Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Pure Balance Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, 15 lb

Pure Balance Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, 15 lb

Pure Balance believes in one pure and simple thought--the best nutrition for your dog starts with the best ingredients. That's why the Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, contains no corn, wheat or soy and is made with carefully selected ingredients to ensure your dog gets all the nutrition he needs without any of the extra stuff he doesn't. The real chicken in this pure dog food helps build lean muscle mass in your dog so he can run, jump and play. Peas, carrots and cranberries combined with vitamins and minerals help to support a healthy immune and other vital systems. Natural omega 6 and 3 fatty acids from flaxseed and poultry fat, which is high in linoleic acid, help keep your dog's coat shiny and his skin healthy. Healthy whole grains like brown rice and oatmeal deliver natural fiber that aids in digestion and proper elimination.
Average Customer Rating:
4.536 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation93%26 out of 28reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 26 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, 15 lb

Seems to be a great premium food for the price.

09/26/2012
By ,
Baltimore, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went to two stores and found they were not carrying this product and then ordered a small bag to try, on-line, for in store pickup. The delivery was quick and the pickup was easy.
My dog previously would not touch a premium food and I tried them all. She has been on a "semi"premium" food for years. I mixed in the Pure Balance Chicken & Brown Rice with her regular food and she picked out the regular food and spit it on the floor and ate the Pure Balance. The contents of the Pure Balance would indicate it has ingredients you would usually find in a premium dog food and the price is certainly a plus. I've been paying close to $50.00 for a 37 lb. bag of her regular food.
Some of the comments I've seen on the web relate to the manufacturer, 'Ol Roy, as being suspect. In the past, I would not purchase an 'Ol Roy product because, based on content, I felt it was a cheap substandard dog food. Because of the content of the Pure Balance food, I have no problem using this product and my dog loves it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, 15 lb

Great food

02/21/2013
By ,
Western MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so happy to have found this food. I was feeding our three dogs the Ol Roy' Healthy balance or something like that #it was a version of benful# and I thought the dogs really liked it, because they ate it all up. However they were starting to look very bad, coats not shiney, shedding alot from the lab/pit dog and then the lab/pit developed terrible diarrhea. It was so bad he began to have almost total liquid instead of a bowel movement. I quickly threw away the food and looked for a dry food without any corn or soy and found pure balance. I went to dogfood advisor.com and saw that it was a good product, as opposed to the ol roy food I was feeding him. I gave the lab/pit some probiotics, white rice and started him on this new pure balance food and within 2 days he is having normal bowel movements. On day 4 I notice less shedding and also all 3 days really enjoying this kibble. Thank you God for this food and my dogs all doing better. Now I really look at ingredients on the dog food. Please dont feed your dog the cheap ol roy food, it is so bad for their systems.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ft.Worth,Tx.
Soy should never be in any pet food
Posted 03/23/2014
It took me a few days to realize that it was the soy in the dog food I was feeding that was causing the diarrhea in my Lab. The minute I took him off that food his stool got firm. People think that because Soy is an acceptable substitute for other protein for some people that it is alright for pets. I don't believe it is.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, 15 lb

Finally A Great Dog Food by Old Roy!!

07/21/2013
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had five dogs and I have tried all the dog foods that were cheap and had nothing but problems. Two of our beloved pets (a Great Pyrenees and a Sheltie/Shepard Mix) died of Cancer and I'm not taking anymore chances feeding them cheaper foods.
Pure Balance healed our Chocolate Lab of all his dry skin and sores. He use to be covered in fleas and now they are gone too. His coat is now full and soft to the touch and shines.
If you love your pet do them a favor and spend a little more. They eat less of the good foods and it helps them in so many ways compared to the cheaper foods. Pure Balance compare to most any of the higher priced name brands, but its been a life saver for our dogs so its all I will buy from now on. I tell everyone shopping the dog food aisle now about it and what its done for my pets. Happy pet owner and Wal Mart Shopper. I would like if it were a lower price and had coupons available, but no complaints otherwise.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, 15 lb

As Good As Petsmart Foods

08/14/2013
By ,
MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I started out with Blue Buffalo Call of the Wild puppy food for my German Shepherd because I wanted him to have the best food. It started to break the bank so I started looking at the foods Walmart had. Pure Balance is the ONLY dry dog food that Walmart sells that is free of corn, wheat and soy. My dog loves it!! I mix the wet food in on occasion and he thoroughly enjoys every bit!! I definitely recommend this food to everyone with a dog!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, 15 lb

Bad Results

03/24/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was so excited about this food and finally got a chance to have my dog try it out. He's a pit bull mastiff. He got sick and had diarrhea and was scratching a lot. I thought I thought was just a reaction to switching to the new food, but then his diarrhea never cleared up and his itching got worst and he lost a lot of hair. :(
The food seems really good for dogs and has healthy ingredients. Dogfoodadvisor.com labeled it a 3 1/2 star..which is really good because they don't give out good ratings like that too easily. If only this had worked out for my dog
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, 15 lb

Good dog food for the price

10/16/2012
By ,
Huntington Beach, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have 4 dogs and swithced to Pure Balance from Wellness recently. They like it and one of them is a picky eater. She is also very emotinal and doesn't eat much most of times or doesn't eat at all sometimes. But she likes this food and finish her bowl everytime now!
I wanted to save money on dog food, but didn't want to feed them low quality food either, and I found out about this food. Wellness received a little better rating(half star) than Pure Balance from analysis but Pure Balance is good enough and much cheaper. And I shop at Walmart often, so I can grab a dog food while I'm there.
I have saved some money and a trip to a pet store!
Wish they have a puppy formula and canned, too.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, 15 lb

Best dog food!!!!!!

02/11/2014
By ,
n.w. ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our dogs scratched constantly had sores one lost alot of hair. We went to vet they were no help they wanted to give a shot that lasted 2 weeks. finally tried pure balance can and the dry and the dogs love them and guess what ..... no more scratching skin is all cleared up and all hair is growing back and it is beautiful.. Thanx walmart for the great price. started buying the canned food too and they love it mixed together one can split among three dogs. Best dog food out there period.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, 15 lb
05/04/2013
By ,
indpls,in
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Use to buy Blue Buffalo for my dogs. 15 Lb bag was $30.00 and this has the same stuff and dogs love it also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, 15 lb

great food

10/25/2012
By ,
OKC,OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
after doing research on another website I find out this food is ranked higher than Hills science diet dog food. If you needing to feed you dogs quality food better than junk food like some brand names this is your food for you dogs and mine has never got sick on this food compare to other brands.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, 15 lb

Great food for dogs wit skin problems

03/22/2014
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My dog is allergic to wheat, soy, corn and chicken by products. Found this food was being offered in my Walmart store. It has no ingredients that he's allergic too, he likes it and the price is less that other brands with the same ingredients. Hurray for Walmart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, 15 lb

very good value...

12/17/2012
By ,
conroe, texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This dog food has the same ingredients as much more expensive dog food. It's a great value and my dog likes it just as well as the super expensive stuff.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, 15 lb

Great dog food on a budget

01/22/2014
By ,
Ft Washington, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so happy that I found this dog food. When I compared the ingredients to blue buffalo it stood up for half the price! My long haired Chihuahua loves this stuff. Thanks walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, 15 lb

Pure Balance dog food

03/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's only been about a week,but so far so good,thank you
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, 15 lb

affordable good alternative to pet store food

03/16/2013
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally a dog food I can feel good about feeding to my dogs.
I have a great dane and an unknown breed from the pound.
They both love this food and seem happy at feeding times.
I give plain dry in the morning with some chicken broth added,
and add 1 can wet food with the dry at night. They go back and lick each
others bowl to make sure it is all gone. My great dane had bumps
under her chin and horrendous gas with other corn foods and those have
all but disappeared. Her chin is smooth and shiny. She is a fawn color,
and it is hard to see a shine on her hair, but she is slick and the other day,
I saw a golden shine on her slickest hair. Something must be good in this food.
My dane just had an operation for GDV (bloat/torsion) and this is the food I started her back on. I do not notice much gas, which I am thankful for, since it leads to the bloat, but
hopefully no more torsion since she had the gastropexy.
I put this dog food in water, to see how much it expanded. It didn't expand,
it just got softer and would crumble when I squeezed it. So I don't think it is a food
that will grow and expand in their stomach with water, like corn based foods.
I can't afford the "best" food, but in my opinion, this is the best for me.
I find it the best deal to get the 30 pound bag, but started off with the 15 pound bags at first.
Pure Balance also makes canned dog food, but I cannot splurge on $1 per can right now. Since I feed 14 cans a week, in addition to the dry. I have tried it, and it is also good quality.
I have just used the chicken and rice, and have not tried the lamb and rice. Because though I have heard lamb is for sensitive stomachs, I have always had the opposite when I tried lamb food in other brands. I will maybe try the lamb/rice dry in the 8 pound bag for starters one day.
My two dogs eat about 12 cups a day of this dry food, between the two of them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, 15 lb

Seems To Be A Good Dog Food, dogs like it

11/17/2012
By ,
Pennsylvania,Pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have tried lots of expensive brands of pet foods the last one made my one dog have blood in her stool, I read the reviews on pure balance and gave it a try. Every one of my 5 pets love the food, they pick out the pure balance and then eat the old regular food I'm changing from.
I like that I can get it at walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, 15 lb

PB products makes Dogs Happy

10/05/2013
By ,
Pittsburgh PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I started my three spoiled babies on the Lamb and Brown Rice. I then purchased the Chicken and Brown Rice. They Love the lamb, and didn't want to try the Chicken. So I mix it in. The Lamb and Rice and Chicken and Rice, mixed in with the PB wet 95% chicken or beef wet food. They are always satisfied and want more. They are getting a bit chubby so I don't give them more right now! For the price I like the Chicken and brown Rice. I am hoping to just get the Chicken flavor in a 35ob bag next time, and give them lamb for a treat! :D Overall very satisfied with the product and the shiny gleam on the coat! No vomiting, No diarrhea, No complaints! I never used Ol' Roy in the past. But this is worth it! and Nothing at all like the ingredients in Ol' Roy foods for dogs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, 15 lb

Good quality dog food for a great price!

11/25/2012
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First found this food on dogfoodadvisor.com, it was ranked surprisingly high for such an affordable dog food - most average grocery store brands (Ped/Pur) barely rank 1.5-2 stars, this ranks 3.5 among some much pricier brands found at specialty stores. Both of my dogs love it (an Aussie and a Lab). They've been on it for a couple of months now and their fur is noticeably softer, and they're both behaving like they're happy and feel great - can't ask for much more than that for a 7 and 12 year old! We mix it with Ol' Roy Healthy Mix moist food (in the tubs, not the cans) at night (also ranked highly by dogfoodadvisor.com), and they wolf it down every time! Definitely plan to keep them on this :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, 15 lb

Excellent Product:

09/28/2013
By ,
Puerto Rico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a Siberian Husky his 1 year and three months was giving him pedigree and he seemed to like it at first but than he got bored of the food wouldn't eat so I decided to change the food did resource and was surprised on Pure Balance I purchased a small bag at first to see if he will eat it and to my surprise he loved it I'm sticking with this food so for all Siberian Husky owner will recommend it's good food for them especially if you dog is very active like mine. This is an excellent product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, 15 lb
10/11/2013
By ,
illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading the good reviews about pure balance dog food on dog food advisor I decided to give this dog food a try it's been about a year now and I must say my 110 lb. shiloh shepherd and I are very satisfied with this dog food, she loves both pure balance dry and wet and her coat looks absolutely beautiful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, 15 lb

My dog loves it

11/27/2012
By ,
Myrtle Creek , Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My pit has food allergies and she's a picky eater when it comes to dry food but she loves this stuff. Her coat looks great and she finally stopped itching! Best of all they deliver it right to my door!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1 2 Next