Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hoover Hoover SteamVac Carpet Washer, F5835900

Hoover Hoover SteamVac Carpet Washer, F5835900

The Hoover F5835900 SteamVac Carpet Washer cleans carpets, bare floors and upholstery anytime you need it. With a 7.1 amp motor, two easy-to-fill tanks and multiple attachments for above floor cleaning, this Hoover carpet washer will get the job done no matter what mess is in front of you. The heated cleaning of the Hoover washer reduces the drying time considerably making a deep clean possible in a shorter time frame. The Hoover carpet washer comes equipped with a one gallon tank, 16 ounce bottle of Hoover carpet and upholstery detergent, SpinScrub hand tool and an extra squeegee tool for a thorough clean. Dont mess with bulky rental washers ever again when you can enjoy an at-home clean with this handy Hoover F5835900 SteamVac Carpet Washer.
Average Customer Rating:
3.429 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation66%23 out of 35reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hoover SteamVac Carpet Washer, F5835900

Great for the price!

09/04/2012
By ,
McGuire AFB
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this Hoover vac after a lot of research. I ordered it on a Thursday and received it on Saturday. So shipping was great and free! Upon openin the box, the unit was dirty, smelly, and the packages inside were already opened. This made me really mad so I emailed Walmart and told them. They immediately sent out a new one which was in a little better shape. Odors it work yes! The instructions make it more difficult to use than it needs to be but do read them. It will be worth it in the end. For $100 I'm so glad I found this vac. It works perfect at getting out even old stains.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hoover SteamVac Carpet Washer, F5835900

Excellent carpet vac, washer.

11/18/2012
By ,
Loveland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have now cleaned 5 rooms and 11 steps. Easy to work, really cleans and removes water so carpet dries fast. Been thru 2 Bissell carpet cleaners and they just don't hold up! I couldn't believe the dirty water that came out from my carpet. I think my carpets look better then they have in several years. I have told everyone I know about this cleaner. I did purchase this one from other reviews. Yes they were right. This is awesome.. Now I must say that I spent some time changing the floor tools. They are hard to slide on and off. Once you get it all together it really cleans. Best brush I have ever used on steps, wow my steps are so clean. I believe in going back over my carpets with cold water the next day , or sometimes the same day, to rise and it does make a difference. It is like washing your clothes with soap and not rinising the soap out. Your carpet will feel so soft to your feet. I have even walked around with white socks on and my socks were clean when I took them off. Now I am 64 years old and found this very easy to use. Now I just hope it will work when I pull it out to clean again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hoover SteamVac Carpet Washer, F5835900

Does a decent job as decribed.

10/16/2012
By ,
Ames, IA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros:
Does a decent job as decribed.
The two separate tanks is a definite plus and easy to use.
I believe it does a better job than a Rug doctor.
Cons:
SteamVac and “Heated cleaning” is misleading, it really does not heat the water much.
The main brush is a single brush and stationary, it moves when you move he machine.
Feels like it was made and designed to look bulky, underneath there is a lot of open space.
Directions to put together were confusing.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hoover SteamVac Carpet Washer, F5835900

Good steam vac for the money

09/30/2012
By ,
Addy, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wasn't expecting much due to the price but this thing works pretty darn good and I like that it has an attachment for upholstery. I have 2 dogs and 2 cats and for accidents this attachment works great. It's not as durable as I had hoped and it may not last as long as I'd like but with tender loving care I am sure I can get my money's worth out of it. For someone on a budget, I would recommend this vac.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hoover SteamVac Carpet Washer, F5835900

Great steam vac for pet stains!

10/05/2012
By ,
Sioux City, IA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had rented commercial shampooers to remove pet stains from the carpet on my stair landing but they were unable to completely remove the stain. I was literally about to replace the carpet but I thought I would give it one last try. I sprayed a pre-treater on the stain first then went over the stain several times (until the water was coming up clear) and the stain is totally removed now. I was so happy to get rid of the embarrassing stain! I am going to try it on my tiled kitchen floor and living room furniture next.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hoover SteamVac Carpet Washer, F5835900

Great Product

09/15/2012
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only used it once, but I loved the results. It was easy to assemble. The only problem I ran into was with the dirty water tank. You must be sure it is installed correctly or it will not suck up any of the dirty water (I learned that the hard way). Overall good product, especially if you have a little one that likes to make a big mess. Oh, one last thing the cleaning solution doesn't have a loud smell so if you have a sensitive nose this is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hoover SteamVac Carpet Washer, F5835900

Excellent product.

10/31/2012
By ,
Ft. Myers Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine is perfect. I have 2 dogs and 2 cats and a 12 yr old kid that I am always cleaning up after. Works beautiful on those little mistakes they all make. Machine was very easy to put together. The separate water tank and dirty water tank are great. The are easy to get on and off. Would most definitely recommend this machine to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hoover SteamVac Carpet Washer, F5835900

What a workhorse. what a value

11/03/2012
By ,
Des Moines, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Truthfully my expectations weren't that high for a machine of this price. I was pleasantly surprised. Its a workhorse. not heavy, easy to use. My carpet looks great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hoover SteamVac Carpet Washer, F5835900

Good bargain. Instructions difficult to follow

09/25/2012
By ,
freehold nj
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Although assembly was not easy because instructions were hard to follow,The machine is worth the price. I originally had a more expensive machine and this cleaner does a comparative job. Good bargainI
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hoover SteamVac Carpet Washer, F5835900
11/19/2012
By ,
Bentonville, Ar
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Machine does a good job.
Durability is quetionable.
After the first 3 times I used it the brush mecanism froze up.
I took it apart, (after warany expired) and found that the tUrbine drive shaft was rusted.
The brush drive is operated by a turbine via the suction presure the vacume creates.
Very good theory for other aplications but not when moisture is volved, unless you use stainless steel shaft and bearings.
Dont expect this to last more that a year and a half if you use it alot.
Ive had mine about a year and a half, took very good care of it.
Rinsed it out and let it dry before storage.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hoover SteamVac Carpet Washer, F5835900
09/12/2012
By ,
Amanda, OH
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very heavy, cleaner lever doesn't activate easily & doesn't clean the carpet at all!! Haven't tried it on the kitchen floor yet but carpet results don't leave me optimistic for the hard surface either
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hoover SteamVac Carpet Washer, F5835900
11/11/2012
By ,
Phila. Pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product was deliveried used ,missing parts and no instuction manul. I retured it to the store store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hoover SteamVac Carpet Washer, F5835900
08/14/2013
By ,
Ft.Wayne, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Given how time consuming it is to use, I would probably resort to having professional cleaners next time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hoover SteamVac Carpet Washer, F5835900

Great product

10/06/2012
By ,
Granville, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This carpet cleaner works very well. It is powerful, holds a large amount of water and cleans carpets like new. The only flaw is the lever to lock the unit upright when not using is very weak. Otherwise this product is extremely good and a great price. No need to buy the cleaners that claim to be for pets-this one does the job!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hoover SteamVac Carpet Washer, F5835900

Top of the line shampooer for a low-end price

11/15/2012
By ,
Leakesville, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE this shampooer! It took up stains that has been there forever. It removed dog accidents and baby messes! PERFECT
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hoover SteamVac Carpet Washer, F5835900
10/31/2012
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price this product is great. Cleaned a rug that had not been cleaned for over 7 years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Hoover SteamVac Carpet Washer, F5835900
Based on the average of (19) ratings-only reviews
2.9 out of 5
2.9 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5