Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Onn Onn CD Clock Radio

Onn Onn CD Clock Radio

The Onn CD Clock Radio with a digital AM/FM tuner provides quality audio. Other features include simple alarm setting, USB charging station to charge smartphones and headsets, battery back up and SmartSnooze.
Average Customer Rating:
1.761 out of 5
1.8
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
7
1 star
30
Customer Recommendation15%7 out of 46reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 18 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
7
1 star
30
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Onn CD Clock Radio

Alarm Set NOT easy

08/19/2012
By ,
Arizona
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Have it for a week now. The setting of the alarm is NOT easy and I still cannot figure it out. It appears the instructions are missing a step or two. I did set it once and it worked but I did not follow all the instructions and had to improvise the steps. I do not remember what I did, it was a fluke. I continue to attack the problem but it's hit or miss to figure it out. The backup battery just keeps the clock working not the alarm. If you have a power outage at least you can wake up at some point and know how late you are. The bright light is fine during the day but too bright at night. The dimmer switch helps but limits the readability. The blue light with black numbers is nowhere as good as red or green. No presets on radio is a drawback. It is VERY difficult to read the button functions. Letters are tiny, not small, tiny as in itty-bitty. Everything else about it is good to very good. If it were not for the above gripes this would be a fine unit. I hope to figure out the alarm setting so I can keep it, otherwise..........
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Onn CD Clock Radio

Alarm goes off daily & hard to read display

08/18/2013
By ,
Midlothian, VA, USA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Display has 3 settings - low (cannot read display), bright (seems like you left a light on at night) and off (why would you?).
Display is black numbers against a dark blue background - which means its hard for the numbers to stand out.
Difficult to set the alarm - seems like a step is missing in the directions. When setting the alarm it does not display if you are setting it to AM. Once set, it goes off everyday. 7 days a week - even on weekends. When you press the OFF button, it just means "off for now". It goes off the next day, even if you did not turn the alarm on. Only way I have found to cancel an alarm is to unplug it, reset the time. Which is a pain.
Labeling on the buttons is very tiny and thin lettering.
I didn't try all of the basic settings as soon as I plugged it in. Several weeks later, when I started using the alarm - then I had issues. By then, it was too late to return to Walmart.
Worse clock radio I ever bought.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Onn CD Clock Radio

Great appliance with a fatal flaw

08/29/2012
By ,
Connecticut
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great cd-playing clock radio for the money; the cd playback is crisp, the small speaker sounds great, it has good features like a wire antenna, cd looping replay, and display dim or off. Unfortunately, it suffers from a fatal flaw for a clock radio; the volume defaults to maximum for whatever mode of alarm you use, making it a fearful experience for the alarm to go off (or cd to start playing). It's an easy fix for the manufacturer on future units, but until it's corrected you'll only want to buy this if the wakeup volume doesn't matter to you...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
California
CD player doesnt work for the rest of us who bough
Posted 03/07/2013
See the rest of the reviews - this glowing review is definitely in the minority.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Onn CD Clock Radio

Waste of money

08/23/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had the clock for about two weeks when now it doesn't even show the time, the light would never turn off, and the alarm time ( as time consuming as it was to set) would reset. I am now looking for the address of the actually manufacturer to return this.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Onn CD Clock Radio

CD Player Skips For No Reason

07/24/2012
By ,
So Cal
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
While playing a cd on a stable surface it would skip a few tracks for no reason. I'll be taking it back in the morning.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Onn CD Clock Radio

DOESN'T WORK!

12/03/2012
By ,
Oceanside, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The CD player won't play CDs! I tried playing 3 CDs, 2 off the shelf and 1 I burned myself. The display showed "NO CD" every time I loaded it. I returned it for my money back. DON'T BUY THIS OR ANY OTHER ONN PRODUCT!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Onn CD Clock Radio

Very disappointing!!!

10/11/2012
By ,
Georgia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this item at the store b/c it had the dimmable time and the cd function. I have trouble sleeping and have to have everything completely dark and require my relaxation sounds and music so I was super excited to get this item. I was able to figure out the settings even with the directions being some what screwed up. But now after only two and a half months none of the functions work, nothing at all works... I have tried unplugging and waiting a few minutes to see if it will reset and when I plug it in it flashes 12:00 but it wont let you set time, alarm, turn power on for radio or cd modes, no dimming of face, nothing!!! I am so annoyed and disappointed in this... Please do not waste your money!! I no longer have the box or reciept so I am just out of luck on this I guess, GRRRR!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Onn CD Clock Radio

Should have read the revviews

09/06/2012
By ,
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The CD feasure would skip on the first clock radio so I exchanged it. The alarm volume increases quickly no matter how I set it the previous night. In searching for information in case I was doing something wrong I came across the reviews that confirmed it was the product. On a positive note the USB port feature helps me remember to charge my cell phone on a regular basis and have not found a similiar product that has this feature.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Onn CD Clock Radio

Poor performance and a tempting price

09/28/2012
By ,
Bowling Green, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased this cd/AM/FM clock radio to use in our child's bedroom. It worked without an issue for about a month. Then, multiple issues occurred:
(1) burned and original cds would not play
(2) volume would not appropriately modulate with changes
(3) skipping occurred on multiple cds
(4) the clock is not readable from distances greater than six feet
We're currently using the static feature as white noise, which is the only useful aspect of the product. It's unfortunate that we kept the manual but not the box. I would not recommend this product and wish I could return it for a refund. It's not likely I'll purchase electronics from my Walmart store in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Onn CD Clock Radio

Really wanted it to work

11/05/2012
By ,
Harrisburg, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I can't even give this product one star, but I had to at least choose one. My first clock stopped working not even a week after buying it. In the middle of the night it went OUT. Exchanged it hoping that it was just a fluke. Second time, the clock time froze. Trying to find the company number so that I can call. No reciept to return this time.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Onn CD Clock Radio

don't waste your time

09/24/2012
By ,
South Dakota
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
there was nothing easy about setting the alarm on this clock, and you practically had to read the instructions each time to know how to shut it off. The volume is set by number and even on "01" (the lowest setting), it was way too loud. The next setting down is "off".
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Onn CD Clock Radio

It died after 6 hours

09/24/2012
By ,
Delaware
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought it, hooked it up, played a cd, charged my phone, went to sleep, woke up and it was dead. Taking it back today. Great design, awful product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Onn CD Clock Radio

Don't waste your money

12/09/2012
By ,
Wilmington NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The unit is not bad for the price when it works, tho it is hard to program even with the instructions. You have to press the buttons hard and wait, it is not very sensitive. It is also very slow to respond in either the radio or CD modes. Mine quit working the second time I tried to use it, I only bought it to play CDs while I worked out.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Onn CD Clock Radio

Cd player doesn't work

03/07/2013
By ,
California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We thought it looked very sturdy and had high hopes. Didn't bother messing with the clock because the cd player was lousy - played very few of our cds and the ones it did play skipped or bounced around. The box warns that it can skip if it's moved - but we didn't touch it. BAD deal. Returning it.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Illinois
LOUD WHIRRING NOISE
Posted 07/09/2013
We bought this for CD's at night and it is making an awful whirring/machine noise while playing. So loud in fact, that I can not even hear the song playing. Will be returning tomorrow.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Onn CD Clock Radio
02/07/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product was perfect, great sound and easy to use! Defiantly interested in looking into Onn's other products.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Onn CD Clock Radio

Too many buttons and tool loud

09/01/2012
By ,
Lubbock, tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very tricky alarm clock and the wake up volume gets louder by the second. I wish I could return it, but my kids sat on the box before I had a chance.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Onn CD Clock Radio

No volume control

09/22/2012
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Whoever heard of a radio/CD player that you couldn't adjust the volume. I thought it was broke. Packaged it all back up and then came online to check reviews and found "volume" to be a major complaint. I can lower the volume, it reaches 00, and then you cannot get it to go back up. Plus, the alarm set is in that same button and it just doesn't work. After reading about the other's - "TOO LOUD ALARM" I'm outta here. Too many buttons with multiple functions as well. Where's my good old-fashioned radio with knobs! Taking back.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Onn CD Clock Radio

Disappointing.

05/09/2013
By ,
Sidney, NE
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The backlight is so bright that I have it dark all of the time. There are three settings for the backlight - Superbright, Bright, and Pretty much off. I have it pretty much off all of the time. The other problem I have with it is the volume on the alarm itself. I prefer to wake up to music. The volume on the alarm goes up! It starts where I set it and within seconds it's ridiculously loud. I needed that when I was in college, not now. I haven't tried waking up to a CD yet. Since I can't find my receipt to return it, I will probably end up putting in another room. On the plus side, I do like that the radio display is digital. There's no guessing if I'm in the right spot.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Onn CD Clock Radio
08/29/2013
By ,
New England
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this yesterday and went right home to set it up. It took me 2 hrs to do so and I'm very good at these things. When I finally got the wake time and mode set up and put a cd in to play there was no sound. No matter what I did all i could hear was a swishing sound (the cd going around).
Tried the radio, same results. Left the room and when I came back it had erased all the settings and was simply a clock. Needless to say it's going back ASAP. Don't waste your time or money on this product - it's a piece of junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Onn CD Clock Radio

Alarm Volume Too Loud

08/31/2012
By ,
Alabama
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The alarm comes on wayyyy too loudly, and there is no way that I have found to turn it down the night before.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1 2 3 Next