Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Pioneer Pioneer Component-Based 5.1 CH Surround Sound System

Pioneer Pioneer Component-Based 5.1 CH Surround Sound System

Get the most out of your audio experience with the Pioneer Component-Based 5.1 Surround Sound System. Whether watching movies and TV or listening to music, this Dolby Surround Sound system will fill your living room with 5.1 channels of listening pleasure. The Pioneer Surround Sound System comes with five satellite speakers and a 6.3" ported down firing subwoofer. You can easily arrange the system to your preferred configuration. 4 x HDMI inputs let you connect to external components, and you can also listen to your favorite radio stations via the 30 preset AM/FM tuner. This Dolby Surround Sound System offers a maximum power output of 100W x 6 channels.
Average Customer Rating:
4.783 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation91%21 out of 23reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
37 Questions | 29 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Pioneer Component-Based 5.1 CH Surround Sound System

a Great sounding system

08/28/2012
By ,
Harrisburg, Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After checking out numerous other home theater systems and their reviews, I decided to go with this Pioneer Surround Sound System. The reviews, though not many and hard to find, rated this very high in customer satisfaction. Pioneer is a trusted name and Walmart had them priced very reasonable. Upon receiving, though the information book was a little difficult to follow / comprehend due to all the technical language, the set up was fairly simple and easy to complete. Upon completion, I was immediately surrounded by quality sound. Very impressed and much better then other more expensive models that I had listened to. I have yet to totally tweak all the sound options available mainly because they are not needed with the quality of sound that the system produces right out of the box. Highly recommend for a quality and budget minded consumer. You won't be disappointed ... oh and by the way, the base, which is controllable is AWESOME and wall shaking !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pioneer Component-Based 5.1 CH Surround Sound System

Great for a boxed system!!!

11/11/2012
By ,
RivCo, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this with my PS3 and it is great! It is connected via the fiber optic toslink cable which has its benefits. I use my PS3 for everything: Movies, Music, Gaming, Youtube, etc. So, while I switch from movies to music the settings on the receiver automatically switches to the best option i.e. from dolby digital surround to stereo. The small speakers are very deceiving because the produce great sound! The subwoofer has very clean deep bass. Great product especially for the price. The only downside with this system is that it doesn't have bluetooth connectivity or even the 3.5mm stereo jack to connect an external source like iPhone/iPod/iPad/MP3/Android Phone/Tablet. So I would recommend getting a "RCA Stereo 3.5mm Mini to RCA Y Adapter Cable" if you would like to connect an external source like that. I haven't owned it for long so I will come back with an update later.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
RCA Stereo 3.5mm Mini to RCA Y Adapter Cable
 
 
 
 
 
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pioneer Component-Based 5.1 CH Surround Sound System

Great Sound

08/18/2012
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I searched many different sites and many brands of systems before choosing this one. I put alot of faith in the consumer reviews that were on each site and I was not dissapointed. I bought this system to replace a 6 year old sony system and I am very satisfied with it. One of very few systems that has 4 HDMI inputs and the sound is amazing, even in my huge living room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pioneer Component-Based 5.1 CH Surround Sound System
07/30/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a ton of inputs, great sound and very deep clean bass. definitely wall shaking sound and very light on the pocketbook. Highly recommend this piece.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pioneer Component-Based 5.1 CH Surround Sound System

Awesome Product!

11/14/2012
By ,
Hanford, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very simple to set up. Awesome sound with deep bass. If you're into quality sound, this is a great unit. It has several features that I haven't even figured out how to use but really aren't needed in my opinion. I highly recommend this system to anyone wanting full surround sound with various surround options.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pioneer Component-Based 5.1 CH Surround Sound System
07/30/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
you want movie theater sound then this is the system for you. It has all the latest features, as many connections as you could want and at a great price. This is perfect for any medium to large room. You wont be dissapointed!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pioneer Component-Based 5.1 CH Surround Sound System

Absolutely Great!

03/05/2013
By ,
Waco, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Back in the early 80s I had a Pioneer stereo receiver that was absolutely superior in sound quality, so when looking for a replacement for my existing 9+ year old JVC home theater system that had started to develop problems, I decided on this package. Now, after using it each evening over a full month, I'm still in awe over its quality.
Obviously Pioneer has maintained totally exceptional quality through all the years. Of course it's been too long ago for me to accurately compare this unit with the old one, so I'll just say this package is possibly as good as they get. And don't be concerned about the small size of that subwoofer. It produces such clear and strong lows that I usually keep it turned down a couple of notches.
Buy this package only if you want the best, then read the manual and be patient with learning how to set up your personal preferences.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pioneer Component-Based 5.1 CH Surround Sound System

Excellent sound and high quality components

01/30/2013
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once I got it set up, I was very pleased with the sound quality. It surpassed my expectations. I must admit that it took awhile to set up because the instructions did not seem to match the ports on my TV or other components. Understandably, the instructions state what ports and cable to use on the receiver, but did not show where to connect the other end to the TV and/or components I was using with it. For example, the instructions show to use an optical audio cable, which I purchased separately, only to find that my TV does not have a matching optical audio cable port (the connection tip did not match my TV's digital audio port. I ended up buying a digital audio cable, not the optical type to use with my TV. Also, I would advise anyone who has problems getting both a DVD or Blue-ray player to play in addition to getting the TV cable/satellite to play sound through the system, to make note of the Signal Selection "Signal Sel") control on the remote control.
In short, be sure to hook up a digital cable from the receiver to your TV and use the signal selection control to select your TV or DVD/Blu-ray player. I was pulling my hair out until I discovered these two necessities. But once I did, I was very satisfied with the system.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pioneer Component-Based 5.1 CH Surround Sound System

Pioneer Component-Based 5.1 CH Surround Sound Syst

11/23/2012
By ,
Fort Wayne, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product exceeds my expectations. OUTSTANDING sound. If you can't decide on a hoome theater system. This is it ! Go Pioneer
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pioneer Component-Based 5.1 CH Surround Sound System
01/14/2013
By ,
Carson City, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used Site to Store to receive this product because I didn't want to have to be available all day waiting for delivery on the delivery date. It actually got delivered to the store earlier than projected, which was nice. I was out running some errands when I received he text message on my phone and was able to pick it up while out instead of having to make two trips. This sound system has really enhanced my enjoyment of all the shows, sporting events and movies I watch and was fairly easy to set up. Only draw back was having to get a digital optical/sound cable but once hooked up the room came alive. I would recommend this system to everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Pioneer Component-Based 5.1 CH Surround Sound System
01/18/2013
By ,
Tennesee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just {WOW} Crisp , Clean remarkable sound from tiny satelite speakers even @ high volume. With the price of only 300 dollars you have a reciever you can depend upon. PIONEER you have a winner here. con no front I-POD hookup.CD player units have this feature ENJOY.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Pioneer Component-Based 5.1 CH Surround Sound System
10/26/2012
By ,
tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great surround system.you cannot go wrong with this one.
very satisfied with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Pioneer Component-Based 5.1 CH Surround Sound System

I was Surprised

12/10/2012
By ,
Overland Park KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The system has a nice clean sound to it, and you can turn it up pretty loud without loss of clarity. The amount of different inputs is really what exceeded my expectations. The system is great for video games and music at the same time, i would defiantly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Pioneer Component-Based 5.1 CH Surround Sound System
04/01/2013
By ,
Riverton, Wy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ihave have read other reviews on this unit which led me to purchase it. I'm pleasantly surprised by the sound produced from this stereo. For the price it is hard to beat. I had an old bose system that did not produce the sound that this unit does. I'm not saying that the newer Bose units are better but was happy with how well this pioneer sounds. I would reccommend this to anyone who does not want to spend alot of money, but likes god sound. Great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Pioneer Component-Based 5.1 CH Surround Sound System

I love it

02/12/2013
By ,
Dearborn, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There is no dvd player but I am pleased with the Pioneer system that less than $300.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Pioneer Component-Based 5.1 CH Surround Sound System

Great sound

03/24/2013
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product to go with my 47 inch Vizio. Awesome sound. Does not come supplied with any HDMI cable. My TV is wi-fi, had a hard time getting the surround sound to work on Netflix and Vudu movies. No where in the manual can you find how to get the sound from the wi-fi. You have to buy an optical cable, and the sound keeps breaking up.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Pioneer Component-Based 5.1 CH Surround Sound System

Excellent sound system.

04/28/2013
By ,
Cherry Hill, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Pioneer Component-Based 5.1 CH Surround Sound System

Good Price, good quality

01/05/2013
By ,
Calexico, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very cool quality for price, I'm very pleased with this home teather. I'm impressed with quality parts for the money. Good purchase!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Pioneer Component-Based 5.1 CH Surround Sound System
01/04/2013
By ,
ky
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is being returned....we thought it waas wireless!!!!!!!!!!11
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Pioneer Component-Based 5.1 CH Surround Sound System
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5