Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Enjoy a hot, fresh, individually brewed cup of coffee whenever you like with this Hamilton Beach Single Serve Coffee Maker. If you've wanted to own a K-Cup pack brewer, but the expense was just too great, take a look at this Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Custom Brewer that is compatible with all K-Cup Packs (not included). You'll love the convenience and customization of this FlexBrew Coffeemaker and the better coffee extraction than the leading competitor. This unit brews into a travel mug or regular coffee cup. As an added convenience, this brewer can also use regular ground coffee or Pods (not included). Brews 10 ounces in less than four minutes, so what are you waiting for? Also makes a great affordable gift.
Average Customer Rating:
3.648 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(573 Reviews) 523
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
261
4 stars
125
3 stars
28
2 stars
42
1 star
117
Customer Recommendation71%409 out of 573reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
55 Questions | 477 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
261
4 stars
125
3 stars
28
2 stars
42
1 star
117
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Great Single Cup

02/12/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A handy, quick and easy cup of coffee at any time. Versatile in cup sizes and coffee. Enjoyable appliance.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Great for a Small Area

01/20/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only used my machine for a couple weeks. Is works fine and brews a quick cup of coffee. Faster than my French Press. You need to read the directions and you should have no problems. The resivor only holds 10 ounces, but if you don't mind waiting you can add more water as it brews. It maybe a bit slow but you can add a few more ounces at a time or brew two "cups" to fill your 20 ounce travel mug! I have only used it with the K cups once and had no problems, once again follow the directions and you should have no problems. Simpler than the Kuerig mini that won't brew at all if you don't follow the sequence exactly. You must read the directions for both coffee makers!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

coffee time

02/12/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works fine so far has a little gurgle at end of brewing cycle.does not bother me
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

So far so good!

11/18/2013
By ,
Seattle, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading the reviews I was a bit skeptical about how this product would work. I've used the Kcup design only and have yet to use the regular coffee feature. I've not had any spills or spewing or anything that the other reviewers experienced. Its a great price for $50 and nice to have the feature of both kcup and regular coffee. It'd be nice if it held more water, but you can't have it all
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Good deal on sale

02/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good deal and great alternative to Kuerig
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

so much more room!

12/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this unit because of its' size as I have a galley kitchen and my Keurig was way too big. This is wonderful. It makes 3 types of coffee from K cups to ground coffee. I have found if I add more water as it is brewing it will continue t0 brew until all water is gone; hence, a larger cup of coffee. It was $15 cheaper on Walmart website than in the store. Site to store took less than 4 hours on the same day! I would recommend this to all for the price, performance, and versatility!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Horrible. Spend the extra for a better one

12/29/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received this as a gift for Christmas. This was the worst gift ever. First off, there is no size selection for the brew amount. Second, there was no steady stream of coffee ever during the brewing cycle. Only drips, spits and sputters. It made a terrible noise while brewing and shut off mid-cup. I had to press start again to make it finish brewing. Then, after my second try at it, thinking the first time was just a warm up for the machine, it started hissing and making a terrible choking noise again. I unplugged it after water started to drip from the top, where it wasnt suppose to be coming from. I let it cool for a moment and then after I pulled the tray out to clean it and put it back in the box to return, it started to POUR water out of the top which flooded the counter. Worthless.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Awesome

11/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the reviews before buying and the reviews don't do justice . The coffee comes out great tasting no plastic like some reviews said. It is easy to use and clean. I use it everyday and love the choice of k-pods or grounds to brew. Plus got 5.00 rebate from Hamiton beach so that lower the cost .
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Great Bargain and works as advertised

11/20/2013
By ,
Dallas, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this unit because I was a Senseo owner and I wanted a unit that could still use my pods (Melitta pods fit perfectly in the basket) I also wanted to begin using a K-cup machine but didn't want to spend the premium Keurig machines cost. I had the Hamilton beach scoop as well as my Senseo on my counter so this unit replaced two units and I was able to regain counter space. (My hamilton beach scoop was flawless and that prompted me to look at this unit) I will say that my Hamilton Beach scoop does make better "ground" coffee without leaking but after having this for over 6 months, I've mastered being able to make great ground coffee without leaking/incident. I probably use K-cups around 70% of the time and love the variety of flavors and brands and this machine has brewed great k-cup coffee. I've done all brands from Green mountain to Gevalia and Maxwell House and Starbucks and have been very satisfied. I do use melitta (pods) and haven't been disappointed as well. Overall, this machine is exactly what I wanted, a machine that could replace multiple machines and offered me the flexibility to brew whichever type of coffee I wanted. Another benefit is that this takes a minimal amount of counter space and can brew my mugs or travel cups without issue. Other Keurig brewers are so much larger and more bulky. I'm very satisfied and would purchase another if this unit stopped working.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Nice Ideal but does a poor Job!!

12/28/2012
By ,
Tri-cites, Tn
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this unit for my wife for Christmas. The unit made one cup of coffee great! After that it failed and made a mess on my counter top. Five brands of K-cups later (thinking that it might have been one brand or the other that the unit did not like) I returned the unit to my local Walmart. I read the directions time and time again and cleaned the unit between the times I tried to make coffee or use the k-cups. Please don't waste your time with this unit. The only thing it might be good for is using your own coffee grounds. the mess was very little with this. However it still made a mess. It did take up most of my free time over Christmas day and my counter tops have never been so clean. I was forced to wipe them down too many times that day. Thanks to my local Walmart for making this online order easy to return and no hassle!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Southern Pines, NC
Posted 01/29/2014
We are sorry to hear of the issue you experienced while using your Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Coffeemaker. Hamilton Beach Brands is committed to ensuring our consumers are satisfied and we take these matters seriously. Please constact us at customer.service@hamiltonbeach.com or 1-800-851-8900 and we will work to resolve your specific issue.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 51 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

The big little pot

02/03/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I like this coffee pot very much except I can't get the heated plastic taste out. I'm hoping as I use it it will go away. My kitchen counter is very small do it fits perfectly. I had the other one cup pot and in one year it broke and it took up more room. This is great for the money.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Size is good

12/28/2013
By ,
West Columbia, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Received this coffee maker for a Christmas present. Have owned 2 Kuerig's previously and do like them; however their size is bulky and take up a lot of counter space. This one is much smaller and thus far, I am enjoying it. Some reviews mention "splattering" and yes, this Hamilton Beach does that somewhat depending on what type of cup/mug you use. Considering two things (just in my opinion that works for me), I like the size and the fact that I can now enjoy a cup of coffee of my choice, K-cup or ground coffee without having two coffee makers on my kitchen counter. One nice thing also about this one is that the coffee brews at a nice hot temperature, not like most coffee makers that brew luke warm coffee. All in all and for the price, nice little unit for my needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

It is easy to use

12/07/2012
By ,
North tonawanda,ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is easy to use and it comes with it's own kcup filter for your own coffee
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Totally bummed about this!

01/02/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this last week for my husband as a Christmas gift, he only got to use it a handful of times before it just stopped making coffee. When it was working, it would make a splatter mess everywhere on the counter, and a weird almost grinding sound while it was running. Last night he tried 3 times to get a cup run through, it boiled off as steam and splatter each time, only actually running 1/4" (yes, you read that right, a quarter of an inch) of coffee through to his coffee cup! So he ended up with less than 1" or 1/4 of a cup TOTAL after 3 runs of 10 ounces into the top of the coffee maker. I had high hopes for this machine, as the good reviews are really good, but have been sorely disappointed. Back to the store it goes. :(
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Great coffeemaker--highly recommend

03/19/2013
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I wanted a one cup coffee maker for those times when just one of us wanted a cup of coffee and couldn't be bothered to fire up the 12 cup Grind and Brew. I couldn't justify buying a Keurig because they are so pricey so I did some research on other brands and the Hamilton Beech FlexBrew looked great. I liked that there was an option to use K cups or ground coffee and I liked the price--about $50 at Walmart. So, even though there were quite a few bad reviews, we went ahead and ordered it. We have had this little brewer for about a month and used it pretty much every day. It makes excellent coffee, tea, and hot cocoa. Some people complained that the coffee splashed on the counter or wasn't hot enough, but it's all influenced by the size and shape of the cup you use. You have the option of using the little platform to raise a more shallow cup up higher to avoid splashing and if you remove that, you can actually fit a tall travel mug. But you con only make one cup at a time so you would have to run it twice if you wanted to fill a mug. We have ceramic mugs that are sort of egg shaped and these worked perfectly on the platform-no splashing and the coffee was nice and hot. However, there is a problem when brewing using ground coffee. The grounds get pushed over the side of the brew basket during the brew cycle, and end up in the coffee and on the counter. After trying several different grinds of coffee and amounts of water as recommended in the directions, I went on the Hamilton Beech website and wrote an email to customer service about this problem. I received a prompt reply and within a week they mailed me a small filter basket that fits in the brew basket and works like a charm. So now I get great coffee with either brewing method. I would definitely recommend this coffeemaker, it was a good value and it makes great coffee. I was impressed with Hamilton Beech and their excellent customer service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Don't buy

02/01/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I can never get a full cup of coffee. The water leaks out all over the place. NOT worth the price.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Good product but....

12/08/2012
By ,
Hollywood, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is good. It brews k-cups exceptionally well but it is very selective on the type of coffee that it can brew. If the coffee is grinded too fine it will prevent the water from dripping through the mesh causing the coffee and water to spill over from the coffee filter. To prevent this from happening, try using coffee grinds that are ground up a little larger than fine. Customer service at Hamilton Beach suggests Maxwell House.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

SAVE YOUR MONEY - WOW

06/13/2013
By ,
Madill, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have always loved Hamilton Beach Products. This has got to be the worst coffee maker or any other product I have ever used. No matter what I did, this thing spewed coffee and grounds everywhere. The K-Cups would not drain, they were pierced! The K-Cups would build up pressure where the release valve would blow the steam out the top. When it did FINALLY work right (ONCE) it too about 10 minutes for all of the coffee to drain into the cup. --- Seriously, save your money and buy something else!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Southern Pines, NC
Posted 02/03/2014
We are sorry to hear of the issue you experienced while using your Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker. Hamilton Beach Brands is committed to ensuring our consumers are satisfied and we take these matters seriously. Please contact us at customer.service@hamiltonbeach.com or 1-800-851-8900 and we will work to resolve your specific issue.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 59 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Better than Keurig

11/05/2013
By ,
Bethesda, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This small machine brews a single cup of delicious coffee without creating a lot of waste for the landfill. It can use either loose coffee or K-cups, but I prefer to use the former. The resulting coffee is great and the grounds can go right down the drain with no paper filter or plastic cup to throw away. Being green never tasted so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker, Model 49995

Best bargain buy

01/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read all the reviews before buying, found no surprises. Just don't overfill it, or you'll get some extra steaming. It's been getting a real workout and still haven't needed the paperclip. The entire family is loving it.
I usually run a 10 ounce cup followed by an extra 4 ounces for my travel cup, with most brand name coffee's this works well and gives a excellent cup of coffee, no weakness at all, some experimentation on your part and you will be very happy about all the money you saved over the BIG brand.
READ and FOLLOW the instructions and you will love it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 524 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  27 Next