Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sanyo Sanyo 39" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP39842

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sanyo Sanyo 39" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP39842

The Sanyo 39" LCD HDTV, DP39842 with integrated ATSC Digital and NTSC Analog Tuner is the latest technology for the digital age. In a glossy black finish, it blends into the background when the lights are dimmed for your movies, sports and favorite programs in any room of your home. Two HDMI, one combo composite component, one A/V and one USB port provide options for additional hookups. A coaxial digital audio output on the LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV allows hookup to a home entertainment receiver amplifier system for theater-like sound. The USB with Photo Viewer feature allows display of your photos for all to easily see. With a thin, space-saving design, this Sanyo 39" LCD HDTV, DP39842 can be positioned just about anywhere in your home. The detachable stand legs allow it to be wall mounted with a wall mount kit (not included).
Average Customer Rating:
4.296 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(159 Reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
93
4 stars
46
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation90%143 out of 159reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
93
4 stars
46
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sanyo 39" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP39842

good for price

04/24/2013
By ,
South West Va.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very good picture,good size and sound for bedroom.tv is slow to come on and change channels.does not automatically adjust screen size when changing channels.caption does not come on when muted.good purchase for price.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 2 for Sanyo 39" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP39842
04/21/2013
By ,
Clio, Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great TV for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Sanyo 39" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP39842

Good for the price....

04/19/2013
By ,
Bradenton, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the price, not a bad, inexpensive choice... I paid less than $300.00 (Before taxes) for a 39" flat screen TV that replaced an 8 year old, $1400.00 Sharp 32" that the picture just got real weak on...In these tough economic times, this was an OK deal for a basic, no real frills large screen TV...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Sanyo 39" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP39842

Another great buying decision on my part!!!

04/18/2013
By ,
Auburndale, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only had this TV for a short time, but am completely satisfied. Picture and sound quality is quite good, and easily adjusted to suit individual taste. The viewing angle on this TV is also very good-no lose of color is noted even if you are viewing at an extreme angle from the center (unlike some others). I believe this TV could compete favorably with other TVs costing considerably more. If you are looking for a TV in this size range, and want to get the most for your money, my humble advise would be-buy it!!!.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Sanyo 39" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP39842

Awsome awsome great price

04/15/2013
By ,
Rochester, ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tv the other day love love this tv...this tv was highly recommended from many people I no .... I am 100% HAPPY with this omg great ,,,,,,,
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Sanyo 39" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP39842

Picture Quality Poor

04/07/2013
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this TV 3 weeks and tried to deal with the poor picture quality because of the low price BUT I can't take it anymore. This TV is going back to the store TODAY...SMH
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Sanyo 39" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP39842

Great tv!

04/01/2013
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this TV. I've never had a flat screen television before, and I did not know that a picture could be so very clear! It's super easy to hook up to a blu-ray or a game console, and the stand is much sturdier than it looks. I love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 8 for Sanyo 39" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP39842

For under $300 this is the best buy available 2013

04/01/2013
By ,
Shelton CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OK, for many reviewers this TV won't ever make 5 stars for picture quality or sound or features compared against a Sony Bravia or maybe even a Vizio. I have both these other TVs, the Sony was twice the Sanyo price and the Vizio $150 more, although 3 inches bigger. I am more than happy with this Sanyo - for the $300 price it is definitely the best around, no question. For casual viewing you won't beat it. If I had to say which was the best value of the 3 tvs I have and which one I'd recommend above the others, I'd have to say the Sanyo, based on the value for money. The difference between a 42" and this 39" (7% smaller) is genuinely hard to see unless they are side by side (like in a TV store showroom). Bottom line - when buying a TV, think only - what do I really need and what can I afford - this Sanyo should answer most peoples questions.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 9 for Sanyo 39" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP39842
03/29/2013
By ,
canaan maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
not enough plug ins on the tv
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Sanyo 39" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP39842

havee only had it for 2 weeks

01/18/2013
By ,
san bernardino ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just bought this one. Have a 47" in my living which started needing up a year after I had it 1 week after I purchased this one. Soooooooo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-3points
Review 11 for Sanyo 39" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP39842

Turns off randomly after 1week of use

01/14/2013
By ,
WA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Have owned for one week after doing tons of research. I wanted to find a good 32"+ tv for around $300. For $320, this TV sounded like a great deal from the rave reviews and all the features and quality of the product. Please read whole review, or just end.
Pros
Picture: Perfect (clearer than most TV's I've seen), Color and brightness: Perfect(different modes-I preferred 'Vibrant'), Sound: Perfect (at volume level 15/100 I thought neighbors would complain), 4 inputs total (2hdmi,1 component,1vga), Internal hdtv converter for aftermarket external antenna.
Cons
Confused about internal antenna in description (not clear if full antenna or just converter)
Video turned off at random times from two separate inputs. (Reason why I will return)
I did some research on why the video would turn off and all the answers pointed toward power issues or kinked internal wiring. The tv is located away from the wall(not crushed up against it), eco mode is off, timer off, auto off- is off , and was not from my input products (apple tv & Xbox). They both kept working after the screen turned off. I know this because sound was still emitting from tv, even though the screen was black. I was able to cycle through the inputs (knew I returned because of sound) without screen changing. Turning off the unit and turning back on would fix this, however, I'm not going to risk keeping a $320 paper weight if I'm already having problems after the first week. Back to research.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Sanyo 39" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP39842

Couldn't ask for a better TV

01/11/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everybody talking bad about Sanyo because its a "bargain brand" is just so rich and full of themselves. All TV companies have problems even Panasonic. This is a great TV even at a higher price. Great picture quality and an awesome sound. I would recommend to anyone looking for a 39" TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Sanyo 39" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP39842

Happy with the Purchase

01/06/2013
By ,
San Diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this purchase. I owe this TV for almost a month now. So far there is no problem. I really hope this TV will last. I bought the three year warranty just in case though.
This is my first flat screen TV purchase. Unlike what some other review complained, I have no problem with the sound. Picture quality is just wonderful. As another reviewer suggested, it is better to turn off the Eco function. When I watch shows on TV, the colors are warm and vibrant and detail. However, it is another story when I watch movie. It may that my DVD player is old. And the difference may lie with the movie themselves and not the fault of the TV. When I watched Underworld, the images are dark and sometimes difficult to distinguish the movement. However, when I watch other movies, such as Puss in Boots, Transformer (1 and 3), Redline, everything is fine. Quality of image is excellent. For this price, the TV is worth it. The size is just what I wanted. I highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Sanyo 39" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP39842

Remote is simple to use and it was easy to set up.

01/05/2013
By ,
Greensboro, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great purchase. It is the perfect size for a small living room. It picks up several more channels than the previous TV that I had hooked to a digital converter box. The picture quality is excellent and I love it so far!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Sanyo 39" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP39842

Good Value for the money - beware of viewing angle

01/04/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm happy overall with this TV. It is good value for the cost. The picture is good and the controls are easily understood. Beware of the viewing angle!! You are good to go if you are viewing almost straight on to the TV. If you are viewing at even a slight angle the picutre gets poor quickly.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Sanyo 39" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP39842

Sanyo 39" LCD TV

01/03/2013
By ,
Lebanon, Or
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have been very surprised at the quality of the sound, we thought we would have to add a sound bar or system but the sound is excellent. We don't need any kind of additional sound for this TV. Great picture!! Even my husband says I got a great deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for Sanyo 39" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP39842
01/02/2013
By ,
Washington DC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The tv has a pretty good picture, but tv interferes with the remote control for the cable box
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 18 for Sanyo 39" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP39842

Good TV for Older Person

01/02/2013
By ,
Williamson, WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this TV for my Mom and it has been great for her. Not extreamely complicated, channel display is nice big numbers and has background for contrast so she can see it well. Has good sharp picture and sound quality is good at higher volumes that she needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Sanyo 39" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP39842

Great TV

01/02/2013
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this TV for my son's bed room and it's a great size with an amazing picture and the sound quality is good as well. My son uses it mostly to play his PS3 and he loves it. The grapics really "pop" and the color is amazing. I would recommend this TV for a kids bedroom or family game room. The price is just right as well!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 20 for Sanyo 39" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP39842

Not worth the purchase

01/01/2013
By ,
New Orleans
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The picture quality is not worth it. It is kind of fuzzy. You can get a better off-brand name for about the same price if you look around. We found an Insignia for the same price with a much better picture, so we brought this back.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 101 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next