Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Venturer RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Venturer RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Enjoy your DVDs wherever you are with this RCA Portable DVD Player with built-in 9" LCD screen. It's equipped with an AC power adapter and car power adapter for use in the home or car, plus it has a built-in rechargeable battery — giving you complete portability. Also includes a remote control.
Average Customer Rating:
3.489 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation62%28 out of 45reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
30 Questions | 28 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

great dvd player

12/18/2012
By ,
holley ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
have had this for over a year and it still works great. never gave us problems. would reccomend this. as for the other people who had problems, probably got a defective one
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Not worth even the low price

11/15/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I don't like this DVD Player. I ordered one that showed the buttons on the left hand side, but got the one with them on the right hand side. Seems crazy, I know - but we've had 2 of the ones with the buttons on the right - and they haven't lasted 3 months!! For some reason, they're junk - but the other isn't - even though they are both the same model number.
I returned this DVD Player - hoping to find the other one in the store.
What a disappointment.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Do not waste your money

04/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have owned this player a grand total of 20 days...just long enough not to be able to return in the store (15 day limit)...and it stopped working. It always made a loud humming sound, which I was willing to live with for the sake of entertaining my little one at long events or on car rides. However, now it won't play any DVD past the previews. It just gets stuck and eventually stops.
Very frustrating! I did not expect to spend over $70 with tax and only own a working player for 20 days. The warranty from the manufacturer is also terrible, not surprisingly. They want me to try a DVD cleaner, which I have to purchase (after maybe 5 movies have been played?!), then if that doesn't work, they want me to mail it back on my own dime so that they can fix it.
No thank you, I would rather have my money back so that I can get a decent player from ANYWHERE but Walmart!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Just "okay"

11/13/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This player was purchased to use for playing exercise DVDs for my at-home exercise routines. For this purpose the player is "okay" but if I were using it for actually watching movies I would be returning it. While the motor is operating and spinning the DVD, it is sooo loud that it is sometimes hard to hear the exercise leader! And when switching on the menu from one section to another, it almost seems like the player is "struggling" to switch gears, so to speak.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

an OK player

10/14/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall I prefer my old Sylvania player. This one does the job and has a nice picture but is noisy. Also it has buttons for volume and when turned on is always loud no matter what the last volume setting was. Also you have to open the lid manually and overall all just feels cheaper than less expensive ones I have had. Not big issues if I had paid less for it, but it is not really worth the price tag.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

RCA DVD PLAYER

10/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit was purchased as a substitute for my DVD player in my laptop. The battery charges up quick and the sound is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

compact and easy to use

07/10/2014
By ,
SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have only used this a short time but hope to get good use out of it in a couple of weeks. Appears to be a quality product, nice picture and our 10 year old granddaughter has no problems operating it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

just the right size

11/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
happy to find this
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

RCA DVD player

11/26/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A littie noisey on start up. It plays your DVD great. I love it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

great

10/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am very happy with the dvd player overall. Only downside was that I did not open the box until the day of the car trip I had purchased it for. I found that the wall charger was missing...I ordered one from an internet site for only a few dollars but it was disappointing not to have it for my trip.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

good sound and picture

11/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good sound and picture quality. Reasonably priced. Arrived at the time expected. Remote is nice extra.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Perfect portable DVD for travel

09/22/2014
By ,
Melrose MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needed a quick replacement of our travel/portable DVD player for a very last minute weekend get away. This was right within our budget. It was just what we needed to keep our son entertained on the car ride.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Noisy

11/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When the DVD was placed into the player the sound of the disc spinning was so loud it distracted form the DVD that was playing, I returned this item and got another brand.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

great deal

10/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The dvd player is so light weight. Plays great and the picture is awesome
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Terrible don't buy it

11/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought it last night and it worked great. Today it doesn't work at all. When disk is in it says no disk. Doesn't work after 1 day. Seriously??!!??!!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Too light

10/05/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The Dvd lid has to be lifted up manually in order to insert the DVDs. Not a good design. there is no button to push. It took me awhile to figure out that in order to play the dvd I would have to manually pull the lid up. I returned the product without using it so I don't know the performance capabilities.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player
08/30/2012
By ,
Van Buren, AR
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The player worked great the first 15-20 minutes, then it began skipping really bad. We couldn't even finish the movie (which we watch at home all the time with no problems). The player was sitting on a chair when it first started skipping, so I moved it to the table thinking it was off balance, but it skipped even worse after moving it to the table. I turned it off, then back on trying to "reset" everything, but it still continued to miss a large number of frames.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+75points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Plastic Box

09/25/2014
By ,
Pharr, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this dvd player and i was very disappointed with the quality and the menu selection in the player considering that it is RCA, this player is just high priced plastic box. Dont spend youre money on this product you will be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Not what I expected from RCA

10/14/2014
By ,
Kinston, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have always felt RCA is a name you can count on. I was total surprised with the way this DVD was made. It is a big plastic container. Most DVD's I have owned have been metal and well made... this one ...... not so much in my opinion. I purchased 2 for my grandchildren to use on long trips but these will be going back to the store.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Worked!

10/28/2012
By ,
richmond, va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After purchasing a Philips product that failed to work the minute we tried to watch a DVD one hour into a 23 hour round trip with 3 kids under 5, purchasing this on the fly with no research on our way home was a LIFESAVER. It worked, the volume was great, it didn't skip, and we used it for the majority of our 10 hour trip home. At this point, I won't read reviews anymore. The philips had 4 1/2 stars...this one had one star...I think it's hit or miss as to whether you get a good one or not!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
love it
Posted 11/23/2012
I've owned my RCA for 7 months and use it mulitple times a night, I have never had a problem with it and even bought my mom one for christmas. I love that it came with a travel case.
Trust the name and product.
I work nights and sit with a single client in a dark room. My RCA dvd player has come in such a need. I can watch movies with a earbud and not distrub my client's sleep. I love having the remote control; it makes it so much easier.
It has also come in handy when I have my grandchildren in the car, it keeps them occupied when on a long car ride.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 44 total reviews
1 2 3 Next