Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black and Decker 18" Multi Oscillating Fan BDSH8018

Black & Decker Black and Decker 18" Multi Oscillating Fan BDSH8018

Keep your cool with this Black and Decker 18" Oscillating Fan. This Black and Decker fan is an industrial strength fan with an all-metal construction for durability. With 3 speed settings for for adjustable air flow speed and maximum environmental comfort, this multi oscillation fan rotates at up to 1550 RPMs. This Black and Decker fan has a powerful air circulator that helps to reduce energy costs and optimize air flow through your home or business. Your Black and Decker 18" Oscillating Fan comes with a 6' cord is height adjustable from 30" to 45".
Average Customer Rating:
3.571 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation71%25 out of 35reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 59 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black and Decker 18" Multi Oscillating Fan BDSH8018

Blade wobble?

05/03/2013
By ,
Walla Walla, WA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picked up 2 of these, after ordering online yesterday. The first one seemed real noisy, even on the lowest setting. Not so the second one. I took the blade from it and put it on the first one and 'voila!', it was just fine. So my thought is that there are quality control issues with the aluminium blade, either at the factory or in shipping. It is not housed separately in the box so could be easily bent before it gets to the consumer.
I called the company to see if they would ship me another blade. They said they 'probably don't have parts for it' and I should return it to the store as it was less than 30 days. They didn't give me a straight answer when I asked how that could be as it has a 3 yr warranty. Have a feeling the 3 yr part might be difficult for them to make good on! There is not 'tilt' on this fan if you want that.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
az.
well i thought
Posted 06/10/2013
i thought i was doing good with this high priced fan it is just ok on air put out if it had more blade maybe air put out would be better ,i find it less use full than a $20 fan and it is loud .
on any speed
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Black and Decker 18" Multi Oscillating Fan BDSH8018

easy to assemble

10/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good value good shipping good fan.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Black and Decker 18" Multi Oscillating Fan BDSH8018

Product fine but disappointed

09/30/2014
By ,
Sulphur Springs, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My main reason for choosing this fan was for the white noise. A lot of the reviews stated that it was very loud, perfect for me. The louder the better. lol The fan that I was replacing is much louder than this one. Nothing at all wrong with the product just my personal preference. The fan is extremely heavy so if moving from room to room that could be an issue. I do recommend the fan just not for anyone who likes white noise.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Black and Decker 18" Multi Oscillating Fan BDSH8018

misleading specification

08/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
reading the specifications where it stated "commercial quality" ,, that is what i expected .. in the brochure it clearly stats '' not for commercial use'' .it also said '' do not run fan 24/7''. other than that the fan is sturdy and runs as expected. it has good air movement. overall happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Black and Decker 18" Multi Oscillating Fan BDSH8018

Good but too noisy

10/03/2014
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Too noisy
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Black and Decker 18" Multi Oscillating Fan BDSH8018

Good Deal

02/08/2014
By ,
S. Spgs Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for a Quiet Fan..Keep looking.This fan,is Just what I wanted.A little more noise,than similar fans and you can actually feel the air from this model.Easy assembly,nice guard,metal blades and the base,well balanced yet smaller than other models.This fan replaced a model that cost three times more than this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Black and Decker 18" Multi Oscillating Fan BDSH8018

Its 100% great but slightly on the loud side.

07/23/2013
By ,
Cambridge Mass
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The fan is excellent, i have 3 other standing fans but this metal fan when its on low and standing across the room from about 30 feet it feels like its on high when compared to the 3 other standing fans i have. The only problems with the fan is the metal blades are just a little to loud and i have to turn the TV up just a bit. If not for the somewhat loud sound of the metal blades i would buy 1 for every room in the house. Metal fans are expected to be loud so take that into consideration if you plan on buying this one, that's the one thing i didn't do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Black and Decker 18" Multi Oscillating Fan BDSH8018
03/25/2013
By ,
Indianapolis, In
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great fan, puts out great amount of air even on low speed with the metal fan blades.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Black and Decker 18" Multi Oscillating Fan BDSH8018

All metal construction

05/02/2013
By ,
South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an exceptional buy I've always wanted an all metal fan. Much like the ones that were common decades ago However, the price point was too great for my budget. When I saw the sale price on this one, I had to snap it up. As a matter of fact, I purchased two. It's a little loud, even on the lowest setting. But this is a quality made unit. And I expect it to last for years and years. Assembly is required. It's not difficult but you will need to take your time in order to aline the parts correctly. The air flow is incredible. You will be able to lower the thermostat and turn off the ceiling fans with this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Black and Decker 18" Multi Oscillating Fan BDSH8018

waste of money

08/09/2014
By ,
bronx, ny
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I put the fan together the only level that worked was 3. I don't have a Walmart close so I can't return without it costing me more money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Black and Decker 18" Multi Oscillating Fan BDSH8018

You get what You pay for.....

12/14/2013
By ,
Galveston, Tx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ordered online delivered site to store. Relatively fast, but when I picked the item up the box was beaten and torn up. As it was purchased at Walmart and I knew I could return it if there were any actual damage I took it home. Even without any included instructions, I was able to figure assembly out rather easily. Looks attractive and sturdy. Unfortunately the velocity of the air is disappointing....merely average, and it is LOUD. Be aware I mean LOUD! As the alternatives on Walmart's site were twice the money, and as I have a tight budget I will try to make this work.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Black and Decker 18" Multi Oscillating Fan BDSH8018

Fan motor inoperable on arrival.

01/02/2014
By ,
IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Shipped in mfg box with no protective outer box, no inner padding or bubble wrap-type cushioning. Box beaten up from shipping due to reason(s) previously stated. Once assembled, fan motor did not operate. Very disappointed. This item is not available in my local Walmart store.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Missouri
mine was inoperable as well.
Posted 04/01/2014
Very disappointed.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Black and Decker 18" Multi Oscillating Fan BDSH8018

Doesn't work.

04/01/2014
By ,
Missouri
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received my fan, put it together per instructions and it just sits and hums when I turn it on. The fan blade is VERY flimsy, not what I expected. I would have overlooked that had the fan actually worked. Sigh...not a good experience. I wouldn't have given even one star if the review process didn't require at least one.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Black and Decker 18" Multi Oscillating Fan BDSH8018

Broke within a week

08/24/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this fan because it said it was all metal construction, and I wanted it to last. It quit in less than a week. It had a fuse in the plug, which may have blown. I wasn't able to remove the fuse even though the manual provided instructions. The low setting was as high or higher than the high setting on the fans I've had previously. The blades had sharp edges. When it was working, it seriously moved the air. I ended up returning the fan within a week.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Black and Decker 18" Multi Oscillating Fan BDSH8018

Fan/Box were destroyed when received

11/08/2013
By ,
ny
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I received this fan, the box was completely exposed & damaged, as well as missing parts. Now, I need to return the item & hoping that I won't be given a hard time.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Black and Decker 18" Multi Oscillating Fan BDSH8018
06/20/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall pleased with the fan, easy to assemble and works well. If it had a heavier base it would be safer. I have a 2 yr. old grandson who is into EVERYTHING, since the base is a little light and it is slightly top heavy I had to position it behind a chair so he can't get at it. Only complaint, the base is to light, otherwise very satisfied!
**The nickname thing is really annoying!!! Lol!**
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Black and Decker 18" Multi Oscillating Fan BDSH8018

HIGH POWER FAN LOTS OF AIR MOVEMENT

10/02/2013
By ,
IRVINE CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
FAN GENERATES THE MOST AIRFLOW THAT I HAVE EVER SEEN FROM A STAND UP FAN. IT IS ALSO REASONABLY QUIET. LOW SPEED COULD BE A LITTLE LOWER IT REALLY BLOWS THE AIR
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Black and Decker 18" Multi Oscillating Fan BDSH8018
09/17/2013
By ,
Brazil, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was hard finding a metal standing fan let alone for a good price. This fan runs great and easy to put together. I would buy this again and recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Black and Decker 18" Multi Oscillating Fan BDSH8018

Shipping

05/23/2013
By ,
Merchantville, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was the first time that I used walmart online. When I received my package it was damaged and taped up. When I opened it to install I was missing the instructions and a pole. Needless to say this was not a pleasant experience as I then had to return it to the store. Not sure if I will trust online shopping with Walmart again.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Black and Decker 18" Multi Oscillating Fan BDSH8018

GREAT FAN!!!!

09/19/2013
By ,
HONAKER, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WONDERFUL COMMERCIAL POWER FAN, REAL POWERFUL, WILL BLOW YOU AWAY....REAL GOOD, JUST 15 MIN ASSAMBLY, LOVE IT!!!!!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1 2 Next