Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Acer Gateway Black 15.6" NE56R12u Laptop PC with Intel Pentium B950 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Acer Gateway Black 15.6" NE56R12u Laptop PC with Intel Pentium B950 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

The Gateway 15.6" NE56R12u Laptop PC provides everyday multitasking duties while keeping you entertained and connected to your social networks. A brilliant 15.6" HD display delivers a true cinematic view of your movies, photos and more and you can even extend that view to a big screen TV through the HDMI port. Powerful performance makes it easy to breeze through daily tasks while enhanced features allow you to multitask with ease, enjoy full control of your digital media and instantly connect to your social network sites.
Average Customer Rating:
4.407 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(135 Reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
83
4 stars
39
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation93%125 out of 135reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
83
4 stars
39
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Gateway Black 15.6" NE56R12u Laptop PC with Intel Pentium B950 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Loving Gateway!

11/14/2012
By ,
Chicago
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
At first i was hesitant about getting a gateway.. had it for a week and I'm loving it! The only con would be the speakers it is not loud at all, its best to use with headphones or buy external speakers.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 2 for Gateway Black 15.6" NE56R12u Laptop PC with Intel Pentium B950 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great laptop!

11/07/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first personal laptop, I have had work ones before but I have always bought desktops for personal use. However, I am starting new college courses and felt I needed more mobility and flexibility. The computer arrived in estimated time and I had it up and going the next morning. I opted for the Windows 8 upgrade, which I installed last week. Only slight issues with it, like some of the games not working. I feel this is the upgrade's fault and not the computer's as I have had no trouble with the computer itself. It easily connects to a hotspot, the full-size keyboard is comfortable to use, as is the full keypad. I have not had issues with the laptop overheating or powering off unexpectedly. Battery reserve is consistent with the specs listed and charges very quickly. Took less than an hour to do the first charge. The machine is light and totes easily in my shoulder bag. All in all, I am very pleased with this purchase and would highly recommend it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 3 for Gateway Black 15.6" NE56R12u Laptop PC with Intel Pentium B950 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

A LOT of Laptop for the Money!

10/24/2012
By ,
Berlin, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this as a special deal on the Walmart website. I liked the fact that it was a name brand, had a big screen, and had the Pentium processor, versus the cheaper and slower Celeron type. At $335, I felt it was a great value. I special ordered it in the store and the woman who helped me was terrific. I received numerous emails from Walmart regarding the shipping date, expected date of arrival etc., and it was all very reassuring. It arrived in half the time they predicted. I've been using it for a few weeks now, and am very happy with it. I also like the fact that it has a DVD recorder, etc., and a lot of bells and whistles. I haven't tried the various options it has yet, but so far I'm very happy with it. My first choice would have been a nice Apple Mac Book, but at 4 or 5 times the cost, it was tough to rationalize. Also, knowing I have Walmart to back up the purchase, I am more at ease regarding the overall purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 4 for Gateway Black 15.6" NE56R12u Laptop PC with Intel Pentium B950 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

So far everything is working as expected.

11/04/2012
By ,
Tucson, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Installed several programs and an additional 4GB of ram quickly and removed the usual bloat without any problems. Did some photo editing on some large raw files and responded quickly, watched movie and picture quality was very good. All hardware works as expected, keyboard is a little mushy and DVD drive is a little flimsy but adequate. Card reader worked well, internet access a breeze, peripherals installed without difficulty. Numeric keypad a nice touch. Sound quality is what you would expect from an inexpensive laptop. Camera works well on Skype, good resolution. Recommend going on Gateway website and updating drivers for hardware and software, always a good idea. Operation is quite and battery life is adequate after conditioning; light and easy to carry around. Windows 7 is familiar and easy to navigate. All in all, good for the price. Only time will tell how it does in the long haul.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 5 for Gateway Black 15.6" NE56R12u Laptop PC with Intel Pentium B950 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Fantastic value!

09/23/2012
By ,
Cottonwood, Az.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really did my homework when I decided to upgrade from my 4 year old desktop to a laptop. I've studied the internal specs and product reviews of many laptops, extensively for months. I concluded that the NE56R12u by Gateway offered the best bang for the buck and would fullfill my specific needs. The fit, finish and function of this laptop compares favorably with laptops costing two and three times as much. Everything worked flawlessly out of the box. The performance parameters for processor, ram, intel graphics card were all very good. So much so, that I immediately upgraded to 8 gigs of memory for 20.00 from Micron. Now it positively screams. The unit stays much cooler than a couple other name brand laptops I tried and is very quiet. Optical drive works very well. It will read and write large complex files and video. Plays video extremely well with no lag and streams flawlessly. Keyboard and layout is excellent. The HDMI is a must have and expands it's capabilities for TV. It made my cable subscription obsolete. I would totally recommend this laptop over other units and brands costing much more money. Also purchasing through Walmart gives you an ironclad garantee that can't be beat. Buy this laptop with confidence. It is worth every penny and then some.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+172points
Review 6 for Gateway Black 15.6" NE56R12u Laptop PC with Intel Pentium B950 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Better Than Expected

10/10/2012
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had a tight budget and was leery of buying a Gateway because of feedback I received from others. Previously, I had a Compaq Presario and Toshiba laptops with the later being my favorite. The Compaq Presario was good but it got so hot that it burned my lap. The Toshiba was excellent however I wasn't going to spend $600 for a laptop again. My specs were simple: 2.1 GHZ, 4GB RAM, and at least 500 GB HD. With these specs I perused Amazon.com, New Egg, and a couple other sites. Although this computer was on other sites, WalMart had the BEST prices. My only critique is the mouse pad, it transitioned from being hard to move to extra sensitive. On the other hand, it meets all my needs and it's sleek and light. I'm more than satisfied and would definitely recommend this computer to others.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 7 for Gateway Black 15.6" NE56R12u Laptop PC with Intel Pentium B950 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

excellent value, and the price was right

09/29/2012
By ,
Neptune City
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my fourth purchase of a Gateway Computer.
Gateway's service is excellent, and should you have to call them, you are speaking with someone in the USA>
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+69points
Review 8 for Gateway Black 15.6" NE56R12u Laptop PC with Intel Pentium B950 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great laptop

09/22/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Gateway ne56r12u is a great laptop. I've had it for a week and, i have had no problems. The connection is fine i can get to other websites fast. I could finally download the game i wanted. I just haven't watch a dvd yet on it or taken it to a wi-fi hotspot. It does connect my in house wi-fi no problem. Oh and the picture is nice. Did get complimented on the hard drive, memory and GB. Good laptop for day to day use and can paly your games to. Great value proud to say this is my first laptop. Oh and site to store is a great service will use again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 9 for Gateway Black 15.6" NE56R12u Laptop PC with Intel Pentium B950 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

WOWW!!

10/09/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this computer is amazing it runs way faster than my hp and the screen is perfect its light weight downloads are instant and the keybored is nice overall this is the best laptop ive ever had and ive and 3 including a macbook pro but this thing beats them all gateway should be proud the built an amazing product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 10 for Gateway Black 15.6" NE56R12u Laptop PC with Intel Pentium B950 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great value

09/23/2012
By ,
Boca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My laptop arrived at the store, picked it up and brought it home, plugged it in and turned it on. Set up was simple and fast, it recognized nearby wireless networks listing mine first and luckily I had my security key handy and got online without a hitch. It's a little bigger than I realized, for laying in bed would probably prefer a netbook, but it's a very good back-up to my desktop. The keyboard takes a while to get used to, some keys like to go "home" are in different places, and Windows wants to do updates every time I shut down, need to figure out how to turn that off, it says please do not turn off your computer but I turn it off anyway, starts back up no problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+45points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lowell, MA
Updates Etc.
Posted 11/04/2012
I understand Windows is always updating. For PC info esp for the neophyte like myself I go to KimKomando.com if you haven't already. bob.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Gateway Black 15.6" NE56R12u Laptop PC with Intel Pentium B950 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Best deal around

10/04/2012
By ,
Milford,Ct
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With 4gig ram and 500gig hard drive I could not find anything close to this for price and preformance.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 12 for Gateway Black 15.6" NE56R12u Laptop PC with Intel Pentium B950 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Wow!

10/06/2012
By ,
Lookingglass Valley, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I never thought my daughter would be happy with a computer again. She has had complaints about the last 3 computers that we have bought, but this one exceeds all expectations. The WIFI receiver is excellent (the last 2 we bought and returned could not get any signal at all in her apartment). She has plenty of hard drive and the memory is good for her use. The battery life, in her words, "is amazing"!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 13 for Gateway Black 15.6" NE56R12u Laptop PC with Intel Pentium B950 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Nice

09/07/2012
By ,
Amherst,NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just bought this last night and i must say WOW It really is a great Laptop for the price and the Sales lady at Walmart is what really made me stop looking for another model....If your looking for a laptop and are on a budget then you should get this one.....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+133points
Review 14 for Gateway Black 15.6" NE56R12u Laptop PC with Intel Pentium B950 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great Computer

10/13/2012
By ,
Lexington, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this computer so I may continue my college education. It was an easy setup from start to finish.
It's fast and easy to operate. I am very happy
with my purchase.
The battery life is great compared to my old laptop. Only issue I have is the mouse area. When it's on I am always hitting it and losing my information or opening other pages. Solved that with a wireless mouse!
I am pleased with my purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 15 for Gateway Black 15.6" NE56R12u Laptop PC with Intel Pentium B950 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

good buy

09/30/2012
By ,
Davis, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my junior high aged-child, mainly for schoolwork. Really good price for the processor and screen size and useful for what we're using it for.
The only thing was the shipping time--it said on the website that it would take 7-10 business days to get to the store for pickup and that was not an exaggeration--it was available for pickup 10 full business days after the order was placed! It took 4 days after I placed the order for it to arrive at the sorting facility in Utah, another 4 days to arrive at the delivery facility in Red Bluff, CA, and then another 4 days to travel 130 miles to the store for pickup. Talk about slow!! Walmart beat Amazon for price but Amazon is miles ahead of Walmart for shipping speed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 16 for Gateway Black 15.6" NE56R12u Laptop PC with Intel Pentium B950 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
10/15/2012
By ,
Miami, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The keyboard is shrunk to make room for the number pad. It takes getting used too. Especially since the touch pad is off center. Another issue to be aware of is that the sound quality is poor. The max volume is barely audible, and virtually silent if you are in a room with any amount of background noise. Nevertheless, this laptop can handle multiple open tabs for internet browsing without freezing. It handles gaming software very well. The battery is long lasting. It does not heat up much, remains silent, and is light. Overall, I give it 4 out of 5 stars. Would definitely recommend. Great value for those on a tight budget, like yours truly.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 17 for Gateway Black 15.6" NE56R12u Laptop PC with Intel Pentium B950 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

no complaints here

09/22/2012
By ,
illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i read reviews, maybe their were some defective ones, but mine runs smooth easy to set up, no touch pad problems, no slow processor it fast, speakers are good, one bar behind keyboard makes a a single speaker but go in speaker control and turn on the equalizer and and volume control, it came installed with bing, so if you want ie9 you have to put it in, please remember to go in and customize how you want everything , some computers will ask at set up this one did not, make sure you install all updates from windows and your set to go, its a sleek beautiful design, we love it i have a hp, and this gateway is almost as good, my hp is a little more solid built, but the picture is better on the gateway, i would not hesitate to buy this computer, grab the extended warranty for peace of mind
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 18 for Gateway Black 15.6" NE56R12u Laptop PC with Intel Pentium B950 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

I think a good computer, wish I could say for sure

10/06/2012
By ,
Blue Ridge, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this laptop on Wednesday and it was delivered on Thursday, wow. I noticed when I turned it on the first time at the bios startup there were errors in the loading of the basic programs. I tried the service people at Gateway to help and I did what they wanted me to do but the problem was not fixed. When I called them back they said I should send it back. I have decided to return it to Walmart. I am going to order another of the same laptop. I do believe it will be a good computer for the money. I am hoping anyway. I am using the defective computer to write this review.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 19 for Gateway Black 15.6" NE56R12u Laptop PC with Intel Pentium B950 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Awesome Laptop!

11/07/2012
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I researched for quite a long time many different laptops before i bought this laptop. I can truly say that i LOVE this laptop. It is very nice to look at, the graphics and volume are great, it works wonderfully with the computer games i play as well... pretty much all its features are really great and you really get awesome value for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 20 for Gateway Black 15.6" NE56R12u Laptop PC with Intel Pentium B950 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

great laptop

10/04/2012
By ,
florence ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am not an IT person, but my buddy is and he actually suggested this laptop. I have had it for about 2 weeks and it has been wonderful. i love it to be honest
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
1-20 of 92 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next