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 46 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Good product but....

12/08/2012
By ,
Hollywood, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is good. It brews k-cups exceptionally well but it is very selective on the type of coffee that it can brew. If the coffee is grinded too fine it will prevent the water from dripping through the mesh causing the coffee and water to spill over from the coffee filter. To prevent this from happening, try using coffee grinds that are ground up a little larger than fine. Customer service at Hamilton Beach suggests Maxwell House.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

a slim coffee maker with modern alternatives

05/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I always clean after I brew ' cause I want pure taste of each varied K-cups. I've had mine for a month; my hope is for this to last for years. A particular Espresso brand spews coffee granules on the holder--but that's not the only brand I use.I do the alternative basket for this particular 'Espresso'. All in all this is the most used single brewer in my apartment.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Easy and Quick

06/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I chose this coffee maker because I was tired of throwing my unused coffee away. It was half the price of the other single cup coffee maker and it does pretty much the same thing. My cup is about a 16oz. size. One time through give me about a half cup, I fill the rest with water and it make a great tasting cup of coffee.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Love love love!!!

11/16/2013
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this as a get us through until we decided what exactly we wanted to replace the expensive Keurig machine that just suddenly quit working after 2 years (2nd one this has happened with). After using this machine this morning I can't say enough good things about it! I have tried using K-Cups and ground coffee, both worked fabulously! Actually I think it produced a better cup of coffee than my keurig did. For sure using ground coffee in it is FAR simpler and no grounds in my coffee =). Takes a bit longer to brew a cup of coffee but as hubby said, set up and go take care of something else then come back and it will be ready. Can't beat the price either!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Great coffeemaker--highly recommend

03/19/2013
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I wanted a one cup coffee maker for those times when just one of us wanted a cup of coffee and couldn't be bothered to fire up the 12 cup Grind and Brew. I couldn't justify buying a Keurig because they are so pricey so I did some research on other brands and the Hamilton Beech FlexBrew looked great. I liked that there was an option to use K cups or ground coffee and I liked the price--about $50 at Walmart. So, even though there were quite a few bad reviews, we went ahead and ordered it. We have had this little brewer for about a month and used it pretty much every day. It makes excellent coffee, tea, and hot cocoa. Some people complained that the coffee splashed on the counter or wasn't hot enough, but it's all influenced by the size and shape of the cup you use. You have the option of using the little platform to raise a more shallow cup up higher to avoid splashing and if you remove that, you can actually fit a tall travel mug. But you con only make one cup at a time so you would have to run it twice if you wanted to fill a mug. We have ceramic mugs that are sort of egg shaped and these worked perfectly on the platform-no splashing and the coffee was nice and hot. However, there is a problem when brewing using ground coffee. The grounds get pushed over the side of the brew basket during the brew cycle, and end up in the coffee and on the counter. After trying several different grinds of coffee and amounts of water as recommended in the directions, I went on the Hamilton Beech website and wrote an email to customer service about this problem. I received a prompt reply and within a week they mailed me a small filter basket that fits in the brew basket and works like a charm. So now I get great coffee with either brewing method. I would definitely recommend this coffeemaker, it was a good value and it makes great coffee. I was impressed with Hamilton Beech and their excellent customer service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995
02/15/2013
By ,
N. C.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Says it takes 10 oz of water...no...9 oz is all I can get in. Does not make good coffee in my opinion, others may like it.
Also, It leaks like a sieve and yesterday water sprayed out on my counter from the machine... It is going back.
Of course, this could have been a lemon, and others who have purchased may or may not have had problems with it.
I also would have preferred if I could have used my personal K-cup with it, but it cannot be used because of the way the k cup is perforated at the bottom and on the side of the cup. Of course you can use your own coffee with the built in filter if you remove the k cup holder.
I have had two keurig's, two Mr. Coffee by Keurig and now this Hamilton Beach all which have had problems. My first Keurig lasted 6 mos, the second one 1 month, Personal Mr coffee by keurig 3 months the newest Mr Coffee by Keurig 2 weeks and now this Hamilton Beach one 2 wks.
So, I have ordered the single serve Bunn coffee maker as it had 99 percent perfect reviews and I also read that people loved the coffee the machine dispensed.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Southern Pines, NC
Posted 02/03/2014
We are sorry to hear of the issue you experienced while using your Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker. Hamilton Beach Brands is committed to ensuring our consumers are satisfied and we take these matters seriously. Please contact us at customer.service@hamiltonbeach.com or 1-800-851-8900 and we will work to resolve your specific issue.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 52 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Coffee maker

05/11/2014
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Haven't had this item long, but love it already
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Splashes everywhere

11/09/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have to admit that it's realyl easy to use and setup. I like that you can use coffee grounds or K-Cups. But I hated that it made a mess out of my kitchen counter. It splashes everywhere as it makes coffee.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Interesting

04/13/2014
By ,
Poway, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wasn't sure how this machine would do with all the bad reviews it had cause it "makes a huge mess". It does drip a little when you remove the tray but that's normal. I haven't tried the ground coffee feature yet but I will give it try soon. I was excited when I found this but had my doubts cause of again the reviews. But that left when I tried my first KCup in it. It was slow for the brewing time but so are moat makers. Water has to boil first but when it comes out it's really hot so it lcasts for a long time. My coffee was hot til it was almost gone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Great for single cup of coffee or tea

11/18/2013
By ,
Asheboro,NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only had this a little over a week and have found it very easy to use. Was a little nervous after reading reviews, but glad I went ahead and took a chance. My boys and I use this at least once a day and haven't had any problems. It's more convient for me since I rarely drink coffee, and didn't like to waste a whole pot, now I can brew one cup when needed and even enjoy tea and hot cocoa with out having to boil water on the stove.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

SAVE YOUR MONEY - WOW

06/13/2013
By ,
Madill, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have always loved Hamilton Beach Products. This has got to be the worst coffee maker or any other product I have ever used. No matter what I did, this thing spewed coffee and grounds everywhere. The K-Cups would not drain, they were pierced! The K-Cups would build up pressure where the release valve would blow the steam out the top. When it did FINALLY work right (ONCE) it too about 10 minutes for all of the coffee to drain into the cup. --- Seriously, save your money and buy something else!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Southern Pines, NC
Posted 02/03/2014
We are sorry to hear of the issue you experienced while using your Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker. Hamilton Beach Brands is committed to ensuring our consumers are satisfied and we take these matters seriously. Please contact us at customer.service@hamiltonbeach.com or 1-800-851-8900 and we will work to resolve your specific issue.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 57 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Water

06/18/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I do not like that it does not have a removable water reservoir rather then that it's a good product
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995
10/10/2013
By ,
Boston, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this coffee maker. I can use my fun flavored regular coffee and I can use K-Cups. I'm literally in coffee heaven. The only tiny problem with it is that it doesn't have the best filter and there is a tiny tiny bit of "dust" that gets passed into the cup that would normally be caught with a regular drip maker. However, if you just swirl the coffee before drinking it, you won't even notice :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Baton Rouge, LA
FlexBrew is a disaster - ZERO Stars!!
Posted 12/04/2013
I bought this coffee maker for my son to put in his dorm room. Easier to just make one cup and run to class, and takes less room in the dorm, right? WRONG!! This machine spewed coffee grounds and water all over his dorm room. I figured he didn't know what he was doing so I asked him to bring it home. Did the same thing for me. With the k-cups or grounds - doesn't matter which - water evaporates, leaving about a centimeter or two of liquid at the bottom of the cup and I had to run and get a towel to wrap around it until it finished spewing scalding hot water all over my counter. The biggest regret that I have is he threw the box away at school. I can't return it. But I would NOT recommend this product to anyone - FAIL!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 59 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

coffee maker for k-cup or coffee grounds

05/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the fact you can use either k-cups or ground coffee. Works great on either coffee.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Worked less than 4 months. Don't waste your money

06/16/2014
By ,
Aurora, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Even with regular monthly cleaning, it worked for just over 3 months.
Buy something else.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Southern Pines, NC
Posted 06/18/2014
We are sorry to hear of the issue you experienced while using your Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker. Hamilton Beach Brands is committed to ensuring our consumers are satisfied and we take these matters seriously. Please contact us at customer.service@hamiltonbeach.com or 1-800-851-8900 and we will work to resolve your specific issue.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
41-60 of 400 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  20 Next