Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gardner Bender Battery Tester, D, C, AAA, AA & 9V

Gardner Bender Battery Tester, D, C, AAA, AA & 9V

If you're always wondering how much charge is left in that battery in the junk drawer, then this is the tool for you! Gardner Bender's handy battery tester tests all common household batteries to determine existing charge. It provides a quick, visual low/good indicator, and has a moveable contact arm to fit multiple battery sizes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.08 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation92%23 out of 25reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 17 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Battery Tester, D, C, AAA, AA & 9V

Works but spring breaks easily

12/01/2013
By ,
Kansas City, MO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I'd leave the D cells out. I started testing all the batteries in our drawer and some were good, some okay, some bad. But when I put the third D battery in, the spring broke. You see, one side slides out on a spring to hold the battery tight depending on its size. The D battery is at the far end of what it can hold. And now my tester doesn't spring back. To test a battery, I have to make sure I hold that slider tight to the battery. I miss my old tester but my son probably "borrowed" it and lost it. It's been lost for months so I finally broke down and bought a new one. This one still works, but not with that spring. Have to hold it tight against any battery I test. Be careful with the D's!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Battery Tester, D, C, AAA, AA & 9V

Not Very Helpful

10/22/2013
By ,
Atlanta, GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When the inexpensive tester I'd had for over ten years, finally stopped working, I looked for a new one, and decided to order this model. Well, it's sure compact, and simple to use, however, it's calibration leaves a great deal to be desired, and I'm not even sure it's accurate at all.
It seems that other than when testing dead batteries, all others, whether brand new Duracell alkalines, just recharged ones, or even some that have been used for a good while, show a reading of about a third to halfway into the Good area. Now, I would assume brand new, fully charged batteries would show a reading much further over to the positive side, and lesser charged, or partly used ones would be the only ones showing just a third of the way into the "Good"...
So, IMHO, unless the one I received is just a dud, and so isn't working properly, it's not a very good piece of equipment...
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Battery Tester, D, C, AAA, AA & 9V

Good product at a good price.

07/25/2014
By ,
Monterey, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's very easy to use all by itself, without having to even glance at any separate instructions. Besides the listed battery types, it also has a slot for testing 1.5V button batteries. It has a lot of functionality for a low price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Battery Tester, D, C, AAA, AA & 9V

Money saver

07/21/2014
By ,
Camp Verde, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to see if batteries I had bought at a discount were any good. The first two I tested were no good. These were 9 volt batteries so the first test I did more than paid for the tester. It's nice to have around the house to see if smoke alarm batteries are good or not and also to test the 9 volts we put in sprinkler control box.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Battery Tester, D, C, AAA, AA & 9V

good

07/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
needed a small battery checker, this is just what we needed
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Battery Tester, D, C, AAA, AA & 9V

so easy to use

07/19/2012
By ,
north smithfield, ri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
inexpensive way to tell if the battery is any good. very easy to use
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Battery Tester, D, C, AAA, AA & 9V

Handy gadget

01/11/2013
By ,
Seneca, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this product. I had some batteries that I was about to discard but they tested okay so I did not get rid of them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Battery Tester, D, C, AAA, AA & 9V

Inexpensive and useful

09/17/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Doesn't cost much and fits all the popular battery sizes. It may not give the most precise reading, but it's a help, especially when I'm trying to test smoke detector batteries.
I suppose an alternative would be just to replace all the 9-volts every year.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Battery Tester, D, C, AAA, AA & 9V

It did what I bought it for.

12/03/2013
By ,
Hampton, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I wanted something that would tell me if batteries I already had were still good. After testing my batteries I was able to throw the bad ones away.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Battery Tester, D, C, AAA, AA & 9V

Great!

02/21/2014
By ,
Trenton MI.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works as advertised. Very helpful to have around to check out all the batters we have in various places in the house and we never knew where they were good or bad.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Battery Tester, D, C, AAA, AA & 9V
01/02/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works perfectly better than my old one
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Battery Tester, D, C, AAA, AA & 9V

So for so good. Little expensive.

01/14/2013
By ,
Tampa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So for so good, gave it to my 4 year old son to test all old batteries I had. Works great. Tested all types of listed batteries. Only thing I felt is little expensive. I paid around $7.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Battery Tester, D, C, AAA, AA & 9V

great battery tester for a beginner.

09/19/2013
By ,
tampa, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
service at store was excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Battery Tester, D, C, AAA, AA & 9V

Great product.

12/10/2013
By ,
PITTSBURGH,PA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for an easy way to test my batteries, this was it. Works great. Price is right. If you need a battery tester this is it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Battery Tester, D, C, AAA, AA & 9V

Not a good product

12/07/2012
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It is very difficult to use. Once you get the battery in it you cannot trust that you are getting a good reading. I put several brand new batteries in it and they did not register, some do some do not. I put an old battery in and it read dead, I put it in another tester and read OK. So I think I will be turning this tester.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Battery Tester, D, C, AAA, AA & 9V
03/13/2013
By ,
UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an awesome product. I wish I'd had it years ago. It is so great to be able to tell if a battery is any good. Such a great thing to have, especially since it works for all sizes of batteries. Exceptional for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Battery Tester, D, C, AAA, AA & 9V
02/17/2013
By ,
Torrance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wanted something to be sure which battery didn't work before I tossed good batteries. This handy little inexpensive item so far has saved all but one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Battery Tester, D, C, AAA, AA & 9V

Handy tester.

03/02/2013
By ,
Marshall, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it. So handy. Speedy delivery.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Battery Tester, D, C, AAA, AA & 9V
Based on the average of (7) ratings-only reviews
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5