Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

RCA RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

The RCA 42" LED HDTV 1080p 60Hz (model LED42C45RQ) features a brilliant 1080p Full HD picture for your viewing pleasure. Connect up to three HD devices via the provided HDMI ports on this RCA LED HDTV. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the RCA LED 3.4" Ultra-Slim HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
3.761 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(239 Reviews) 225
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
113
4 stars
60
3 stars
9
2 stars
10
1 star
47
Customer Recommendation75%179 out of 239reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
72 Questions | 149 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
113
4 stars
60
3 stars
9
2 stars
10
1 star
47
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

It worked

04/14/2014
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I returned a RCA earlier this year due to the screen not working properly so I was scared to purchase another one. When I went to pick up my order via "site to store" I asked if I could open and plug up the tv before taking it home. The little older lady said sure and helped me do so. I did not want to take the tv home if it had any visible issues. It did not. The tv works fine, looks great. Not sure if this is just all flatscreens or this one - when up close to the tv, the picture quality looks grainy and depending on the tv pic settings, sometimes looks faded/blurry. At a distance the picture quality is fine. One other thing, not sure if this is all RCA brands, but I could not 4 the life of me program 3 different remotes to the tv nor to the RCA sound bar that I have. All other devices programmed fine, which none others are RCA. So I guess I am stuck with using 2 remotes. vs having 1 to control everything. Also had my BF who is way more technology oriented try to program the tv and he could not either. He went online looking for other codes, instructions, etc. Nothing worked, We both gave up!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Will never buy RCA again

12/27/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Got this as a christmas gift, went through all the trouble of picking this up at the store, gift wrapping it, removing the old tv, and setting this one up. turned it on and left half of the screen was very dim and blurry. i returned it for a full refund and will never buy RCA again. when i was in line to return there was a guy right behind me returning 4 of these same TVs. He said the picture quality was awful. stay away from RCA and spend a little bit more on a higher quality brand. Even if this TV hadn't been defective, I'm sure it wouldnt have lasted very long.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Item was delivered damaged and returned

06/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The tv arrived damaged and was returned. A vizio tv with similar specs was purchased in store.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? No
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Fantastic deal on a really good HDTV

11/16/2013
By ,
Raleigh, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered this TV via the Walmart website and picked it up at site-to-store. Free shipping. A 42" HDTV for only $329! A really great deal.
The picture is very good. The default settings were OK, but after adjusting (mostly increasing the brightness), I think it looks great.
The sound is much better than the TV it is replacing (a Dynex from Best Buy), but it is just a little tinny. It does not rattle at higher volumes, like the old TV, though, which makes it seem MUCH better than what I had.
It is also much lighter than the old TV, and the LEDs will make it use much less energy.
I hooked up U-Verse via one of the 2 HDMI ports. The DVR is hooked up via using component (RGB) cables and, at this point, looks terrible. I think I have bad cables. After buying new cables I am assuming this problem will be resolved.
PC Magazine rated this TV "excellent" and said, "If you're looking for a capable, yet affordable small-screen set without all the perks that come with pricier sets, the RCA LED42C45RQ should be at the top of your list."
I agree.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+75points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Gainesville, GA
Question?
Posted 12/16/2013
Does this tv come with a stand as pictured?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

tv IS loud enuff. just turn on the surround sound!

08/20/2013
By ,
Indy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shipping was super fast (and free). Arrived 1 day early. Picture quality is superb and sound is excellent.
I must note that some reviewers were unhappy w/ the sound because the speakers are in the back of the set. This issue is easily fixed by going into the sound menu and switching it to "surround sound". THIS TURNS ON THE FRONT SPEAKERS! When you scroll down to the surround sound option, it even indicates something along the lines of "surround sound for front speakers use". But however, in my opinion, its plenty loud enough w/ out the front speakers on.
I would highly recommend this set to anyone sick of wasting time and money on mediocre TV's that conveniently "turn off by themselves" right after the warranty expires.
...I would like to add that this TV is very attractive as well. W/ a thick/heavy tempered glass stand and sleek ultra-thin frame, its nice to look at even when turned off. The remote that comes w/ it is super sleek and modern looking as well. W/ chrome accents on the scroll button.
Finally. A decent TV at a decent price. You will not be dissatisfied w/ this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+217points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Great T.V.

08/11/2014
By ,
Evansville ,Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had no trouble with it since I bought it. Also, the package came without any damages and came two days earlier than expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Great Picture!

11/14/2013
By ,
Southeast, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've always been hesitant to buy a "low end" TV. I've had 3 Samsung's and have had great luck with them. I had a 32" Samsung in the bedroom and wanted something larger. I found this online and thought I'd give it a shot. Wow, am I glad I did! I got it for $279 last week. Granted, I've only had it a week but so far I'm quite impressed with the picture and sound. I've read other reviews about the sound being weak. I went into the settings and played around with the EQ and it made it a lot louder. The picture is very good. I haven't noticed any lag or motion blur. I have my PS3 hooked up to it and soon my PS4 will be and the games look amazing on it. If you're in the market for a 42" LED, don't pass this one up!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+98points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Irmo, SC
Price
Posted 11/14/2013
You said you paid 279. was this a special sale? it's listed for 329 online as a special deal.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Highly Recommend

11/17/2013
By ,
Oklahoma City, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Next to our Sony 3D TV, this is my favorite TV in the house. I bought it for my daughter for Christmas last year and am ready to trade out the LG in my home office for an RCA. I also prefer the picture for the Samsung which had originally planned to guy her. She has it hooked up to a Roku and so she watches streaming TV on it. The color and picture are amazing. The sound is not the loudest, as I see a review or two have complained, but that is standard for the flat panel, thin profile TV. One has to sacrifice speaker for picture and a thin profile. The sound is sufficient for a bedroom Recommend a sound bar for larger room, such as a living room, or a surround system. I have had none of the issues of stripes, etc. that some reviews suggested their sets had on arrival, or of it not working. It is not unexpected to occasionally receive a damaged or defective product, ergo, I did not find those reviews to be helpful since there was no mention of having received a replacement and what the experience was with the replacement. This TV is an awesome value in my opinion. If anything goes wrong or changes in the next year I will come back and update.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Very Happy!

11/11/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We could not be happier with our purchase of the RCA 42 LED TV. I had been watching pricing on TVs for some time and this RCA was the best I ever saw.
The picture is excellent and we have had no problems with the sound. We did check to make sure we had the TV configured to surround sound as one reviewer said. Our TV defaulted to surround sound.
Setup was easy. After unboxing it, my husband had it put together within 15 minutes. We have it down in my husband's Man Cave, but I will be looking to buying another one for our Family Room.
So far our experience has been flawless.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+74points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Picture quality good. Sound quality not good!

08/17/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I love the slim line and picture quality. The sound quality is very static sounding. Even after trying to use controls to customize.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Poor picture quality

08/14/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture is poor quality. Made all adjustments and could never get good picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Definitely worth the money

11/14/2013
By ,
NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unfortunately, before buying this TV, I went to the RCA site and downloaded 1 of the 2 user manuals for this product in order to find more detailed specs. The -2h pdf file is for this modified model. I grabbed the other one which showed more jacks in the top face of the rear cavity adjacent to the side jack panel. However, for my purposes, this model has enough jacks. Value is 5, can't beat it for the money. Expectations is 4 only because I expected those extra jacks - my bad. Picture quality is 5. Sound quality is 4 but better than I expected for the price. Turn on the surround sound for both the back and bottom speakers. Features I scored 4 - again, I expected the earlier model with the back panel jacks. Incidentally, I didn't have an extra USB cable, so I tried connecting a card reader with an inserted card into the USB port, selected media input and the directories and files came up on the screen for selection and the music played without the use of an Ipod type device. Additionally if you select "other" and "audio only" from the menu, you can play the music and save a little power.
As to the cracked panel instances others have mentioned, it's a common practice by many manufacturers to pack these machines without any screen protection such as bubble wrap or plastic "peanuts". I had to return an Emerson prior to this purchase for that very reasons I'm referring to those erratic black lines that match the crack profiles and, also, the colored straight lines that show up when you first turn it on. Again, I'm very satisfied for the price. Remember the silk purse/ sow's ear thing. This is a very nice sows ear.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Great!

10/29/2013
By ,
HINSDALE , MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After owning this television for a few months now all I can say is it is the nicest television I have ever owned. It has a beautiful picture and the smart features are excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Loving my RCA 42" LED42C45RQ!

11/15/2013
By ,
Franklin, KY 42134
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice size, with great picture and sound!
I still had one of the old BIg Box TV's in my bedroom, and have been looking to replace it for a while now.
I saw this RCA 42", and it was such a good buy that I went ahead and got it!
I was able to install the stand and was watching it with-in minutes!
So far I have really enjoyed it's clear picture and sound!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Bad Panel - Dozens of vertical stripes & blotches

05/21/2013
By ,
Fort Collins, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Delivered on time and intact site-to-store. Easy to unbox and set up.
Has the connections I need plus some. Tuner seemed to work fine.
When first turned on, tuner found most available analog & digital stations.
However, panel showed dozens of fixed stripes in random places independent of which signal was selected, and with no-signal input chosen.
In addition to stripes, there were hundreds of "stuck" pixels all over screen, especially near top, a bit left of center.
Obviously a bad panel -- wasted 4+ hours with transport, unbox, setup, 20 minute support call, teardown, rebox, re-transport, return. Disappointed that such poor quality panel was allowed to ship.
Do not know if this bad panel is the rule or the exception.
LCD haze/glow showed concentric circles with center near top, a bit right of center -- this might be 'normal' as many LCDs seem to have areas that glow.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Great TV for the price.

08/31/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mounted this tv on the wall in our Bedroom, No problems with it ...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Great TV. Still waiting on extended warranty info

08/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The TV arrived pretty quick and is wonderful. We paid for an additional warranty. We don't need it yet. It was supposed to be emailed. Still waiting.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Great tv

11/03/2013
By ,
Chino , California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was really impressed with the tv especially for the low price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Did not like

07/26/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Poor sound quality...I could not connect my DVD player wrong type connection.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

slightly disappointed

08/26/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture quality was not as sharp as I expected a LED tv should be
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 226 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next