Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Conair John Frieda Salon Shape Hot Air Brush, Model JFHA5

Conair John Frieda Salon Shape Hot Air Brush, Model JFHA5

Transform your hair with the John Frieda Salon Shape Hot Air Brush (Model JFHA5). This premium John Frieda hot air brush features advanced ionic power and gives volume and shine to your hair while it simultaneously dries each strand. Instant heat up makes drying fast and safe all while delivering high heat. It's convenient and easy to use. Designed with advanced ionic technology, the John Frieda Salon Shape Hot Air Brush generates up to 50% more ions, allowing you to achieve smooth, frizz-free hair that is shiny and more manageable. The ergonomic design makes it easy to use from any angle. Whether you have long hair or a short cut, the John Frieda JFHA5 Hot Air Brush is lightweight and well balanced for easy movement, and the contoured handle makes it comfortable to grip even for long periods of time.
Average Customer Rating:
4.34 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation87%46 out of 53reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 47 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for John Frieda Salon Shape Hot Air Brush, Model JFHA5

Only used it once, but loved the results!

11/29/2012
By ,
madison, ct
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Although I've only used this once, I think it is a fine product and would recommend it to anyone with medium length to long hair--which is also its limitation: NOT good for short hair. I purchased two, one for myself and one for my mother. I was actually looking forward to giving it to my mom because I thought it would be so much easier for her. Unfortunately, when it arrived, the barrel diameter is too big for her shorter hair. The large size is fine for me, but I wish it also came in a smaller size for her. When looking for a similar product in the smaller size for her, I cannot find another product that compares in quality (any suggestions anyone?). I'll probably keep the extra one as a gift for someone else because it is so nice!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for John Frieda Salon Shape Hot Air Brush, Model JFHA5

Eliminates Frizz and shines like a salon

01/06/2014
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have thick, frizzy, wavy, coarse hair so before I purchased this I was blow drying my hair and using a straightener. Using the straightener was damaging my hair and it was never silky and shiny. I purchased John Frieda hot hair bush and it eliminated the frizz and left my hair silky and smooth all day. I dried my hair about 90% and then used this hot brush to style and dry my damp hair. This brush was excellent because it actually grabbed my hair to be able to roll it and style it. I had purchased Conair Infinity rotating hot air brush and was very disappointed because the bristles were so soft that is just went over hair and did not grab my hair to brush it. The Conair rotating hot air brush was terrible and did not reduce frizz or leave my hair silky and shiny.
This product is worth the $30 and every day you can have the salon silky and smooth hair. It does not take an additional time for me to style my hair with this and I no longer need the straightener.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for John Frieda Salon Shape Hot Air Brush, Model JFHA5

Great value for the money

12/06/2013
By ,
Bellingham, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Used it a couple of days ago for the first time, with no problem. It dried my hair in less time than my hair dryer normally does and shaped it just the way I wanted it. My hair is layered and brushes my shoulders. No problem with lifting strands and wrapping my hair on the brush. I bought it because my hair is changing and the top layer gets frizzy on the fly aways. So I wanted my hair to smooth that out. No frizzies but I could still see fly aways. I did not have the patience to go over and over on the same strand. It is basically one pass and move on to next section. But subsequent regular brushing during the day and the following day did away with the fly aways, so it probably needed a couple of more passes on the hair that needed more help. The curl was exactly what I was looking for, a soft loose one. My hair dresser had recommended 1-1/2 inch barrel which is what this one is, and it worked just as she said it would.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for John Frieda Salon Shape Hot Air Brush, Model JFHA5

Ease of styling.

04/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought the John Frieda Salon Shape Hot Air Brush because I saw it in a magazine. I have shoulder length fine hair. I always used a blow dryer and a round brush to style my hair. This product is fabulous. I now use my blow dryer to dry my hair damp, then use the hot air brush to finish styling. It's so easy to style with one hand instead of holding the blow dryer in one and the round brush in the other. It works great. I also use it for touch ups between shampoos. I absolutely love this product. Would highly recommend this product!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for John Frieda Salon Shape Hot Air Brush, Model JFHA5

Best hot air brush I've ever used!

07/09/2013
By ,
Bradenton, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was concerned that the barrel may be to big for easy use on my mid neck hair length. Concerns are all gone, works wonderfully and easily. Smooths out my frizzies and adds body to my fine hair. I strictly bought this item to use it for smoothing out my hair and for more volume at the roots. I do not recommend this for curling your hair, other than your ends and bangs, the barrel is too big at least with the length of my hair anyway. Love the fact that it isn't as noisy or as hot as my previous hot air brush. (revlon brand) Thank you John Frieda!! Hope this review helps someone!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for John Frieda Salon Shape Hot Air Brush, Model JFHA5

GREAT FOR LONG, THICK HAIR!

11/26/2012
By ,
Sunrise, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you have long, thick hair, then this is the hot air brush you need. The handle is large (not for small hands) and the brush really grabs your hair. The temperatures are lower than most hot air brushes, but it still does the job and the possibility of burning yourself much less. I have used many hot air brushes (and own quite a few), but this brush comes closest to the Panasonic I used years ago and could not replace. Very good quality brush for the money.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Trinidad
Posted 07/03/2013
Hi can you tell me if this brush spins?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for John Frieda Salon Shape Hot Air Brush, Model JFHA5

Fantastic! Easy for blow dry challenged folks

10/25/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This exceeded my expectations. The results were just like a blow out from a salon professional. Gives volume and shine. Excellent for the price at Walmart. Doesn't hurt your hand like using a brush and a blow dryer. If you lack patience and are blow out challenged, this will be a great purchase.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for John Frieda Salon Shape Hot Air Brush, Model JFHA5
01/06/2013
By ,
Ontario, Canada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have very dry frizzy hair and for years have had to use a flat iron after drying to remove most of the frizz. My stylist recommended using a good hair dryer and omitting the flat iron. I purchased a very expensive dryer and used it with a good round brush but still did not acheive the smoothness that my stylist gives me. I returned my expensive hair dryer and after reading the reviews of the John Frieda hot air brush I purchased one yesterday and tried it this morning. This is the smoothest my hair has ever turned out at home.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for John Frieda Salon Shape Hot Air Brush, Model JFHA5

Best product ever!

07/08/2014
By ,
Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My hair has never looked so healthy as it does after using this product. So easy to use. I plan on buying multiples.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for John Frieda Salon Shape Hot Air Brush, Model JFHA5

Great styling tool

12/04/2013
By ,
Leominster, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really helps straighten curly hair. Dries and styles, although hair needs to be more dry than wet, so I let it air dry for about 15-20 minutes then style. So far, have used twice and happy with this product.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for John Frieda Salon Shape Hot Air Brush, Model JFHA5

great product!

06/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are round-brush-blowdryer challenged like me, this product is for you! Easy to use and gives you a salon blow out look with your own two hands!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for John Frieda Salon Shape Hot Air Brush, Model JFHA5

Not enough power

03/26/2014
By ,
MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This takes too long to do my hair. It does not have enough power. I thought this one would be great but I need more power to help pull out the curl in my hair.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for John Frieda Salon Shape Hot Air Brush, Model JFHA5

Perfect for hard to control hair

01/25/2013
By ,
Scottsdale, az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
most blowdryers just give my hair tons of volume, but I end up looking like Stevie nicks. I saw this brush blower on am tv. It was proclaimed to be able to control all the frizz from regular blowdryers. So I bought it and am I glad I did. Wallah! Perfect hair. I love this and would highly recommend it for all us gals with hard to control hair
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for John Frieda Salon Shape Hot Air Brush, Model JFHA5

Great product!

09/25/2013
By ,
Austin, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only used once but it worked great on my thick hair. I did however have to let my hair air dry just a bit before using because my hair holds a lot of moisture. It works great. Heats up great. I didn't give it 5 stars only because it doesn't spin. I thought it was going to but that was my mistake- the one that did was very expensive and I didn't buy.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for John Frieda Salon Shape Hot Air Brush, Model JFHA5

love it!!!

08/23/2013
By ,
Saint Charles, Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is my second hot air brush. I bought a new one cause my hair started to get frizzy after drying it in the ends. I used all kinds of products and nothing helped. After reading through some of the reviews I noticed a couple other people talking about frizzy hair problems. So I decided to give it a try and I totally love it!!! I don't have any more issues with frizz and I don't even need to use any products to blow dry. I also like the fact that the cable is much longer then my old one. It would be nice however if it would come with different size heads to change out like my old one. You can not unscrew this head its one piece. Your able to open the bottom of it to clean out the filter that's in it. I would absolutely buy it again! It also makes my hair shiny! Looks like fresh cut each time I dry it!!!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for John Frieda Salon Shape Hot Air Brush, Model JFHA5

Great for quick shape and volume

12/27/2013
By ,
Southbury CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for adding the right volume and shaping for my bob!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for John Frieda Salon Shape Hot Air Brush, Model JFHA5

John Frieda Hot Air Brush

08/18/2013
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This brush is a hum-dinger. It exceeds my expectations and I am delighted with it. It really does my hair up beautifully. I encourage anyone wanting a hot air brush to try it.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for John Frieda Salon Shape Hot Air Brush, Model JFHA5

Makes it much easier to dry

11/14/2013
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros:
Easy to use.
Does not get the hair tangled.
Does a great job blow drying and straightening.
cons:
The high is too hot and low is not hot enough.
Gets too hot at the tip. Can be uncomfortable on hot setting if you choose to use both hands which you often do.
The regular blow dry with round brush gives much more volume and fullness.
I use on dry hair, as I am concerned of blow drying damp to dry will over damage my hair. Still does a great job get the frizzes out and straighten my hair.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for John Frieda Salon Shape Hot Air Brush, Model JFHA5
07/18/2013
By ,
Dayton, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use, only need one hand, does not tangle in hair, instant body & shape!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for John Frieda Salon Shape Hot Air Brush, Model JFHA5

Love It!

12/07/2013
By ,
Berwick Maine
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Never knew any such product was on the market till my hairdresser told me. Would have bought one years ago if I would have known. Love how easy it is to get the hair style I always wanted and in a short amount of time.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 46 total reviews
1 2 3 Next