Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for SOG SOG Specialty Knives & Tools 5-piece Supreme Survival Kit

SOG SOG Specialty Knives & Tools 5-piece Supreme Survival Kit

The SOG Specialty Knives and Tools CK-56 survival kit is the ideal companion for any outdoorsman or adventurer who always wants to be prepared. The Power-Duo multi-tool features a black oxide finish with a polycarbonate handle that protects against corrosion and impact. The SOG tactical tomahawk is made of 420 stainless steel with a 2.75" edge that has a nylon sheath to protect it from corrosion and impact damage. The SOGfari machete has been designed with careful attention for comfortable, extended use. The SFB Signal Fire key ring accessory is a super-lightweight and potentially lifesaving accessory. The SOG entrenching tool is a compact, foldable shovel that can be indispensable in many environments. The SOG Specialty Knives and Tools CK-56 survival kit is backed by a limited lifetime warranty from the manufacturer.
Average Customer Rating:
3.769 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation85%22 out of 26reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 19 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for SOG Specialty Knives & Tools 5-piece Supreme Survival Kit
11/08/2012
By ,
Denver
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Machete is well-balanced. However, the axe/pick is a bit top-heavy and the handle is a bit small (and I have average sized hands). I beleive I can fix this by wrapping the handle with tennis grip tape.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SOG Specialty Knives & Tools 5-piece Supreme Survival Kit

Walmart service excellent, poor product

07/15/2013
By ,
Orlando
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have owned two previous SOG multitools and had no issues. Although they lacked Leatherman or Victorinox quality of design and intuitiveness, they were well made, interesting, and delivered as advertised.
However, this multi-tool broke while I was learning the functions out of the box! It wasn't even used in any application! I was unable to release the screwdriver when fully extended. It broke both my thumbnail and the release lever trying to release the screwdriver. The knob is pressed on rivet-style and cannot be repaired. And there is no advantage to the the compound priors, as the metal body of the body is made of foil and began to fold (deform) while simply squeezing it.
The shovel is a joke. The washer that maintains angular position of the shovel is of the lowest quality possible and began to fold (deform) under hand pressure on the blade. I used a real folding portable trenching shovel in the military and this is unserviceable as a functional tool.
I did not open the other products, having already given up on SOG. Cannot believe they let their name be used on this. Never again! SOG would be well advised to protect their brand.
This is pretend stuff better utilized as a prop in a play than real service.
Walmart service was commendable throughout the process. Delivered to the store for pick-up ahead of schedule, and returned with equal ease the very next day.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SOG Specialty Knives & Tools 5-piece Supreme Survival Kit
10/28/2012
By ,
San Francisco, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great line of products! All of the equipment is built sturdy and will stand up to hard use. The entrenching tool folds out and locks nicely, and breaks down very small when you are done with it.
For the price, this kit can't be beat. A much better way to get outfitted than to buy each piece individually.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SOG Specialty Knives & Tools 5-piece Supreme Survival Kit

4 out of 5

12/10/2012
By ,
St Lucie, Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The pocket tool is nice piece with a good sharp cutting blade that is near razor sharp. The " tomahawk" head was a little small but has a good working edge. the quality of the shovel could've been better, but should work for most camping needs. For the Cyber Monday 70 dollar price the kit was worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SOG Specialty Knives & Tools 5-piece Supreme Survival Kit

Sog is pretty solid

10/27/2013
By ,
Coeur d'Alene
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The knives and tools SOG makes are tough and dependable so far. They seem fit to do the jobs I need them for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SOG Specialty Knives & Tools 5-piece Supreme Survival Kit

Nice Set of "Tools".

08/31/2013
By ,
Saginaw,Mi
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nice kit has everything you might need for camping. Everything seems to be first quality. I don't think these items are factory rejects and then sold to walmart for a great deal. Everthing comes sheaths so your back pack wont get cut up during your hike. The only issue is the tool logic signal fire pictured is not the one sent. They sent me the Sog Firestarter/sharpener SH03-CP which is junk with a $20 dollar value. If you were purchase all of the pieces separate it would be close to $200.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SOG Specialty Knives & Tools 5-piece Supreme Survival Kit

Great survival kit!

12/26/2013
By ,
Hutchinson, KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Multi-tool is very handy. Shovel is on the small side, but will stow in the trunk well. Machette needs to be sharper, but tomahawk is sharp and has good balance for throwing. Overall just what I needed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SOG Specialty Knives & Tools 5-piece Supreme Survival Kit

not exactly what i wanted..wanted advertised item

12/03/2013
By ,
milwarukee wi
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nice stuff just didnt come with what i originally wanted in. The ad
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SOG Specialty Knives & Tools 5-piece Supreme Survival Kit

Good Products & Excellent Value for the Money!

12/10/2012
By ,
Columbus, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you need all the items listed, then this kit it is a bargain. Purchased individually they would be a lot more expensive. The quality is good, with typical rugged SOG construction. They will work nicely for my limited needs, but don't confuse them with the super high end SOG products found at specialty knife stores/etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SOG Specialty Knives & Tools 5-piece Supreme Survival Kit

Not so happy.

12/17/2012
By ,
Pennsylvania
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this product expecting high quality. From the shipping delay to the actual inspection of the product, I was disappointed. The product was recieved approximately 4 days past the expected date on their response. Just stated "held up in transit".The "screwdriver" in the knife was loose. The strike flint would barely throw a spark. I expected a full tang on the tomahawk. It wasn't. For the not so picky individual, it wouldn't be bad but if you want high quality, I'd be leary of purchasing this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SOG Specialty Knives & Tools 5-piece Supreme Survival Kit
12/17/2012
By ,
West Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought 5 sets for emergency gear for the cars of myself and children. Hopefully they'll never be needed, but, if they are, the kits represent an excellent assortment of cutting, hacking and chopping tools. With the added bonus of a multitool, all with canvas carrying cases.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SOG Specialty Knives & Tools 5-piece Supreme Survival Kit
12/25/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my fiance for Christmas and he was like a little kid with a new toy. He said the quality was excellent and was way more than he expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SOG Specialty Knives & Tools 5-piece Supreme Survival Kit

Great set!

12/26/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My girl got this for me for Christmas and I love it. The tomahawk is perfect size and weight and very sharp! The only complaint I have is the grip is very slick (could fly out of your hand) but wraping it in paracord should take care of that. The shovel is very compact (folds up) and seems tough, only complaint is I had to work the locking mechanism for about 10 min. back and forth to get it to work (very tight). I thought it was broke at first. The machete is very sharp and well made, the saw edge on back would be very handy, only draw back very small for machete but will be easy to carry. Multi-tool is well made and consist of a knife, pliers, flat/phillips, can opener and bottle opener. The knife is also very sharp. Have not tried the sharpener/fire starter yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SOG Specialty Knives & Tools 5-piece Supreme Survival Kit

Very good quality for the price

12/27/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our son loved it. Good quality for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SOG Specialty Knives & Tools 5-piece Supreme Survival Kit

Needs some improvement

12/14/2012
By ,
Gainesville, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This kit is almost worth the price paid on sale at Walmart. I would not be happy with it at all if I had paid full price. The tomahawk, machete, multi-tool and sharpener/fire starter are useful as tools; however, the machete is very light for that type instrument. I will have to see how it holds up under use. The "entrenching tool" is a throwaway - it would be of very limited utility in an emergency. The tomahawk and the firestarter are the only pieces that truly met my expectations. Overall, you would do better to simply buy the tools individually - you will pay a little more, but you will get a much more useful kit.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SOG Specialty Knives & Tools 5-piece Supreme Survival Kit

Fire Striker/Whistle is not, small items

12/10/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Notice the first image with the bundle, that's what I (and likely you) will get- it's a fire striker on one side, and a cheapish knife sharpener on the other. No whistle, but worst of all, no removable striker- you have to use something else (like the supplied multi tool) to get your flame.
Also, don't base the size off the shovel, if you're expecting the larger military sized one, it's about 2/3 the size of what I was expecting (being a veteran). All that being said though, it's a decent price for the set.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SOG Specialty Knives & Tools 5-piece Supreme Survival Kit

sharpener/firestarter arrived broken

12/21/2012
By ,
Ashburn, Virginia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This kit is not as advertised. the machete, axe and multitool are essentially as advertised and met my limited expectations. The shovel and sharpener/firestarter however, were substandard. The sharpener arrived broken and appeared very fragile and not very useful .
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SOG Specialty Knives & Tools 5-piece Supreme Survival Kit

SOG survival kit

12/01/2012
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Products seem to be of good material.. Haven't field tested yet..
Good price for what you're getting... Recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SOG Specialty Knives & Tools 5-piece Supreme Survival Kit

The knife broke the first time it was used .

12/20/2012
By ,
Benton, AR.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SOG is replacing it though.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SOG Specialty Knives & Tools 5-piece Supreme Survival Kit

just as advertised,good quality

12/13/2012
By ,
grove city
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
fast and easy ordering and pickup
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next