Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Pure Balance Pure Balance Dog Food, Lamb & Brown Rice Recipe, 30 lb

Pure Balance Pure Balance Dog Food, Lamb & Brown Rice Recipe, 30 lb

Pure Balance believes in one pure and simple thought--the best nutrition for your dog starts with the best ingredients. That's why their Pure Balance Dog Food - Brown Rice Recipe contains no corn, wheat or soy and is made with carefully selected ingredients to ensure your dog gets all the nutrition he needs without any of the extra stuff he doesn't. This is the dog food for sensitive stomachs (30lb package). Quality protein sources like lamb combined with easily digestible rice help to build lean muscle mass while protecting your dog from digestive upset. Peas, carrots and cranberries, combined with vitamins and minerals, help to support a healthy immune and other vital systems. Natural omega 6 and 3 fatty acids from flaxseed and poultry fat help keep your dog's coat shiny and his skin healthy. And healthy whole grains like brown rice deliver natural fiber that aids in digestion and proper elimination - all in this Pure Balance Dog Food with Lamb and Rice.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation95%20 out of 21reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
27 Questions | 42 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Lamb & Brown Rice Recipe, 30 lb

No More Smelly Behind!

02/10/2014
By ,
southgate, Mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My yellow lab was weaned on a name brand feed recommended by our vet. He has always had soft or loose stools, and my vet assured us this would change as he matured. As he matured we continued the same brand and he began to develop a bad smell from behind. My vet tested him for all kinds of worms and parasites; everything was negative. The loose stools continued and our vet had us add different products to his feed in order to "bulk" up his stool. Our vet felt a harder stool would naturally help secrete the smelly glands and thus clear up the problem. Nothing worked, if anything his stools became looser. After numerous painful (and expensive) gland excretions, my vet suggested surgery to remove the glands to get rid of the smell, but said he would probably be incontinent of stool the rest of his life. He was only a year old at the time, and there seemed no other option. Our sweet lab was stinking up the entire house and making everyone gag. After a conversation with a friend about her daughters food allergies, I thought I would look for a new food for my lab. While in Walmart getting dog toys I walked past Pure Balance Lamb & Brown Rice Dog Food. Within three days of this new food my labs stools were normal and formed for the first time in his life. His smelly behind cleared up within another week and that was over a year ago! He has been eating Pure Balance Lamb & Brown Rice Dog Food for over a year and he is a picture of health. No more painful gland excretions or costly life changing surgery! No more smelly behind! Oh, and we changed vets too! Love this dog food, it changed my dogs quality of life. Thank you Pure Balance.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Arizona
THANK YOU DARVOS
Posted 08/28/2014
Thank you Darvos for the excellent review.
One of my three dogs was having a stomach problem and our vet suggested I switch to a "sensitive stomach" type of dog food. She suggested Eukanuba for sensitive stomachs and it wasn't available in our small town so I decided to try the Pure Balance Lamb and Brown Rice and see if it would help her. It has and I will continue to feed it to her and will switch the other dogs when their Iams is gone. She seems to handle it very well so I know the others will too.
0points
Customer Avatar
Ft.Worth,Tx.
Bless you for realizing you needed to change vets.
Posted 03/04/2014
I could hardly believe what I was reading in your letter but I know it is true. I've been around a long time, used to train and show obedience dogs and there is one thing I can tell you and everybody else - some vets don't know anything and don't seem to care. Same thing with some doctors whom I've also been around for over 50 years. People need to follow their own instincts.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Lamb & Brown Rice Recipe, 30 lb
10/26/2012
By ,
Lyles, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My boxer mix developed a red rash, hair loss, severe itching along with a very bad smell. Vet determined a yeast infection due to food allergy. Pure Balance Lamb and Brown Rice has worked really well. Soft smooth hair has returned to his sides and stomach, no more scratching and now the stinky smell is gone. Also, I have noticed he is eating less food while maintaining a normal weight so this has to be more nutritious than some of the more filler based (corn, wheat, soy, etc.) foods on the market that I was previously using. I highly recommend this product and will continue to purchase it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Lamb & Brown Rice Recipe, 30 lb

new Pure Balance dog food (walmart ole roy series)

09/13/2012
By ,
Land Mass
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WELL, the dogs seem to like it. Price could be better, mixed reviews all over the net but reccommended by many. I would like to see it say in BIG letters MADE IN USA and the city. I really had to hunt to find anything about origin. I've stayed away from Ole Roy in the past but this one does seem to out do some of the other "name" brand dog foods. I do have TWO large dogs so I would like to see a larger bag sold at my local store. I suppose having to buy smaller bags will lure me in more often? Dunno, jury is still out. I hesitate to buy a dog food also that is only availble in certain stores. Blessings to all our barking friends from Central SOUTHERN USA
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Fairhope, AL
USA?
Posted 12/20/2013
The product description online states the country of origin as both USA - imported. I would like to find a clear answer as to the source of ingredients and where it is manufactured. Many pet owners are rightfully concerned about products from China. I agree that should be shown clearly on the package front if in fact it is made in the USA.
0points
Customer Avatar
Central Kentucky
MADE IN THE USA
Posted 09/09/2013
: Pure Balance is manufactured exclusively in the United States by us, Ainsworth Pet Nutrition. All Pure Balance products are made with the highest quality ingredients. The diets are free of corn, wheat, and soy, and contain meat first. They have no chicken by-product meals, artificial colors, flavors, or preservatives. All ingredients go through meticulous safety testing, including a triple check process where ingredients are tested when we receive them, during manufacturing, and again via finished product testing. Ingredients are sourced primarily in North America, though some ingredients are not. For example, real lamb is sourced from New Zealand and some vitamins unavailable in North America do come from other countries. Our manufacturing facilities are independently certified by Safe Quality Foods (SQF) recognized around the world as a rigorous, credible food safety management system.
4 months, 3 weeks ago
By OlRoyCS Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0points
Customer Avatar
Gardner, KS
Information might help!
Posted 09/17/2012
I found this site about the dog food. Its not a bad review but not all that great either. When I saw how much it costs I was really shocked! They are asking too much for it. There are better dog foods out there that are cheaper than Pure Balance. Anyways, here is the website that might help.
http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-food-reviews/pure-balance-dog-food/
Hope this helps you. I really thought about trying the Pure Balance and I saw the price. Noway. If I am going to spend money on quality dog food, it better be darn good for my dog. :)
-2points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 4 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Lamb & Brown Rice Recipe, 30 lb

She loves this food

08/19/2014
By ,
Liberty, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My GSD mix has severe allergies and she seems to do better on this food than all the others that we have tried and it seems to satisfy her better than the others.
The only problem with this food is that we are unable to purchase it at the local store in the 30 lb bag, I have resorted to ordering it online and it arrived quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Lamb & Brown Rice Recipe, 30 lb

good food; dogs love it

08/21/2014
By ,
oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have very sensitive dogs. I have to be very careful what we feed them. This is a value price and to get the free shipping LOVE IT!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Lamb & Brown Rice Recipe, 30 lb

worth the money

10/26/2012
By ,
Centre AL.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
my 4 mastiff's love it also 1st food to clear up 1 of my dogs face no more pimples very happy
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Lamb & Brown Rice Recipe, 30 lb

A GREAT dog food for a Great dog! Mine!

03/02/2014
By ,
Perris, Ca.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From the "other" dog food, my dog was extremely gassy. She had itchy skin, and always seemed hungry even after being fed. After a couple of days on PURE BALANCE / Lamb and Brown Rice, her gas problems vanished. As the days go by, her scratching has almost totally stopped. I'd give it at least 3 thumbs up if I had another thumb!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Lamb & Brown Rice Recipe, 30 lb
03/15/2013
By ,
Herrick illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very suprised with this food as it's ol roy. I decided to try this and my 3 boston terriers love it. They have bright shiny coats and full of energy. Solid firm stools and less of it plus this food keeps them full so they eat way less of it. I also mix this with the canned pure balance every day and my pups are gaining weight which is really good considering they was so skinny and couldn't gain weight with other foods.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Lamb & Brown Rice Recipe, 30 lb

Good dog food for the price

03/31/2014
By ,
Whitehall, MT.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Seems to be working for my dog's skin problems & my dog loves the taste. He told me! LOL.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Lamb & Brown Rice Recipe, 30 lb

Great option for dog with allergies.

06/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have a dog that allergic to most food items. With this food the allergies and the sensitive stomach are both getting better.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Lamb & Brown Rice Recipe, 30 lb

Great non-grain dog feed

03/21/2014
By ,
vermont
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since I switched to the Pure Balance my black lab hasn't skipped a meal and his ears are cleaner and his coat is shinier. I love it and so happy with the change and having it shipped right to my door can't be beat!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Lamb & Brown Rice Recipe, 30 lb

DOGS LOVE IT!

02/17/2014
By ,
Fla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
They love it too much! I really have to pay attention to who eats what. I am measuring it and trying hard to follow guidelines. I own five large dogs. Its a tad costly for me. But, it seems to be doing what I was hoping for. No more itching and costing me money at the vet's for a shot for allergies...Figured it would be worth paying more to save $$ down the road in vet bills. Coats seem to be getting more shinny also. BUT they gobble the food like it's steak! I did have one shepherd to have upset stomach with the lamb and rice? She could have just been not feeling good. I will probably just stick to the Chicken with the Brown Rice...only because of $$...it is lower in cost. So far so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Lamb & Brown Rice Recipe, 30 lb

Great ingredients...just my dog wouldn't eat it!

10/10/2012
By ,
Easton PA.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was disappointed my dog would not eat this food. He would wait until he was absolutely starving before he would eat it. My dog tends to have a sensitive stomach so I thought I would switch him to the lamb...he will eat the PB chicken and rice though, although still with not great gusto but way better than with the lamb.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cincy Ohio
would not eat?
Posted 11/26/2012
Did you introduce the new food gradually? For example I mixed one cup to four cups of the old, Purina one beyond, for the first week and monitored their ( I have two Boston Terriers, one 20lb and one 30lb) stools for any changes. The second week I started by mixing the PB 2 cups to three and then 3 cups to 2 cups by the end of the week. I keep increasing the ratio until by the end of the third week it was 4 parts PB to 1 part Purina One Beyond. Both dogs enjoyed the transistion without any ill effects. As a matter of fact the collar rash my smaller Boston had from senitive skin is a thing of the past. He is four years old and now he is at a healthy 20lbs and has more energy having shed the four extra pounds he had been carrying. My 15 month old Boston was almost eight pounds under weight when we adopted him. He is now a healthy 30lbs. His larger frame carries the weight extremely well. He is very fit. They have been on Pure Balance exclusively now for the last 5 or 6 weeks and they have never been healthier.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Lamb & Brown Rice Recipe, 30 lb

Doggies love it.

07/02/2014
By ,
Glendora, Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Doggies are eating it up so they must like the flavor. I like the health benefits and price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Lamb & Brown Rice Recipe, 30 lb

Pure Balance is a great value

01/05/2014
By ,
South Jersey
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pure Balance seems to be a great value for the money. I've been feeding my three dogs the Chicken and Brown Rice and they have loved it. The local Walmart was out of the large 30 lb bags of Chicken so I switched to the Lamb and Brown Rice... Big mistake - all three of them ate around the Lamb and only ate the chicken. Guess nobody is a Lamb fan... Going back to the Chicken and Brown Rice. Hope I can find it in the stores again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Lamb & Brown Rice Recipe, 30 lb

Replacement for 4health from Tractor Supply

05/27/2014
By ,
NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like this food for my two fogs. It's better than a lot of other foods similarly priced, which don't have protein as their main ingredienta. It is reasonablebly priced & makes their coats feel lovely & silky. I also feed a bit of mackerel each night, which they love.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Lamb & Brown Rice Recipe, 30 lb

too expensive, but good product

02/02/2014
By ,
Homestead, FL.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
One of my dogs loves it, but not the other, but its costing me too much.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Lamb & Brown Rice Recipe, 30 lb
10/24/2012
By ,
Hot Springs, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've just recently started my 2 dogs on this food. My local Walmart only carrys the 15 # bags and I like the convience of it being delivered to my house. Really haven't given it a chance long enough to give a thourough review.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Pure Balance Dog Food, Lamb & Brown Rice Recipe, 30 lb
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5