Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Onn Onn Personal CD Player

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Onn Onn Personal CD Player

The Onn Personal CD Player plays your music collection with 60-second skip protection for continuous playback. It features up to 20-track program memory, low battery indicator and an LCD display on the lid.
Average Customer Rating:
3.222 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation67%12 out of 18reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Onn Personal CD Player

Ideal for my purposes

07/15/2013
By ,
Toms River,NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Since I needed a compact form of music in my kitchen with a power option aside from just battery operation,the Onn CD player was the most practical choice.
I was frustrated that this CD player came with no power adapter,but I have to give Walmart credit for having the appropriate & optional power adapter available in the store(whereas no other retailer I could find,had the correct adapter).
The sound quality and amplification is far superior to that of my Eclipse MP3 player(I disposed of it 2 months after purchase,because the internal battery would not take a charge anymore).
I can't comment on the battery life or the play stability,because I have no intention of going mobile with this advice(as I specifically use this CD player as a permanently stationary musical device in my kitchen).
I am not happy about the varying prices from one store location to another,but overall,I still feel that the Onn CD player is a much better value than an MP3 player.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+61points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Toms River,NJ
Compatibility Issues
Posted 07/23/2013
After listening to a few songs from a CD that I burned on my PC,I ran into a problem...which is that a particular track would not play and this CD player just continuously spun & would not stop.
It's important to note that there is absolutely nothing wrong with my CD,as it plays fine in my computer,as well as all of my DVD players.
That said,I can only conclude that the Onn CD player does not read CD's very well & I returned it the following day.
WalMart has a lousy and very limited selection of CD players,so my solution,was to pay an extra $15 for a Sony CD player from BHphotovideo.com
My advice; don't ever buy cheap,generic CD players & just pay a few extra bucks for quality CD players like Sony.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Onn Personal CD Player

Its ok to buy

11/17/2013
By ,
raki
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CD Player works good. we have to use batteries very often. Only problem with there is no AC Adapter. we have to use our own universal adapter. Volume is good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Review 3 for Onn Personal CD Player

1st DOA; 2nd worked, but no FF, Rev, or track mem

12/02/2013
By ,
NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It will play CDs quite well but lacks some normal controls like ff and reverse, and when turned off has no idea where it was last indexed. The price was about right for the quality however. If you need a basic player, this will work well but it doesn't have any deluxe features at all (illumination, scan) , battery life seems OK. Tracks can be programmed.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Review 4 for Onn Personal CD Player

Will not take a lot of movement but a good price.

02/04/2013
By ,
Kernersville, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Operation is easy but the item doesn't last over a year with careful usage. Any movement can cause a skip. For the price it's ok.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+41points
Review 5 for Onn Personal CD Player

Great CD Player

09/06/2013
By ,
San Mateo, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this CD player for my children and they loved it. They were able to easily use the features of the CD player to play their music. The value of this product is great for what you get. The battery of this item does drain very quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Review 6 for Onn Personal CD Player

4 Stars

07/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works great and sounds really good. So much better than some others I have tried for the same price.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 7 for Onn Personal CD Player

Goes through batteries quickly - no AC Adapter inc

01/21/2013
By ,
Coeur d'Alene, ID
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The CD player works fine, but it is eating batteries. Unit did not come with AC Adapter which would have worked for me as I am using it at home. Purchasing a universal adapter that will convert to 4.5V is as expensive as the CD player itself, thereby negating the value of purchasing this one for under $20. I would look for one with better battery conservation features, or with a built in rechargeable battery.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+64points
Review 8 for Onn Personal CD Player

Can't move with player

11/19/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It's a portable player yet if you move even the slightest it spins and spins and spins. Price is good but even with that this product doesn't meet it's purpose.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Review 9 for Onn Personal CD Player

junk

02/08/2014
By ,
mukwonago wi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Brought it home, added batteries, put in cd.... wouldn't recognize the cd at all. Clicked, spun, clicked, spun then said disc. Tried again... clicked, spun, clicked, spun... error. Won't read or play any cds at all. Hope Walmart will take it back. Reading other reviews seems like others are having the same issue....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+9points
Review 10 for Onn Personal CD Player

I had Problems with this product

12/19/2013
By ,
North Bend, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mine would not play my CD's. It just kept reading error. It played one CD once, I have no idea how that happened, as it wouldn't play for me when I pressed play. When it did play the CD, it kept skipping when it was vertical in my holder. I ended up returning the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 11 for Onn Personal CD Player

work for price........

03/29/2013
By ,
Fremont, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good for travelling. But batteries goes very fast. good for gift..................
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+13points
Review 12 for Onn Personal CD Player

Horrible product

07/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this CD player last week from Walmart. I expected it to work and didn't think I would have any problems with a simple CD player. I brought it home and put in new batteries. It didn't work. I had my husband take a look at it to see what I could have possibly missed. Maybe I put the batteries in wrong. No…it just doesn't work. I can't return it because I threw the receipt away!!! I would not recommend this product to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 13 for Onn Personal CD Player

Decent CD player.

06/30/2013
By ,
Tennessee, TN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this when my other CD player died and this one has been a fairly good little CD player. Until I left it outside in my car during a particularly hot day this summer. Note to buyer: keep it away from extremes.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Review 14 for Onn Personal CD Player

Onn Personal CD Player

02/13/2014
By ,
Kissimmee, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is excellent value for the money paid. I bought to listen to audio tapes and it works well the sound is clear it plays well even when in a case so I can carry it around. Yes I would recommend it if your looking for something that will do the job and not cost a fortune.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 15 for Onn Personal CD Player

Enjoying

04/11/2014
By ,
pflugerville, tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am enjoying this CD player. I wish the earphone cord was a bit longer. Earphones can be bought to meet my expectations....wish I didn't have to get others, but the CD player is what I want and need.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Review 16 for Onn Personal CD Player

he really loves this

12/30/2013
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
He's so retro he loves this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Onn Personal CD Player

CD Player

12/26/2013
By ,
Marblehead, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The functions are easy to understand. The sound is good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Onn Personal CD Player

great gift for a pre-teen

01/11/2013
By ,
usa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My newphew loved his gift from Auntie
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-21points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Laurel, MD
This thing has a mind of it's own.
Posted 08/16/2013
The instructions say carefully insert cd (done) press play/pause button (done) esp shows and 2 flashing bars... cd is spinning...nothing is coming out. I'm waiting,,,I'm waiting,,,, Er notice.. OK insert a different disc (newly opened for this test) Carefully click it in place, close the top, press play., ONCE AGAIN 2 flashing bars and no music. New batteries in, no scratched disc...no sound. I give it 5 stars for a piece of junk.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)