Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Venturer RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Venturer RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Enjoy your DVDs wherever you are with this RCA Portable DVD Player with built-in 9" LCD screen. It's equipped with an AC power adapter and car power adapter for use in the home or car, plus it has a built-in rechargeable battery — giving you complete portability. Also includes a remote control.
Average Customer Rating:
3.579 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(76 Reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
14
3 stars
6
2 stars
10
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation64%49 out of 76reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
36 Questions | 44 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
14
3 stars
6
2 stars
10
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

great dvd player

12/18/2012
By ,
holley ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
have had this for over a year and it still works great. never gave us problems. would reccomend this. as for the other people who had problems, probably got a defective one
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Do not waste your money

04/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have owned this player a grand total of 20 days...just long enough not to be able to return in the store (15 day limit)...and it stopped working. It always made a loud humming sound, which I was willing to live with for the sake of entertaining my little one at long events or on car rides. However, now it won't play any DVD past the previews. It just gets stuck and eventually stops.
Very frustrating! I did not expect to spend over $70 with tax and only own a working player for 20 days. The warranty from the manufacturer is also terrible, not surprisingly. They want me to try a DVD cleaner, which I have to purchase (after maybe 5 movies have been played?!), then if that doesn't work, they want me to mail it back on my own dime so that they can fix it.
No thank you, I would rather have my money back so that I can get a decent player from ANYWHERE but Walmart!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
From RCA Audio Video12/10/2014
We apologize for the inconvenience, and it will be our pleasure to assist you. Please reach out to our support team at support@1800customersupport.comRCAAV
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

short battery

02/07/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fully-charged battery did not last one whole movie. Light weight for child and may be good for a child's movie if it is short.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Just "okay"

11/13/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This player was purchased to use for playing exercise DVDs for my at-home exercise routines. For this purpose the player is "okay" but if I were using it for actually watching movies I would be returning it. While the motor is operating and spinning the DVD, it is sooo loud that it is sometimes hard to hear the exercise leader! And when switching on the menu from one section to another, it almost seems like the player is "struggling" to switch gears, so to speak.
Recommends this product? No
From RCA Audio Video12/09/2014
Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your tablet. Thank you for your comments and concerns about the tablets, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of RCA tablets.RCAAV
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

RCA 9" Portable DVD player

02/23/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The DVD player showed well, however it did not have the cord with the ability to connect to the tv. the cord with the different colors Overrall very good player for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

RCA 9'' Portable DVD Player Rocks!

02/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best DVD player ever!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Works Fine - Decent priceI

02/13/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A bit flimsy in construction bur works fine. We are mature adults. I would think it might be a bit short-lived in children's hands, but it should last a good while with us.
It could do with a bit better set of instructions as well. I'm not sure if it can run on AC and charge at the same time. I also read the instructions as saying don't try to charge it in the car.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Noisy

11/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When the DVD was placed into the player the sound of the disc spinning was so loud it distracted form the DVD that was playing, I returned this item and got another brand.
Recommends this product? No
From RCA Audio Video12/09/2014
Thank you for your comments and concerns about the portable DVD players, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of portable DVD players.RCAAV
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

RCA DVD PLAYER

10/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit was purchased as a substitute for my DVD player in my laptop. The battery charges up quick and the sound is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
From RCA Audio Video12/10/2014
Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your Portable DVD Player.RCAAV
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

rca player

01/10/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the player makes a humming sound the whole time it is running. it distracting
Recommends this product? No
From RCA Audio Video01/12/2015
We apologize for the inconvenience, and it will be our pleasure to assist you. Please reach out to our support team at support@1800customersupport.comRCAAV
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Terrible don't buy it

11/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought it last night and it worked great. Today it doesn't work at all. When disk is in it says no disk. Doesn't work after 1 day. Seriously??!!??!!
Recommends this product? No
From RCA Audio Video12/09/2014
We apologize for the inconvenience, and it will be our pleasure to assist you. Please reach out to our support team at support@1800customersupport.comRCAAV
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

You charge it for 5 hours and loses power quickly

02/12/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I charge it for about 5 hours and you watch one episode of show and one power bar disappears that shouldn't happen so quickly. I'm going return it.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player
08/30/2012
By ,
Van Buren, AR
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The player worked great the first 15-20 minutes, then it began skipping really bad. We couldn't even finish the movie (which we watch at home all the time with no problems). The player was sitting on a chair when it first started skipping, so I moved it to the table thinking it was off balance, but it skipped even worse after moving it to the table. I turned it off, then back on trying to "reset" everything, but it still continued to miss a large number of frames.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
From RCA Audio Video12/11/2014
Thank you for your comments and concerns about the portable DVD players, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of portable DVD players.RCAAV
+76points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

RCA

02/13/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not sturdy. Makes noise. Doesn't feel like it will last.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Not worth the postage

02/12/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have tried several times but cannot get it to play a DVD. Will be returning at the first chance
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Great deal for the bucks!

02/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We used this for the first time this weekend and we were very pleased. Picture is very clear, sound is clear as well. My 4 year old Granddaughter had no problems holding this as it is very lightweight.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Great picture quality.

06/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only negative comment I have is that the buttons are hard to negotiate.(i.e. Play, FF, Stop)
Other than that I am very satisfied with this player.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Worked!

10/28/2012
By ,
richmond, va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After purchasing a Philips product that failed to work the minute we tried to watch a DVD one hour into a 23 hour round trip with 3 kids under 5, purchasing this on the fly with no research on our way home was a LIFESAVER. It worked, the volume was great, it didn't skip, and we used it for the majority of our 10 hour trip home. At this point, I won't read reviews anymore. The philips had 4 1/2 stars...this one had one star...I think it's hit or miss as to whether you get a good one or not!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+71points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
love it
Posted 11/23/2012
I've owned my RCA for 7 months and use it mulitple times a night, I have never had a problem with it and even bought my mom one for christmas. I love that it came with a travel case.
Trust the name and product.
I work nights and sit with a single client in a dark room. My RCA dvd player has come in such a need. I can watch movies with a earbud and not distrub my client's sleep. I love having the remote control; it makes it so much easier.
It has also come in handy when I have my grandchildren in the car, it keeps them occupied when on a long car ride.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

My 4 year old grandbaby loves her remote dvd

02/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works really well for my 4 year old granddaughter. She loves it! She is in love with the remote and only operates it with the remote.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

so far so good

02/07/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
working good after 1 month so looks like s keeper
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 75 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next