Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Asus Asus Matte Dark Brown 15.6" K55A-RBR6 Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-2450M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Asus Asus Matte Dark Brown 15.6" K55A-RBR6 Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-2450M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

The 15.6" K55A-RBR6 Asus Intel Core i5-2450M Processor features 6GB of memory, 750GB hard drive and Windows 7 Home Premium for a superior computing experience. Two SuperSpeed USB 3.0 ports on the Asus Laptop PC Windows 7 Home Premium Laptop with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option in Matte Dark Brown provide data transfer rates that are 10 times faster than USB 2.0. Special Offer: Buy this Asus Laptop PC Windows 7 Home Premium Laptop with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option in Matte Dark Brown and get Windows 8 Pro for $14.99. We've got you covered. Click HERE to learn more about Microsoft Windows 8 Pro & the upgrade program.
Average Customer Rating:
4.225 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
40
4 stars
19
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation87%62 out of 71reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
40
4 stars
19
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Asus Matte Dark Brown 15.6" K55A-RBR6 Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-2450M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Great Laptop... Disappointed with web cam :(

10/02/2012
By ,
Ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I decided it was time for a new laptop as I have my mothers old 2002 Dell which has to be plugged in to even turn on.. I purchased this laptop based on the specs (processor, RAM and GB storage) all great aspects at a great price ($488.00 bundled). The display and screen are awesome, very clear, great color, great positioning of the mouse/track pad, light weight etc. What I didn't pay attention too was the MP of the camera; being .3MP the quality is poor to me. I wanted something I could use for the purpose of skype / face chat because my cheap external camera on my other laptop wasn't cutting it (I use skype every day as i'm in a long distance relationship so clarity is important to me!). Well, it turns out there was no difference in my external camera quality and the quality of the one built in to this, so I decided to return it. I recommend this for all other reasons besides the webcam!!! I just did not want to go out and spend additional money on an external camera when I feel the one built in should be enough :)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 2 for Asus Matte Dark Brown 15.6" K55A-RBR6 Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-2450M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Great Laptop

09/04/2012
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When it comes to laptops I am very picky. I researched alot and wanted one with decent specs at a good price. Never had an Asus and didn't think they were very popular but apparently they aren't half bad. Actually this laptop is excellent.
Got it mainly because of the i5 processor and 6GB of RAM. Even though it's not quad core it still has hyper-threading which is very convenient. I also wanted to make sure this would run some PC games fairly well with decent framerate. At first I was concerned because of the UMA graphics but surprisingly the games I have played run great. For example I can run WoW on High graphics with a framerate of 17-25 and thats with alot on-screen. Dumb that to low settings and a whopping framerate of 60. Just one example.
Anyways the pros:
-Thin
-Very fast
-Built to last
-Beautiful screen
-Amazing raw power even before turbo boost kicks in.
-Hyper-threading
-Long battery life
-Good price for what you get.
-HDMI port
-awesome trackpad
- and so many other pros...i'd be here a while listing them all.
CONS:
-umm...i'm thinking.
Obviously this isn't the best laptop in the world but it's pretty awesome for the price/specs.
I highly recommend it and this saying applies to laptops especially: "you get what you pay for" so don't be afraid to spend a bit more to get this laptop. It's worth the money for sure.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+40points
Review 3 for Asus Matte Dark Brown 15.6" K55A-RBR6 Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-2450M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Great everything

07/24/2012
By ,
South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a new computer for school, currently I am doing a lot of online, and word document related things, as well as gaming, music and skype. So I am on this computer everyday on average 5-6 hrs per day maybe more. This is my life. This computer was about 100 over what I wanted to spend, but I loved it, even looked at it in the store, and i had to have it. Considering the processor, the memory and hard drive, it was a great price so I went ahead and got it and I love this computer!!!!
I have used the web cam and everyone says its pretty good. I love the face recognition (smart logon) to sign in, it has its moments and the lighting is sometimes a factor but for the most part i like that feature. A few times smart logon has frozen, I can still log in with a password though, and once you power down normally it is fine.
The key pad for me (being right handed) is great, its off center to the left so it gives my lower arm less of an awkward angle
The keyboard does have space between the keys, something my last laptop didnt have so its been weird adjusting.
The charging port thing is also in a great spot on the left side which has proved to be veryy convenient for me.
The battery life is better than I thought it would be, I love all the power plans, entertainment, battery saver, ect. Like I said along with the constant usage, Im not always plugged in, and it lasts for me. I have not yet taken it out yet, Im not back to schhol yet, so Ive always been near a power source.
The computer is also great for gaming, I can have internet open, stream league of legends and music (Itunes) with no problems.
The HDMI port is also awesome, Ive hooked up a few times to the tv with a cord for gaming and it was amazingg.
I guess thats about all I have to say (that I can think of) but the bottom line is, this is a great computer, it meets everything I wanted and then some, and for what you get the price is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+71points
Review 4 for Asus Matte Dark Brown 15.6" K55A-RBR6 Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-2450M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Great laptop for students

07/13/2012
By ,
Joliet, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This laptop has been amazing so far. The touch pad is awesome, works just like a MacBook. The only problem I've been having with it is that i have had two occasions where it freezes up while turning on, leaving me with a black screen. it won't recognize that i have the charger plugged in when this happens, but i take out the battery and put it back in and it works fine again. It freaked me out so hopefully it doesn't happen often.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Joliet, IL
I discovered the problem..
Posted 07/16/2012
You absolutely must put the laptop to sleep before shutting it and putting it in a carrying case... Asus has programs that run in the background that will stay on while the computer to shut, causing the computer to overheat when placed in a carrying case or on a blanket (no room to breathe), etc. Hope this helps :)
+4points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Asus Matte Dark Brown 15.6" K55A-RBR6 Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-2450M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

This is a good laptop; a new chip is out.

10/25/2012
By ,
Bowling Green, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Asus makes top quality products. I won't go into details such as how pretty it is, or it boots up fast, etc., nor will I talk at length about tech differences. It is an absolutely brilliant computer in terms of build quality, features and performance. It will do any consumer a great job. One note to consider. Intel has come out with the series 3 chip, which replaces the series 2 chip that this model has. It has better performance. If you can, get the series 3. Where the model lists Core i5-2450M, if it were a series 3, it would be i5-3450M. The i5 series chips are an improvement over the i3, which have been so popular. At the present time, there are the i3, i5 and i7. The i3 is still very popular, but the i5 is a bit newer and as software gets more demanding, it is something to consider. Unless you do very high level gaming, a lot of number crunching or serious video editing, the i7 chip is a bit expensive. That noted, if you are into gaming, or serious business use, the i5 (this model chip) is still a very sound investment. A mom and pop business or personal use enthusiast would not know the difference between the i3 and i5. But, the extra power is there if you need it. If you go to other online sites, you will find models with series 3 chips at a reasonably comparable price. Being a quad core processor, the hyper-threading and turbo boost is helpful for video editing and gaming, in that it can temporarily boost the clock speed up to 2.9GHz. Oh yeah, the M stands for mobile, and 450 is the SKU number. I would upgrade the RAM to 8GB. While WalMart doesn't offer chips in stores, Kingston (great brand) can upgrade with a 4GB chip to 8GB for around $22-25. This computer with 8GB of RAM will be a fantastic investment, particularly if you own an older computer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bowling Green, KY
Oops...made a mistake on review
Posted 10/28/2012
I mentioned this is a quad core processor. It is actually a dual core processor, with a quad core threading capability. This allows it to handle multiple apps that a slower computer might not. The i7 is a quad core processor. You can reference Sandy Bridge to Ivy Bridge to see the differences. On the turbo, some reviewers rate it as 2.9GHz, but it is benchmark tested as 3.1GHz. Like most things, people can't agree. The 210 series is the slowest in the i5 series, but still very fast. Guess I shouldn't give reviews after working a lot of overtime...
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Asus Matte Dark Brown 15.6" K55A-RBR6 Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-2450M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option
10/16/2012
By ,
Chino
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great computer. Fast and surprisingly has great speakers! The more we use it, the more we like it. Would buy again!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 7 for Asus Matte Dark Brown 15.6" K55A-RBR6 Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-2450M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Good value for the money

10/14/2012
By ,
IL.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this laptop for almost a month. I bought it to replase a aging netbook. It has run great for me with no problems. I don't play games or do much intense work on this laptop. I got it to web surf , facebook and use itunes.
It will charge my ipad 3 and I like that a lot. I does have a cheap feel to it so I don't know if I would recomend it for a student.
The screen is good and clear with crisp colors.
If you are looking for a good value for the money I think this would be a good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 8 for Asus Matte Dark Brown 15.6" K55A-RBR6 Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-2450M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Asus laptop

10/16/2012
By ,
Loveland, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went on Amazon and only found it 1.02 cents cheaper. With none of the advantages of Walmart guarentee, warrentee and no shipping with site to store. This is my third site to store purchase and I will do it again, it has been such a good experience.
The lap top took longer than they thought, originally, to arrive, but it was such a great deal that my techy friends were intensely jelous.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+4points
Review 9 for Asus Matte Dark Brown 15.6" K55A-RBR6 Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-2450M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Excellent Value

10/04/2012
By ,
Central Gulf Coast
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having thoroughly researched laptops with this specification set, I found the ASUS to be the best value, period.
Then, when the fine folks at Walmart reduced the price by another $100, well, the decision was made. And I am very happy with that decision.
Won't find a better value anywhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 10 for Asus Matte Dark Brown 15.6" K55A-RBR6 Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-2450M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Small Issues but otherwise ok

09/19/2012
By ,
Boston, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had to remove the battery twice because the computer wont come on when I hit the power button. I am not sure if this will be an ongoing issue. All else works fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 11 for Asus Matte Dark Brown 15.6" K55A-RBR6 Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-2450M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Awesome laptop for Music Producer

11/05/2012
By ,
San Diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a new laptop for excellent performance in music production, specifically FL Studio. I was looking for a PC with a good amount of RAM and a high end processor. As soon as I saw this deal, I knew I had to get it. With an i5 processor and 6GB of DDR3 RAM (which I expanded to 8GB after only a $50 DIY upgrade), this is a deal I couldn't pass up. The built-in Real-Tek Audio Soundcard works great with FL Studio and provides a nice audio manager and outputs good sound. The trackpad is absolutely flawless and works just like an over-priced MacBook Pro trackpad. The Laptop in general looks very sleek and attractive and performs excellent as well. I've yet to run into any problems with processing speed even when hardcore multitasking. I love the HDMI port and 2 USB 3.0 ports. It is solidly built with an aluminum coating in front of the keyboard and around the trackpad. I love the carbon fiber-like finish on the hood. Too many awesome things to say about this PC. Bottom line: if you're thinking of getting this laptop because it sounds like an awesome deal, it is. Get it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Asus Matte Dark Brown 15.6" K55A-RBR6 Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-2450M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option
10/17/2012
By ,
Woodsboro, Md.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The unit worked for 8 days then locked up on the screen after loading programs. Called ASUS for help and had to send unit back in for repairs. Paid for shipping to send unit to ASUS. Would recommend bying "in store", so electronics items can be returned to store when issues arise in just one week. The unit worked very well the first 8 days and I am not discouraged by the product or Brand name, just the process to get unit returned for service as opposed to returning to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 13 for Asus Matte Dark Brown 15.6" K55A-RBR6 Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-2450M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

not user-friendly

10/29/2012
By ,
MN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Perhaps for gaming or some other use this is a good laptop, but I use mine for work, which means mainly emails, maintenance of online courses, and writing documents. For these things, this laptop did not work at all. It would not stay connected to the internet (wireless); every time I moved to a new network, which happens several times each day, I would get an error message saying Internet Explorer had stopped working. This message would pop up every few minutes until I completely shut down the computer and restarted it. Additionally, the touchpad was waaayyy too sensitive, and would send the cursor jumping all over emails and documents while typing them - super annoying. It was fast, and the screen was nice, but ultimately I exchanged it for the old tried-and-true HP.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Asus Matte Dark Brown 15.6" K55A-RBR6 Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-2450M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

5 STAR COMPUTER!!

11/15/2012
By ,
Monte Ne / Rogers, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so impressed with this computer. It's easy to set up / start. It's very fast and it has a lot of space on the hard-drive to download a ton of photos or music, games. I haven't had any problems with it locking up on me. I did purchase a wireless mouse and keyboard because I am more comfortable using them rather than the key board or touch pad. However, the touch pad is very nice and easy to control. and the letters on the computer keyboard are actually larger than on the wireless keyboard. So that also, is very easy to use. I've burned several disks and have had no problems with that. This is the BEST laptop that I've ever used and would definitely recommend it to anyone. Plus I received it a week earlier than stated when I purchased it. I was very pleased about that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for Asus Matte Dark Brown 15.6" K55A-RBR6 Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-2450M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

good value for a laptop

09/06/2012
By ,
lake city, pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
battery lasts a long time. easy to set up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 16 for Asus Matte Dark Brown 15.6" K55A-RBR6 Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-2450M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Hardware is excellant, documentation is poor

11/11/2012
By ,
Manchester, NH
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This machine is very fast and most all devices work perfectly. Scrolling with this touch pad is an exception – it is not nearly as effective and useful as it is on my five-year old HP laptop.
I saw some reviews that this PC tended to overheat however I have run it nearly continuously for the week that I have had it and there is no indication that this is a problem – it has remained very cool to the touch and has never shut down.
On the downside, there is no manual with the machine and Windows 7 is VERY disappointing compared to XP. For examples, task switching is unnecessarily kludgey (shows mini application windows instead of icons when you Alt-tab through them) and connectivity with XP PCs is deficient in that the root of discs on the Windows 7 PC cannot be accessed by PCs running XP (documentation says you can but it doesn’t work). The other way around, i.e. XP shares accessible from this Win 7 PC, works perfectly. Also, clicking ‘All Programs’ from the ‘Start’ taskbar button brings up a scroll control instead of the full screen list of icons as in previous versions of Windows.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Asus Matte Dark Brown 15.6" K55A-RBR6 Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-2450M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Very responsive

11/14/2012
By ,
Madison, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't care for lap tops or windows 7, but I have found this model better than most. I don't like the delete key being a part of the key pad. When the num lock is on it becomes a period. There is another on the top row, but is difficult to find. I will keep my XP desk top as long as it works!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 18 for Asus Matte Dark Brown 15.6" K55A-RBR6 Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-2450M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Check local wartmart first!

11/11/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this online for 498.00, i went on my local store and they are selling it for 350.00! Guess what happened next.... I returned it!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 19 for Asus Matte Dark Brown 15.6" K55A-RBR6 Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-2450M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Good school laptop

10/24/2012
By ,
Bellingham
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
the only thing i was disappointed about was that the description said 3.1 GHz and it is actually 2.5 Ghz
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 20 for Asus Matte Dark Brown 15.6" K55A-RBR6 Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-2450M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Asus 15.6 K55A-RBR6 Laptop PC with Intel Core i5

11/03/2012
By ,
CAlifornia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful laptop, all that I expected and more. I wanted the Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option and requested it, but did not get instructions or disc. Will have to contact them very soon. I use it for work and personal use. The screen is wide and the colors are vivid. It connects very easily to wireless networks - great for when you are in hotels and need to get work done. It is a little heavier than I expected, but it is larger than most. Overall, I would suggest this computer to anyone who wants a reliable, fast, intuitive laptop.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 57 total reviews
1 2 3 Next