Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Epson Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One Printer/Copier/Scanner

Epson Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One Printer/Copier/Scanner

Featuring instant wireless printing from popular mobile devices, a 2.5" LCD touch panel and card slots, this quiet, high-performance Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One Printer/Copier/Scanner delivers quality results.
Average Customer Rating:
4.243 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(1915 Reviews) 1915
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
1,172
4 stars
415
3 stars
95
2 stars
88
1 star
145
Customer Recommendation86%1,641 out of 1,915reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
41 Questions | 79 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
1,172
4 stars
415
3 stars
95
2 stars
88
1 star
145
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One Printer/Copier/Scanner

Excellent printer/scanner/copier for $79.00.

08/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although the XP-400 drinks a lot of Black Ink from the small cartridge, it's fine for home use.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One Printer/Copier/Scanner

great pics

04/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
was great hooked it up did every thing it said to do and no probs
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One Printer/Copier/Scanner

Great start - lousy later

11/11/2013
By ,
Denver
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was happy with this printer. Easy setup, good print quality and then...black ink stopped printing. No problem, cleaned the heads, nope, nozzle check - no black. hmmm ink level full, aligned heads, cleaned again. Nope. Checked the internet - seems this is a common issue, so I should find a fix right? Nope again. Called support, on a registered product, I have to email a copy of the receipt to them before they will even discuss the problem. But recommend I sign up onto their loyalty page to get discounts on my next printer and supplies. WHAT? I have had this 400 a bit over 6 months, have $50 of new ink in a printer that will not print black that they will not talk to me about without a receipt (why do we register again?) and this is the only thing they will discuss. No longer happy. 1st Epson will be my last, too bad but if support had been better they might still have a customer. So bottom line if 6 months of a good printer is acceptable, and after that is a bonus you will be happy. If you don't accept that sort of service pass.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+97points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One Printer/Copier/Scanner

Wouldn't Work Right Out of the Box!

02/20/2014
By ,
NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I did a lot of research before choosing this item and decided to ignore the negative reviews however, I was wrong to do so. Everything went fine until I went to print the test page. The printer carriage seemed stuck and made a loud piercing noise. After several attempts I called customer service who didn't seem to care much about helping me. Now this was the same day I bought it! After admitting defeat I still decided go with an Epson product just not the same model. I was pleased with the ease of setup and the overall look of this printer. I purchased the Epson XP-310 and found the only difference was it was about 8 bucks cheaper and didn't have a touch screen. The print quality is very good and crisp and it's also really quiet. No worries, this model works just fine from setup to present which has been about three weeks. At this point I would recommend the Epson XP-310 model. Lets keep our fingers crossed! Lol!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Print Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One Printer/Copier/Scanner

XP-400 What they don't tell you on the box

02/12/2014
By ,
Houghton, MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is from the Epson website:
"To keep the print head clear and ready to print, the printer uses a small amount of ink from all the cartridges whenever it prints. Even if you select Black/Grayscale, some color ink is still being used.
Epson printers contain a permanent print head that needs to be charged with all colors to work. Even when users are printing black text only, a small amount of color ink is used to keep the print head charged. The print head needs to be kept charged to prevent air bubbles from entering. Air bubbles can damage the print head.
Therefore, once one of the cartridges is expended, the printer signals you to replace the cartridge in order for printing to continue."
In other words you have to have an adequate level of ink in every ink cartridge or you can't print at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 04/30/2014
actually most printers do that
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One Printer/Copier/Scanner

DON'T DO IT!!!

11/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very unhappy with this printer! I had to pick this up in a hurry, because my Brother died after many years. It took alot of fiddling around to get it going, and I had to call Techsupport to help with the Wifi. (Never did get it to scan to my PC).
It comes with a "starter" set of ink cartridges which don't last long... Ok... I get it.
BUT, after I bought a complete set of replacements (about $50), I put them in the printer and tried to print a 60 page document (which had illustrations on alot of the pages). I wasn't even able to get the whole document printed when it was out of ink again.(And if had the XL cartridges with extra ink in them). If even one color is out, it won't print anything... even if you only want black print.
So, I got MORE ink and changed them up again... Guess what? Now it is only printing blank pages. I cleaned the nozzles over and over, and reseated the cartridges to no avail. No print at all... Oh it TRIES to print, it THINKS it IS printing... but blank pages come out. I guess I will be dealing with techsupport tomorrow. What an aggravation and waste... waste of time, $$, and patience. I will probably have to take this as a total loss and get a new Brother.
No more Epsons for me.... EVER!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One Printer/Copier/Scanner

thirsy

11/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Its a good inexpensive printer. Quality on the written printed page is excellent. Photos are pretty ok too.
My gripes are simple, but were enough for me to return it. The way the paper feed is on the back top of the feeder forces the paper to "lean" over the top of the printer. Its also simple to load paper, but not always simple to make it line up so it feeds perfect. Feeder noise is loud too, but most are. Secondly this thing drinks ink. The standard size cartridge printed 23 word documents and the Black started threatening to be empty. The three color cartridges from printing 2 photo pictures and some colored words on some documents read about half full... At those print rates the economical price of $65 loses its luster.
I wanted to like this printer, its size was perfect..
Moved to a Pixma, we will see how that goes
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One Printer/Copier/Scanner

Excellent inexpensive printer/scanner

07/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the only printer I could find that worked with Mac OS 10.5.8 pre-Intel computer.
I have a G-5 i-Mac. I do little printing or copying so I find this also to be a good value
item. I use it just for home purposes and the ink last for many months. It is very easy
to set-up and hopefully you have saved your Wi-Fi SSID and pass-phrase so you can use it with
Wi-Fi if you use it. It has a input for your camera SD card and though I really don't need it
I have tried it and it works fine. I do not make color glossy prints of photos so I cannot speak to
the amount of ink it uses for such prints. It's a good dependable printer for occasional use,
it takes up very little space and serves my purpose. I have always used an Epson printer
and find their customer tech support to be excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One Printer/Copier/Scanner

Best printer, ever...

11/23/2013
By ,
Wenatchee, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this printer. The price was extremely reasonable. I set it up in less than 30 min. Took less than 5 min. to set up WiFi, using the printer program. I put it through it's paces. Printed out greeting cards, photos and the color is amazing. Perfect.. I scanned documents. Perfect. The ink is very reasonably priced. At Walmart, of course. All functions easy to use. Money well spent. I give this printer an A Plus.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One Printer/Copier/Scanner

Great Printer - No discount ink available yet

07/27/2013
By ,
CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The size and simplicity make it easy to have and use. Print quality is perfect. It take a few seconds to warm up for scans and print but it is worth it to not have it always on using energy. The main drawback is the cost of ink. I like to buy discount and refurbished ink. This printer is so new none is available yet. I am sure it will be a popular model and cheap ink will be available soon. And with Epson's signature individual colors you always end up saving money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Clarksville TN
Refillable cartridges
Posted 08/25/2013
Since printer ink has a mark up of over 25,000%, I try to find printers with cheap ink too.
Before buying a new printer, I wanted to see if there were any refillable options. I found this site that sells empty refillable cartridges that should work according to the model numbers. Hope this helps.
http://www.cisinks.com/-c-91_97.html
0points
Customer Avatar
wv
discount ink
Posted 08/19/2013
discount ink available for just about any printer you have at inkcartridges.com. I checked out this printer there before I considered it. Prices not bad at all, compared to some brands.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 11 for Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One Printer/Copier/Scanner

Best printer I've had in years

04/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have waited 2 months before writing this review. I have been in computers for over 40 years. Experienced all the different models over the years. A few years back I felt I needed a good reliable multi-function printer for my office (currently a semi-retired independent computer consultant).
I selected and middle of the line ($200+) HP printer. HP has had a good rep for many years. The unit was a multi-function printer/scanner/capier with Wi-Fi (I have multiple computers, laptops and now tablets). The printer was a pain to install on my various computers from day one. It would drop the WI-FI connection regularly and would require a restart to get it functioning. At times it would start a print process and never complete, again it required a restart. Plus it would use ink like a 12 cylinder Ferrari, the cartridges (5 in total) would cost over $50. Finally the printer died because of clogging, repairing it would cost over $90.
Checked on Walmart and this model had a good rating. installed it without fuss. Each computer recognized it immediately, all via Wi-Fi. Prints great. I turn it on and leave it on, has not lost its Wi-Fi connection once. I can even print from my tablet.
If it fails (I expect after a few years), for the low cost I can just buy a new one.
I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One Printer/Copier/Scanner

Be sure to update your computer

09/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this yesterday. It took me a long time to setup because I hadn't updated Windows 7 in a long time. Epson would be wise to make this suggestion for people prior to installation. I would suggest updating Windows before starting your installation. Once that is done the drivers will be installed and your software can be installed from the CD. Then you will need to update the software via the internet. This process took about 4 hours for me because I hadn't done it in so long.
That being said, the print quality is great. It is easy to use and there are many options. Speed is good for home use. I printed some documents I bought this for and they were excellent. I scanned some old pictures I had in black and white and color and posted them right to facebook. No scan lines and colors were great.
Overall - a great printer at a very reasonable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One Printer/Copier/Scanner

My first Epson Printer

11/01/2013
By ,
Daphne Al.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always used HP printers but after buying 2 refurbished HPs that would not work I opted for a new Epson XP-400. So far, so good. This printer is wireless, quiet, fast and with beautiful print, it was easy to set up and works with my computers, tablets and smartphones, from anywhere. Great home printer, small and very attractive unit. Epson in, HP out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One Printer/Copier/Scanner

awesome just what I need in an all in one!

08/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
love it I had purchased 2 other printers before I found this one! it has everthing I need. I wish I had found it sooner! its a great price and its wireless! I wanted a top loading printer and they are not easy to find anymore! it also gives you option to enlarge and decrease size. these are the reasons for returning the other 2 printers. Highly recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One Printer/Copier/Scanner

easy set up with top of the line quality

08/16/2013
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this printer based on the excellent quality of the Epson line of printers that I purchased previously. I am an I Pad user and needed a printer that was Air Print Enabled with easy wireless connectivity to a wireless printer. I like to take photographs with my I Pad but did not have a way of printing them out at home. I normally find instruction manuals overwhelming including quick set up guides but not this one. This was the first printer that gave basic step by step instructions accompanied with a visual aid. Had this printer successfully set up in 30 minutes.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One Printer/Copier/Scanner

Great value for the price

07/11/2013
By ,
Danielson, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this printer a couple of days ago, very easy to set up, good directions.
Professional results with minimal cost. Checked out all brands before purchase,
Epson seems to use less ink than all others.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+63points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One Printer/Copier/Scanner

good printer

11/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
works well, easy setup clear print and scans . ink not to bad of a price $37 for all 4 cartridges.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One Printer/Copier/Scanner

very nice printer for the price

10/31/2014
By ,
sumter sc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i am 65 and not much on technology but they gave good instructions with this printer and i had it up and running properly in about 20 to 30 minutes, i was able to install the drivers using the cd, the step by step instructions were easy to follow, yes i do recommed this printer and it prints really great too, this is my very first epson printer and i will probably stay with them in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One Printer/Copier/Scanner

very good small printer

10/30/2013
By ,
NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great price for a printer, ordered it shipped to my home and had it within a few days. Easy to set up and use. The only thing I regret now is maybe not getting a printer that can fax, but realistically I do not fax very much, so this is a perfect printer for people who do occasional printing in their home. Wanted to mention...I had NO idea how I was going to dispose of my old Epson printer...if you go on their website(and I'm guessing other printer manufacturers do this too), they will emailyou a fedex pre paid slip so you can mail your old printer back for recycling!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Epson Expression Home XP-400 Small-in-One Printer/Copier/Scanner

nice

11/09/2013
By ,
endwell, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Compact, easy to use. People say the cartridges are expensive. For this model, they are not. You can get all four of them for $35.00 at Walmart, the XP 200.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 124 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next