Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Enjoy a hot, fresh, individually brewed cup of coffee whenever you like with this Hamilton Beach Single Serve Coffee Maker. If you've wanted to own a K-Cup pack brewer, but the expense was just too great, take a look at this Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Custom Brewer that is compatible with all K-Cup Packs (not included). You'll love the convenience and customization of this FlexBrew Coffeemaker and the better coffee extraction than the leading competitor. This unit brews into a travel mug or regular coffee cup. As an added convenience, this brewer can also use regular ground coffee or Pods (not included). Brews 10 ounces in less than four minutes, so what are you waiting for? Also makes a great affordable gift.
Average Customer Rating:
3.641 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(576 Reviews) 526
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
262
4 stars
125
3 stars
28
2 stars
42
1 star
119
Customer Recommendation71%410 out of 576reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
58 Questions | 481 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
262
4 stars
125
3 stars
28
2 stars
42
1 star
119
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Great coffeemaker--highly recommend

03/19/2013
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I wanted a one cup coffee maker for those times when just one of us wanted a cup of coffee and couldn't be bothered to fire up the 12 cup Grind and Brew. I couldn't justify buying a Keurig because they are so pricey so I did some research on other brands and the Hamilton Beech FlexBrew looked great. I liked that there was an option to use K cups or ground coffee and I liked the price--about $50 at Walmart. So, even though there were quite a few bad reviews, we went ahead and ordered it. We have had this little brewer for about a month and used it pretty much every day. It makes excellent coffee, tea, and hot cocoa. Some people complained that the coffee splashed on the counter or wasn't hot enough, but it's all influenced by the size and shape of the cup you use. You have the option of using the little platform to raise a more shallow cup up higher to avoid splashing and if you remove that, you can actually fit a tall travel mug. But you con only make one cup at a time so you would have to run it twice if you wanted to fill a mug. We have ceramic mugs that are sort of egg shaped and these worked perfectly on the platform-no splashing and the coffee was nice and hot. However, there is a problem when brewing using ground coffee. The grounds get pushed over the side of the brew basket during the brew cycle, and end up in the coffee and on the counter. After trying several different grinds of coffee and amounts of water as recommended in the directions, I went on the Hamilton Beech website and wrote an email to customer service about this problem. I received a prompt reply and within a week they mailed me a small filter basket that fits in the brew basket and works like a charm. So now I get great coffee with either brewing method. I would definitely recommend this coffeemaker, it was a good value and it makes great coffee. I was impressed with Hamilton Beech and their excellent customer service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995
02/15/2013
By ,
N. C.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Says it takes 10 oz of water...no...9 oz is all I can get in. Does not make good coffee in my opinion, others may like it.
Also, It leaks like a sieve and yesterday water sprayed out on my counter from the machine... It is going back.
Of course, this could have been a lemon, and others who have purchased may or may not have had problems with it.
I also would have preferred if I could have used my personal K-cup with it, but it cannot be used because of the way the k cup is perforated at the bottom and on the side of the cup. Of course you can use your own coffee with the built in filter if you remove the k cup holder.
I have had two keurig's, two Mr. Coffee by Keurig and now this Hamilton Beach all which have had problems. My first Keurig lasted 6 mos, the second one 1 month, Personal Mr coffee by keurig 3 months the newest Mr Coffee by Keurig 2 weeks and now this Hamilton Beach one 2 wks.
So, I have ordered the single serve Bunn coffee maker as it had 99 percent perfect reviews and I also read that people loved the coffee the machine dispensed.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Southern Pines, NC
Posted 02/03/2014
We are sorry to hear of the issue you experienced while using your Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker. Hamilton Beach Brands is committed to ensuring our consumers are satisfied and we take these matters seriously. Please contact us at customer.service@hamiltonbeach.com or 1-800-851-8900 and we will work to resolve your specific issue.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 43 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Better than the Reviews!

01/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I debated getting this coffee maker after reading the reviews. So many people reported problems and issues. I have to say my experience has been nothing but positive. If you follow the simple start up instructions you will have great results. This is perfect for my office, I have it on the credenza and it means I don't have to get up to get a cup of coffee when I want one and if all I want is one cup a day then I don't have to brew a whole pot. I would recommend this to anyone, including just for personal home use. I am going to get another for home because this is so great!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Love it!

01/09/2013
By ,
Highland, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first single-serve k-cup type coffee maker. I absolutely LOVE IT! After a month of use, I noticed my second cup didn't brew. After reading the instructions, I discovered the needle that punches the kcup was clogged. A simple cleaning with a paper clip, as recommended, did the trick.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

The best product machine ever

11/03/2013
By ,
Chester, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the option of pods, k-cups, or ground. It brews a perfect hot cup off coffee. My fear was getting a warm cup, but not with this. The coffee is very hot.
I do wish it would brew a larger cup like 12 and 16 oz. but it only brews a 10 oz.
I couldn't have made a better choice in coffee makers. I did own a Keurig and it was bulky and expensive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Compact/easy to use. No mess at all. but plastic.

12/05/2012
By ,
San Francisco, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: Compact and very easy to use. No mess at all! Turns off automatically. Good looking, but I would prefer stainless steel or red steel look.
Cons: I don’t like plastic products that come into contact with food or hot water. It gives out plastic-y smell sometimes. I don’t like my coffee super strong thus would prefer if I could use more than 10.4 Oz of water with 1 K-cup. 12-16 oz would be ideal. You can always use less water if needed, but you can’t use more w/o creating a mess.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Athens
Posted 06/14/2013
Actually, you can add more water after the cycle, just turn it on again. It will weaken the coffee in your cup, or fill your bigger cup with weaker coffee.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 47 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Splashes everywhere

11/09/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have to admit that it's realyl easy to use and setup. I like that you can use coffee grounds or K-Cups. But I hated that it made a mess out of my kitchen counter. It splashes everywhere as it makes coffee.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

All you have to do is.......................

12/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
follow the directions!
I read hundreds of reviews for this coffee maker. My only thought is that other users were not following the very specific directions enclosed with the coffee maker.
Also, those complaining about their coffee not being hot enough, I definitely do not have this problem. The coffee is very hot after being brewed.
There were also reviews about how long it took the maker to work. From the time I push the on button until the coffee maker shuts off after brewing is approximately 3 minutes.
Maybe I just got lucky with my Flexbrew but I LOVE IT!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

not happy

01/13/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I find that this coffee maker does not preform as stated. I never get a full cup of coffee, even if I add additional water. Have to brew twice to get a full cup. Makes terrible noise's while brewing. Although it is a great concept to be able to brew k cups and regular coffee, does not preform as I thought it would.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Good to the last drop

02/22/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for something on the small scale side of a Keurig system as I frequently use the one that is available at my job. I love it. It's quick, does the job and can be used to make a cup of coffe if you prefer that. This has come in hand lately with temperatures at 6 degrees. It does make a loud hissing noise at the end of brewing as I read in oneforall the reviews, but it lasts a second and goes right into making another cup if needed. Definitely recommend this product and its great for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

ITS A SINGLE CUP BREWER AND IT WORKS FASTER .....

04/17/2014
By ,
TRI-CITY AREA BAY AREA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
YES, I KNOW WHAT IM TALKING ABOUT BECAUSE OWN THE DELUXE KUERIG THAT COST ABOUT 160.00 WITH FILTERED WATER INSERT( AND THE BLUE NIGHTLIGHT IN THE WATER HOLDER). I READ THE DIRECTIONS ON THE HAMILTON BEACH BEFORE USING IT AND ITS SO SIMPLE.
USE K-CUPS WITH SUPPLIED "K" HOLDER. JUST PUSH DOWN YOUR K-CUP IN THE INSERT BEFORE INSERTING IT INTO COFFEE MAKER FOR WATER TO PASS THUR.THERE'S A BIG GREEN LIP THAT SAYS" PUSH DOWN BEFORE BREWING " THATS TO PUNCHER THE K CUP TOP AND THE BOTTOM HOLE TO MAKE BREWING EASY. USE COFFEE CUP TO MEASURE WATER IN TOP ( YES 8-9 OZ LIMIT BUT SO IS THE KUERIG ON MAX CUP) SO WHAT'S THE BEEF. BREWS WITH FRONT BUTTON AND HAS AUTO OFF JUST AFTER BREWING . THAT'S BETTER THAN REACHING AROUND THE BACK ALL THE TIME OF THE KUERIG AND HAVING IT ON OVER AN HOUR BEFORE SHUTTING -OF F ITSELF. THE FLEX-BREW IS A POWER SAVER TOO, WHO KNEW. CAN USE COFFEE GROUNDS AND PODS ON SALE, JUST TAKE OUT THE K-CUP INSERT AND WALLA, REG COFFEE MAKER...BREWS FASTER THAN MY DELUXE KUERIG WHEN STARTED AND NO PUMP NOISES WAKING EVERYBODY UP BEFORE BREWING ( FLEXBREW IS A GRAVITY FEED ). I ALSO TAKE IT TRAVELING A LOT AND WEIGHS LESS THAN A I POUND AND A THIRD OF THE KUERIG SIZE FOR VERY SMALL SHOPPING BAG FULL OF COFFEE AND CONDIMENTS, NOT A 14 POUNDER LIKE MY KEURIG AND IT'S SMALL ENOUGH FOR A CAMPER TO TAKE IT FOR SOME GREAT COFFEE SOMEWHERE OTHER THAN HOME. READ THE BOOK...I LOVE BOTH BUT THIS IS A GREAT LITTLE CHOICE WITH THE HB FLEX BREW JUST READ THE BOOKLET WITH IT .....AND LOVE THE VERSATILITY AND SIZE ...JAY
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Awesome

11/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the reviews before buying and the reviews don't do justice . The coffee comes out great tasting no plastic like some reviews said. It is easy to use and clean. I use it everyday and love the choice of k-pods or grounds to brew. Plus got 5.00 rebate from Hamiton beach so that lower the cost .
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Love love love!!!

11/16/2013
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this as a get us through until we decided what exactly we wanted to replace the expensive Keurig machine that just suddenly quit working after 2 years (2nd one this has happened with). After using this machine this morning I can't say enough good things about it! I have tried using K-Cups and ground coffee, both worked fabulously! Actually I think it produced a better cup of coffee than my keurig did. For sure using ground coffee in it is FAR simpler and no grounds in my coffee =). Takes a bit longer to brew a cup of coffee but as hubby said, set up and go take care of something else then come back and it will be ready. Can't beat the price either!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

OK if you only care about price

01/08/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The thing "worked," but nothing close to Keurig.
First, it is very annoying and difficult to pour water into the brewer. It always spills.
Second, it takes a LONG time to heat up and then brew (5-7 minutes?). I honestly was able to start (measure/add water, scoop/add coffee) an entire 12 cup pot of coffee in my old traditional brewer in the time it took for this to brew.
It also is messy and tends to always drip a decent amount of coffee even after you think it is done.
I returned this and just got a Keurig. The Keurig at least has a much better and larger water reservoir and it will get your coffee brewed in about 1 minute.
This just wasnt worth the money saved in my opinion. I think a $15 traditional coffee pot is better than this one, and the coffee is much cheaper.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

so much more room!

12/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this unit because of its' size as I have a galley kitchen and my Keurig was way too big. This is wonderful. It makes 3 types of coffee from K cups to ground coffee. I have found if I add more water as it is brewing it will continue t0 brew until all water is gone; hence, a larger cup of coffee. It was $15 cheaper on Walmart website than in the store. Site to store took less than 4 hours on the same day! I would recommend this to all for the price, performance, and versatility!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Bought, loved and recommended

04/02/2014
By ,
Oskaloosa, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this because I didn't want to shell out big bucks for a a name brand one. I found that if it starts to leak, that you probably need to clean it because the cappuccinos and hot chocolates have a tendency to clog up the wire filter. I am very happy with this product for the price. I have even recommended it to friends. Great little machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Horrible. Spend the extra for a better one

12/29/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received this as a gift for Christmas. This was the worst gift ever. First off, there is no size selection for the brew amount. Second, there was no steady stream of coffee ever during the brewing cycle. Only drips, spits and sputters. It made a terrible noise while brewing and shut off mid-cup. I had to press start again to make it finish brewing. Then, after my second try at it, thinking the first time was just a warm up for the machine, it started hissing and making a terrible choking noise again. I unplugged it after water started to drip from the top, where it wasnt suppose to be coming from. I let it cool for a moment and then after I pulled the tray out to clean it and put it back in the box to return, it started to POUR water out of the top which flooded the counter. Worthless.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Don't buy for K Cups

02/21/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this coffee maker to use in our 5th wheel trailer. It didn't work with the K cups that I use in my Keurig coffee maker. Also, it's VERY slow heating the water. So, I took it back to the store. (It "may" work O.K. with regular ground coffee. I didn't try that.)
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

A little slow

02/18/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The first one I ordered sputtered and didn't work well. Walmart sent me a new one which works much better. I do like that it fits travel mugs, but it doesn't fit really tall ones like mine. It is slower than a Keurig, but it doesn't cost as much and it has the room for travel mugs, so it all evens out.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995
10/10/2013
By ,
Boston, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this coffee maker. I can use my fun flavored regular coffee and I can use K-Cups. I'm literally in coffee heaven. The only tiny problem with it is that it doesn't have the best filter and there is a tiny tiny bit of "dust" that gets passed into the cup that would normally be caught with a regular drip maker. However, if you just swirl the coffee before drinking it, you won't even notice :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Baton Rouge, LA
FlexBrew is a disaster - ZERO Stars!!
Posted 12/04/2013
I bought this coffee maker for my son to put in his dorm room. Easier to just make one cup and run to class, and takes less room in the dorm, right? WRONG!! This machine spewed coffee grounds and water all over his dorm room. I figured he didn't know what he was doing so I asked him to bring it home. Did the same thing for me. With the k-cups or grounds - doesn't matter which - water evaporates, leaving about a centimeter or two of liquid at the bottom of the cup and I had to run and get a towel to wrap around it until it finished spewing scalding hot water all over my counter. The biggest regret that I have is he threw the box away at school. I can't return it. But I would NOT recommend this product to anyone - FAIL!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
41-60 of 527 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  27 Next