Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sevylor Sevylor Samoa Standup Paddleboard Set with 80" Paddle

Sevylor Sevylor Samoa Standup Paddleboard Set with 80" Paddle

Stand-up paddleboarding is the newest way to experience gliding on the water. This Sevylor Samoa Paddle board Set provides a stable, comfortable workout, it's easy to use and offers users of any skill level a comfortable, reliable ride. Constructed with an extremely rigid drop-stitch floor for stability, the Samoa has a 250-pound capacity. The Samoa can be inflated to 10-12 PSI for extreme rigidity, with a high-pressure spring valve for quick and easy inflation and deflation. A high-pressure pump and pressure gauge are conveniently included. The Samoa features a four-Inch rocker tip to prevent curling and improve performance, a large EVA foot pad for grip and comfort and three removable fins for consistent tracking. Stainless-steel D-rings are conveniently placed for securing small cargo up to 10 lbs and the board sports a convenient carry handle in the center. The board and all of the included accessories fit into a durable, dry backpack for easy, lightweight transport.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation92%11 out of 12reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 10 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sevylor Samoa Standup Paddleboard Set with 80" Paddle

Great product.

06/11/2012
By ,
OC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product for the price. I wouldn't pay the full listed price but the board got the job done. I am really happy with the accessories as they seem to be made with decent quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Out of curiosity...
Posted 08/27/2012
How did you go about NOT paying the price Walmart was asking?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Sevylor Samoa Standup Paddleboard Set with 80" Paddle

OK

09/24/2012
By ,
Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased two of these. For an inflatable, it looks well-made, though if it weighed 24 rather than 27# I could take 2 as one piece of luggage. Spendy, but the Walmart price helps. It's not as stiff as I would like, possibly because with one pump I couldn't get it beyond 10# (with the other not beyond 4# pressure but Coleman is shipping another pump). The sponginess is easy on the legs when paddling and it's nearly as stable as most beginner boards; like any new board style, the first 5 minutes is tricky. The stowage rings are handy. I haven't tried their paddles yet, should be OK so long as I remind myself to take it easy. Shortened one of the paddles for my wife - easy to do. It would be nice to have a case for the paddles for air travel.
Pumping them up is an effort and not a thing I'll want to do daily. A battery powered air pump going to 12# pressure would be nice. We paddle hard boards almost daily. In addition to travel, I expect we'll use these as "guest boards" when we have a group wanting to use SUP's.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sevylor Samoa Standup Paddleboard Set with 80" Paddle

Def not what I was expecting!

06/08/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a to good to be true kind of situation. We were able to get them blown to 10 psi, barely! We got them in the water and they were ok. Not nearly as stable as a rigid foam board. I have a feeling that if this was the first board I had ever used it may have been ok. But since I have a grasp of how a board should really feel this is no where near the top. One of the boards curled up way to much on the ends while one was completely flat. Both bulged at the valve and both have slow leaks in that same area. This is def not because we over inflated, the hose on the pumps kept coming off so we gave up a 10 psi. I really do wish that these would have worked I really did want to use them on the beautiful water ways of Montana and def need one that is portable. I really do wish that this would have worked! But they are going back to the store and I will spend my $1000 on something better!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sevylor Samoa Standup Paddleboard Set with 80" Paddle

what a work out!

06/11/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i was a little skeptical at first seeing that you blow it up. but it worked fine for me?
and it is such a good work out! i still could feel a difference when it comes to my hard board vs. this one, but i didnt mind it.
happy paddling!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sevylor Samoa Standup Paddleboard Set with 80" Paddle

So much fun! Beat my expectations!

06/12/2012
By ,
Fayetteville, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I took this out on the lake with my family. It was so much fun to take my young boys out on it and let them try to stand up on it and paddle around the lake.
I was a little leary of an inflatable board, but it definitely beat my expectations. At first, I didn't inflate it enough which made it difficult to manage; however, once I got enough air in it, it was VERY sturdy and much easier to stand up and navigate. I was surprised by how hard it was...it feels like a real board.
Since we were camping as well, it was also nice that you can deflate it and put it back in the carry case. This made hauling it back and forth to our campsite in the mini-van much easier.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sevylor Samoa Standup Paddleboard Set with 80" Paddle

Great Product for price

06/12/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This board is very well built, sturdy and easy to inflate. The manual pump has a PSI value to easily tell how much pressure is in the board. I was surprised at how easy it is to ride, once you start paddling, you can pop-up easily. Provides a great core workout. Also fun for kids to paddle around on. I love this board and would recommend it to anyone wanting another watersports activity.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sevylor Samoa Standup Paddleboard Set with 80" Paddle

A super fun way to get a good workout

06/12/2012
By ,
Rogers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very fun sport and relaxing, but at the same time you work your core.
Fun for kids to play around on as well even if they just want to relax on it.
Easy to learn and fun even in the ocean on a calm day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sevylor Samoa Standup Paddleboard Set with 80" Paddle

For the weekend paddler great buy!

06/27/2013
By ,
Logan, utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If your looking for a good board for a good price this is the best buy out there. It's built with the same materials as 90% of the inflatable boards on the market. If you want the best look for the BADFISH by BOARDWORKS SURF. For a beginner paddler The SAMOA should give you a good feel for paddle boarding. The package deal with backpack, pump and paddle make it perfect for travel. The only downside is the pump. Use hose fittings or shrink wrap to prevent blowout. Be patient and use your body weight to reach maximum pressure. One more point, the package does not come with a leash. If using on rivers purchase one that attaches to your PFD, not your ankle!!! Show up Blow up and have fun!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sevylor Samoa Standup Paddleboard Set with 80" Paddle

Nimble Board

06/17/2013
By ,
Vancouver, BC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This board is a little bit narrower than other boards I've tried which makes it more quick and nimble but it also means it's less stable. I've gotten quite use to it after a few hours of paddling though. I'm 5'10" and weigh 165 and found the board feeling surprisingly solid.
If you're about my height, the paddle will be a perfect length. Weight of the paddle is decent. Breaks apart in 2 peices for easy transport and doesn't have adjustment holes which makes it great for floating (I wouldn't let it float for more than 45 seconds though). For the ladies who are looking at this board, you might need to shop for a shorter paddle as the one included is not adjustable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sevylor Samoa Standup Paddleboard Set with 80" Paddle

Such a great water toy!

06/12/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went out on the lake last weekend with this board, and we had a blast! As the other reviewer said, you definitely need to make sure it's inflated enough for it to be stable. But, once we figured that out, it worked great & and was easy to use. It was a fun challenge to stand on it and paddle. Once we got the hang of it, we were having a ton of fun. The kids even loved it. A great addition for the lake or beach!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sevylor Samoa Standup Paddleboard Set with 80" Paddle

Beware if you get a Hole!!

05/07/2013
By ,
Hiilton Head Island, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had my Samoa for less than a year, and I have put it through the ringer. I took it on a Caribbean cruise with me, I used it all winter in the brackish water (full of oyster shells) where I live in S.C. and it stood up tremendously. Unfortunately, two weeks ago I packed it for a trip, didn't use it, and when I unpacked it, it had a slight (2 cm.# tear on the side of the board, acquired when I slipped one of the breakdown paddles into the pack. I called the company #Sevylor/Coleman# and they were great. Unfortunately, you CANNOT repair this item and they have some sort of deal with Walmart, so they can't replace it #she did give me a 50% discount on anything I purchase from Coleman in the future..no expiration date#...the rep is sending me a kit, but she says that it probably will not work. I feel like I got my money's worth out of it, and after spending the entire night on the internet looking at other models, #I want to go to a standard model, not inflatable#, the prices are outrageous, and I actually may purchase another Samoa!...Sevylor #Coleman# is a great company to work with, I felt very safe on the board, it isn't as stiff as you may like #I weight 135 pounds 5 7"# and found that it wasn't great in wind or chop #light# but great for a nightly tour around my dock/creek area. Overall, I would definitely recommend this: it is reasonably priced, I especially like the D-rings #believe it or not...many of the paddleboards don't have a place on the bow ...this is how I get it in/off my dock or tie it up when I go somewhere#..the 3 fins are nice for tracking but aren't long which is a plus when you are in shallow water...but as I said, it is not 'fixable' and you have to be careful with packing/inflating it and its durability is questionable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sevylor Samoa Standup Paddleboard Set with 80" Paddle

Nice product for the price

06/12/2012
By ,
Arkansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice product for the price. Easy to use and easy for kids as well. I would definitely recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.