Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Compaq Compaq Black CQ2723w Desktop PC with AMD E1-1200 Accelerated Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium (Monitor Not Included)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Compaq Compaq Black CQ2723w Desktop PC with AMD E1-1200 Accelerated Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium (Monitor Not Included)

Compaq CQ2723w PCs stick to the basics, providing the competitive performance and familiar, essential features you need for routine tasks like e-mail and social networking, homework and personal finances or casual Web browsing and online shopping. The all-new sleek and simple design of the Compaq CQ2723w makes it reliable, easy to use and extremely affordable.
Average Customer Rating:
3.97 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
36
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation82%54 out of 66reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
36
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Compaq Black CQ2723w Desktop PC with AMD E1-1200 Accelerated Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium (Monitor Not Included)

Excellent value with an even better price

11/08/2012
By ,
Colorado Springs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just plugged this machine in the other day. Automated set up went without a single hitch. I've downloaded my applications with some minor issues but it wasn't anything I couldn't deal with on my own. The graphics are excellent with its Radeon graphics card and dedicated memory. The CPU fan is silent and for now, I'm loving this computer and suppose others would too. The AMD CPU calculation speed is a little slow (3.5 on a 7.0 scale according to MS experience rating) but this machine won't be used very hard in my home so no issues here, I’m very happy.
Buy this computer if you're looking for a basic machine to surf the web, do email, watch online movies and basic Office tasks like word processing etc. Don't buy this machine if you're looking to do a lot of data base calculation and analysis....I don't think the CPU/Hard Drive speeds would be too pleasing. However running on Windows 7 - 64 bit OS is making this machine move very nicely so in the end it's your choice. Bottom line is you won't go wrong with this computer.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 2 for Compaq Black CQ2723w Desktop PC with AMD E1-1200 Accelerated Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium (Monitor Not Included)

Great deal!!

11/08/2012
By ,
Raleigh, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Came fast, easy to set up and runs quite well. For the price can't imagine a better computer. We do basic word, excel, internet surfing and it performs excellently. Also it includes Power2Go so burning cd's/dvd's is easy and dependable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 3 for Compaq Black CQ2723w Desktop PC with AMD E1-1200 Accelerated Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium (Monitor Not Included)
09/12/2012
By ,
Hamilton, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This item works well and does what it is susposed to do. All of my order came in faster than promised. I am pleased with all of the order. Walmarts site is very easy to order from.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 4 for Compaq Black CQ2723w Desktop PC with AMD E1-1200 Accelerated Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium (Monitor Not Included)

Great Computer for Low Price

07/14/2012
By ,
Pontiac, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I agree with the first poster, neither the mouse nor keyboard was wireless like the details had stated but overall this computer is great. I purchased mines two weeks ago and I love it. If something goes wrong with it tomorrow, next week, or next month I will be sure to update my review. . . Right now, so far so good!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
IS it good for gaming?
Posted 11/11/2012
i game on the pc alot, and i just wanted to know if it would run things like minecraft with ease and no lag. thnks
0points
Customer Avatar
Henrico VA
Description says "wired"
Posted 09/28/2012
I just read the description and the one I read says the mouse and keyboard are "wired" not wireless.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for Compaq Black CQ2723w Desktop PC with AMD E1-1200 Accelerated Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium (Monitor Not Included)

it has NO sound

08/31/2012
By ,
dallas, tx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I honestly would have been delighted with the computer had it come with internal speakers, but it does not. you have to buy separate speakers or use headphones. I use my computers as alarm clocks, so right now I can't even box my old computer up. If i want to watch a video or anything with sound I use the old one. I do not want to buy speakers. I don't remember reading anything about this before.
It does have pros, i have never seen the sticky note program or the snippit making screen capture/edit easier. I am not done exploring the computer. I don't not think it was a slow computer. It boots up very quickly, and I don't have freezing issues like with my last one. Only complaint was the sound, so if you are not planning on doing sound related activities unlike me, then i'd recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
NY
Internal Speakers
Posted 10/24/2012
Umm, I can't even imagine what computer your old one is. I can't remember the last time a desktop computer came with internal speakers. It's a pretty expensive alarm clock as well. I would imagine a cell phone would do a better job for that in this day and age...
0points
Customer Avatar
internal speakers? Really?
Posted 09/16/2012
This is just an FYI - Desktop computers DO NOT come with internal speakers. Old, very VERY OLD computers do.
+3points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for Compaq Black CQ2723w Desktop PC with AMD E1-1200 Accelerated Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium (Monitor Not Included)

General home use

10/30/2012
By ,
SE MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to set up and fine for the light home use application I bought it for. It's primarily used for internet access, music playing and burning, internet videos, and home word processing applications, all of which work very well. Windows 7 is a definite improvement over xp. I wanted something inexpensive but competent and this machine is that. I imagine that I will learn more of its capabilities as I go forward. Reliability in the long term is unknown of course, but it survived the power outage from Sandy with out any problem. For me, a very good value. And the "ship to store" process could not have been any better.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 7 for Compaq Black CQ2723w Desktop PC with AMD E1-1200 Accelerated Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium (Monitor Not Included)

A great basic PC.

07/25/2012
By ,
Chicagoland, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a lightweight and quiet basic desktop that works well for internet surfing, storing photos, and MS Office applications. So far, a good value for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 8 for Compaq Black CQ2723w Desktop PC with AMD E1-1200 Accelerated Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium (Monitor Not Included)

Not what it seems...

11/22/2012
By ,
Victorville, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This suposed Tower desktop is actually a lack-luster PC with NO expansion abilities at all, what so ever. I am not sure why they bothered puting this thin in a tower box... it is completly empty with no knock-outs for adding a device or another hard drive. Not even an empty SATA input on the 7"X7" motherboard or should I say, Daughterboard... The processor is perm built onto board... no upgrade possibilities... ever!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+8points
Review 9 for Compaq Black CQ2723w Desktop PC with AMD E1-1200 Accelerated Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium (Monitor Not Included)
10/11/2012
By ,
Strawberry Plains, Tennessee
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is working fine. No problems from right out of the box to the present.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Gautier, MS
Compac Computer
Posted 11/17/2012
I got this computer and it works fine and I would buy another one just like it, if I had it to do over again I highly recommend it....Works Great!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Compaq Black CQ2723w Desktop PC with AMD E1-1200 Accelerated Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium (Monitor Not Included)

Bad Processor

11/15/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall. Me and a friend were really excited about turning this computer on... only to be met with poor processing power. I admit, I'm no tech junky, but I thought the processor would be good enough to run a free to play game. I was surely wrong. Next time I go with a computer choice, I'm not going to go with Compaq, the now deviant child of Hewlett-Packard. I will go with a straight up HP and watch the huge hole burn into my back pocket(Like my $700+ entertainment laptop with a quad core processor).
Would I recommend this for light gaming? Heck no. Would I recommend this for browsing online or videos. Only if you're online for a few hours a day. A lot of hours (8 plus) in a day? I would recommend a dual core processing computer. Or a quad core.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 11 for Compaq Black CQ2723w Desktop PC with AMD E1-1200 Accelerated Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium (Monitor Not Included)

Excellent for the price

10/22/2012
By ,
College Station, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Arrived in 4 days and worked perfect out of the box. Speed was faster than expected. I have found nothing to complain about except the excessive bloatware that comes pre installed on the computer. The extra warranty does not make it clear how and where you get repairs. It's difficult to ship it back to a repair station. There should be a local repair shop that you could get repairs done.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 12 for Compaq Black CQ2723w Desktop PC with AMD E1-1200 Accelerated Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium (Monitor Not Included)

You get what you pay for, or worse.

11/06/2012
By ,
Wa. State Coast
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this a few days ago and from Day One it had problems. Pages took forever to load. (minutes!..then eventually not at all) It got worse as things went along. I called my ISP, did several tests/checks, nothing helped. All connections were correct, security up to date, Everything was set up correctly. As a test, I connected my old computer, BINGO, no problems whatsoever. This thing is JUNK. You've been warned..and I've learned another hard lesson. You get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 13 for Compaq Black CQ2723w Desktop PC with AMD E1-1200 Accelerated Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium (Monitor Not Included)

This computer works great.

10/26/2012
By ,
Ramona, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am able to conect to my office computer, work on the internet, it also has dual monitor conection so I can use two monitors. Great Value very happy customer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 14 for Compaq Black CQ2723w Desktop PC with AMD E1-1200 Accelerated Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium (Monitor Not Included)
11/10/2012
By ,
Detroit Lakes, MN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Lacking with this unit is wireless network. So be prepared to buy a wireless receiver if hard wiring is not an option. Secondly, noise, noise, noise. This tower's hard drive makes so much noise. I'm just hoping that it doesn't fail...very suspicious. I will definately keep this computer backed up!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 15 for Compaq Black CQ2723w Desktop PC with AMD E1-1200 Accelerated Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium (Monitor Not Included)
11/24/2012
By ,
N Ft Myers, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Parts just kept failing. First the 3 way dvd quit running, then the speakers quit, the last thing to quit was the internet connection. I had to return it to HP for a new unit.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 16 for Compaq Black CQ2723w Desktop PC with AMD E1-1200 Accelerated Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium (Monitor Not Included)

no wireless network adapter

10/29/2012
By ,
Lucas, KS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Compaq Black CQ2723w Desktop is a fine computer for its price. However, in this day and age all computers should come with wireless network adapters as standard. This computer does not, nor was this drawback mentioned. If I had known of this problem I would not have bought the computer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 11/25/2012
It is standard for laptops but rare for a desktop model.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Compaq Black CQ2723w Desktop PC with AMD E1-1200 Accelerated Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium (Monitor Not Included)

Be carefull !!!!!!!!!

07/02/2012
By ,
Lithia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Check before you by one. The advertise shows :
HP wireless keyboard
HP wireless optical mouse
I just got mine today and guess what ? There was USB keybord and mouse.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-16points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
IOWA
Posted 11/22/2012
thats because it says WIRED!
"What's In The Box:
Power cord
HP wired keyboard
HP wired optical mouse
Quick Start Guide" please read carefully before you purchase, unless you choose to spend substantially more on a similar product you are almost always going to receive a WIRED mouse and keyboard
+1point
Customer Avatar
dallas
good computer
Posted 07/07/2012
i have a 2006 compaq. its time for a new computer but this computer has given many years of online fun. and walmart is always good about exchanges.all you have to do is bring your reciept and the product and get your money back or an exchange. in this persons situation all they had to do was take the usb mouse and keyboard back to walmart and chances are walmart would have exchanged them for even a better one.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 18 for Compaq Black CQ2723w Desktop PC with AMD E1-1200 Accelerated Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium (Monitor Not Included)
10/29/2012
By ,
Angleton, Tx.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my office and its sleek design is a space saver. It was easy to install.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Compaq Black CQ2723w Desktop PC with AMD E1-1200 Accelerated Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium (Monitor Not Included)
12/04/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought another in the store for $50 less the day after I ordered this one. The one I bought didn't have a printer(which I didn't need) but it was an HP PC and had a larger monitor.
Returning the un-opened packages was a 1/2 hour hassle as two(0f three) of the boxes didn't have any kind of documentation in them.
Now I'd like to sign out of this review because it claims that all of my nicknames have already been chosen like jjjj, jaaa, jabc, jaja,bubu,.abbi. I'm going to change rating to 4 stars and see if it makes a difference
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 20 for Compaq Black CQ2723w Desktop PC with AMD E1-1200 Accelerated Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium (Monitor Not Included)

not worth it

07/15/2012
By ,
tacoma, wa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this computer is no good. It's slow and always starts with a option to fix the start up when i just got it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-6points
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1 2 Next