Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Toshiba Toshiba 50" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV,(3.2" ultra-slim) 50M2U

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Toshiba Toshiba 50" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV,(3.2" ultra-slim) 50M2U

The Toshiba 50" LED HDTV gives big screen seekers what they crave: big, bold 1080p Full HD resolution at a value others can't beat. And with the sleek new Aero Design, the 1080p 60Hz HDTV looks great with any decor. Step up to 1080p Full HD with more pixel resolution than of standard HD for incredible image clarity to TV and your PC. Creates pictures that seem to pop off the screen. The new Dynamic Mode enhances color, sharpness, brightness and contrast to provide incredible picture quality. Audyssey Premium Television is a suite of advanced audio technologies that helps produce clear, rich and natural sound. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Toshiba 50" 1080p 60Hz HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.548 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation93%39 out of 42reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Toshiba 50" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV,(3.2" ultra-slim) 50M2U

great product for the value

09/30/2012
By ,
DFW, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
first off i've only had this TV for 3 days, also this is my first 50" TV, first time Toshiba, and LED. It is replacing a 32" insignia LCD, which still works pretty good. For $548 you can't ask for anything better, its a 50" LED TV for a far less than most others. It would have been way better if it was a 120Hz, but i really can't notice it, at least not when i compared it side by side at the store. I use it to play on the Xbox 360 and coming from the 32" it really makes a big difference. Sound is not theater like, but it does its job, picture is really good and clear. Its not a very fancy TV thats for sure, but it sure will please anybody looking for a big screen. Hooking up the xbox or any system (i suppose) will have to be trough either HD (color stream) cables or HDMI. i thought the tv was broken when i hooked up the xbox because i do not have the HD cables, so HDMI solved it and image and games look awesome. i would definitely recommend this tv, if you are weary about buying it, i was since there are no reviews. but i do not regret buying it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+84points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Atlanta Area
Good TV for $548
Posted 08/28/2013
The only problem I have is that it takes a L O N G time to turn on. I have my cable box on HDMI #1, and when I turn both the TV and cable box on... It sometimes won't recognize the connection, so we stare at the black screen for 4 or 5 minutes. I've tried switching to HDMI #2, but it's doing the same thing.
To stop this from happening, I simply leave the TV on, and turn the cable box on or off.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Toshiba 50" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV,(3.2" ultra-slim) 50M2U

Met expectations and more!

10/24/2012
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought tv 2 weeks ago and absolutley love it! $548 for 50" led. Its not 120hz,but 60hz. Cant tell difference between my sony 55"led 120hz 1080p. My other are 2 lcd's toshiba 32" and look fantastic also. Slim frame bezel looks sharp. Color crisp. only 2 hdmi's but thats all i need. Read many reviews before pulling the gun and decided since i relied on reviews to make my purchase i should offer one as well. You wont be disappointed! The sound is very good also. I didnt have any issues what so ever. But, while i was at walmart purchasing this i over heard a couple w/ crack screen when delivered from purchae online. I recommend verifing functionality and or inspection at store before loading up to take home. Again,.. I read reviews on almost everything i buy and thought i should offer my experience as i relied heavily on others.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Review 3 for Toshiba 50" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV,(3.2" ultra-slim) 50M2U
10/09/2012
By ,
Clarksville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV is an exceptional value. A 50" LED TV at this price is wonderful. Only possible negative that would be worth mentioning is the limit of 2 HDMI ports. Not an issue for me, but may be a factor for others. Thank you Walmart. This set is priced higher everywhere else!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Review 4 for Toshiba 50" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV,(3.2" ultra-slim) 50M2U

Great Picture and Awsome value

10/16/2012
By ,
New Brighton, Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You can't find a 50" led for this price anywhere. Not even close to this price. This tv has an excellent picture when manually fine tuned. Out of the box the picture is too dark and saturated. After you calibrate it, the picture will match any other more expensive 50" plasma or led. I have a Panasonic th-50px60u Plasma and the picture can be very comparable, but the toshiba has more detail since it is 1080p.
Best of all, for the price you can have a name brand tv instead of an off brand.
This tv is an excellent value. Just make sure you get a calibration disc to get the beautiful picture that it is capable of.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
kansas
Calibration
Posted 10/19/2012
What does calibration mean?I will like to know how you calibrate this tv? Where can i find the calibration disc?
+4points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Toshiba 50" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV,(3.2" ultra-slim) 50M2U

Price Value can't be beat. Good price

10/16/2012
By ,
LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price was super low price of $600 tax included. At this time, this is hands down the best price for a new technology LED. I ordered 5 of these and each time Walmart's inventory wasn't correct so I had to keep searching and calling stores. The next closest comparable unit was $675 +$55 shipping. Watching Hulu PLus & blu-ray is quite awesome. Research tells me 60hz is fine for non-sports and it is. I don't want sports so I'm not paying extra $100 for 120hz. Easy to set up onto table. I waited for 6 yrs for prices to drop to my budget (still using a tube tv) with the right technology and features.
Pros: This price can't be beat for at least the next 10 months. Very Good display & picture. Does what it's suppose to.
Cons: Only 2 HDMI ports, no swivel base/stand, menu isn't intuitive
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Central New York
Black Fridy Deal
Posted 11/23/2012
Purchased FOUR of these for $299 Each +tax from Wal Mart on a price match from an advertised deal in a Sears ad.
After reading the reviews looks like an awesome deal.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Toshiba 50" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV,(3.2" ultra-slim) 50M2U

Get this TV

11/02/2012
By ,
Warner Robins, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All I can say is wow! I had a bad experience with another TV I got from Walmart and when they gave me my money back a manager told me about this TV. I had a LCD before and this LED is TWICE as good. I had it out of the box and set up in minutes. The mount that came with the TV can be used to sit on a stand or mount it on the wall. Because of our business I didn't watch TV very much and was not exposed to HDTV. When I turned this TV on the picture quality was amazing. You can see the smallest details in a person’s face and football is INCREDIBLE. The best part is this TV is the same size as the piece of junk I got the first time with better quality, and I paid the SAME price. Good looking out Walmart manager who gave me the tip!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 7 for Toshiba 50" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV,(3.2" ultra-slim) 50M2U

Best value out there for a basic 1080p 50" LED

10/19/2012
By ,
Kennewick, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for a great value for a name brand basic 1080p 50" LED TV, this is it. The picture and sound quality are exceptional for a TV at this price. I was going to wait for Black Friday to buy a new TV but could not resist this deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 8 for Toshiba 50" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV,(3.2" ultra-slim) 50M2U

Great HDTV for price

10/30/2012
By ,
Scottsdale, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unbelieveable you can buy this for $548 (if you can still find one). I shopped 47" to 50" HDTV's for 2 weeks and could not find anything this good for under $900. I did find an open box 50" Samsung that looked just as good but it was $1100. It did have more features, that I didn't need, but the picture was not any better. This Toshiba has great color, contrast, and black levels once you dial in your calibration. I found some suggestions online and then tweaked them a little bit and now the picture is fantastic. This is an incredible value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 9 for Toshiba 50" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV,(3.2" ultra-slim) 50M2U

Basic TV without all the bells and whistles

11/28/2012
By ,
Wisconsin
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a basic standard TV with no real features. I actually like this because I don't need any of the "smart" applications or fancy refresh rate. Some of the nice things about this TV is that it was inexpensive at $548 and the audio is quite loud even at being at such a low volume setting. The bad things about this TV is that it's really not slim for an LED TV. It's kind of fat like an actual LCD TV. This may bother some people. The time it takes to turn on TV after you push the power button is quite long compared to other TVs I've had in the past. The remote control's IR seems to have a very small field of vision. Again, minor things but can be deal breakers for some. Overall, picture quality is average to good and I felt the value based on price paid is good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 10 for Toshiba 50" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV,(3.2" ultra-slim) 50M2U
10/29/2012
By ,
USA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great sound and price, good picture. Glad I was able to get a toshiba tv at this price. I really like how it automatically syncs to things like cable box remote ect. it made set up very easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 11 for Toshiba 50" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV,(3.2" ultra-slim) 50M2U

Greatness!!!!

11/21/2012
By ,
Clarksville , tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best tv I've had by far. And for the price you really can't beat it great picture and sound I would recommended to anyone looking for something new.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 12 for Toshiba 50" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV,(3.2" ultra-slim) 50M2U
02/28/2013
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've never owned a flat screen. The last t.v. I bought was in 2001. When searching for a t.v. I found this one and couldn't believe how great the price was for such a big t.v. There was only one review which said that when the t.v. was delivered it was already damaged. So I decided to buy it anyway and also get insurance just in case something like that were to happen . I mean it's not like all the t.v.s are going to be damaged. So imagine my surprise when I finally got it and hooked it up and mine was completely ruined. The top left corner had a foot long line of damage in the picture, there were about 5 lines of damage in the middle of the screen and when the t.v. had an all black screen, I could see that half the screen was black and the other half a foggy grey color. This review might not be that helpful since I didn't get a chance to see how great the t.v.could've been. But with so much damage I never had the chance.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 13 for Toshiba 50" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV,(3.2" ultra-slim) 50M2U

Awesome tv

10/25/2012
By ,
San Antonio,Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love our big tv, Great picture and sound quality!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 14 for Toshiba 50" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV,(3.2" ultra-slim) 50M2U

Good value, but you may want to spend more

11/10/2012
By ,
canton, ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for $548 because of the back-lit LED after returning another vendor's 55" edge lit LED SmartTV for $995 that had a worse picture than my 5 year old 52" LCD. The picture is very good. I wish i'd have spent another $200 for the 55" though.
Pros:
Excellent picture quality
Simple menu system
Light, thin, and not overly wide
Cons:
Actually less than 50"
Volume control is not granular enough. level 4 on this = level 16 on my ld TV and even level 1 is too loud at times.
Only 2 HDMI inputs and 1 component/composite = can't hook up cable box + dvd + xbox + Wii at same time (may old had 4 HDMI = composite + component)
Coax in won't accept any of my cords (screw in seems to be too shallow)
Startup time cold be a bit faster
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 15 for Toshiba 50" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV,(3.2" ultra-slim) 50M2U

No Frills basic LED LCD TV

10/31/2012
By ,
Maricopa, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great TV for a fair price, it is just a basic unit without any frills, picture is great, and the sound is ok coming from a tv. Nice size in a 20 ft room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Review 16 for Toshiba 50" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV,(3.2" ultra-slim) 50M2U

Pleased with picture.

11/18/2012
By ,
PERRY, UTAH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Having problems with the sound but I think it is our surround sound. Overall We are happy with the purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 17 for Toshiba 50" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV,(3.2" ultra-slim) 50M2U

Disappointed

11/02/2012
By ,
USA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this TV because of the excellent price but it has some issues and will be returned to store. The TV shuts off and the volume gets stuck during shows.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 18 for Toshiba 50" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV,(3.2" ultra-slim) 50M2U
10/29/2012
By ,
Gardner, Ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value, really nice TV
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 19 for Toshiba 50" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV,(3.2" ultra-slim) 50M2U

Excellent product especially for the money!!

10/28/2012
By ,
Houston, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looks and sounds great!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 20 for Toshiba 50" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV,(3.2" ultra-slim) 50M2U
10/28/2012
By ,
Georgetown, DE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THE PICTURE ON THIS TV IS EXCELLENT. THE SPEAKER COULD BE BETTER,BUT FOR THE PRICE IT IS REALLY REALLY GOOD!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1 2 Next