Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Enjoy a hot, fresh, individually brewed cup of coffee whenever you like with this Hamilton Beach Single Serve Coffee Maker. If you've wanted to own a K-Cup pack brewer, but the expense was just too great, take a look at this Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Custom Brewer that is compatible with all K-Cup Packs (not included). You'll love the convenience and customization of this FlexBrew Coffeemaker and the better coffee extraction than the leading competitor. This unit brews into a travel mug or regular coffee cup. As an added convenience, this brewer can also use regular ground coffee or Pods (not included). Brews 10 ounces in less than four minutes, so what are you waiting for? Also makes a great affordable gift.
Average Customer Rating:
3.641 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(552 Reviews) 502
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
253
4 stars
118
3 stars
26
2 stars
40
1 star
115
Customer Recommendation71%392 out of 552reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
54 Questions | 476 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
253
4 stars
118
3 stars
26
2 stars
40
1 star
115
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Good for the price!

01/14/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for not having to pay the price for a Keurig if you you want one cup. The only bad thing is if you want maybe 12 oz. of coffee, you have to put more water in and go thru another brew cycle.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Messy

01/16/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Seal didn't appear good enough between pot & k-cup, returning it.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Smokin' Hot Cocoa.

01/12/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this mainly for making hot chocolate. But now everyone in the house is using it. We didn't want to spend a lot of money. It works perfectly!! So glad we didn't waste our money on one of those expensive machines!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Hamilton Beach Flexbrew not Hot

01/13/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Water temperature only reached the 170's so I returned it. Flexibility to use K-cups or ground coffee is great but I want the brewing temperature to be at least 190.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Would Love It, Except It Doesn't Brew Hot

01/04/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Purchased this FlexBrew (the 49995R version is the newest one) from here and did a Site-to-Store pick up. I wanted a simple coffee maker that could do a single cup, use K-cups, and wasn't $100 like the Keurig K10. That this one could also use ground coffee or soft pods was a bonus as my mom sometimes sends me ground coffee as gifts even knowing I mostly drink K-Cup stuff. :-)
Got it home, unpacked it, followed all the instructions for setting it up. I ran one cup of water through it figuring it would have a plasticy taste. As my first cup still had a plasticy taste, I'd recommend running 2 through instead. Otherwise, it seemed to work perfectly; firmly push in the k-cup, did the lock, hit the button, and waited.
In addition to the bad taste, the first cup came out so lukewarm I had to put it in the microwave to get my creamer to dissolve. Figuring it still needed breaking in, I later made a second cup, this time using hot water. No more bad burnt taste but still it was no hotter than what was coming out of my tap.
Tried a third time, same result. If it had been a $20 coffee maker, I would live with it, but for $50 I expect to not have to finish heating the coffee in the microwave to have it actually be hot! Other than this, it did work as described and maybe if you drink your coffee black it would be fine since it's at a drinkable temperature immediately. For me, I need it to actually come out hot, like our Keurig at work, so I'll be returning and looking for another option.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Wanted to love this

10/31/2012
By ,
bay area
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The K-cup worked just as good as Keurig. You will get the value if you like using k-cups But what really drew me to this single serve coffee maker was the ease of use to use your own coffee grounds. Unfortunately attempting to use my own coffee grounds failed twice. Both times the coffee grounds seeped out and just made mess. I followed the instructions and unfortunately it did not work. If you're interested in using your own grounds this may not be for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+127points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Cocoa
Hamilton Beach one cup
Posted 07/24/2013
I've only used my own coffee grounds in this machine and it makes such an awesome cup of fresh coffee in such a short period of time, I'm buying another one for my office. Unfortunately, they changed the design slightly, so I'm not sure if it's affected the performance.
0points
Customer Avatar
NJ
Would NOT recommend this to anyone!!!
Posted 04/03/2013
Wanted a Keurig for the single serve, lack of breakable carafe, fresh coffee and the use of the K-Cups. I got this for a christmas present and started using it at home to get used to it and the K-Cups worked great for about a month (didn't use regular coffee grounds at first) and then the machine started sucking in the water and oozing everywhere except into the cup. Then I ran clean water through it and the water stopped going through the machine altogether. Finally got the machine fixed up to run again and it worked for about a week. Then it stopped working again. Now it refuses to do anything with the water but warm it up and boil it over the back... I have tried cleaning it, running it with the K-Cup, without anything in it, and also with regular coffee grounds. It's a good thing that I just got this for the RV and kept the house machine too!!! I wouldn't recommend this machine to anyone!!! It's a waste of money!!!
0points
Customer Avatar
Southern Pines, NC
Posted 11/28/2012
Hi greatvaulemom,
This is Hamilton Beach Customer Service. Thank you for your comments. We are committed to helping resolve any issue you may be having. Please contact us at customer.service@hamiltonbeach.com or 1-800-851-8900 so we can understand your issue more fully and help fix it for you.
+3points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 47 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Had to return it

01/12/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It worked great the first day but after that it was terrible. I didn't even fill up the water to the max line and I had hot water pour out all over my hands. I returned it and ordered a Keurig instead.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Easy and Fast

01/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makes the best cup of coffee I have ever made at home.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Cheap man's Keurig

01/12/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you ever wanted a Keurig, but thought they are overpriced, This is the answer. Not only dies it use K-cups but it also uses ground coffee. For the price and Quality you cant beat it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Best wat to get up and go!

01/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love my one cupper. Price is great too.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Easy to brew one cup qucik

11/08/2012
By ,
San Francisco, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For the price this is a good single cup coffee maker. It works best with the k-cups rather then grounds. The K-cups are no mess, no fuss and no clean-up. When I brewed a cup with the grounds 2 out of 3 of the times it worked, the third time the grounds seeped through and created a mess. This is a small coffee maker so will take up minimal counter space which is nice. I like that it auto turns off when finished brewing but wished that it was easier to make a cup with grounds.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+88points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Alabama
paper filter
Posted 10/19/2013
Did you use a paper filter? If not, maybe one will keep grounds out of cup.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 52 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Big disappointment, expected more from this brand.

01/01/2013
By ,
Glen Allen, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was impressed with the fact that you could use different size containers for your coffee and that you could use either k-cup cartridges or brew grounds for a single cup. Unfortunately, the one that I purchased when using the k-cup cartridge it spewed coffee and grounds everywhere but in the cup. Giving the machine the benefit of the doubt, I tried a different cartridge and got the same but worse result. I took the coffee maker back to my local WalMart and exchanged it for the more expensive Keurig Single coffee maker. Using the same cartridges it worked perfectly and I had no problem with it. I expected better from Hamilton Beach. It could be that I just got a defective unit but I didn't want to take a chance since the coffee maker was a Christmas gift for us. I do not recommend this machine. Pay more for the Keurig single unit, you get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Southern Pines, NC
Posted 02/03/2014
We are sorry to hear of the issue you experienced while using your Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker. Hamilton Beach Brands is committed to ensuring our consumers are satisfied and we take these matters seriously. Please contact us at customer.service@hamiltonbeach.com or 1-800-851-8900 and we will work to resolve your specific issue.
0points
Customer Avatar
California
I have the same problem
Posted 10/30/2013
I have the same problem with certain brands of Keurig coffee pods...because unlike Keurig, this machine pokes a hole in the SIDE of the K-Cup, not the bottom...
I do not recommend this machine.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 53 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Coffee, anyone?

01/12/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Love it! Exactly what I wanted and such a great price!
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single Serve...

01/12/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it , after 2 minutes you have a cup of coffee , very easy clean up .
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Disappointing

11/07/2013
By ,
honeddale pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased the Flex Brew about a month ago. I discovered the splatters, and leaks, from day one but I was able to look past it because I really enjoyed the k cup varieties. This morning I inserted the cup and added the h2o, and turned the machine on. Next, I heard a burst of unnatural noises coming from the kitchen,and found the machine was heating the water in the holding tank and boiling it there. Zero water traveled through the pump and zero coffee ended up in my cup. I tried again and same result. I'm very disappointed that this machine didn't last longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Southern Pines, NC
Posted 02/06/2014
We are sorry to hear of the issue you experienced while using your Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker. Hamilton Beach Brands is committed to ensuring our consumers are satisfied and we take these matters seriously. Please contact us at customer.service@hamiltonbeach.com or 1-800-851-8900 and we will work to resolve your specific issue.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 56 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

coffee for one

01/12/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good product, good price
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

All you have to do is.......................

12/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
follow the directions!
I read hundreds of reviews for this coffee maker. My only thought is that other users were not following the very specific directions enclosed with the coffee maker.
Also, those complaining about their coffee not being hot enough, I definitely do not have this problem. The coffee is very hot after being brewed.
There were also reviews about how long it took the maker to work. From the time I push the on button until the coffee maker shuts off after brewing is approximately 3 minutes.
Maybe I just got lucky with my Flexbrew but I LOVE IT!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

good small footprint single cup coffee maker

01/02/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this coffee maker for second home - a studio apt. I readreviewsreviewsreviews and had a little concern but cost was too good. Bought on Walmart site. Saved $10. Need to get comfortable with snapping in kcup and sliding it in. Has to be just right. When done correctly its fine. Without kcup my son overflowed over the counter but I believe that was human error and not the machine. Just bought it for Christmas. So far happy with my purchase
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

HB Single Serve Coffeemaker is great!

01/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At a fraction of the price of a Keurig this is a great product. My son loves the one I got him for Christmas so much that I went out and got myself one!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

great for one cup in a hurry

01/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
so much better tasting, than stovetop or regular processing, boiling..
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 503 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  26 Next