Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

RCA RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

The RCA 42" LED HDTV 1080p 60Hz (model LED42C45RQ) features a brilliant 1080p Full HD picture for your viewing pleasure. Connect up to three HD devices via the provided HDMI ports on this RCA LED HDTV. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the RCA LED 3.4" Ultra-Slim HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
3.763 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(552 Reviews) 537
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
266
4 stars
129
3 stars
26
2 stars
22
1 star
109
Customer Recommendation74%408 out of 552reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
144 Questions | 218 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
266
4 stars
129
3 stars
26
2 stars
22
1 star
109
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

It worked

04/14/2014
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I returned a RCA earlier this year due to the screen not working properly so I was scared to purchase another one. When I went to pick up my order via "site to store" I asked if I could open and plug up the tv before taking it home. The little older lady said sure and helped me do so. I did not want to take the tv home if it had any visible issues. It did not. The tv works fine, looks great. Not sure if this is just all flatscreens or this one - when up close to the tv, the picture quality looks grainy and depending on the tv pic settings, sometimes looks faded/blurry. At a distance the picture quality is fine. One other thing, not sure if this is all RCA brands, but I could not 4 the life of me program 3 different remotes to the tv nor to the RCA sound bar that I have. All other devices programmed fine, which none others are RCA. So I guess I am stuck with using 2 remotes. vs having 1 to control everything. Also had my BF who is way more technology oriented try to program the tv and he could not either. He went online looking for other codes, instructions, etc. Nothing worked, We both gave up!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Will never buy RCA again

12/27/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Got this as a christmas gift, went through all the trouble of picking this up at the store, gift wrapping it, removing the old tv, and setting this one up. turned it on and left half of the screen was very dim and blurry. i returned it for a full refund and will never buy RCA again. when i was in line to return there was a guy right behind me returning 4 of these same TVs. He said the picture quality was awful. stay away from RCA and spend a little bit more on a higher quality brand. Even if this TV hadn't been defective, I'm sure it wouldnt have lasted very long.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Item was delivered damaged and returned

06/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The tv arrived damaged and was returned. A vizio tv with similar specs was purchased in store.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? No
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

tv IS loud enuff. just turn on the surround sound!

08/20/2013
By ,
Indy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shipping was super fast (and free). Arrived 1 day early. Picture quality is superb and sound is excellent.
I must note that some reviewers were unhappy w/ the sound because the speakers are in the back of the set. This issue is easily fixed by going into the sound menu and switching it to "surround sound". THIS TURNS ON THE FRONT SPEAKERS! When you scroll down to the surround sound option, it even indicates something along the lines of "surround sound for front speakers use". But however, in my opinion, its plenty loud enough w/ out the front speakers on.
I would highly recommend this set to anyone sick of wasting time and money on mediocre TV's that conveniently "turn off by themselves" right after the warranty expires.
...I would like to add that this TV is very attractive as well. W/ a thick/heavy tempered glass stand and sleek ultra-thin frame, its nice to look at even when turned off. The remote that comes w/ it is super sleek and modern looking as well. W/ chrome accents on the scroll button.
Finally. A decent TV at a decent price. You will not be dissatisfied w/ this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+622points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Good, inexpensive HDTV

06/24/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would recommend this TV
Overall a good TV at a great price that we purchased for less than $300 when we needed a spare TV for a guest bedroom. Actually moved our 2007 42" TV (which cost over $1300 then) into the bedroom to see if the new technology compared. Overall a great picture but the sound comes out the back of the TV so it sounds a bit hollow. Need to check if there also some speakers on the front which also need to be turned on in the settings, as I recall seeing this issue in a review but not sure if it was for this TV. either way, we have a Bose sound bar which we will be using.
One thing it was missing that our 2007 had is a fiberoptic output connection for connecting to a sound system
One interesting is that the new 42" and stand weighs about 26 pounds which is 20 pounds lighter than our 2007 42". At least I only got a hernia moving the old TV, not both
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Fantastic deal on a really good HDTV

11/16/2013
By ,
Raleigh, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered this TV via the Walmart website and picked it up at site-to-store. Free shipping. A 42" HDTV for only $329! A really great deal.
The picture is very good. The default settings were OK, but after adjusting (mostly increasing the brightness), I think it looks great.
The sound is much better than the TV it is replacing (a Dynex from Best Buy), but it is just a little tinny. It does not rattle at higher volumes, like the old TV, though, which makes it seem MUCH better than what I had.
It is also much lighter than the old TV, and the LEDs will make it use much less energy.
I hooked up U-Verse via one of the 2 HDMI ports. The DVR is hooked up via using component (RGB) cables and, at this point, looks terrible. I think I have bad cables. After buying new cables I am assuming this problem will be resolved.
PC Magazine rated this TV "excellent" and said, "If you're looking for a capable, yet affordable small-screen set without all the perks that come with pricier sets, the RCA LED42C45RQ should be at the top of your list."
I agree.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+79points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Gainesville, GA
Question?
Posted 12/16/2013
Does this tv come with a stand as pictured?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Really Nice TV (Color/Sound)

03/29/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ordered TV online and it was delivered in a few days. TV is really nice all the way around. And to add, the sound is very good . . . I say that because most newer TVs are designed (in my opinion) so that you have to buy the surround sound/theatre sound devices (more money). Overall, very happy w/ what we bought and the cost was excellent ($269).
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Not a great picture

06/24/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I recently purchased this TV. It was the first flat screen HD TV I had purchased. I got it home and set it up and I just was not happy with the picture. I waited a couple days until my HD cable service was activated thinking that was the problem. Even on HD, I did not like the picture. I could definitely see the imperfections while watching sports. After about 6 days of having this TV, I decided to return it. Walmart.com purchases can easily be returned to the store so that process was very easy.
I didn't like any of the other TV's on display at the store, so I ended up buying a Samsung from Sams Club. The Samsung has a 120 Hertz refresh rate and it makes a huge difference.
Maybe I just got a lemon and it was a one time thing, but I am very happy I switched to the Samsung.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Good TV, Great Price

06/06/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Negatives:
*When the TV arrived Site-to-Store, the box said "3.6 slim design" and the screen size is actually 41.6 inches diagonal. These aren't huge issues, but the advertised specs on a TV should be exactly right, and it made me wonder about the other specs (which weren't on the box).
*I'm having issues with the volume muting, and nothing other than turning the set off/back on will restore it. I have other remotes (Roku and DVD) and the TV mistakenly picks up their signals and changes the volume up/down. A universal remote may solve those problems.
*The viewing angle is narrow. You pretty much need to be directly in front of the TV.
Positives:
*Very good HD picture.
*It's a nice-looking TV that appears more expensive than it is.
Bottom Line: This is a good TV at a great price. You would have to spend at least $100 more to get a better 42-in. set.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Great TV AND a great price

03/19/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am usually pretty finicky abuut TV's buying only samsungs, LG's, Sony..... But this one is just as good really. I have a smart TV (larger) in my living area but wanted one for my bedroom for the xbox one (so with xbox I did not need a smart tv), was shocked I would one this size for this price. It really works great, has great picture.... the price!!!! The remote that came with it is a little awkward though, or maybe I still have to get more used to it.... it works great though and I think will be fine after I get more used to it.
CON: THIS CAME SUPER LATE! It was WEEKS late being delivered, was promised in a few days, and didn't show up for over two weeks. That really upset me waiting for it, but at least the shipping was free :)
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Great Picture!

11/14/2013
By ,
Southeast, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've always been hesitant to buy a "low end" TV. I've had 3 Samsung's and have had great luck with them. I had a 32" Samsung in the bedroom and wanted something larger. I found this online and thought I'd give it a shot. Wow, am I glad I did! I got it for $279 last week. Granted, I've only had it a week but so far I'm quite impressed with the picture and sound. I've read other reviews about the sound being weak. I went into the settings and played around with the EQ and it made it a lot louder. The picture is very good. I haven't noticed any lag or motion blur. I have my PS3 hooked up to it and soon my PS4 will be and the games look amazing on it. If you're in the market for a 42" LED, don't pass this one up!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+278points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Irmo, SC
Price
Posted 11/14/2013
You said you paid 279. was this a special sale? it's listed for 329 online as a special deal.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Great tv at a really good price!

07/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far, so good. I was really surprised at how nice this tv was since I didn't see it in-store. My boyfriend attached the stand so I'm not sure how easy or hard that ways but it only took him a few minutes. And I've moved the tv several times (moving and painting) and it's light enough for me to maneuver easily. I'm pretty happy with this purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Nice TV for bedroom

06/30/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Took a chance on a lower priced TV ,after reading the many positive reviews. I am glad I did. My only small complaint would be that one can not adjust the color levels so well on a personal level. Color is adjusted by three levels only. Warm ,cool and medium. But the price makes up for this small issue . Sound is great when put on surround sound. Fast shipping too. Would advise to purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

no sound problems

06/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just picked up this tv yesterday. I was a little concerned about what I've read about the sound on this tv, but I decided to risk it for the price. I got it and was pleasantly surprised the picture is extremely sharp and I discovered when you 1st plug it in, the sound does come from the front speakers and if you turn on surround sound then the sound only comes from the rear speakes. On average I sit about 12 to 15 feet away from the tv and I don't have to put the volume above 35 to hear it clearly. It is a very nice tv. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a good tv for a great price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

TV buying

06/19/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The first order I placed was for a 42 inch RCA TV and it was delivered with a cracked screen. The box was not damaged so I had no idea until it was in my home assembled and plugged in. It was returned within 2 hours of pickup at the store , I was skeptical about ordering another online. I like to see what I am purchasing before I hand over the money on large ticket items. I then talked myself into purchasing again online and made sure I tried it before final assembly. It worked so I assembled the stand and have it in my den/living area. The colors on the dynamic setting are great and the sound is good. So far, money well spent
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Had potential

06/21/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Similar to other bad reviews, changed picture settings and adjusted but it kept changing on its own. Sound whether surround or regular not consistent. Could never get color right no matter how many adjustments. The remote was flimsy and no zoom options- which I have had older no name tvs that had more options than this. Bringing back to Walmart. Maybe it's defective since it changes settings on its own - only had for just under 2 weeks. Going back to Samsung- really good deal for larger version of their basic TV. Only thing nice about it was the sturdy glass base.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Broken and missing parts

07/02/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Actually, the stand and screws were missing, and the screen was broken in two places, so I took it back to my local store.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Far Exceeded Expectations

06/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First I must say i have only had this television for two days, so i can not speak towards the reliability of the set. However, I purchased this TV to replace a $1200 LG 3-D (50PZ550) that lasted 4 short years before the panel died. The picture quality of this set absolutely blew me away. Its no fun to go from a 50 to a 42 inch screen but the brightness of the colors and crisp defined lines produce a better image than my LG. I was in a financial pinch, and I recalled the days when RCA meant quality electronics so I gambled and won. It took about 30 minutes to set up and dial the picture quality and audio output to my personal preferences. I absolutely could not be happier with my purchase. If it lasts 5 years i will stick with RCA for life.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Bad Panel - Dozens of vertical stripes & blotches

05/21/2013
By ,
Fort Collins, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Delivered on time and intact site-to-store. Easy to unbox and set up.
Has the connections I need plus some. Tuner seemed to work fine.
When first turned on, tuner found most available analog & digital stations.
However, panel showed dozens of fixed stripes in random places independent of which signal was selected, and with no-signal input chosen.
In addition to stripes, there were hundreds of "stuck" pixels all over screen, especially near top, a bit left of center.
Obviously a bad panel -- wasted 4+ hours with transport, unbox, setup, 20 minute support call, teardown, rebox, re-transport, return. Disappointed that such poor quality panel was allowed to ship.
Do not know if this bad panel is the rule or the exception.
LCD haze/glow showed concentric circles with center near top, a bit right of center -- this might be 'normal' as many LCDs seem to have areas that glow.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for RCA 42" LED42C45RQ Class LED 1080p 60Hz (3.4" ultra-slim) HDTV

Love It

07/02/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far so good! Shipping was extremely Fast!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 538 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  27 Next