Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Venturer RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Venturer RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Enjoy your DVDs wherever you are with this RCA Portable DVD Player with built-in 9" LCD screen. It's equipped with an AC power adapter and car power adapter for use in the home or car, plus it has a built-in rechargeable battery — giving you complete portability. Also includes a remote control.
Average Customer Rating:
3.537 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(80 Reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
34
4 stars
15
3 stars
6
2 stars
10
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation65%52 out of 80reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
38 Questions | 47 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
34
4 stars
15
3 stars
6
2 stars
10
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Worked!

10/28/2012
By ,
richmond, va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After purchasing a Philips product that failed to work the minute we tried to watch a DVD one hour into a 23 hour round trip with 3 kids under 5, purchasing this on the fly with no research on our way home was a LIFESAVER. It worked, the volume was great, it didn't skip, and we used it for the majority of our 10 hour trip home. At this point, I won't read reviews anymore. The philips had 4 1/2 stars...this one had one star...I think it's hit or miss as to whether you get a good one or not!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+79points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
love it
Posted 11/23/2012
I've owned my RCA for 7 months and use it mulitple times a night, I have never had a problem with it and even bought my mom one for christmas. I love that it came with a travel case.
Trust the name and product.
I work nights and sit with a single client in a dark room. My RCA dvd player has come in such a need. I can watch movies with a earbud and not distrub my client's sleep. I love having the remote control; it makes it so much easier.
It has also come in handy when I have my grandchildren in the car, it keeps them occupied when on a long car ride.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Do not waste your money

04/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have owned this player a grand total of 20 days...just long enough not to be able to return in the store (15 day limit)...and it stopped working. It always made a loud humming sound, which I was willing to live with for the sake of entertaining my little one at long events or on car rides. However, now it won't play any DVD past the previews. It just gets stuck and eventually stops.
Very frustrating! I did not expect to spend over $70 with tax and only own a working player for 20 days. The warranty from the manufacturer is also terrible, not surprisingly. They want me to try a DVD cleaner, which I have to purchase (after maybe 5 movies have been played?!), then if that doesn't work, they want me to mail it back on my own dime so that they can fix it.
No thank you, I would rather have my money back so that I can get a decent player from ANYWHERE but Walmart!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
From RCA Audio Video12/10/2014
We apologize for the inconvenience, and it will be our pleasure to assist you. Please reach out to our support team at support@1800customersupport.comRCAAV
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Does not work after 2 weeks.

05/17/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It stopped working after 2 weeks. Could not find receipt.
Recommends this product? No
From RCA Audio Video05/19/2015
We apologize for the inconvenience, and it will be our pleasure to assist you. Please reach out to our support team at support@1800customersupport.com. RCAAV
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Worth the money

05/09/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We needed a DVD player to watch while on our TreadClimber. This turned out to be just perfect! We tried two other brands but they all seem to have "flaws". Definitely would recommend this to anyone that wants top quality for very little money.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Love it!

05/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The DVD player was as described.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player
08/30/2012
By ,
Van Buren, AR
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The player worked great the first 15-20 minutes, then it began skipping really bad. We couldn't even finish the movie (which we watch at home all the time with no problems). The player was sitting on a chair when it first started skipping, so I moved it to the table thinking it was off balance, but it skipped even worse after moving it to the table. I turned it off, then back on trying to "reset" everything, but it still continued to miss a large number of frames.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
From RCA Audio Video12/11/2014
Thank you for your comments and concerns about the portable DVD players, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of portable DVD players.RCAAV
+77points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

great dvd player

12/18/2012
By ,
holley ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
have had this for over a year and it still works great. never gave us problems. would reccomend this. as for the other people who had problems, probably got a defective one
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Great picture quality.

06/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only negative comment I have is that the buttons are hard to negotiate.(i.e. Play, FF, Stop)
Other than that I am very satisfied with this player.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

DVD player

04/30/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Works great. My 5 year old son loves it. Works great and is durable.
Recommends this product? Yes
From RCA Audio Video05/04/2015
Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your Portable DVD Player. RCAAV
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Just "okay"

11/13/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This player was purchased to use for playing exercise DVDs for my at-home exercise routines. For this purpose the player is "okay" but if I were using it for actually watching movies I would be returning it. While the motor is operating and spinning the DVD, it is sooo loud that it is sometimes hard to hear the exercise leader! And when switching on the menu from one section to another, it almost seems like the player is "struggling" to switch gears, so to speak.
Recommends this product? No
From RCA Audio Video12/09/2014
Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your tablet. Thank you for your comments and concerns about the tablets, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of RCA tablets.RCAAV
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Average because it lacks a high audible volume.

04/22/2014
By ,
Scottsdale, Az
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought 2 of these and both could use MUCH more audible volume. Otherwise fine. JD
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Terrible don't buy it

11/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought it last night and it worked great. Today it doesn't work at all. When disk is in it says no disk. Doesn't work after 1 day. Seriously??!!??!!
Recommends this product? No
From RCA Audio Video12/09/2014
We apologize for the inconvenience, and it will be our pleasure to assist you. Please reach out to our support team at support@1800customersupport.comRCAAV
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

RCA DVD PLAYER

10/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit was purchased as a substitute for my DVD player in my laptop. The battery charges up quick and the sound is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
From RCA Audio Video12/10/2014
Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your Portable DVD Player.RCAAV
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

compact and easy to use

07/10/2014
By ,
SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have only used this a short time but hope to get good use out of it in a couple of weeks. Appears to be a quality product, nice picture and our 10 year old granddaughter has no problems operating it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Noisy

11/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When the DVD was placed into the player the sound of the disc spinning was so loud it distracted form the DVD that was playing, I returned this item and got another brand.
Recommends this product? No
From RCA Audio Video12/09/2014
Thank you for your comments and concerns about the portable DVD players, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of portable DVD players.RCAAV
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Perfect portable DVD for travel

09/22/2014
By ,
Melrose MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needed a quick replacement of our travel/portable DVD player for a very last minute weekend get away. This was right within our budget. It was just what we needed to keep our son entertained on the car ride.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
From RCA Audio Video12/10/2014
Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your Portable DVD Player.RCAAV
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

The worst DVD I have ever owned!

10/25/2012
By ,
Glasgow, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have purchased a few portable DVD players for my daughter and this is by far the worst we have ever owned. We have owned it less than 1 year and the control buttons have broke. The hinge part that connects the the screen to the base has broke on both sides. The player itself is loud when the disc is playing. It also came with a warning not to charge it by the car adapter that it came with, to only use it with the play mode only. I have also replaced the car charger because it quit working.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
From RCA Audio Video12/11/2014
Thank you for your comments and concerns about the portable DVD players, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of portable DVD players.RCAAV
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

short battery

02/07/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fully-charged battery did not last one whole movie. Light weight for child and may be good for a child's movie if it is short.
Recommends this product? No
From RCA Audio Video04/08/2015
Thank you for your comments and concerns about the portable DVD players, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of portable DVD players. RCAAV
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Portable is the only good thing to say about this.

08/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is one of the most cheaply made portable dvd players I've bought. I actually have an RCA 9" portable that is about 4 yrs. old. I wanted another and thought I was getting the same quality of the one I currently own. No, not at all. The plastic, and it is plastic, is mega cheap but that could be overlooked IF the player had worked at all; it did NOT. Apparently it was a lemon straight from the "factory" but it has soured me on RCA. I returned the player the same day I bought it, within an hour actually of purchasing it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
From RCA Audio Video12/15/2014
We apologize for the inconvenience, and it will be our pleasure to assist you. Please reach out to our support team at support@1800customersupport.comRCAAV
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for RCA 9" Portable DVD Player

Great product!

05/25/2014
By ,
Rockville, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought it and works perfectly so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 79 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next