Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sun Dolphin Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included

Sun Dolphin Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included

Large, comfortable seating area Maximum weight Capacity 395 lbs. Two flush mount rod holders, one swivel Includes Paddle
Average Customer Rating:
3.961 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation85%22 out of 26reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 69 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included

Great kayak but...

07/20/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought this kayak in store a few days ago. Just put in on the water today and it has a hole in the hull. Other than the hole, which looks to be purposefully drilled in the bottom, it is a fine kayak for the price. It isn't to stable but it is pretty light and narrow. I would keep it but I would have to plug the hole or drain the water out every so often when on trips. I'm taking it back and getting something better from somewhere else.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included

Great Boat !

07/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
At 6' 260 I was worried how a yak would carry me. My 1st time out I was paddling up the Potomac towards Harpers Ferry !. Kinda difficult to get over the shelves but I have no prior kayak experience to compare this to. I love it !
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included

Great kayak for the price

06/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a lot of homework researching reasonable price kayaks. This model is the best price performance kayak. Stable and well made. Enough room for all that you need. Enough so I ordered a second and all came in great. Don't hesitate on this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included

Great kayak

06/16/2014
By ,
Kearney, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Kayak is perfect. its light for a 12ft. tracks really well. plenty of storage. and a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included

light and inexpensive but fragile

06/11/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Looks great on paper at under 50lbs for a 12fter and only $450 but when I went to pick it up at my local walmart, the only two they had in stock were already damaged from shipping/handling. The first one had a punctured hull that I noticed as I was putting it on my car, the other had a big dent at one end as if it was dropped. When handling the kayak it felt very light almost too light to the point it felt cheap. Feels like a toy compared to my hobie kayak. As evidenced by the two damaged ones the hull material is very thin and appears to damage easily. I guess it could make a nice starter kayak but use with care.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included

Very nice and good price.

06/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice and good price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included

Terrible Product- will never buy another sun dolph

06/09/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After receiving a replacement sundolphin kayak and using it for the first time yesterday I had to write.
We first purchase this kayak last summer, used it about 5 times and then there was a hole in the front under side where it has the slight "v" (it was completely usable as it would suck in water and you'd start to sink), we took it back to walmart w/ the receipt but was one day off from their return policy. I googled, and after a couple of attempts, contact the correct sundolphin company. They stated they had a repair kit and sent it to us. We didn't try the repair until several months later as kayak season was over, and we were over the whole situation.
The repair kit was a joke. I called Sundolphin back and requested we get a new kayak in replace. We use it yesterday and it's just junk. The front storage compartment was totally missing, so we simply had a lid and a hole and the over all quality of the kayak is very poor. Please don't waste your money, check around for something made w/ better quality. This plastic is very thin and not made to withstand the job it's built tod.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included

Better than I ever would have believed

06/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This boat is perfect for lake fishing. Light enough to be easily carried by one person. I've carried it over half a mile to remote spots comfortably. I recently mounted a fish finder and trolling motor along with an anchor system. I couldn't be happier with this boat.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included

Very Stable for a narrow Kayak

06/03/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got the kayak on sale & with bonus on credit card, I paid $410 out the door at Walmart. My husband weighs about 240 & really likes this kayak. He can get it in & out of the water pretty easy & says it is very stable for a narrower kayak. It tracks well & has sufficient dry storage for day on the lake. He has not been off the beach yet, but that is coming soon.
The only future modifications will be an anchor trolly, booster seat, and maybe better handles. This kayak is kind of a hybrid, (sit on/sit in). There are no scuppers & the seat sits low, soooo thats where the water will pool if it rains or water gets in from paddling. This is the reason for 4 instead of 5 stars. Also the swivel rod holder seems a little flimsy, but fine for light fishing or just holding your rod while your on the move.
Some reviews say the paddle that comes with the kayak is cheap & flimsy, It seems fine to us for a 2 piece...We also really don't have anything to compare it to since this is our first kayak.
I'm sure my husband will graduate to a more ocean going kayak in the future, but this is a great beginners kayak & perfect for lake fishing. This one will probably be my hand-my-down when he moves on... :o}
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included

Very Good Kayak as my first

04/03/2014
By ,
Bonne Terre, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Impressed with quality and made in the USA. It is so easy to navigate and paddle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included

Nice kayak for fishing

04/01/2014
By ,
Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like it a lot it is nice .But it needs handles for moving a round
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included

Would buy again anyday!

03/07/2014
By ,
Meridian, Ms
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I picked up this kayak for my first Yak 3 weeks ago. I am 330lb 6'4'' and it floats me great I have put about 5miles on it in two outings. Have caught a few fish and I like that I can get up in there where there at. I have a few mods I made such as a anchor trolley, a cheat on either side to use as handles, and extended the length of the paddle, and another rod holder. I paid $449.00 and it was money well spent in my book. Would buy another if this one was stolen!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included

Very good yak

02/23/2014
By ,
SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I did a lot of research before purchasing this kayak.
What became apparent early on, is that you must evaluate your own personnel needs and usage before you decide which yak is best for you.
For me: Kayak weight was a top priority. Because I paddle alone most of the time & portaging to off the beaten path creeks and rivers is a big part of it, I drew the line at 50 lbs.
But I also wanted a 12ft. Boat for improved tracking and extra weight carrying & cargo space.
I looked for boats that had high ratings on seat comfort and the journey answered.
The paddle that came with it is fine for my use as I just need a durable big dip paddle.
I like the removable waterproof hold in the stern. It is fairly large & it's convenient to just remove the whole unit for packing and transport.
I'm 6'1" @ 190lbs. Legroom is good, with the adjustable foot pegs all the way forward.
I have found that getting in and out is best done with a feet wet approach. Meaning I prefer to pull up on the bank straddle, then sit/rise. Rather than enter/exit from a dock. Once your in, you sit low enough that the yak feels very stable.. But with a 29" width, getting in and out is less so.
However, the narrower width allows for great tracking, maneuverability and reduced the overall weight. Overall, for me, the compromise in stability is worth it. The Journey is durable. I throw it in the back of the truck, have been through brushy creeks, rocky bottoms, and have drug it hundreds of yds down gravelly paths, with nothing to show more than expected scratches.
I like the looks of this yak, the high prow does a good job with light chop, but doesn't seem to catch wind.
The rod holders are adequate, though I did replace the Scotty with a better model.
I keep a small waterproof tackle box forward, which is fine for me, as I am not a real serious fisherman.(no fish finder , trolling motor, anchor trolley, etc.)
Drawbacks of the journey:
I think the biggest drawback is no access between the hulls.
Therefore it makes it more difficult to modify(you can't just reach your hand inside and tighten a fastener. You have to use a Molly or a bolt anchor, etc.)
Also you don't have access to all that storage space. There is a small waterproof hold forward, but it's only about the size of a cup holder.
No scuppers: this wasn't that big a deal for me as I don't use this yak on the coast, but it does mean a wetter seat.(I think most sit on tops get you wet, mainly from paddle drip). I use a two inch waterproof pad to sit on, (waterproof pants in cool weather) & carry big sponge.
No side handles, so I rigged a sling & take the weight on my shoulders, though it is another step.
I do think it worthwhile as it is a lot easier to carry.
All in all this is great kayak for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included
This review is fromSun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-On Fishing Kayak, Sand.

Great kayak for anyone who enjoys being on the wat

03/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice kayak, very sturdy and stable on the water...Light weight and easy to transport and tracks very well.....Shipping to the store was very fast and actually came weeks before the estimated delivery date......
Recommends this product? Yes
+27points
Review 15 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included

overall good buy

11/19/2013
By ,
eden n.c
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
overall nice could have been better scratches all over it items on it were throwed together could have been stored have been stored to keep in better shape had to use to kayaks to make my one only 2 in stock after using parts off the other one they had to send the other one back overall disapointing buy for the price but seems to be a nice kayak if it was stored and put together correctly i would give it a better rating
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included

Good Kayak at affordable price

11/04/2013
By ,
Shelby, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Been wanting a fishing Kayak for some time and finally bought this model. Have been looking at them for over a year and this model had everything I wanted. Had it in the water within an hour of purchase. Was very easy to steer and seemed true. The paddle that comes with it was adequate but will be replaced with an upgraded paddle. Was very stable and look forward to taking this to the coast and doing some fishing for specks and reds.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included

cool kayak but i ended up returning it

10/02/2013
By ,
san diego, ca
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
this was a cool looking kayak and a great price point. had storage, came with the paddle. padded seats and fishing rod holders. was planning on ocean fishing with this yak. once i realized there were no self bailing scupper holes i knew heading out and coming back to shore wouldve been a wet ride the whole time. so although i really wanted to keep it. i ended up returning it and going with something else. id say its good if your only doing lake, river, and bay fishing...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bilge pump - aka...pool water toy
Posted 10/10/2013
Bilge pump - aka...pool water toy like the AquaZooka
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included

Overall excellent VALUE !

07/30/2013
By ,
Keystone Heights, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this at Walmart for $449 as advertised and I'm very pleased. There are pieces of plastic that slide around inside but that doesn't affect the performance. I didn't know what they were at first until I did some research and found out they were plastic cut-outs that drop down inside the hull in the manufacturing process. There is a website for Klindindustries.com where you can contact the manufacturer. I've seen some negative reviews on various kayaking network forums and blogs but they are typically biased against Walmart and a bit snooty about the quality. I for one find no problem with the quality and the fact that it doesn't have "scuppers" (to let the water run off the top# is not a problem because I never had a problem with water getting in in the first place. If you are looking for a good working kayak #holds 390 lbs# at a light weight #48 lbs# for a really good price #$480+ after taxes) then this is the kayak for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included

Greatest kayak ever made.

07/07/2013
By ,
Rio Dell
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have enjoyed these 2 kaykaks so much, we have taken them out almost every weekend. We like their style. They are open so you don't worry that if you fall out, your body falls and you come ride up to the surface. They are safe and our older grandchildren love using them. You can even fish out of them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sun Dolphin Journey 12' Sit-on Fishing Kayak, Paddle Included

Good for the money!

06/23/2013
By ,
Berrien Springs, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My first Kayak and worked well when I tried it out yesterday. Only complaint is there could have been more closed storage, the opening is to small to put alot of stuff in so you have to remove them which works too but then is not waterproof. Good value for the money, free paddle works ok despite some saying it is cheap. Stable and room to move around in. I am 5'9" 230 lbs and it tracks pretty straight and moves pretty easy through the water, not the fastest but not meant to be.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1 2 Next