Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Deep Silver Dead Island - Game of the Year (PS3)

Deep Silver Dead Island - Game of the Year (PS3)

Dead Island combines first-person action with a heavy focus on melee combat, character development and customisation of a vast array of weapons. Set in an open world tropical island, hordes of different festering zombies await players around every corner while they embark on a variety of thrilling missions through the holiday resort. Dead Island also features role-playing elements which allow the player to develop one of the games unique character classes according to their preferences, all the while learning new skills and fresh tactics during their journey through the perilous environments of the island. Up to four players can seamlessly join together and experience the intense combat and immersive story with cooperative gameplay.
Average Customer Rating:
4.154 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation85%11 out of 13reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dead Island - Game of the Year (PS3)

Great co-op game

12/20/2012
By ,
Largo, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got this for $10 and it was well worth it.
Youtube some videos on it if you are unsure. For $10 you can't go wrong.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dead Island - Game of the Year (PS3)

Dead Island a zombie slasher at a bargain price!!

01/06/2014
By ,
Iowa, IA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
GOOD-
Fun weapons to upgrade and customize with multiple mods
Lots of missions, side quests and open zombie killing
RPG elements in skill trees for 4 different characters
Easy to pick up and play-little learning to play
Cons-
Graphics are now slightly dated
Everyone has a south african or australia sounding accent
At times it just feels brutal- zombies can chase you relentlessly attacking without getting tired while you have a stamina bar that depletes fast meaning you have to jump to a car or ladder just to "catch your breathe" while it does cause a constantly intense/suspenseful environment sometimes just seems brutally relentless.
Overall-the game new is cheap right now, if you are on the ps3 and looking for some games to play for fun to tide you over until you can afford a ps4.. this is a game that would be considered for under $20.00
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dead Island - Game of the Year (PS3)

Promising but gets boring and tedius quickly

10/25/2013
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I liked the concept for the game but it didn't satisfy. Towards the beginning you have to run for some maintenance room but the game never shows or explain where it is once you get to the hall way. The player is immediately swarmed and within 30 seconds dead if no door is found. You have no weapons and can only use your fists which takes stamina so after a few swings your dead. You can run away cause as soon as they hit you your slowed and trapped. I suppose after this segment you get some weapon but you cant use it for long anyway cause it'll break. I'm pretty sure crow bars can still be deadly even after 20x times what would have made sense and be realistic is if the vehicles had gas instead of some magically crumbling crow bar or lead pipe. Unlike Left4Dead and dead rising which usually almost always gives the player a fighting chance unless on uber diff this game does not leading to unnecessary frustration and annoyance.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dead Island - Game of the Year (PS3)

Honest review to help the undecided decide...

12/19/2013
By ,
NEW HAVEN,CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
-my review is positives,negatives, the reasons to play it, and about what one does actually playing the game. All the things I want to know if I am unsure about a game. Have patience and read fast.
Great deal and I didn't play it for months. It sat behind epic blockbuster games. Then I wanted to see tropical locations with sunshine. A vacation setting ALWAYS makes me happy vs a filthy location.
--now the game- starts off basic borderline boring. But it's basic fetch missions or equip this/that weapons etc to teach the player. The reviewer who said "impossibly hard" IGNORE HIM" PAC man would push his limits.
--this game held me in its grip for 3 straight months! THREE!!! Only fallout-3,borderlands-2,and pretty much the greats only keep us glued. This game has flaws, but not in the FUN category.
~~~BEST FEATURE~ random legendary rare weapons. If you're level 26 then the weapon is 26 etc.
and you get weapons everywhere. The biggest fan attraction to this game is=Rare weapon farming and doing weapon runs across the whole map. This is what kept me addicted to this game. Every friend who has completed or put time in = loves the game cause it's rewarding.
Far cry-3 was amazing and another island tropical paradise game I loved, but it got stale and respective later. For a year I've been wanting to finish it but haven't. Dead island had me finish it twice with 2 of the 4 characters.
----the skills you get when you level up are RPG like. Similar to borderlands and and any game that has 80 skills and only 60 skill points so you have to chose you're layout carefully. Batman games had you getting all the skills. This way is better IMO.
---the voice acting is AWFUL. some of the worst in game. The gangsta is so annoying. Even the rapper and thugs will dislike his stupid attitude.
-the story has no epic twist besides the virus and military spin that we've all seen it and heard it b4.
--the sSIDE STORIES/QUEST balance this out. We all know games like this we love the side quest. We covet the experience and weapons and loot and interesting. There's some funny stuff people were doing when all heck breaks loose. Like a dude handcuffed in bed. People stuck in silly outfits when they changed LOL, and their story or situations. I loved it....
~~no clipping or frame rate issues. And that's with 40 zombies on screen. This woulda killed the game IMO.
--good fast travel system.
--best of all>>>VERY INTERESTING VARIETY IN EACH OF 4 playable characters.
-a tank,Melee/blunt weapon powerhouse Sam-B
--Firearms guns--surprisingly the worst character. Guns are average in this game. Don't pick her..
-these last two are awesome
--THROWABLES! The jock dude--THROWABLES are solo much fun because of 1 skill= BOOMERANG. YUP THE WEAPON RETURNS TO YOURE HANDS 8 out of 10 times. And the stick in the zombie most other times. Losing weapons is rare. They have light effects on me or something. He also gets boost when drunk. The creep gets all toast turby but he kills everyone. I tried and mastered this skill and it's one of the reasons you'll love this game.
--lastly the samerai girl from Asia. She uses swords and bladed weapons. She becomes the beheader and the easiest to play. She's also the overall best. The jock who throws weapons is more fun and my main choice but she is fast and back stabs. She's the stealth like ninja of the game.
--this game allows all weapons to be used by all. Everyone will shoot guns and use a hammer or sword. They made weapons wear down and you're not always near a repair bench. At least they don't per a break. I hate that. But when you're main weapons of you're class are toast, you'll break out your other weapons you are carrying as loot to sell. Thus= forced skills balance=brilliant.
--so I gave negatives and a lot of positives. This game is one the greats for this generation of game systems IMO. And I look forward to dying Light. (They're sequel of sorts )) the same team from dead island. Btw- dead island riptide was a whole different team inside the same company. That's probably why it was meh.
--if you play this game- accept a 1 hour of beginning and intro into the open world. Minor compared to the 5 hours it took me in crisis 3 to get freedom and fun.
--an open world zombie game set in a tropical paradise vacation resort. The game delivers thenfunwe'd expect in a tropical,zombie open world.
--it's not a A blockbuster category game, so if measured against farcry3,tombRaider and bio shock,and dis honored it will be insulted and hated on=duh...
But if it competes in the B category against titles like Left4Dead, Rage,Dead risings,Lost planets,wolfenstein, it holds it's own. Btw. I own and love all games I mentioned and I reviewed all my popular games. BECAUSE I WANT YOU TONGET THE SAME ENJOYMENT I DID. BUY it..
mcsipp <psn
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dead Island - Game of the Year (PS3)

family loves it

03/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wished it was 2 player
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dead Island - Game of the Year (PS3)

love zombies

07/31/2012
By ,
Fall River
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great game! comes with awesome extras
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dead Island - Game of the Year (PS3)

The Price.

11/27/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I already had this game before, but then they released this addition. I got it for $10.00, so I was pretty happy about that. I recommend getting it either way on sale or regular. Because the regular addition is usually right around the same price, so it doesn't hurt to pay the extra to get the bonuses.
As far as game play and so on, it is a decent game it was sort of meant for the online play, but I highly suggest one person. Playing online you easily get separated and lost in a quest, unless you plan on playing with friends or with headsets.
Graphics are good, can be glitchy from time to time, but nothing major.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim (PS3)
4.1 out of 5(21)
 
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dead Island - Game of the Year (PS3)

Awesome

06/11/2013
By ,
Ky near moonshine site
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comes with lots of extras at a price I can finally afford.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dead Island - Game of the Year (PS3)

Impossible to play on your own

09/24/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm not sure why this got GOTY....it's horrible!! Multiplayer you might have a chance, but it's annoyingly hard by yourself.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dead Island - Game of the Year (PS3)
10/25/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great game and great price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Dead Island - Game of the Year (PS3)
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5