Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sally Hansen Sally Hansen Magnetic Nail Color

Sally Hansen Sally Hansen Magnetic Nail Color

Average Customer Rating:
4.046 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(153 Reviews) 151
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
80
4 stars
41
3 stars
7
2 stars
9
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation83%125 out of 151reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
80
4 stars
41
3 stars
7
2 stars
9
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sally Hansen Magnetic Nail Color
  • Staff Sparks

Nail polish is fun

12/20/2012
By ,
San Francisco
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this in blue and I have to say, it's fun having blue nails.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sally Hansen Magnetic Nail Color

Simply 2 words to describe it "LOVE IT"

11/12/2013
By ,
east htfd ct
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have all 8 colors and I love them all, I put it on and it last for wks without chipping or fading and that is without a base or top coat. Just wished they had more of a color variety ranging in pinks and coral tones... Overall great product, will definitely buy again and I highly recommend this product. The pics speaks for themselves :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sally Hansen Magnetic Nail Color

A fun change

10/22/2012
By ,
Dublin, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'd heard about this stuff and was excited to try it. It goes on easy enough (first use a clear base coat, then one coat of this, then after the second coat of this you use the magnet), and the magnet worked right away, no problems.
The wavy pattern is neat, although on my thumbnails it only affected the strip down the middle and the sides didn't really do anything, I assume because that nail is wider than the magnet. But you can probably use any magnet to do this, so maybe next time I'll grab a large magnet from my fridge and see how that does.
I tried both the silver and blue and liked them both. They're not quite professional enough to wear to the office, but they'll be great for Halloween, New Year's or another night out.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sally Hansen Magnetic Nail Color

Great way to get people interested in magnetism

04/01/2013
By ,
Morgantown, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a physics professor at West Virginia University who works on magnetism. Someone gave me some of this nail polish for Christmas and I thought it was amusing. Then, I had to do a workshop for middle school girls on magnetism and I thought that painting our nails might interest them. It doesn't only interest them. Recently, I gave a talk at a university and had twelve male physics majors crowded around me to watch me paint a nail. Great demo! It doesn't, however, stick to things, which many people assume when you say magnetic.
It also is a very nice nail polish. I've never had my nails looking so good. Out of blue, purple, black and brown that I've tried so far, my purple swirls really stand out the most. I suggest you don't hold the magnet the way that seems obvious. Tilting it can give some really beautiful effects.
The nail polish is also very robust and forgiving. Due to the texture, you can mess up and it's not very noticeable. Or, just apply another coat to cover it up.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sally Hansen Magnetic Nail Color

Easy to Use

10/30/2012
By ,
San Mateo, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You can get professional looking nails at the comfort and cost savings of doing it at home. Make sure you remove the entire cap that has a built in magnet and there is a plastic piece that sits on your cuticles so that the magnet can go over your nail without touching them. The package states that you should hold it for 10 seconds but I would recommend holding for 20 seconds to make sure you get the full swirly design. I have the Ionic Indigo and it's a nice, darker blue color.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sally Hansen Magnetic Nail Color

Nice and easy

01/13/2014
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very easy way to create a nail art without spending to much time. Very easy to apply. Just put one thick layer of nail polish on your nail, hold magnetic cup over it for 5 seconds, done! You have to do one nail at a time. I had it for 4 days without any chipping and only on fifth day some parts started to chip, but not too much. Remember to use base and top coats. They are crucial for making nail polish last.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sally Hansen Magnetic Nail Color

fun effect for your nails

10/22/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i was curious and slightly skeptical but it really does work as described - you place the magnet over your freshly painted nail for 10 seconds and get this wave effect. Really easy to use and fun for a change. I have Golden Conduct (more like a bronze than gold - see the attached picture) and Ionic Indigo, (a deep blue) and they both are pretty close to the color you see on the website. I took off a star because i started getting chips on my nails only after 3 days - but I am pretty hard on my nails so hopefully they last longer for you!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sally Hansen Magnetic Nail Color

professional looking results

10/26/2012
By ,
San Francisco
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is beautiful nail polish! It has great coverage and it is easy to use the built-in magnet. I expected to have to try it a couple of times in order to get the right results, but on the first try my nails look exactly like the magazine pictures. I tried the Emerald Green color which is dark enough to wear in the Fall but would also look great for St. Patrick's Day.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sally Hansen Magnetic Nail Color

Surprisingly Easy to Use with Great Results

10/23/2012
By ,
bay area
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was first attracted to this nail polish, for it's gorgeous Color (Kinetic Copper). I read the instructions on the side of the bottle and was a bit intimidated at first on what it would take to get those wavy lines. Surprisingly after putting on the first coat, which went on smoothly with a great consistency to the nail polish itself, placed the magnet over my nail waited 10 seconds and voila! The wavy lines appeared perfectly with no problems. My mom watched with amazement and suggested holding the magnetic vertically and sure enough I then had wavy vertical lines. And if you're not into the waves and just want simple gorgeous color it's good for that too.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sally Hansen Magnetic Nail Color

Love this nail polish!

10/26/2012
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great nail polish, it took couple of tries to get the wavy effect. Its pretty cool.
I tried both Kinetic cooper and Ionic Indigo, they both turned out to be excellent. First apply single coat on the fingers and leave it to dry. Then apply second coat one finger at a time and move the magnet on the finger for 10 to 15 seconds. Then you will see the wavy effect. I tried changing the directions of the magnet and i got different styles.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sally Hansen Magnetic Nail Color

Totally awesome!

11/21/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My grandma got me this nail polish in purple for my brithday and i love it! Its super easy to use, and it looks so cool. I would absolutley recommend this as a gift to someone or to yourself. A great buy!! :)
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sally Hansen Magnetic Nail Color

Love the wavy effect!

10/19/2012
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This nail polish is great! I wasn't sure how well it would work given some of the other reviews, but it worked really well. You apply a base coat, then apply one thin coat of this color to all of your nails. Once they are dry, apply a second thick coat and immediately hold the magnet over your nail for 10 seconds to get the wavy effect. It has a guide that makes it easy to rest the magnet on your finger so it hovers above your nail - just be careful not to let it touch your nail! It will probably take a nail or two to get the hang of it. Once all nails are dry apply a quick clear top coat.
The first couple that I did didn't work well but I didn't apply a thick enough second coat and didn't use the magnet fast enough (I took some time trying to fix where I messed up before using the magnet). By the time I was finished I really had it figured out though and my nails looked great. I think my next time applying it will be much quicker, but if you just are patient your first time and figure it out it looks great. I have the Ionic Indigo color and it is a great metallic blue.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sally Hansen Magnetic Nail Color

Beautiful Color and Amazing Cool Effect

11/01/2012
By ,
San Francisco, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have this in the Electric Emerald. The color is so beautiful even before you use the magnet. But after using the magnet, you'll end up with amazing waves all over your nails. I apply the second coat and magnet to each nail individually to make sure they come out perfect. It looks just like I got them done at the salon. Also use a good top coat to prevent chipping.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sally Hansen Magnetic Nail Color
  • Staff Sparks

Awesome look

10/31/2012
By ,
Fremont
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife is using every week. Its very easy to use.
The key is to apply a thin second layer. If the second coat is too thick, the magnet will not work as well. After you apply the thin layer, you immediately place the magnet above the polish for about 10 seconds, giving a nice professional look.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sally Hansen Magnetic Nail Color

Definately a fun effect for your nails

11/02/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used both the Electric Emerald and the Golden Conduct. Electric Emerald is a brilliant green, and golden conduct is a nice bronze color. My friend showed me how to use, otherwise I don't think it would have been as easy. A few tips
1. Paint one layer and let dry.
2a. Paint second layer one nail at a time.
2b. after paint is applied, hold the magnet as close to the nail as posible without touching nail (there is a plastic cuticle rest to help hold the magnet).
I would read saleetah's review - it is also good for tips. Have fun!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sally Hansen Magnetic Nail Color

beautiful and cool effect!

02/03/2014
By ,
wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this nail polish is really nice, the color is excellent, its very durable, but the best thing is the magnet pattern you can get!!!!....after I tried it the first time (which is still on my nails with no chips yet by the way) I didn't know how long to leave the magnet over the nail for, to get the right look and intense pattern, but as I worked through my nails, I left it longer and so I can tell you that since there are no instructions or time tables, I was able to get a beautiful full effect INTENSELY SHARP pattern after a full 2 minute time frame holding the magnet over the nail while the polish is freshly painted on. its excellent, I love this color too, it is the Cinnasnap shade. Good luck! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sally Hansen Magnetic Nail Color

Nice professional outcome!

11/01/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really loved this nail polish. All my friends thought that I had done my nails with a professional.
It gives very good results and look with 2 coats. And if you apply the second coat not that thick, then the magnet works very nicely. Also do each nail one by one to get the exact effect from the magnet. So far I tried "Polar Purple" and "Electric Emerald" - both colors look pretty amazing on my nails.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sally Hansen Magnetic Nail Color

Beautiful nail color effects

03/04/2014
By ,
Katy TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this one for my daughter and she loved it! The wave effects with the magnet are awesome and the color... this gray is just beautiful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sally Hansen Magnetic Nail Color

Cool effects, but takes some patience

10/25/2012
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used the golden color. It took a little practice. I used it on my toes because I wanted to test it out first and was surprised by how easy it was to get some funky looks. It's a little trickier on your fingernails, but just requires a little patience and practice. Definitley ensure that you give the bottle a shake though. I would buy again. This will eb a fun stocking stuffer.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sally Hansen Magnetic Nail Color

didn't work for me...

01/04/2014
By ,
fairfax station, va
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
and i tried more than once. do like the color, however.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1 2 Next