Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Venturer RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Venturer RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Enjoy your DVDs wherever you are with this RCA Portable DVD Player with built-in 9" LCD screen. It's equipped with an AC power adapter and car power adapter for use in the home or car, plus it has a built-in rechargeable battery — giving you complete portability. Also includes a remote control.
Average Customer Rating:
3.56 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation68%17 out of 25reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 26 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

great dvd player

12/18/2012
By ,
holley ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
have had this for over a year and it still works great. never gave us problems. would reccomend this. as for the other people who had problems, probably got a defective one
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Do not waste your money

04/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have owned this player a grand total of 20 days...just long enough not to be able to return in the store (15 day limit)...and it stopped working. It always made a loud humming sound, which I was willing to live with for the sake of entertaining my little one at long events or on car rides. However, now it won't play any DVD past the previews. It just gets stuck and eventually stops.
Very frustrating! I did not expect to spend over $70 with tax and only own a working player for 20 days. The warranty from the manufacturer is also terrible, not surprisingly. They want me to try a DVD cleaner, which I have to purchase (after maybe 5 movies have been played?!), then if that doesn't work, they want me to mail it back on my own dime so that they can fix it.
No thank you, I would rather have my money back so that I can get a decent player from ANYWHERE but Walmart!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

compact and easy to use

07/10/2014
By ,
SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have only used this a short time but hope to get good use out of it in a couple of weeks. Appears to be a quality product, nice picture and our 10 year old granddaughter has no problems operating it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Great picture quality.

06/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only negative comment I have is that the buttons are hard to negotiate.(i.e. Play, FF, Stop)
Other than that I am very satisfied with this player.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Large screen - good for car

03/16/2014
By ,
Arlington, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a portable dvd player in a pinch and this one was priced well. It works fine. My only complaint is the car charger cord is too short. I have an older vehicle so my only ports to plug it in are in the front and my child rides in the back. They need to have longer cords. You can always wrap it and tie-tag it if it's too long. Will look into getting a longer cord. Or a new car.
Other than that, it's great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Excellent

09/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Lasted about 2 hours

09/02/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We got this for my son to use on a long road trip. He watched part of a movie, then took a nap, he woke and tried to use it again and it started to glitch. Didn't recognize a disk it had just played. From there it got worse, it would just spin and stop, spin and stop. Needless to say my son was disappointed with his birthday present. We returned it to a Walmart in Arizona and replaced it with a Sylvania model. RCA used to be a good brand, but this one was poor.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Selling Used Equipment

09/06/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Severely disappointed as the box was previously opened and the unit quite scratched & used by someone else. It is going to be returned.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player
08/30/2012
By ,
Van Buren, AR
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The player worked great the first 15-20 minutes, then it began skipping really bad. We couldn't even finish the movie (which we watch at home all the time with no problems). The player was sitting on a chair when it first started skipping, so I moved it to the table thinking it was off balance, but it skipped even worse after moving it to the table. I turned it off, then back on trying to "reset" everything, but it still continued to miss a large number of frames.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+73points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

RCA 9" portable DVD player

09/01/2014
By ,
bakersfield, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I truly trust RCA & always have. I enjoy their products & will buy them when there is a great price available.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Great little portable dvd player :-)

07/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There is only 2 things that I don't like about this player
1- how flimsy the door is ... you just flip it up to put your DVD in or take it out
2- its loud you can hear the motor going especially if you use headphones
Other than that it works great and you can't beat the price for a 9" portable DVD player
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Portable is the only good thing to say about this.

08/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is one of the most cheaply made portable dvd players I've bought. I actually have an RCA 9" portable that is about 4 yrs. old. I wanted another and thought I was getting the same quality of the one I currently own. No, not at all. The plastic, and it is plastic, is mega cheap but that could be overlooked IF the player had worked at all; it did NOT. Apparently it was a lemon straight from the "factory" but it has soured me on RCA. I returned the player the same day I bought it, within an hour actually of purchasing it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Average because it lacks a high audible volume.

04/22/2014
By ,
Scottsdale, Az
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought 2 of these and both could use MUCH more audible volume. Otherwise fine. JD
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Great product!

05/25/2014
By ,
Rockville, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought it and works perfectly so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Worked!

10/28/2012
By ,
richmond, va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After purchasing a Philips product that failed to work the minute we tried to watch a DVD one hour into a 23 hour round trip with 3 kids under 5, purchasing this on the fly with no research on our way home was a LIFESAVER. It worked, the volume was great, it didn't skip, and we used it for the majority of our 10 hour trip home. At this point, I won't read reviews anymore. The philips had 4 1/2 stars...this one had one star...I think it's hit or miss as to whether you get a good one or not!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
love it
Posted 11/23/2012
I've owned my RCA for 7 months and use it mulitple times a night, I have never had a problem with it and even bought my mom one for christmas. I love that it came with a travel case.
Trust the name and product.
I work nights and sit with a single client in a dark room. My RCA dvd player has come in such a need. I can watch movies with a earbud and not distrub my client's sleep. I love having the remote control; it makes it so much easier.
It has also come in handy when I have my grandchildren in the car, it keeps them occupied when on a long car ride.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

WOULD RECOMMEND THIS TO ANYONE

07/20/2014
By ,
ILLINOIS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EVERYTHING WORKS ON THIS DVD PLAYER
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

It cranks!

08/08/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It's really much too loud to play at bedtime. I gave it to my grandson for his cartoons. What a waste.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Great Portable DVD Player

08/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is the perfect size for travel and home use. It met all my expectations of an RCA product. Picture and sound quality is very good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

The worst DVD I have ever owned!

10/25/2012
By ,
Glasgow, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have purchased a few portable DVD players for my daughter and this is by far the worst we have ever owned. We have owned it less than 1 year and the control buttons have broke. The hinge part that connects the the screen to the base has broke on both sides. The player itself is loud when the disc is playing. It also came with a warning not to charge it by the car adapter that it came with, to only use it with the play mode only. I have also replaced the car charger because it quit working.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Don't waste your money!

04/04/2014
By ,
Mississippi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this Portable DVD player on Tuesday and it worked fine. The next night I put a DVD in it and it says unknown disc. I tried numerous DVDs and got the same message. If I were you I wouldn't waste my money in this. Sure wish I had read the reviews before I purchased.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1 2 Next