Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Pure Balance Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, 30 lb

Pure Balance Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, 30 lb

Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, believes in one pure and simple thought--the best nutrition for your dog starts with the best ingredients. That's why each one of their super premium recipes contains no corn, wheat or soy and is made with carefully selected ingredients to ensure your dog gets all the nutrition he needs without any of the extra stuff he doesn't. This chicken and rice dog food contains real chicken to help build lean muscle mass in your dog so he can run, jump and play. Peas, carrots and cranberries combined with vitamins and minerals help to support a healthy immune and other vital systems. Natural omega 6 and 3 fatty acids from flaxseed and poultry fat, which is high in linoleic acid, help keep your dog's coat shiny and his skin healthy. The healthy whole grains like brown rice and oatmeal in this pure dog food deliver natural fiber that aids in digestion and proper elimination.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(70 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
50
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation93%65 out of 70reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
47 Questions | 86 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
50
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, 30 lb

MY GERMAN SHEPHERD LOVE THIS FOOD!

08/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Male German Shepherd
I recently change my dogs food to this and I have to say this is one of the best food that his been eating! It made his coat look more darker and shinier. Anyways what I like about this product is that is has NO By-Products & NO Corn. This food is also high in protein. Last I always mix this with Pure Balance Can food to make sure he has well balance complete diet. Last this food makes him Hyper! I reccomend you feeding your do this.
Heres what I feed my German Shepherd:
-Pure Balance Chicken & Brown Rice
-Pure Balance Can Food Chicken
-Grizzly Salmon Oil(Amazon)
-Dog Multivitamins
-Colostrum(Recommend by my vet, produce more white cell or called anti bodies to fight off infections and bacteria, this is an Immune system booster)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, 30 lb

Better than Blue and Wilderness

12/09/2013
By ,
Northern Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We tried the big names you see on tv, and Pure Balance beats them all.
The dogs clean the dish everyday, and have been doing so for 3 years.
They eat less- 2 dogs (1)a 95 lb lab/husky/border collie, 2)a 45 lb jack russell/gsd/??) 5 cups a day
And the vet said our big boy could stand to lose some weight
The quality of the ingredients rivals the big names, but beats them all on price.
Our dogs are healthy, they're coats are shiny and soft
We tried Blue, we tried Wilderness, and we have healthier dogs and we spend less for them.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, 30 lb

Great food for a great price

10/21/2014
By ,
Suburb of San Francisco
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this for my black lab I adopted this month. She loves it and I'll continue giving her this brand for the time being. I didn't know much about dog food and started reading about it after adopting her from an animal rescue. I originally had bought her Purina, but after taking time to read info on dog food her animal rescue gave me, I decided to buy this dog food that is healthier and affordable. After doing some research of my own, I found out a lot of the dog food out there is made with corn, soy and meat fillers which is why so many dogs now a days are also getting cancer as well. It's not what they should be eating. This has meat, vegetables and rice as the main product and not soy and corn as the main product which most dog foods have. I am on a budget and looked into some of the other dog foods offered like Blue Wilderness or Natural Choice that also don't contain corn and soy as the main product, and by far Pure Balance is the best bang for your buck. I recommend it, it's affordable and my pet loves it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, 30 lb

A very high quality food for a very good price

11/04/2013
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pure balance is such a great food for such a great price! Owners have no excuse to buy things like "beneful" for their dogs because of price. Beneful kills dogs, pure balance makes them healthier!
The ingredients are great, there aren't food colors, etc. We feed this to all of our fosters and dogs because it's cheap and great quality. I am a dog trainer and sitter, I have seen many owners feed low grade food because of price differences and suggest switching to this brand. The differences in their dogs has been remarkable. There's no reason to feed a low quality food due to pricing now, pure balance has it both.
I say this because I've witnessed first hand how much a dog's skin, coat, body type, and personality can change with a good food.
Don't believe me? Go to dogfoodadvisor.com which rates dog foods and see why this one is so good and cost effective. If you're unable to spend a lot then this is the food for you -- quality isn't sacrificed for price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
standard
high rating from dog food advisor!
Posted 11/22/2013
http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-food-reviews/pure-balance-dog-food/
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, 30 lb

Great dry dog food at the right price.

12/19/2012
By ,
Baltimore, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did plenty of research on-line and found Pure Balance to contain much of the same ingredients of other "premium" dry dog foods. What sold me was that it contained no corn products. Other foods may list corn or corn meal as the #1 ingredient. The vegetable list is what I found recommended on a number of sites. The fat is not animal fat or tallow, but derived from flaxseed and poultry fat. Animal fat/tallow is found in many of the low-end dog foods. When I started to convert my 11 year old pooch over to Pure Balance Chicken & Rice Formula by mixing in the new food, she spit out her old food and picked out the Pure Balance. She is a self feeder, has been on this for several months now and is doing great. Her stool is firmer and her coat is as shiny as ever. Don't get fooled by the "Ol Roy" brand of manufacture. I have been buying and paying almost double for her old food that doesn't have near the quality ingredients of Pure Balance. I would recommend Pure Balance to anybody looking for a great dog food at a reasonable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, 30 lb

Much smaller stools

03/13/2014
By ,
Ft.Worth,Tx.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had started my Lab on another grain free dog food, Rachael Ray Just 6, before I noticed that it contains the synthetic VitK that is getting so much attention now for causing organ damage. My PURE BALANCE came yesterday and I've fed two meals. I can already see much smaller stools when I pick up in the yard. Believe me, a large Lab can leave huge amounts.The gas problem has almost entirely gone away. I just don't know why people think they are getting a bargain with the foods that are full of corn and other grains. They have to feed more so they don't really save any money. But, it's hard to convince them. All they see is that cheap price tag. I have the Chicken and Rice Pure Balance as I think my Lab is sensitive to Lamb and I know he is to Salmon. I am so happy to be able to get a grain free and very good dog food at such a reasonable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, 30 lb

Dog loves new food!

07/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We fed our dog Pedigree for years but felt like we needed to upgrade her diet as she's gotten older. Our vet recommended Pure Balance dry and canned. Our dog loves it! She licks the bowl clean after every meal and her energy has improved.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, 30 lb

GREAT

11/10/2013
By ,
Turnersville
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using this dog food for over a month. I had to switch dog foods as my Pitbull was having constant stomach upset with his old food. It was recommended to me that I switch to a grain free food. I searched a few stores and was surprised to find the cost of many of the grain free foods that were out there. I came across Pure Balance Dog Food while looking other treats for my dog. Well I have been using this dog food for over a month and it has been nothing but great. Dog loves it. Stomach upset has stopped. Stools continue to be firm. Thank god.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, 30 lb

no corn soy or wheat

07/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My dog is allergic to corn.i had been buying him other foods without corn but they are very expensive.this food isnt my dogs love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, 30 lb

Bag Gas

10/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Gave my dog Bad Gas
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, 30 lb
09/16/2012
By ,
virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my dog had a skin irritation and I read that some dogs are allergic to corn. Well most dog food is made from corn. I switched her food to pure balance and in just a couple of weeks her allergy has cleared up. She is more active now and her coat is black and shiny again. I won't feed her anything else now. I just wish I could get it at our local Walmart instead of having to order it online.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hot Springs, AR
Pure Balance
Posted 10/10/2012
Our rescue Cairne Terrier mix is a very picky eater. Our Wiemie will eat any thing and everything he comes in to contact with! After trying many different brands I tried Pure Balance Lamb & Rice. They both love it. I just wish it came in larger bags. I've only been able to find the 15 lb bags at my Walmart.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, 30 lb

This is good food.

04/14/2013
By ,
Cocoa Beach,Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Most reviews on here are GOOD.....If you would like to see more GOOD ones go to dogfoodadvisor.com he rated it a 3 1/2 star out of 4...not bad for me...I have 7 dogs and switched form high $$ to Pure Balance...and they love it..One had a bad tummy and lots of gas since on this it is ALL gone and we are very happy for that...lol I find it to be very good for the price and see alot of people do like it as well...So please check out the website above and you decide on what YOU want not other people. I would start with the small bag....just like people everyone can't eat the same thing so why would animals be different??? My gang says....give it a lick...you will see....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ft.Worth,Tx.
Hope it also rids my Lab of gas
Posted 03/06/2014
I'm beginning to think that my Lab has a problem with Lamb as well as Salmon. The Natural Balance Salmon and Peas particularly. WOW... the gas is horrible. I've been feeding him Premium Edge which began with the Weight Loss formula which was wonderful. I didn't realize when I changed to the Lamb and Rice that there would be other ingredients not in the Weight Loss formula. I'm going to try the New Balance Chicken and Rice and hope that he finally gets rid of the gas. Just stopping his gulping his food has helped some. He used to grab it all in about two bites. Now I spread it around so he has to pick it up a bite at a time. And, I have him on Beano. I'm letting my 4 small dogs eat the salmon food as it doesn't seem to bother them. Anyway, thanks for your comments.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, 30 lb

Outstanding Dog Food

01/02/2013
By ,
Ocean Springs, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pure Balance compares to the much higher priced dog food of the same quality and is better in quality ingredients to many other brands. I have 2 large dogs and they both love this dog food, it has improved their coats, and they are healthier. I recommended the Lamb and Rice to my sister for her dog that has an allergy to both chicken and corn. I just wish Walmart would give coupons on this once in awhile.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ft.Worth,Tx.
Great price for this premium dog food.
Posted 03/11/2014
Actually, even with no Walmart coupon, this is a very good price on this food. I've been paying 43.00 to 50.00 for 35 lbs of Premium Edge which is an excellent food usually but my Lab gets gas on both the Salmon/Sweet Potato and the Lamb and Rice. And, the Premium Edge contains the synthetic VitK that there is so much talk about now causing organ damage. The Pure Balance not only is grain and preservative free, it also does not contain this ingredient. I'm thrilled to death to pay 31.88 for 30 lbs of the chicken if it takes care of my Lab's gas. Mine is supposed to show up today and I'm keeping my fingers crossed.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, 30 lb

IAMS move over

10/23/2012
By ,
High Point, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Did plenty of research online before making any purchases for my new pooch. Product exceeds expectations and the new and old pooch love it.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
metro boston
IAMS move to the circular file
Posted 04/01/2013
pure balance is exponentially better than IAMS at almost the same price!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, 30 lb

Best Value High Quality Food

11/13/2013
By ,
Cookstown, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is not your typical Ole Roy type of dog food you would get from Walmart. This is a highly rated, highly reviewed, high quality dog food for a fair price. It's main ingredients are actually good quality meat based as opposed to corn meal or fillers that are in most brand name foods you would think you could trust if you've never looked into dog food quality. For example, forget about all those brands that you know, even if their packaging and marketing claim its good for your dog. I'm referring to Purina, Iams, Pedigree, just to name a few. Do your research, your dog will appreciate it, and your dog will bring you and/or your family more happiness for a longer time if you feed it well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, 30 lb

Great Inexpensive "Premium" Food

09/14/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I switched to this from a more expensive holistic food. With 2 dogs, we needed to cut down on how much we're spending. The ingredients on this are very similar to other more expensive premium foods. Both of my dogs seem to like this food, including my dog with a sensitive stomach. I definitely recommend it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
metro boston
close to blue at half the price
Posted 04/01/2013
I couldn't afford the 2 dollar/lb. name brand anymore so I checked dogfoodadvisor.com site and pure balance was relatively highly rated,at 1 dollar/lb. the quality is not commensurate with its price,its an unapproachable value for a premium food.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, 30 lb

great value

10/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the money, this is probably the best dogfood you can find!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, 30 lb

GREAT DOG FOOD!!!!

03/29/2014
By ,
Naugatuck, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have two mixed breed dogs (part Lab & part spaniel & I have been feeding them Iams for two year. My daughter recommend that I try the Pure Balance w/Real Chicken & brown rice. She has three dogs of her own & that is what she feeds her dogs.
They love it.
They are very active & really seem to enjoy it. Plus the cost is great, as I'm now retired.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, 30 lb

Happy I bought it

04/08/2014
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this dog food as my dog was getting sick on Beneful. He loves this Pure Balance Chicken and Brown Rice and has been feeling much better. He's 8 years old and has begun to get all that energy back. I will purchase this again from Walmart.com.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Pure Balance Dog Food, Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe, 30 lb

Great Cost Effective Dog Food for Puppies

01/23/2013
By ,
Massanutten, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 4 month old German Shepherd that weighs a little more than 50 pounds. I wanted a modest priced dog food that was good for my pup. The Pure Balance Dog Food seemed to be a good product because of the absence of fillers in the food. However, Pure Balance does not have any information on the package as to what age the food has been formulated for -- which I think is an unfortunate oversight on Ole Roy's part. I called Ole Roy and was assured that the formula was good for dogs of all ages, to include puppies like mine. By the way, I encouraged them to add such language to the package to help consumers.
So, I bought the Chicken and Brown Rice product and my pup loves it. He has been eating it now for a few weeks and seems to be more active, his coat seems brighter, and his dumps in the backyard are smaller and less frequent. He also is scratching less.
I wanted to point out something very important from a cost standpoint. Nearly all other dog foods prescribe 5 cups of food for a dog weighing 50 pounds. Pure Balance only prescribes 3 3/4 cups of food for the same weight. I asked Ole Roy whether their directions were accurate and I was told that since the food had less filler, it required less food to nourish the dog. I can tell you that I free feed my Pup and he is satisfied with around 4 cups of food per day. Whereas, he was eating 5 cups of both Ole Roy Puppy Food and Purina Puppy Chow fed to him in the past. So, this food may be more expensive, but you actually feed the dog less food -- this food is actually cost effective. Plus, I can pick it up at my local Wal-Mart during regular shopping and not have to make a separate trip to a Pet Store.
For these reasons, I concluded that this a great cost effective dog food for puppies. The less dumps in the backyard is just icing on the cake -- okay, bad analogy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 69 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next