Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Venturer RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Venturer RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Enjoy your DVDs wherever you are with this RCA Portable DVD Player with built-in 9" LCD screen. It's equipped with an AC power adapter and car power adapter for use in the home or car, plus it has a built-in rechargeable battery — giving you complete portability. Also includes a remote control.
Average Customer Rating:
3.49 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
8
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation59%29 out of 49reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
31 Questions | 37 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
8
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

great dvd player

12/18/2012
By ,
holley ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
have had this for over a year and it still works great. never gave us problems. would reccomend this. as for the other people who had problems, probably got a defective one
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Do not waste your money

04/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have owned this player a grand total of 20 days...just long enough not to be able to return in the store (15 day limit)...and it stopped working. It always made a loud humming sound, which I was willing to live with for the sake of entertaining my little one at long events or on car rides. However, now it won't play any DVD past the previews. It just gets stuck and eventually stops.
Very frustrating! I did not expect to spend over $70 with tax and only own a working player for 20 days. The warranty from the manufacturer is also terrible, not surprisingly. They want me to try a DVD cleaner, which I have to purchase (after maybe 5 movies have been played?!), then if that doesn't work, they want me to mail it back on my own dime so that they can fix it.
No thank you, I would rather have my money back so that I can get a decent player from ANYWHERE but Walmart!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
From RCA Audio Video12/10/2014
We apologize for the inconvenience, and it will be our pleasure to assist you. Please reach out to our support team at support@1800customersupport.comRCAAV
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

playing DVD

12/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Is a very nice dvd player, But can't NOT play all type of dvd format. That's the only thing I see is wrong with.
Yil
Recommends this product? No
From RCA Audio Video12/10/2014
Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your Portable DVD Player.RCAAV
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Not worth even the low price

11/15/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I don't like this DVD Player. I ordered one that showed the buttons on the left hand side, but got the one with them on the right hand side. Seems crazy, I know - but we've had 2 of the ones with the buttons on the right - and they haven't lasted 3 months!! For some reason, they're junk - but the other isn't - even though they are both the same model number.
I returned this DVD Player - hoping to find the other one in the store.
What a disappointment.
Recommends this product? No
From RCA Audio Video12/09/2014
Thank you for your comments and concerns about the portable DVD players, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of portable DVD players.RCAAV
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Great Player but...

12/19/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
its a great size but cannot be used without a source of power. I thought it ran off of a battery. the other thing is that the DVD door does not latch down so when my daughter decides to get curious she opens the door in the middle of the movie spinning. I dont like that because her movies are getting scratched. Would be better for children at least 6+.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Just "okay"

11/13/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This player was purchased to use for playing exercise DVDs for my at-home exercise routines. For this purpose the player is "okay" but if I were using it for actually watching movies I would be returning it. While the motor is operating and spinning the DVD, it is sooo loud that it is sometimes hard to hear the exercise leader! And when switching on the menu from one section to another, it almost seems like the player is "struggling" to switch gears, so to speak.
Recommends this product? No
From RCA Audio Video12/09/2014
Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your tablet. Thank you for your comments and concerns about the tablets, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of RCA tablets.RCAAV
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

compact and easy to use

07/10/2014
By ,
SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have only used this a short time but hope to get good use out of it in a couple of weeks. Appears to be a quality product, nice picture and our 10 year old granddaughter has no problems operating it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

RCA DVD PLAYER

10/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit was purchased as a substitute for my DVD player in my laptop. The battery charges up quick and the sound is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
From RCA Audio Video12/10/2014
Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your Portable DVD Player.RCAAV
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Portable DVD player

12/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for trips short or long. Can be used outside also. Has a good picture, and great price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Noisy

11/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When the DVD was placed into the player the sound of the disc spinning was so loud it distracted form the DVD that was playing, I returned this item and got another brand.
Recommends this product? No
From RCA Audio Video12/09/2014
Thank you for your comments and concerns about the portable DVD players, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of portable DVD players.RCAAV
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Perfect portable DVD for travel

09/22/2014
By ,
Melrose MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needed a quick replacement of our travel/portable DVD player for a very last minute weekend get away. This was right within our budget. It was just what we needed to keep our son entertained on the car ride.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
From RCA Audio Video12/10/2014
Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your Portable DVD Player.RCAAV
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

an OK player

10/14/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall I prefer my old Sylvania player. This one does the job and has a nice picture but is noisy. Also it has buttons for volume and when turned on is always loud no matter what the last volume setting was. Also you have to open the lid manually and overall all just feels cheaper than less expensive ones I have had. Not big issues if I had paid less for it, but it is not really worth the price tag.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
From RCA Audio Video12/10/2014
Thank you for your comments and concerns about the portable DVD players, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of portable DVD players.RCAAV
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Great picture quality.

06/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only negative comment I have is that the buttons are hard to negotiate.(i.e. Play, FF, Stop)
Other than that I am very satisfied with this player.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

A bit disappointed

12/04/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have an older version of this player which works fantastically. I bought 2 of these figuring they are a newer version, and for the price, why not have an extra. Well, thank goodness I did. The first one I started using keeps saying "Unknown disc" after not even one day of play. So, I swapped it out with the second one....it is still working so far. Now to figure out if I can just take the 1st one back to the store for a refund.
Recommends this product? No
From RCA Audio Video12/04/2014
We apologize for the inconvenience, and it will be our pleasure to assist you. Please reach out to our support team at support@1800customersupport.comRCAAV
From RCA Audio Video12/04/2014
We apologize for the inconvenience, and it will be our pleasure to assist you. Please reach out to our support team at support@1800customersupport.comRCAAV
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Plastic Box

09/25/2014
By ,
Pharr, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this dvd player and i was very disappointed with the quality and the menu selection in the player considering that it is RCA, this player is just high priced plastic box. Dont spend youre money on this product you will be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
From RCA Audio Video12/09/2014
We apologize for the inconvenience, and it will be our pleasure to assist you. Please reach out to our support team at support@1800customersupport.comRCAAV
From RCA Audio Video12/09/2014
We apologize for the inconvenience, and it will be our pleasure to assist you. Please reach out to our support team at support@1800customersupport.comRCAAV
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player
08/30/2012
By ,
Van Buren, AR
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The player worked great the first 15-20 minutes, then it began skipping really bad. We couldn't even finish the movie (which we watch at home all the time with no problems). The player was sitting on a chair when it first started skipping, so I moved it to the table thinking it was off balance, but it skipped even worse after moving it to the table. I turned it off, then back on trying to "reset" everything, but it still continued to miss a large number of frames.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
From RCA Audio Video12/11/2014
Thank you for your comments and concerns about the portable DVD players, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of portable DVD players.RCAAV
+75points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Great little portable dvd player :-)

07/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There is only 2 things that I don't like about this player
1- how flimsy the door is ... you just flip it up to put your DVD in or take it out
2- its loud you can hear the motor going especially if you use headphones
Other than that it works great and you can't beat the price for a 9" portable DVD player
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

great

10/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am very happy with the dvd player overall. Only downside was that I did not open the box until the day of the car trip I had purchased it for. I found that the wall charger was missing...I ordered one from an internet site for only a few dollars but it was disappointing not to have it for my trip.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
From RCA Audio Video12/10/2014
Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your Portable DVD Player.RCAAV
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Average because it lacks a high audible volume.

04/22/2014
By ,
Scottsdale, Az
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought 2 of these and both could use MUCH more audible volume. Otherwise fine. JD
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

just the right size

11/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
happy to find this
Recommends this product? Yes
From RCA Audio Video12/12/2014
Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your Portable DVD Player.RCAAV
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 48 total reviews
1 2 3 Next