Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Venturer RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Venturer RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Enjoy your DVDs wherever you are with this RCA Portable DVD Player with built-in 9" LCD screen. It's equipped with an AC power adapter and car power adapter for use in the home or car, plus it has a built-in rechargeable battery — giving you complete portability. Also includes a remote control.
Average Customer Rating:
3.621 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
11
3 stars
6
2 stars
8
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation65%43 out of 66reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
35 Questions | 43 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
11
3 stars
6
2 stars
8
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

great dvd player

12/18/2012
By ,
holley ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
have had this for over a year and it still works great. never gave us problems. would reccomend this. as for the other people who had problems, probably got a defective one
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Do not waste your money

04/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have owned this player a grand total of 20 days...just long enough not to be able to return in the store (15 day limit)...and it stopped working. It always made a loud humming sound, which I was willing to live with for the sake of entertaining my little one at long events or on car rides. However, now it won't play any DVD past the previews. It just gets stuck and eventually stops.
Very frustrating! I did not expect to spend over $70 with tax and only own a working player for 20 days. The warranty from the manufacturer is also terrible, not surprisingly. They want me to try a DVD cleaner, which I have to purchase (after maybe 5 movies have been played?!), then if that doesn't work, they want me to mail it back on my own dime so that they can fix it.
No thank you, I would rather have my money back so that I can get a decent player from ANYWHERE but Walmart!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
From RCA Audio Video12/10/2014
We apologize for the inconvenience, and it will be our pleasure to assist you. Please reach out to our support team at support@1800customersupport.comRCAAV
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

rca player

01/10/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the player makes a humming sound the whole time it is running. it distracting
Recommends this product? No
From RCA Audio Video01/12/2015
We apologize for the inconvenience, and it will be our pleasure to assist you. Please reach out to our support team at support@1800customersupport.comRCAAV
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Portable DVD Review

01/28/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I haven't used this yet, but it was well packaged and seems to be of good quality.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

DVD Buddy

01/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The player meets my expectations. Seems to have good charged battery life and it runs quiet which is great when others are in the same room watching TV, etc. My purchase of the recommend carrying bag was a little small for carrying cables, remote, and power charger. Since the power charger prongs down fold, it is a tight fit in the bag. Yet, I have now a nice portable DVD play so I can watch my golf training DVDs anywhere!
Recommends this product? Yes
From RCA Audio Video01/22/2015
Great Review! Thank you for your comments and concerns about the portable DVD players, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of portable DVD players.
Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your Portable DVD Player. RCAAV
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

cool movie player gets the job done no doubt

01/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the big screen it's easier to watch with less eye strain. Simple to operate and very reliable too.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Thought it would be good it's RCA!

01/17/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought the RCA 9" Portable DVD Player for my grandson and I to use....I was excited that it was a brand name product. The remote worked the first few days when I was learning how to use it. I gave it to my grandson son to see it and the remote did not work......
I need to return it or get a new remote, because the product is NEW, there was no misuse! However, being handicapped, travel is difficult especially in the cold (it was ordered online) perhaps this correspondence will help me with this problem....
Recommends this product? No
From RCA Audio Video01/19/2015
We apologize for the inconvenience, and it will be our pleasure to assist you. Please reach out to our support team at support@1800customersupport.com RCAAV
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Just "okay"

11/13/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This player was purchased to use for playing exercise DVDs for my at-home exercise routines. For this purpose the player is "okay" but if I were using it for actually watching movies I would be returning it. While the motor is operating and spinning the DVD, it is sooo loud that it is sometimes hard to hear the exercise leader! And when switching on the menu from one section to another, it almost seems like the player is "struggling" to switch gears, so to speak.
Recommends this product? No
From RCA Audio Video12/09/2014
Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your tablet. Thank you for your comments and concerns about the tablets, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of RCA tablets.RCAAV
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Very Nice

01/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No complaints....Looks tough and functions well. Hope to have it for a very long time. 9" screen is a major plus.
Recommends this product? Yes
From RCA Audio Video01/22/2015
Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your Portable DVD Player. RCAAV
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

compact and easy to use

07/10/2014
By ,
SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have only used this a short time but hope to get good use out of it in a couple of weeks. Appears to be a quality product, nice picture and our 10 year old granddaughter has no problems operating it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

RCA DVD PLAYER

10/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit was purchased as a substitute for my DVD player in my laptop. The battery charges up quick and the sound is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
From RCA Audio Video12/10/2014
Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your Portable DVD Player.RCAAV
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Noisy

11/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When the DVD was placed into the player the sound of the disc spinning was so loud it distracted form the DVD that was playing, I returned this item and got another brand.
Recommends this product? No
From RCA Audio Video12/09/2014
Thank you for your comments and concerns about the portable DVD players, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of portable DVD players.RCAAV
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

It is a great idea, but very noisy!

01/12/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought 2 of these as a Christmas presents and it makes such a loud whirring sound. You have to really get into the movie to not notice it as much and it still is noticable most of the time. Sometimes the screen goes black for short times. I would recommend this if it was quiet.
Recommends this product? No
From RCA Audio Video01/14/2015
Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your Portable DVD Player. Thank you for your comments and concerns about the portable DVD players, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of portable DVD players.RCAAV
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

RCA DVD player

01/13/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We had a 7" before for three years for our great granddaughter, she liked it. Then we purchased the 9" RCA and she loves it, better picture and sound and easyier to work than the 7". We are very pleased with our purchase
Recommends this product? Yes
From RCA Audio Video01/14/2015
We apologize for the inconvenience, and it will be our pleasure to assist you. Please reach out to our support team at support@1800customersupport.comRCAAV
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Great Idea

01/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great idea for my husband . We have a summer place outside of normal cable range and this way he could watch his movies anytime he wants
Recommends this product? Yes
From RCA Audio Video01/12/2015
Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your Portable DVD Player.RCAAV
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player
08/30/2012
By ,
Van Buren, AR
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The player worked great the first 15-20 minutes, then it began skipping really bad. We couldn't even finish the movie (which we watch at home all the time with no problems). The player was sitting on a chair when it first started skipping, so I moved it to the table thinking it was off balance, but it skipped even worse after moving it to the table. I turned it off, then back on trying to "reset" everything, but it still continued to miss a large number of frames.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
From RCA Audio Video12/11/2014
Thank you for your comments and concerns about the portable DVD players, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of portable DVD players.RCAAV
+75points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Great picture quality.

06/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only negative comment I have is that the buttons are hard to negotiate.(i.e. Play, FF, Stop)
Other than that I am very satisfied with this player.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Perfect Christmas Gift

01/11/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This has become the perfect Christmas gift for my wife. She was surprised on how easy it is to operate.
Recommends this product? Yes
From RCA Audio Video01/12/2015
Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your Portable DVD Player.RCAAV
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

playing DVD

12/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Is a very nice dvd player, But can't NOT play all type of dvd format. That's the only thing I see is wrong with.
Yil
Recommends this product? No
From RCA Audio Video12/10/2014
Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your Portable DVD Player.RCAAV
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Worked!

10/28/2012
By ,
richmond, va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After purchasing a Philips product that failed to work the minute we tried to watch a DVD one hour into a 23 hour round trip with 3 kids under 5, purchasing this on the fly with no research on our way home was a LIFESAVER. It worked, the volume was great, it didn't skip, and we used it for the majority of our 10 hour trip home. At this point, I won't read reviews anymore. The philips had 4 1/2 stars...this one had one star...I think it's hit or miss as to whether you get a good one or not!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+67points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
love it
Posted 11/23/2012
I've owned my RCA for 7 months and use it mulitple times a night, I have never had a problem with it and even bought my mom one for christmas. I love that it came with a travel case.
Trust the name and product.
I work nights and sit with a single client in a dark room. My RCA dvd player has come in such a need. I can watch movies with a earbud and not distrub my client's sleep. I love having the remote control; it makes it so much easier.
It has also come in handy when I have my grandchildren in the car, it keeps them occupied when on a long car ride.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 65 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next