Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Seiki Seiki 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (2" ultra-slim) SE551GS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Seiki Seiki 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (2" ultra-slim) SE551GS

The Seiki SE551GS 55" 1080p LED HDTV will enhance your home theater center. You will experience incredible entertainment with a Full HD 1080p picture. The 3000 to 4,000:1 Contrast Ratio produces images featuring true-to-life color and the 8ms response time keeps the picture clean and free of distortion. Three HDMI ports get you connected to your HD entertainment sources, and Component, Composite and USB connections hook up everything else. The Seiki SE551GS 55" LED HDTV produces a clear picture from 178-degree angles, so you can enjoy Full HD entertainment from anywhere in the room. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Seiki 55" HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
3.957 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation78%18 out of 23reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Seiki 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (2" ultra-slim) SE551GS

Great Television! Great Price.

09/13/2012
By ,
Huntsville, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The picture is crystal clear. The sound quality is very adequate for normal viewing and enjoyment. The features are very good for the price of this television. My only qualm is the remote. The remote is as basic as it can be.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+57points
Review 2 for Seiki 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (2" ultra-slim) SE551GS

Great TV....

10/19/2012
By ,
Bartlesville, Ok
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had never heard of the name Seiki TV when I purchased this. The price was better than the other 55" TV's so I chanced it being a good one. It met more than my expectations. I love it.
I will definitely purchase another Seiki TV in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+26points
Review 3 for Seiki 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (2" ultra-slim) SE551GS

Great TV for the money

11/29/2012
By ,
Richland Center, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
55" LED TV for $649.00 was very appealing. I checked out Seiki brand and felt comfortable trying it out, so far I'm pleased. I did hook audio through my stereo as the sound quality was ok, but several other brands also recommend a sound bar. I have TV in the basement which was made into a recreational / entertainment room. Once I upgraded my Sat. service to HD the picture is amazing.
For the money I think it is a GOOD TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 4 for Seiki 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (2" ultra-slim) SE551GS
10/29/2012
By ,
Lake Geneva, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We recieved this product a week earlier then expected. We could not pass up on the cost. The picture and sound quality is exceptional. Would definately recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Review 5 for Seiki 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (2" ultra-slim) SE551GS

Disappointing picture and very poor sound

10/13/2012
By ,
Ellicott City, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I didn't expect a great picture quality and excellent sound for the "low " price of this 55" Seiki. However, the sound was so bad that we couldn't understand voices. All were very tinny and fuzzy. Picture could maybe have been improved with some more adjustments.
So, returned it to a Walmart store. Very polite and courteous return desk people. (Bought it on line with a modest delivery to home fee and prompt delivery.) Bought a Samsung to replace it. Should have spent a few more $$$ to buy a "better" quality name or brand the first time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 6 for Seiki 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (2" ultra-slim) SE551GS

sharp and clear picture ,exceeds expectations!

10/26/2012
By ,
mesa, az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
take full advantage by pairing up with stereo receiver and hd cable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 7 for Seiki 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (2" ultra-slim) SE551GS

Returned it. Bad picture.

10/08/2012
By ,
TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Extreme motion blur and bad picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+10points
Review 8 for Seiki 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (2" ultra-slim) SE551GS

Excellent buy, totally impressed...!

11/27/2012
By ,
Leesburg, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After our complete hook-up of the new TV we were totally impressed. Everything the ad said about the Seiki was true. WHAT A BUY! The picture is excellent and operation is great. The sound was not as good but we solved that by going back to Walmart and buying a Seiki Surround Sound tube. My wife and I highly recommend the Seiki to everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 9 for Seiki 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (2" ultra-slim) SE551GS

I beg you, do not buy this TV!

08/03/2013
By ,
St. Louis, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am moving and in search of a large TV for my new living room. When I saw a 55 inch HD TV at this price I was blown away but having never heard of the brand I was skeptical. I put my better judgment aside and purchased this TV.
After getting it home and setting it up I immediately noticed it had a very strange picture quality and content looked like it was shot on very poor quality cameras. (I was watching Breaking Bad and X-Men on ATT Uverse and my Playstation 3 respectively). The picture was not pixilated or dark just very odd. After searching the internet I found numerous people refer to a specific problem with this TV they called the Soap Opera Effect (SOE).
That was it! That is exactly what this TV makes everything look like, daytime Soap Operas. The actors or foreground objects are over exposed and the background is blurry and out of focus. Everything has an odd tint to it too and you are prevented from adjusting the tint in the TV's menu.
I noticed with Blu Ray and DVD content the Soap Opera Effect was the only problem but with TV, especially on non HD channels the picture saturation would randomly change and movement would become distorted making watching anything very frustrating.
The audio is not great either. To get any sort of quality sound out of the TV I had to connect the audio out to a set of old computer speakers I just happen to have.
Bottom line, avoid this TV at all cost. In less than a week I took this TV back and for an additional $38 got a 50 inch LG Plasma. Sure it is smaller and cost more but it is infinitely better that the Seiki TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 10 for Seiki 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (2" ultra-slim) SE551GS
12/10/2012
By ,
Avenel nj
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this T.V thinking it might not be so bad. i installed my HDMI connection making sure everything was tight but there was just something not right about the picture. it seems that the picture kept ghosting. A big blur on moving pictures and the sound quality was not great but if you have a soundbar or a surround system you wouldnt notice it. long story short i returned it and purchase a VIZIO. great T.V. cheap value.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 11 for Seiki 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (2" ultra-slim) SE551GS

Purchased for my parents

12/20/2012
By ,
Las Vegas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really just a great TV. Simple to use remote and easy hook ups for cable box and receiver incase you don't want to purchase a sound bar or new surround sound system. The TV speakers work great, but if you want that deep bass for movies then hook up additional speakers. TV comes with a HDMI cable. Use it for your cable box and a 2nd cable for your DVD player.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 12 for Seiki 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (2" ultra-slim) SE551GS

OK for the money

12/27/2012
By ,
Columbia SC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
If you only want a TV with average sound quality this TV does that. It has only 1 audio input (RCA R+L). This means if you connect one item (example: your VHS player) to the RCA inputs you have no more for any other RCA plug-types to be connected (what if all these have RCA connectors: cable box, VHS, DVD, game console). It does have 3 HDMI inputs so if you players use these, you're in business. Note that there is no optic output for you to connect from the TV to an external sound system (and the sound from the TV is not the best). I suggest using this TV connected from your stereo's HDMI output as the monitor. Then all your devises and sound can work through the sound system with the TV as the monitor.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Seiki 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (2" ultra-slim) SE551GS

First Time Buyer

12/07/2012
By ,
Orange Park, Fl.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It Seemed Like A good Deal, But " You Pay For What You Get " I'll Be Returning It, ASAP !
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 14 for Seiki 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (2" ultra-slim) SE551GS

can't beat it for the price.

12/10/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price and get the 4yr warranty and still cheaper with a feeling of comfort on your purchase than the other brand names. The pic can be grainy especially on non-hd channels but this is to be expected with all lcd and led tvs. I still favor my plasmas for general watching but this tv allows me to hook up my computer. Football season with this 55 bright screen and espn hd has been awesome.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 15 for Seiki 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (2" ultra-slim) SE551GS

Awesome TV!!!

12/06/2012
By ,
Canton, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I picked this TV out for my husband for Christmas, because of the great value. Turns out, this TV, is made by a company right here in the USA!!! He did some extensive research on it. My husband couldn't be more satisfied! Plus, I can see it no matter where I am in the room. Sits very flush to the wall, even with he wall mount. This was a great addition to our home!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for Seiki 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (2" ultra-slim) SE551GS

great for the money

12/09/2012
By ,
michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very nice tv, and a great price too. I did have a little trouble making my old dvd/vcr to work with it, but blue ray players are cheap enough that with the money i saved with the tv i was able to get one of those as well. I do recommend this tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for Seiki 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (2" ultra-slim) SE551GS

Great TV at any price.

12/14/2012
By ,
Portland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The sound is better than most big screens. The price is more than competitive and the features are more than most. We have three big screens here in the house and this one surpasses the other two as far as picture quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Seiki 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (2" ultra-slim) SE551GS
12/10/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great TV for the money
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Seiki 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (2" ultra-slim) SE551GS

Great Picture, Great Price, Mediocre Sound.

12/14/2012
By ,
Austin, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The sound quality isn't as good as expected however just adding a sound system should fix it. Good TV, every girl I bring over freaks out about how huge it is!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Seiki 55" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (2" ultra-slim) SE551GS

Really Like

11/17/2012
By ,
Waldorf, Md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had to return this tv, it was to big for the area I wanted to put it. But I did get the same name brand but a size down and I love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next