Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Virgin Mobile Virgin U600 3G/4G Franklin USB Stick

Virgin Mobile Virgin U600 3G/4G Franklin USB Stick

Get fast data speeds anywhere you go with the Virgin U600 3G/4G Franklin USB Stick. Take 4G or 3G connectivity with you anywhere with the Virgin U600 3G/4G Franklin USB Stick. This U600 USB stick allows you to switch between 3G and 4G networks depending on available coverage and provides 32MB RAM and 128MB ROM. This Franklin U600 stick utilizes a USB 2.0 interface. Your U600 USB stick includes a Connection Manager that makes installation easy and gets you connected fast.
Average Customer Rating:
3.016 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
16
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
22
Customer Recommendation58%36 out of 62reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
83 Questions | 78 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
16
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
22
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Virgin U600 3G/4G Franklin USB Stick

Works for me

11/27/2013
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Be aware that this device is for Sprints 4g WiMax NOT Lte. This installed on my Windows 7 machine and works good on 3g but when I installed on my older XP machine, it would not connect. I assume that was because my XP machine is usb 1.0. The directions clearly say usb 2.0 but I thought I would try it just for kicks.
It does work in my Cradlepoint mbr95 router, but to get it to connect I have to open the routers setup and go to the connection manager and wait about 5 minutes for it to connect. Not a big deal for me as this is a temporary solution for a month.
Very expensive per gigabyte and you don't really want to use it for streaming, but I did try it on Hulu and was able to watch an hour program on low resolution without it stopping to buffer. If you will be using 3g, streaming will all depend on how fast your 3g is, and that may depend on how strong your 3g signal will be.
I would buy it again.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Virgin U600 3G/4G Franklin USB Stick

Unusable, avoid.

03/27/2014
By ,
Frederick
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It was not ready for window8 out of the box. It required going online to collect drivers. Once drivers and the card were installed, it would not negotiate the account setup online. It could not connect to the tower. Customer support manually opened an account and I put the information into the modem. From there, the modem was not able to connect from home even though indication on the coverage map was I should have service at street level. Up the hill, I had some service, enough to think it might work in town. I tried to use the device in two major cities that have 3G service. The device could not remain connected consistently in any location. It would find signal, between 2 and full bars. When I click connect, it would lose the signal. Try again, wash, rinse repeat and disconnected again. When it finally did connect, speed was poor, pages loaded intermittently and the device would disconnect. Even in an area where 4G is advertised, the device did not connnect and stay connected. The signal strength varied widely if anyone in the room moved. It varied widely on it's own. Virgin Mobile refuses to refund any money. This was a horrible waste of valuble time and money. It lead me to believe I would have a device during travel for internet, but truth is, it couldn't be used to even find a local restaurant.
I recommend against purchase. If you purchase, send it back if you have the slightest trouble within the fourteen day trial period that they hide behind.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Virgin U600 3G/4G Franklin USB Stick

Great for anyone looking for internet on the go!

12/02/2013
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I previously did not have the internet. I've been able to work this without a problem. Great for a beginner or anyone looking for mobile internet access without a high price tag.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Virgin U600 3G/4G Franklin USB Stick

Gives me internet!

12/25/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed internet at temporary location. This works. Every so often I need to disconnect and reconnect because of slow or non-loading page. It sure beats having to run down to the library every day though. I would recommend!
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Virgin U600 3G/4G Franklin USB Stick

Congrats to all of you who got in on the $35 plan

11/07/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Virgin announced that no new sticks activated after Nov 1 would be eligible for the $35 Unlimited 4G and 2 gig 3G plan. Here's a website with more details:
http://www.prepaidphonenews.com/2013/10/virgin-broadband2go-chnages.html
Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhh the smell of back to back netflix episodes of Parks and Rec back to back :)
Last month I used 6 gigs of data!
I feel like I should contribute something more positive. I'm knocking on wood but I've been using this stick for almost a year (with Win XP) and though it heats up, no probs.
It has remained functional.
:)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Virgin U600 3G/4G Franklin USB Stick

Reliable internet connection and very fast

10/30/2012
By ,
LaGrange, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 3G USB stick and upgraded to this one at 4G. It is extremely fast, very reliable internet service. The $35 monthly unlimited 4G is a great price too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+98points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Virgin U600 3G/4G Franklin USB Stick

works great

01/02/2014
By ,
fort worth,tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i plugged the unit into my laptop;followed the instructions;and i was on line right away;
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Virgin U600 3G/4G Franklin USB Stick

Not great

11/18/2012
By ,
Pasadena, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My USB stick seems to run very hot. When it gets too hot it seems to stop working. On the Virgin coverage map I seem to be in an area with very good 3G covered and fair 4G coverage but the download and upload are very very slow. The connection drops fairly often. I'm not sure if the USB stick is at fault, the Virgin broadband service or a combination of both.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Virgin U600 3G/4G Franklin USB Stick

Was great for 2 weeks.

01/20/2013
By ,
Syracuse, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was so excited with this device when i first connected to the internet. The 4g connection was great. After two weeks the device started having problems connecting to 4g and kept dropping the connection. So I switched over to 3g, thinking they wanted me to start using up my data usage allowance. Now in fourth week it continuously drops connection even when it shows 4 signal bars. I have not changed locations where I use this device so I don't know what is going on here.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Virgin U600 3G/4G Franklin USB Stick

internet on the go for a good price

10/14/2012
By ,
Bassett, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it!
Wherever I go I have internet without the trouble of wifi in public places.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Virgin U600 3G/4G Franklin USB Stick

Be determined to try it and the 4g network

04/06/2013
By ,
Nashville, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recently I purchased this U600 3g/4g USB stick from WalMart for my Virgin Mobile Broadband wireless internet service. It replaces my Novatel 3g USB stick that I started out with originally on Virgin Mobile Broadband's no contract internet service plans. At first, when I attempted to activate my new device (U600 3g/4g USB Franklin stick) it just didn't work. I tried uninstalling my software, but this didn't work either. What I did was I googled how to restore my computer operating system, because I unintentionally deleted some Qualcomm WiFi device drive software that I suspect came with the computer's original software. After I learned how (simple) it was to restore my laptop operating system, I did it, and the deleted Qualcomm software did indeed reappear.
The next day I tried to activate my new device (U600 3g/4g USB stick) but I needed to call the Virgin Mobile Broadband Customer Service because I was unable to do it. After talking with a very gracious rep, I was still unable to activate it so I told her I was through with trying and that I intended to return my U600 device back to WalMart. The next day, however, was bright and sunny outside, and I thought to myself that maybe I might be able to activate my device this day because surely the 4g network would be responsive and flowing in such a wonderful day's atmosphere. I again tried and found myself online with my old, previous 3g Novatel USB stick device, but I wanted to try again my new U600 4g/3g USB device. I tried installing it, but again I had to call the Customer Service reps . This time I learned that the 4g transmission tower had been down the day before in the city where I live, but that they should have it up and running soon. After he said this, I again tried activating my U600 4g device and lo and behold it worked!!!
I like the 4g network. It allows me to watch YouTube videos without run interruptions, which is important to me. I do notice that it seems quicker than my 3g network, but not lightening fast like some other AT&T internet options that I've subscribed to before. Still it serves my purposes, I can watch my films, have unlimited internet access with 4g, and I'm happier than I was, at least for now. I did notice my 4g device warming up some, but WalMart does offer a two year warranty with my purchase for $4. And I have a 90 day warranty without the added warranty, I believe. So you asked for my review, and this is it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Virgin U600 3G/4G Franklin USB Stick
04/03/2013
By ,
Va
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Does not work with Windows 8 or a tablet :(
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Virgin U600 3G/4G Franklin USB Stick

Does not work with Windows 8!

04/26/2013
By ,
Seattle, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Now I know why the 'price is right' as it is not compatible with Window 8! Once the software is installed it attempts to communicate with the device, however, it is not recognizable. I now have to return the device and purchase the Virgin Sierra Wireless Overdrive Pro 3G/4G Mobile Hotspot device which is considerable more, however, states it is in fact Windows 8 compatible.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Virgin U600 3G/4G Franklin USB Stick

Great Price and fast!

10/11/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This item costs $70.00 on their website! like come on its a no brainer!?
The first day the 4G only did not work, but now it is and i must say i really enjoy having fast internet at a low price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cass Lake,MN
need answers
Posted 10/15/2012
I am trying to buy a wifi connector for my daughter she has an android tablet but I dont know where to begin. I am not IT Savvy. Would buying this work?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Virgin U600 3G/4G Franklin USB Stick

reliable connection

12/01/2013
By ,
Lago Vista , Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great back up for when my usual internet connection is down. Simple to install and easy to buy airtime either with credit card online or with top up cards bought at retailer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Virgin U600 3G/4G Franklin USB Stick

First didn't work on Windows 8, now no $20 plan

02/16/2014
By ,
Raleigh NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased last year, wouldn't work on Windows 8. Used it on Windows 7. *HAD* a $20 monthly Walmart plan 1G 3G, unlimited 4G (actually capped at 10G). Didn't use it for awhile, had to reactivate the device, now lost the $20 a month Walmart plan. Wish I never bought this. Sprint coverage is poor at best, data transfer can rival a dialup modem on a good day.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Virgin U600 3G/4G Franklin USB Stick

Disappointed

11/13/2012
By ,
Davenport, Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this after checking on Walmart website that it would work in my zip code area. When I loaded it, it would not activate. Rang Virgin who advised they did not have coverage in my area!! What a waste of time
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SpartanTech.US
For Next Time...
Posted 11/20/2012
Unfortunately, no 3rd party websites (i.e. Wal-Mart) cannot be expected to provide the most up-to-date information about products.
Before making any decisions, everyone needs to access the manufacturer's site directly for any information, especially when it comes to coverage with wireless technologies. It will only take a couple more minutes of your time, especially if you use a search engine to do the work for you (google or bing). For example, in the aforementioned search engines, type this in their search box:
U600 3G 4G USB Stick site:virginmobileusa.com
This forces the search to be confined only to the website specified!
However, if you really have no other reliable options for internet access in your location, and were hoping this was your salvation, all hope is not lost!
WILSON ELECTRONICS, made in USA (and USA-based tech support), provides excellent signal boosting equipment. The MobilePro #801241, averaging $150, can do the trick for you, and is portable enough to be used in a vehicle or in a window at home. They also have home-wide boosters. I also have the DBPro #841262 which averages $350, but nearly my whole home now has 4 bars signal whereas before I had NONE, boosting ALL 3G/2G/Edge cell networks (except iDEN by Nextel and 4G signals).
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Virgin U600 3G/4G Franklin USB Stick
03/24/2013
By ,
norman ok.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not compatible with windows 8. Had to return product.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Virgin U600 3G/4G Franklin USB Stick

Dial Up has returned!!

12/20/2012
By ,
West Monroe LA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
230 Kilobits per second isn't what crossed my mind after reading 3G/4G. A waste of time and money; I'm taking it back tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Virgin U600 3G/4G Franklin USB Stick

It doesn't work with Windows 8.

01/24/2014
By ,
Sanford, Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It doesn't work with Windows 8. The company (Virgin Mobile) states that it works with Windows 8, but it doesn't. I returned and bought the Virgin Mobile Sierra OverDrive 3G/4G for the same price also at Walmart. I setup the Sierra Overdrive in less than 5 minutes. with the Franklin after 3 phone calls and more than 4 hours with the IT department at Virgin Mobile I decided it was enough and returned the product. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT, it's a better option the Hotspot Sierra Overdrive!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 59 total reviews
1 2 3 Next