Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

RCA RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

The RCA 42" LED HDTV 1080p 60Hz (model LED42C45RQ) features a brilliant 1080p Full HD picture for your viewing pleasure. Connect up to three HD devices via the provided HDMI ports on this RCA LED HDTV. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the RCA LED 3.4" Ultra-Slim HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
3.715 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(369 Reviews) 354
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
178
4 stars
80
3 stars
18
2 stars
14
1 star
79
Customer Recommendation73%268 out of 369reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
135 Questions | 208 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
178
4 stars
80
3 stars
18
2 stars
14
1 star
79
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

It worked

04/14/2014
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I returned a RCA earlier this year due to the screen not working properly so I was scared to purchase another one. When I went to pick up my order via "site to store" I asked if I could open and plug up the tv before taking it home. The little older lady said sure and helped me do so. I did not want to take the tv home if it had any visible issues. It did not. The tv works fine, looks great. Not sure if this is just all flatscreens or this one - when up close to the tv, the picture quality looks grainy and depending on the tv pic settings, sometimes looks faded/blurry. At a distance the picture quality is fine. One other thing, not sure if this is all RCA brands, but I could not 4 the life of me program 3 different remotes to the tv nor to the RCA sound bar that I have. All other devices programmed fine, which none others are RCA. So I guess I am stuck with using 2 remotes. vs having 1 to control everything. Also had my BF who is way more technology oriented try to program the tv and he could not either. He went online looking for other codes, instructions, etc. Nothing worked, We both gave up!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Will never buy RCA again

12/27/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Got this as a christmas gift, went through all the trouble of picking this up at the store, gift wrapping it, removing the old tv, and setting this one up. turned it on and left half of the screen was very dim and blurry. i returned it for a full refund and will never buy RCA again. when i was in line to return there was a guy right behind me returning 4 of these same TVs. He said the picture quality was awful. stay away from RCA and spend a little bit more on a higher quality brand. Even if this TV hadn't been defective, I'm sure it wouldnt have lasted very long.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Item was delivered damaged and returned

06/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The tv arrived damaged and was returned. A vizio tv with similar specs was purchased in store.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? No
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

tv IS loud enuff. just turn on the surround sound!

08/20/2013
By ,
Indy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shipping was super fast (and free). Arrived 1 day early. Picture quality is superb and sound is excellent.
I must note that some reviewers were unhappy w/ the sound because the speakers are in the back of the set. This issue is easily fixed by going into the sound menu and switching it to "surround sound". THIS TURNS ON THE FRONT SPEAKERS! When you scroll down to the surround sound option, it even indicates something along the lines of "surround sound for front speakers use". But however, in my opinion, its plenty loud enough w/ out the front speakers on.
I would highly recommend this set to anyone sick of wasting time and money on mediocre TV's that conveniently "turn off by themselves" right after the warranty expires.
...I would like to add that this TV is very attractive as well. W/ a thick/heavy tempered glass stand and sleek ultra-thin frame, its nice to look at even when turned off. The remote that comes w/ it is super sleek and modern looking as well. W/ chrome accents on the scroll button.
Finally. A decent TV at a decent price. You will not be dissatisfied w/ this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+568points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Fantastic deal on a really good HDTV

11/16/2013
By ,
Raleigh, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered this TV via the Walmart website and picked it up at site-to-store. Free shipping. A 42" HDTV for only $329! A really great deal.
The picture is very good. The default settings were OK, but after adjusting (mostly increasing the brightness), I think it looks great.
The sound is much better than the TV it is replacing (a Dynex from Best Buy), but it is just a little tinny. It does not rattle at higher volumes, like the old TV, though, which makes it seem MUCH better than what I had.
It is also much lighter than the old TV, and the LEDs will make it use much less energy.
I hooked up U-Verse via one of the 2 HDMI ports. The DVR is hooked up via using component (RGB) cables and, at this point, looks terrible. I think I have bad cables. After buying new cables I am assuming this problem will be resolved.
PC Magazine rated this TV "excellent" and said, "If you're looking for a capable, yet affordable small-screen set without all the perks that come with pricier sets, the RCA LED42C45RQ should be at the top of your list."
I agree.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+84points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Gainesville, GA
Question?
Posted 12/16/2013
Does this tv come with a stand as pictured?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Really Nice TV (Color/Sound)

03/29/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ordered TV online and it was delivered in a few days. TV is really nice all the way around. And to add, the sound is very good . . . I say that because most newer TVs are designed (in my opinion) so that you have to buy the surround sound/theatre sound devices (more money). Overall, very happy w/ what we bought and the cost was excellent ($269).
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Dont Forget RCA

05/22/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I use to sell electronics for many years. Im sure you're going to see good or great for the money this is my third RCA Because of this. The First RCA Was the 37 inch got it 5 years ago no problems good picture bad sound. Next was the 40 Inch 3 years ago no problems good picture bad sound and now the 42 Inch. Same story no problems. good picture bad sound.
I knew that by the size and power of the speakers I could, live with the sound, get a sound bar best for the money or go with surround sound system best sound most money.
The only way to get a better picture and better sound you would have to pay MORE THAN HALF for the same size unit. So for me it's get the RCA with a sound bar and you've got the best bang for the buck. For some reason the 42inch takes longer to come one. For $500 I would not complain.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Great TV AND a great price

03/19/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am usually pretty finicky abuut TV's buying only samsungs, LG's, Sony..... But this one is just as good really. I have a smart TV (larger) in my living area but wanted one for my bedroom for the xbox one (so with xbox I did not need a smart tv), was shocked I would one this size for this price. It really works great, has great picture.... the price!!!! The remote that came with it is a little awkward though, or maybe I still have to get more used to it.... it works great though and I think will be fine after I get more used to it.
CON: THIS CAME SUPER LATE! It was WEEKS late being delivered, was promised in a few days, and didn't show up for over two weeks. That really upset me waiting for it, but at least the shipping was free :)
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Shattered Screen

05/13/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Like so many others, received with a broken screen. Box wasn't badly damaged. Just a slight indention top to bottom center. No doubt rough handling by Walmart but this is a poorly packaged product. Especially one shipping from China. The screen is facing to the outside of the carton with nothing more than 3/4" of air protecting it. Just a dumb package design.
This is the 5hth TV we have ordered online from Walmart and the only one that has been damaged. I did not reorder.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

great picture quality after adjusting settings

05/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
None of the default picture settings are any good. I couldn't find any better settings online so I did it myself. Try these out:
Brightness 47
Contrast 63
Color 35
Tint 58
Sharpness personal preference, I set it to zero
Color mode normal
Noise reduction off
Dynamic contrast off
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Great Picture!

11/14/2013
By ,
Southeast, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've always been hesitant to buy a "low end" TV. I've had 3 Samsung's and have had great luck with them. I had a 32" Samsung in the bedroom and wanted something larger. I found this online and thought I'd give it a shot. Wow, am I glad I did! I got it for $279 last week. Granted, I've only had it a week but so far I'm quite impressed with the picture and sound. I've read other reviews about the sound being weak. I went into the settings and played around with the EQ and it made it a lot louder. The picture is very good. I haven't noticed any lag or motion blur. I have my PS3 hooked up to it and soon my PS4 will be and the games look amazing on it. If you're in the market for a 42" LED, don't pass this one up!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+259points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Irmo, SC
Price
Posted 11/14/2013
You said you paid 279. was this a special sale? it's listed for 329 online as a special deal.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Delay picture

05/27/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wish someone could have told me about the delay in showing a picture after turning it on. The on button on the remote could have been larger. I sometimes wonder whether I pushed on it. The only adjustment needed after setting it up was the color--just right now for me.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Picture is great, takes forever to turn on

05/27/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture on the TV is great. Volume is terrible. To watch a movie I have to turn the volume to the max of 100 to remotely hear it. It also takes forever to turn on after you hit the power button.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Excellent Television for a great price

05/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV is all I could hope for at a great price. The tip in another review about turning on all the speakers for best sound was spot on. I don't think one can go wrong with this TV.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

HDTV

05/27/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture is good, sound is a little weak; you may need a sound bar or run it through your stereo; TV also takes about 10 seconds to come on. Overall a nice product for the money.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Nice looking, easy install.

05/28/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Been very happy with TV... would recommend
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

television arrived broken

05/27/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
TV had a Shattered screen but it still turned on... That was pretty cool... I was hoping this TV would have worked out, it had great reviews...
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

An undeserved Bargain !!!!

05/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The price of this magnificent HDTV and in the performance has exceeded my wildness expectation ... many thanks for an undeserved Bargain ...
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

nice for the money

05/28/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Difficult to program but once we got it was great! Nice picture
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Good picture

05/28/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV has good picture and sound for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 355 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  18 Next