Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Enjoy a hot, fresh, individually brewed cup of coffee whenever you like with this Hamilton Beach Single Serve Coffee Maker. If you've wanted to own a K-Cup pack brewer, but the expense was just too great, take a look at this Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Custom Brewer that is compatible with all K-Cup Packs (not included). You'll love the convenience and customization of this FlexBrew Coffeemaker and the better coffee extraction than the leading competitor. This unit brews into a travel mug or regular coffee cup. As an added convenience, this brewer can also use regular ground coffee or Pods (not included). Brews 10 ounces in less than four minutes, so what are you waiting for? Also makes a great affordable gift.
Average Customer Rating:
3.65 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(585 Reviews) 535
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
268
4 stars
126
3 stars
29
2 stars
42
1 star
120
Customer Recommendation71%417 out of 585reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
58 Questions | 484 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
268
4 stars
126
3 stars
29
2 stars
42
1 star
120
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Good to the last drop

02/22/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for something on the small scale side of a Keurig system as I frequently use the one that is available at my job. I love it. It's quick, does the job and can be used to make a cup of coffe if you prefer that. This has come in hand lately with temperatures at 6 degrees. It does make a loud hissing noise at the end of brewing as I read in oneforall the reviews, but it lasts a second and goes right into making another cup if needed. Definitely recommend this product and its great for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Good product but....

12/08/2012
By ,
Hollywood, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is good. It brews k-cups exceptionally well but it is very selective on the type of coffee that it can brew. If the coffee is grinded too fine it will prevent the water from dripping through the mesh causing the coffee and water to spill over from the coffee filter. To prevent this from happening, try using coffee grinds that are ground up a little larger than fine. Customer service at Hamilton Beach suggests Maxwell House.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

SAVE YOUR MONEY - WOW

06/13/2013
By ,
Madill, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have always loved Hamilton Beach Products. This has got to be the worst coffee maker or any other product I have ever used. No matter what I did, this thing spewed coffee and grounds everywhere. The K-Cups would not drain, they were pierced! The K-Cups would build up pressure where the release valve would blow the steam out the top. When it did FINALLY work right (ONCE) it too about 10 minutes for all of the coffee to drain into the cup. --- Seriously, save your money and buy something else!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Southern Pines, NC
Posted 02/03/2014
We are sorry to hear of the issue you experienced while using your Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker. Hamilton Beach Brands is committed to ensuring our consumers are satisfied and we take these matters seriously. Please contact us at customer.service@hamiltonbeach.com or 1-800-851-8900 and we will work to resolve your specific issue.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 44 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Better than Keurig

11/05/2013
By ,
Bethesda, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This small machine brews a single cup of delicious coffee without creating a lot of waste for the landfill. It can use either loose coffee or K-cups, but I prefer to use the former. The resulting coffee is great and the grounds can go right down the drain with no paper filter or plastic cup to throw away. Being green never tasted so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Great for the price

02/10/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have always wanted a Keurig but they were just way too expensive. I found this one at walmart.com and loved the price so I thought I would give it a try. It brews a fast cup of coffee and is very easy to use. The only thing I don't like is the amount of water is will hold. It has a max of 10 oz,. and that is only about 2/3 full in my coffee cup,also when using the k cups I have to finish filling my cup with hot water because the coffee is way too strong.Since getting use to this I can deal with the inconvenience since I can now enjoy flavored coffee at a reasonable price
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Great coffeemaker--highly recommend

03/19/2013
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I wanted a one cup coffee maker for those times when just one of us wanted a cup of coffee and couldn't be bothered to fire up the 12 cup Grind and Brew. I couldn't justify buying a Keurig because they are so pricey so I did some research on other brands and the Hamilton Beech FlexBrew looked great. I liked that there was an option to use K cups or ground coffee and I liked the price--about $50 at Walmart. So, even though there were quite a few bad reviews, we went ahead and ordered it. We have had this little brewer for about a month and used it pretty much every day. It makes excellent coffee, tea, and hot cocoa. Some people complained that the coffee splashed on the counter or wasn't hot enough, but it's all influenced by the size and shape of the cup you use. You have the option of using the little platform to raise a more shallow cup up higher to avoid splashing and if you remove that, you can actually fit a tall travel mug. But you con only make one cup at a time so you would have to run it twice if you wanted to fill a mug. We have ceramic mugs that are sort of egg shaped and these worked perfectly on the platform-no splashing and the coffee was nice and hot. However, there is a problem when brewing using ground coffee. The grounds get pushed over the side of the brew basket during the brew cycle, and end up in the coffee and on the counter. After trying several different grinds of coffee and amounts of water as recommended in the directions, I went on the Hamilton Beech website and wrote an email to customer service about this problem. I received a prompt reply and within a week they mailed me a small filter basket that fits in the brew basket and works like a charm. So now I get great coffee with either brewing method. I would definitely recommend this coffeemaker, it was a good value and it makes great coffee. I was impressed with Hamilton Beech and their excellent customer service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995
02/15/2013
By ,
N. C.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Says it takes 10 oz of water...no...9 oz is all I can get in. Does not make good coffee in my opinion, others may like it.
Also, It leaks like a sieve and yesterday water sprayed out on my counter from the machine... It is going back.
Of course, this could have been a lemon, and others who have purchased may or may not have had problems with it.
I also would have preferred if I could have used my personal K-cup with it, but it cannot be used because of the way the k cup is perforated at the bottom and on the side of the cup. Of course you can use your own coffee with the built in filter if you remove the k cup holder.
I have had two keurig's, two Mr. Coffee by Keurig and now this Hamilton Beach all which have had problems. My first Keurig lasted 6 mos, the second one 1 month, Personal Mr coffee by keurig 3 months the newest Mr Coffee by Keurig 2 weeks and now this Hamilton Beach one 2 wks.
So, I have ordered the single serve Bunn coffee maker as it had 99 percent perfect reviews and I also read that people loved the coffee the machine dispensed.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Southern Pines, NC
Posted 02/03/2014
We are sorry to hear of the issue you experienced while using your Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker. Hamilton Beach Brands is committed to ensuring our consumers are satisfied and we take these matters seriously. Please contact us at customer.service@hamiltonbeach.com or 1-800-851-8900 and we will work to resolve your specific issue.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 48 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Love it!

01/09/2013
By ,
Highland, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first single-serve k-cup type coffee maker. I absolutely LOVE IT! After a month of use, I noticed my second cup didn't brew. After reading the instructions, I discovered the needle that punches the kcup was clogged. A simple cleaning with a paper clip, as recommended, did the trick.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

The best product machine ever

11/03/2013
By ,
Chester, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the option of pods, k-cups, or ground. It brews a perfect hot cup off coffee. My fear was getting a warm cup, but not with this. The coffee is very hot.
I do wish it would brew a larger cup like 12 and 16 oz. but it only brews a 10 oz.
I couldn't have made a better choice in coffee makers. I did own a Keurig and it was bulky and expensive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Compact/easy to use. No mess at all. but plastic.

12/05/2012
By ,
San Francisco, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: Compact and very easy to use. No mess at all! Turns off automatically. Good looking, but I would prefer stainless steel or red steel look.
Cons: I don’t like plastic products that come into contact with food or hot water. It gives out plastic-y smell sometimes. I don’t like my coffee super strong thus would prefer if I could use more than 10.4 Oz of water with 1 K-cup. 12-16 oz would be ideal. You can always use less water if needed, but you can’t use more w/o creating a mess.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Athens
Posted 06/14/2013
Actually, you can add more water after the cycle, just turn it on again. It will weaken the coffee in your cup, or fill your bigger cup with weaker coffee.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 51 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

OVER HEATS and TASTES AWFUL!!

03/17/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have brewed several cups, hoping it would get better. Everytime it smells like hot plastic and tastes like it too. It is cumbersome to use and cheaply made. Don't waste your money.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Splashes everywhere

11/09/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have to admit that it's realyl easy to use and setup. I like that you can use coffee grounds or K-Cups. But I hated that it made a mess out of my kitchen counter. It splashes everywhere as it makes coffee.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Small, space saving and makes great coffee!

11/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this coffee maker! My husband bought it for me, I've had it for almost a year now. I've not had any issues with it at all. Keurig's were way out of my price range so this Hamilton Beach coffee maker is perfect! Making a whole pot of coffee for just me was a waste. I love using the k-cups. I've noticed if I use a cappuccino k-cup I do have to run some water in where the k-cup sits to avoid build up. But I usually always rinse it out anyway. I also love that my travel mug fits in this! And it's small and doesn't take up much space at all in my tiny kitchen. A friend of mine saw this coffee maker and immediately went out and bought the same one! She loves it as well!
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

The name isn't always important

02/07/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We had a keutig for a while, and it finally died. Replacing it was
expensive at the time. So I thought I would give this a try. It works
just fine. Little slower, but the coffee cones out greatand a full cup
every time. We also like the travel mug option too.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

ITS A SINGLE CUP BREWER AND IT WORKS FASTER .....

04/17/2014
By ,
TRI-CITY AREA BAY AREA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
YES, I KNOW WHAT IM TALKING ABOUT BECAUSE OWN THE DELUXE KUERIG THAT COST ABOUT 160.00 WITH FILTERED WATER INSERT( AND THE BLUE NIGHTLIGHT IN THE WATER HOLDER). I READ THE DIRECTIONS ON THE HAMILTON BEACH BEFORE USING IT AND ITS SO SIMPLE.
USE K-CUPS WITH SUPPLIED "K" HOLDER. JUST PUSH DOWN YOUR K-CUP IN THE INSERT BEFORE INSERTING IT INTO COFFEE MAKER FOR WATER TO PASS THUR.THERE'S A BIG GREEN LIP THAT SAYS" PUSH DOWN BEFORE BREWING " THATS TO PUNCHER THE K CUP TOP AND THE BOTTOM HOLE TO MAKE BREWING EASY. USE COFFEE CUP TO MEASURE WATER IN TOP ( YES 8-9 OZ LIMIT BUT SO IS THE KUERIG ON MAX CUP) SO WHAT'S THE BEEF. BREWS WITH FRONT BUTTON AND HAS AUTO OFF JUST AFTER BREWING . THAT'S BETTER THAN REACHING AROUND THE BACK ALL THE TIME OF THE KUERIG AND HAVING IT ON OVER AN HOUR BEFORE SHUTTING -OF F ITSELF. THE FLEX-BREW IS A POWER SAVER TOO, WHO KNEW. CAN USE COFFEE GROUNDS AND PODS ON SALE, JUST TAKE OUT THE K-CUP INSERT AND WALLA, REG COFFEE MAKER...BREWS FASTER THAN MY DELUXE KUERIG WHEN STARTED AND NO PUMP NOISES WAKING EVERYBODY UP BEFORE BREWING ( FLEXBREW IS A GRAVITY FEED ). I ALSO TAKE IT TRAVELING A LOT AND WEIGHS LESS THAN A I POUND AND A THIRD OF THE KUERIG SIZE FOR VERY SMALL SHOPPING BAG FULL OF COFFEE AND CONDIMENTS, NOT A 14 POUNDER LIKE MY KEURIG AND IT'S SMALL ENOUGH FOR A CAMPER TO TAKE IT FOR SOME GREAT COFFEE SOMEWHERE OTHER THAN HOME. READ THE BOOK...I LOVE BOTH BUT THIS IS A GREAT LITTLE CHOICE WITH THE HB FLEX BREW JUST READ THE BOOKLET WITH IT .....AND LOVE THE VERSATILITY AND SIZE ...JAY
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Love love love!!!

11/16/2013
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this as a get us through until we decided what exactly we wanted to replace the expensive Keurig machine that just suddenly quit working after 2 years (2nd one this has happened with). After using this machine this morning I can't say enough good things about it! I have tried using K-Cups and ground coffee, both worked fabulously! Actually I think it produced a better cup of coffee than my keurig did. For sure using ground coffee in it is FAR simpler and no grounds in my coffee =). Takes a bit longer to brew a cup of coffee but as hubby said, set up and go take care of something else then come back and it will be ready. Can't beat the price either!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

A great way to make coffee at half the price !!!

01/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My old coffee maker bit the dust some time ago and I switched to instant coffee. Its good but just not the same as brewed coffee. So I went in search of a good single serve coffee maker. The K-cups looked like a great idea but the Keurig coffee makers priced at almost $200.00 turned me off right away. I almost gave up until I found The Hamilton Beach Flexbrew. The price was right and it does all a Kuerig does for a fraction of the cost. I've had mine for a week now and I love it !! Its light weight easy to use and makes a great cup of coffee. I've tried fresh ground coffee and the K- cups so far and both work equally well even with just plain tap water. Looking for the pods next and just dying to try tea and hot chocolate too. Don't believe all the bad reviews this is a great product....Thanks Walmart !!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Better than the Reviews!

01/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I debated getting this coffee maker after reading the reviews. So many people reported problems and issues. I have to say my experience has been nothing but positive. If you follow the simple start up instructions you will have great results. This is perfect for my office, I have it on the credenza and it means I don't have to get up to get a cup of coffee when I want one and if all I want is one cup a day then I don't have to brew a whole pot. I would recommend this to anyone, including just for personal home use. I am going to get another for home because this is so great!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

LESS THAN NO STARS

03/12/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought this would be perfect being able to brew both K-cups and regular grind. After only 4 cups of coffee using a k-cup the screen on the brewing basket plugged up. Now every time I use the coffee maker I have to take it completely apart and clean the screen. I wish I had saved the money and put it toward another coffee maker. I would take it back but the box was taken to the trash and disposed of before I had a chance to retrieve it. First thing in the next yard sale. DON'T WASTE THE MONEY
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Bought, loved and recommended

04/02/2014
By ,
Oskaloosa, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this because I didn't want to shell out big bucks for a a name brand one. I found that if it starts to leak, that you probably need to clean it because the cappuccinos and hot chocolates have a tendency to clog up the wire filter. I am very happy with this product for the price. I have even recommended it to friends. Great little machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 536 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  27 Next