Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Samsung Samsung BD-EM57C Smart WiFi Blu-ray/DVD Player, Refurbished

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Samsung Samsung BD-EM57C Smart WiFi Blu-ray/DVD Player, Refurbished

The clarity and detail of Blu-ray technology meets Wi-Fi connectivity in this refurbished Samsung Blu-ray/DVD player with Wi-Fi. This Samsung Wi-Fi Blu-ray player lets you into the unmatched definition and fidelity of Blu-ray technology so you can see your favorite movies and shows the way they were meant to be enjoyed. Connect online by using the built-in Wi-Fi and download a wide range of apps with the Samsung Blu-ray/DVD player.
Average Customer Rating:
3.928 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(264 Reviews) 181
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
119
4 stars
86
3 stars
14
2 stars
11
1 star
34
Customer Recommendation83%219 out of 264reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
119
4 stars
86
3 stars
14
2 stars
11
1 star
34
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Samsung BD-EM57C Smart WiFi Blu-ray/DVD Player, Refurbished

HUNK OF JUNK

04/25/2013
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this to play the hard drive backups I've made of my DVD's when connected to it's USB port. It will NOT play most of them as it has something called cinieva protection on the Samsung DVD player. The files it did play were jerky.
I backup ALL of my DVD's, in folders alphabetically, to a 2TB hard drive and then store the DVD's for convenience and to save room. I have 2 old players that will play ALL my files and DVD's.
It did find my network.
It does turn the TV into a "limited" smart TV. Most of the video was pay to view. Bummer.
I would not recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 42 for Samsung BD-EM57C Smart WiFi Blu-ray/DVD Player, Refurbished

Got a great deal on the Refurb

07/26/2013
By ,
West Bloomfield, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Paid like $60 for the refurb and added 2 year warranty for $6...connected to my wireless network fairly easy, but ended up just running a Ethernet cable to it since I had one by my TV...works great so far. plus with the 2 year replacement so cheap, wasn't much of a risk...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 43 for Samsung BD-EM57C Smart WiFi Blu-ray/DVD Player, Refurbished

Easy installation, smaller than expected

11/05/2013
By ,
NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We got the player because we kept having issue with newer DVDs not playing on our old DVD players.
I was very surprised at the size of this player, it was very small.
Setup was very easy.
It plays the DVDs great.
I have not setup the connection to the wifi or played bluray disks on it yet.
The cost for this item refurbished was not much more than a normal DVD player, so I figured it would be good to get the additional features (that I have not used yet) with this player.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 44 for Samsung BD-EM57C Smart WiFi Blu-ray/DVD Player, Refurbished

BEWARE!

11/07/2012
By ,
Canton,Il
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dont waste your money! Sometimes the remote control wont work and the system itself is slow loading everything. Even on Netflix it wont even load most videos. Also, we constantly got to play around with it for awhile to even to get it to pick up the internet. And of course, it didnt start acting up until AFTER I couldnt take it back!!! BIG WASTE OF MONEY!!!! THANKS ALOT SAMSUNG!!!!!!!
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 45 for Samsung BD-EM57C Smart WiFi Blu-ray/DVD Player, Refurbished

Refurbished Blu-Ray doesn't Work!

09/15/2013
By ,
Tampa, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Well I thought I knew what I was getting into when I was buying a refurbished product. But I didn't think that Samsung would let a product be sold without testing it properly and not seeing that the Blu-Ray feature didn't work. As confirmed by Samsung Tech support after we tried troubleshooting and a soft and hard reset!
Now I have to go through the trouble of sending the Blu-ray player to a repair facility in NJ. Not happy at all. There is no reason that this should have happened. Refurbished products should be properly tested and re-tested to make sure it is working. Very dissatisfied customer!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 46 for Samsung BD-EM57C Smart WiFi Blu-ray/DVD Player, Refurbished

Refurbished, a better deal!

09/20/2013
By ,
Dallas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Everything works good, feature-wise and the price, but the waiting period to each navigation is quite a wait. When we are forwarding or rewinding, the machine is actually processing it right away but the display wont let you see the actual status real-time so if you want to rewind or forward just a few seconds of your movie then you have to push play right away even though the screen still does not show that the movie has in fact already doing the process, the display lags. Booting-up is also a wait. But over-all were still happy with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 47 for Samsung BD-EM57C Smart WiFi Blu-ray/DVD Player, Refurbished

wi fi not impressive.

09/25/2013
By ,
Portland
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Loads slow for internet and apps. Not a great choice of apps very limited,for example no Hbo Go app available while it is on newer models. some movies won't play due to cinavia on plex app. Positive side is it plays netflix hulu plus (load time for apps slow even on high speed net). I you need just that the fact that it plays blu ray and DVDs this is totally worth it. If you are purchasing for the Wi fi aspect of this unit you may be dissapointed. Newer products has better app access for samsung.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 48 for Samsung BD-EM57C Smart WiFi Blu-ray/DVD Player, Refurbished

Works Great

04/25/2013
By ,
Oakland Gardens, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy set up, took me about a half hour to plug it in and update apps and firmware. Great up scaling for regular DVD's.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 49 for Samsung BD-EM57C Smart WiFi Blu-ray/DVD Player, Refurbished

It's a Lemon

09/23/2013
By ,
Ashland, OR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I generally have good luck with refurbished electronics. Not so much here. The device has numerous problems: slow to respond to button presses on the remote (I'm talking ten seconds or more); slow performance in general; streamed movies would freeze (or the picture would freeze while the audio would continue), to the point where I had to turn the device off and on to resume playing. I returned the device to the store and purchased a new LG device during that same visit, which works beautifully.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 50 for Samsung BD-EM57C Smart WiFi Blu-ray/DVD Player, Refurbished

Great Blu ray for price

10/04/2013
By ,
Ft Worth Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I uploaded the upgrade before using the blu ray and was able to connect with Netflix and it uploaded the movies fast and no problem watching an entire movie. I suggest people who have had problems with this that they install the upgrade, and check the level of their wireless connection. This purchase was well worth the price, and my movies that are not blu ray seem to be more clear than if I use my dvd player.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 51 for Samsung BD-EM57C Smart WiFi Blu-ray/DVD Player, Refurbished

Great Product for Great Price

08/18/2013
By ,
Tennessee
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PROS: This Blu-ray player is a Great purchase. It is for a great and reasonable price. It is functional and the Netflix option is Great as well. The Blu-ray and DVD disc play function is Great! And it is Easy to use and the remote is easy to use as well. The Netflix button also saves some time.
CONS: The Netflix sometimes automatically logs me out of my account so I have to sign back it.
The Netflix option sometimes freezes. Also If a Disc has one too many scratches it doesn't play well but plays in other DVD players.
STILL: I Recommend this Blu-ray Player for those looking for a decent player for a decent price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 52 for Samsung BD-EM57C Smart WiFi Blu-ray/DVD Player, Refurbished

Very nice

08/12/2013
By ,
Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a nice device. It has a beautiful picture and was very easy to install. However I returned the product because of a features conflict. I use HBO2GO, EPIX along with Amazon (prime) and none of these apps are available. I tried every which way but loose to find the apps and they just aren't part of the platform, and I purchased this as an upgrade being that it was a smart player.
If you don't mind using Redbox, VUDU and of course it has Netflix (which I do use) for streaming then this is the blu ray for you. Because of the investments I have in these services, it just wasn't conducive for me. But it is nice...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 53 for Samsung BD-EM57C Smart WiFi Blu-ray/DVD Player, Refurbished

Bad wi-fi

10/10/2013
By ,
Akron,OH
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought for main tv. Put batteries in remote. Easy to set-up. Uses a lot of memory. Had to keep restarting hub after wAtching one or two videos. Within the second week of operation the DNS server would not initialize. Going to return it. And will let you know how that goes.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 54 for Samsung BD-EM57C Smart WiFi Blu-ray/DVD Player, Refurbished

Not a good deal

09/13/2013
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sadly my purchase of this blu-ray player, was a disappointment. I picked up the player from my local post office and was anxious to set it up. The set up was time consuming, and the final result was not what I had expected. The player loaded fine, the apps were fine but when I attempted to stream UTube, the screen was slow and eventually the picture locked up. I made some additional attempts including changing TV's, but the end result was the same. So I would not recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 55 for Samsung BD-EM57C Smart WiFi Blu-ray/DVD Player, Refurbished

Great DVD player for the price

09/18/2013
By ,
Round Rock, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was amazed by how far DVD players have come in just a few years. My old one kept freezing up and wasn't wireless so I made the upgrade to this one. It is like having a laptop in the living room. It has a much more robust Netflix app with a Netflix button on the remote. It also has Pandora and Youtube apps among others. The fact that it was refurbished meant I got it for half of what I paid for my last DVD player. Pretty good deal all in all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 56 for Samsung BD-EM57C Smart WiFi Blu-ray/DVD Player, Refurbished

Great Player

09/28/2013
By ,
Brooklyn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This player is excellent it has everything I needed in a Blue ray player Netflix Pandora Wifi and also included a hdmi cable ...This is my first time purchasing a refurbished player and I am very happy I took a shot on this one .Very easy to set up as long as you can read lol. Picture is crystal clear you wont be disappointed with this one I promise ...Love It
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 57 for Samsung BD-EM57C Smart WiFi Blu-ray/DVD Player, Refurbished

Good product, low price, speedy delivery!!!!

12/20/2012
By ,
Los Angeles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Samsung refurbished player is a great buy. The low price and terrific quality cannot be beaten anywhere. The player is fast and comes with built in wifi for easy access to the internet without any hassles of buying another adapter.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 58 for Samsung BD-EM57C Smart WiFi Blu-ray/DVD Player, Refurbished

can not get it to go wireless hard wire connecti

10/09/2013
By ,
wisconsin
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
can not get it to go into wireless hard line connection only have to sign into account way too often
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 59 for Samsung BD-EM57C Smart WiFi Blu-ray/DVD Player, Refurbished
01/10/2013
By ,
Grand Junction TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far, so good, works great, WI-FI works great also. Good product
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 60 for Samsung BD-EM57C Smart WiFi Blu-ray/DVD Player, Refurbished

buy it

10/07/2013
By ,
maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This player is a really good bargain for the price...its my first blu ray player and I'm so happy with this purchase
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
41-60 of 182 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next