Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Toshiba Toshiba SDK1000KU Upconversion DVD Player with Progressive Scan, Refurbished

Toshiba Toshiba SDK1000KU Upconversion DVD Player with Progressive Scan, Refurbished

The Toshiba SDK1000KU Upconversion DVD Player with Progressive Scan features upconversion to a full 1080p of HD resolution. This Toshiba DVD Player supports a wide variety of formats that include DVD-Video, DVD-R, DVD+R, DVD-RW, DVD+RW, SVCD, VCD, CD, CD-R and CD-RW. An HDMI port with REGZA-LINK functionality makes this refurbished DVD player easy to install and use with most modern HDTVs. The SDK1000KU Upconversion Toshiba DVD Player with Progressive Scan is compatible with Dolby Digital and DTS multi-channel sound systems. A parental lock allows for easy adult controls when using this refurbished DVD player. The upconversion capabilities of this Toshiba DVD player allow it to seamlessly translate non-HD DVDs on to high-resolution screens without losing quality from the DVD's original image.
Average Customer Rating:
4.346 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation85%22 out of 26reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 25 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Toshiba SDK1000KU Upconversion DVD Player with Progressive Scan, Refurbished
12/06/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far, so good. Normally, I prefer Sony DVD players but for some reason, I was having playback problems of DVDs that I burned, using my Sony player.
I thought that I'd try this Toshiba and it seems to work well. Also, new Sony standard DVD players no longer have an LED readout on the front panel. This Toshiba does, which was also a selling point for me.
Good price. I'd do, again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Toshiba SDK1000KU Upconversion DVD Player with Progressive Scan, Refurbished
12/06/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picked this up to hook up to the new HDTV in the playroom. The previous reviews were so-so. I'm very happy w/this so far. It plays all of the DVDs that we've thrown at it with no issues. A simple tool for a simple job- but it works!
I loved that it came with a HDMI wire- it saved me from having to use one of my extras.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Toshiba SDK1000KU Upconversion DVD Player with Progressive Scan, Refurbished
12/27/2012
By ,
Marquette, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
easy to install and works good
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Toshiba SDK1000KU Upconversion DVD Player with Progressive Scan, Refurbished

Great bargain that helps me to do my exercises!

02/23/2013
By ,
Terrell, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted this to add to my work space and new TV next to my computer so I could do my exercises in my office space rather than having to shut down and go to another part of the house for exercise. For whatever reason, my exercise DVDs would not play through my computer. Decided not to bug the hubby to figure it out and I bought the TV and player to solve the problem and not tie up the computer. Happy camper I am for sure.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Toshiba SDK1000KU Upconversion DVD Player with Progressive Scan, Refurbished

Great DVD player.

11/14/2013
By ,
carlinville
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just purchased this and it works fine, but time will tell the true story.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Toshiba SDK1000KU Upconversion DVD Player with Progressive Scan, Refurbished
09/22/2013
By ,
Monterey, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Right out of the box, I used an old scratched DVD to test the quality. I have a new Visio 1080P television and used the HDMI cable for the connection. It's true that this helps the playback quality and upconversion. I love the value and results.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Toshiba SDK1000KU Upconversion DVD Player with Progressive Scan, Refurbished

Great DVD player

05/06/2013
By ,
Oskaloosa, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a refurbished DVD player. I could see nothing wrong with it and it works perfectly. The price was great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Toshiba SDK1000KU Upconversion DVD Player with Progressive Scan, Refurbished

Does a great job,near Bl-Ray quality

04/23/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plug and play is the simple way this product displays.Good picture quality is an understtemant.super price too.Toshiba makes a swell product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Toshiba SDK1000KU Upconversion DVD Player with Progressive Scan, Refurbished

Worked like new.

04/29/2013
By ,
Forest Park, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PLayed what was needed and more! Great product and arrived a day early :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Toshiba SDK1000KU Upconversion DVD Player with Progressive Scan, Refurbished

Excellent purchase

08/04/2013
By ,
Delanco, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product was an excellent purchase. Great value for the price. Compatible with existing Toshiba TV. Easy installation and operation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Toshiba SDK1000KU Upconversion DVD Player with Progressive Scan, Refurbished

Works well, fast hook up!

04/02/2013
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great little dvd player. My friend hooked it up for me in just a few minutes with the HDMI cable that came with it. It also comes with one other type of cable, but I forget right now if it was composite or component. I think it was composite. But I purchased this dvd player because my old one wouldnt work with my new tv because it was too old so this one works great with it. THe picture is wonderful. I havent quite figured out all the controls beyond the basics yet but I'm very pleased with it. For the price, it's a great deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Toshiba SDK1000KU Upconversion DVD Player with Progressive Scan, Refurbished
06/16/2013
By ,
Ocala FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Defective unit that was shipped before it was rebuilt.. Defective label was still on it and no operating manual was enclosed
RETURNED TO LOCAL WALMART
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Toshiba SDK1000KU Upconversion DVD Player with Progressive Scan, Refurbished

Excellent ! I would recommend this...

08/26/2013
By ,
OHIO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered another DVD player which wouldn't work...I tried it on two TV's and tried every which way to make it work..No dice.., so ,I thought I would order another one , which was refurbished...
Maybe that one had been checked out to play...Sure enough, it is great...It hooks up with only one cable and upconverts to give 1080p resolution..This is a great player ! The remote control is a large full sized one too...easy to use and read...Also, since sometimes these players don't last for more than a year, I bought a two year warranty from Walmart...Now, I will get at least three years of service out of this one...I would buy this one again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Toshiba SDK1000KU Upconversion DVD Player with Progressive Scan, Refurbished

So far, so good.

10/15/2013
By ,
Mauldin, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The dvd player works great. We've had it a week and have only watched one movie but the picture was clear and crisp. The dvd was a standard def dvd, dvd player HD with up conversion, tv is HD. All worked well together...again, for the one and only time it has been used. We'll see how it goes from here.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Toshiba SDK1000KU Upconversion DVD Player with Progressive Scan, Refurbished

Worth the low price

03/25/2013
By ,
Fort Myers, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have had it only a few weeks, but it seems to working fine, and I have been very happy with other Toshiba products, so...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Toshiba SDK1000KU Upconversion DVD Player with Progressive Scan, Refurbished

Worked good for awhile

08/24/2013
By ,
Norman, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am so mad! This player worked well until 3 days after the 90 day warranty expired - then without warning it quit playing the audio. The picture played fine but no audio.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Toshiba SDK1000KU Upconversion DVD Player with Progressive Scan, Refurbished

Not great

06/12/2013
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Two problems with this DVD player. 1) It doesn't keep it's place. In other words, if you want to leave the movie in the middle and turn the DVD player off until the next day, the player starts over at the beginning. You have to remember the chapter number, which is displayed, and then get back into the movie that way. 2) As far as I can find out, it only plays regular movie DVD's. It won't play RW DVDs that you make yourself on your computer. Therefore, I was disappointed with the player.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Dayton, OH
Posted 07/19/2013
One comment regarding "Not great".....ANY DVD player that you turn off will not resume the movie where you stopped it as a VHS would have. So really, this is not an issue with the DVD player itself.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Toshiba SDK1000KU Upconversion DVD Player with Progressive Scan, Refurbished
07/24/2013
By ,
detroit,mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great dvd player, and easy to use!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Toshiba SDK1000KU Upconversion DVD Player with Progressive Scan, Refurbished

not good quality

07/13/2013
By ,
riverside, ca
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
u get what you pay for.....
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Toshiba SDK1000KU Upconversion DVD Player with Progressive Scan, Refurbished
05/14/2013
By ,
Kannapolis,NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great,fast easy set up. quiet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next