Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for T-Mobile T-Mobile 4G Laptop Stick

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

T-Mobile T-Mobile 4G Laptop Stick

The T-Mobile 4G Laptop Stick allows you to get 4G Internet speeds using HSPA+. Take advantage of T-Mobile's nationwide 4G networks with the T Mobile Laptop Stick. Your 4G Stick for Laptop has a microSD memory card slot and provides wireless Internet connectivity. Get WiFi connection management with the T Mobile Laptop Stick. The T-Mobile 4G Laptop Stick is Windows and Mac compatible.
Average Customer Rating:
3.211 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation63%12 out of 19reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for T-Mobile 4G Laptop Stick

PS--Look at coverage map on T-Mobile site

09/13/2012
By ,
New Hampshire
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Further to my first review complaining about the device's slow speed, potential buyers must do more than type in their ZIP code on the Walmart.com page to see if there is "coverage" where they are. T-Mobile's web site has zoomable maps that show the quality of coverage in every place. This depends on cell towers and on terrain. And zoom in until you can identify your neighborhood on the map; the statewide maps suggest there is coverage almost everywhere. My entire ZIP code (a group of towns with maybe 20,000 people), on the 3G/4G map, is in a region below "satisfactory" labeled "2G." Conclusion: It's a wonder the device works at all where I am. (Ignore my 1-through-5 ratings above, as what I am saying is your results may vary greatly.)
But the clunky software the device installs on my PC has made one irreversible change to my browser, has four new processes running around-the-clock, and has deposited a bunch of junk into my Registry that seems designed to affect a variety of popular anti-virus programs. That's intrusive. It's not bad enough to return for a refund, but am not sure I'll re-up when my Pass runs out.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+69points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
New Hampshire
They have started to win me over
Posted 10/20/2012
Further to my first comment: Don't know if it's standard policy everywhere, but the personnel at the T-Mobile retail store in the Mall cheerfully disabled "Web Guard" from my Stick (when I complained that it even blocked the Wikipedia page on "Uniforms of the United States Navy")--no ID or third-degree required. The sales chief lives in my area and acknowledged that the network is not completely built. Regarding the software I called intrusive, they said I could buy a T-Mobile mobile hot-spot (transferring the same SIM card inside the Stick) and have other devices run WiFi without any new software. The Stick creates two devices on the PC: a new read-only "hard drive" from which it installs its software, and another "hard drive" reserved for any microSD card you install in the Stick. I plugged the Stick into a second PC and managed to install drivers, so instead of WiFi, I just plug the Stick into whichever PC I want to use.
In contrast to a couple other reviewers, the 60-day service card I bought for $35 from Walmart did not die in 30 days but is still going strong. But the fact that it is a Walmart special means you cannot activate it automatically; the T-Mobile robot doesn't list it as an option. You have to talk to a person (which is not hard to do).
0points
Customer Avatar
New Hampshire
Censorship
Posted 09/24/2012
Walmart declined to run my first (scathing) review, but one comment from it needs to be aired: I participate in wikis and blogs that have vulgar posters, and T-Mobile refuses to transmit certain pages, based on a "Web Guard" setting. To disable this censorship, you must undergo an on-line credit check sufficient to verify your exact identity (and thus adult age). I'm told an alternative is to go to a T-Mobile retail store with photo ID. Such mothering is not what one is looking for in a telecom utility.
The reason the Connection Manager software seemed "clunky" to me is that I have found 50 megabytes of log files it wrote to my C: drive. (This won't bother some people, but the C: drive of my traveling machine is an 8 Gb CompactFlash chip, and such overuse really slows things down.) But you can bypass the Connection Manager and connect and disconnect using the PC's Network Connections interface.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for T-Mobile 4G Laptop Stick

Great for the price!

09/24/2012
By ,
Miami, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased the laptop stick instead of the other wireless device that cost hundreds for multiple connections. I order this item site to store, it was ready for pick up in two days. Plugged it into the computer software downloaded. I had to call Tmobile hotline to activate the prepaid voucher . I've had it for a bout 2 months now works very well. I am college student on a budget cant afford to pay for cable tv and internet bundle from companies like comcast. I use the laptop stick with my netbook only. Every once in a while the connection will go out but I just close and reopen the Firefox browser and its fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+56points
Review 3 for T-Mobile 4G Laptop Stick

AT&T just raised my monthly internet charge by $15

01/26/2013
By ,
Austin, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I tried to negotiate a better deal with AT&T for my home internet when the 1 year trial expired - no deal. So I read the reviews on this service and checked my area service map on the T-mobile website. It came via UPS in 3 days and was very easy to install do NOTHING except plug it in. I even had my old AT&T internet connected and no problems with the install at all.
I purchased a one week $15.00 pass from Walmart which came promptly via e-mail to give it a try before purchasing one of the 60 day passes. You have to call the activation number, you cannot do it on the T-mobile website as the pin number from Walmart is too short. Once you activate the card you have to go back to the T-mobile site to transfer it into data usage it doesn't do it automatically. Other than that I would have been up and running in under 15 minutes.
I live just north of Austin, TX and get three bars and it allows me to view short videos with no problem I have not tried downloading anything longer yet. I would definitely give this a thumbs-up as I see no difference between this and the more expensive AT&T Uverse I had.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 4 for T-Mobile 4G Laptop Stick
01/10/2013
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I looked at the coverage map and my area was covered in Las Vegas. I get 4 out of 5 bars. I was using a Virgin Mobile 3G laptop stick but I saw that the TMobile data plan was a lot more generous. Virgin Mobile was 1GB for 30 days for $20, the Walmart special price. TMobile is 3.5GB or 5GB for 60 days at $35 or $50, a lot more generous. I was always worrying about my data usage when my computer would download hundreds of megabytes of data for updates from Microsoft, Adobe, Java and others. With TMobile I have more than enough data and time to cover everything that I do. Also, the price was very reasonable. I paid about $75 for my Virgin Mobile laptop stick at Walmart a couple of years ago vs $49 for the TMobile 4G.
I had some trouble setting up the connection but I called the help line and was able to get everything set up. The problem was with the instructions that came with the laptop stick. The instructions said to insert the sim card into the stick by sliding open the cover and note the number on the card but the sim was already in the stick and the instructions only showed a picture of sliding open the cover and it wouldn't budge. I didn't want to force anything so I called the help line and found out there is a tiny, almost invisible slot at the end that has to be pried open to access the sim card. The person then walked me through setting up my account. I would rate the help desk as very good.
My only problem, which is probably common to all wireless systems, is when the system gets overloaded, maybe by people watching videos or just too many users. Then the connection gets real slow or times out but it is not quite as bad as Virgin Mobile 3G. When it gets real bad I have to stop what I'm doing and try again later. I've learned to use my TMobile at times other than peak hours for best results. It's too bad that it is just 4G, I've heard that 4G LTE is a lot faster and hopefully less congested.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+44points
Review 5 for T-Mobile 4G Laptop Stick

Stay clear of this one

11/29/2012
By ,
Twin Cities, mn
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buggy software that takes forever to connect and doesn't work even if you have an excellent signal. T-Mobile support is non-existent and nearly impossible to contact. I waited 20 minutes for online chat only to be given a support number that is always busy.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+29points
Review 6 for T-Mobile 4G Laptop Stick

Did not work in my area

03/18/2013
By ,
Coaldale, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The device did not work in my area dispite the fact that Walmart and the T-Mobile map suggested that it should. A phone call to T-Mobile confirmed this. Returned the device and prepaid card for a 100% refund. I am pleased with the refund, just not the coverage area. I should have called T-Mobile to discuss coverage before I ordered. It seems like a great value if it works in your area.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+11points
Review 7 for T-Mobile 4G Laptop Stick

Works on Fort Bragg, NC

03/03/2013
By ,
FORT BRAGG, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used this device on Fort Bragg, NC, the airfield, and I get a great signal. Did not want a contract nor monthly charges. This works well and even beats the big contract companies like Verizon and AT&T.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 8 for T-Mobile 4G Laptop Stick

Excellent value and performance for my needs!

01/10/2013
By ,
Los Angeles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the T-Mobile Rocket 4G Laptop Stick at a special year end sale price I could not resist. I plugged it into a USB port on my Windows XP netbook and it instantly installed T-Mobile's Connection Manager software perfectly with no issues. Then I connected to the T-Mobile network to activate it and purchase an Internet data pass. I bought this stick mainly for use on my laptop at airports when I travel. I will use it while waiting for my flight to board or between connections on multi-hop flights. Before making the purchase, I checked T-Mobile's data coverage map at my home and found it to have a so-so, not great rating. Indeed, at my home, I found that it ran at a slow Internet speed like an old dial-up connection. That was not a concern because almost every major airport in the USA has EXCELLENT T-Mobile coverage. You can check out the T-Mobile coverage map at any major airport and you will see it is EXCELLENT. My work office is near a major airport, and as expected this little beauty ran at lightning fast 4G speed in my office. I prefer this device because it is a "pay as you go" with no contract commitment & no monthly charges. If you decide to purchase it, I suggest you spend a little time in the support area of the T-Mobile web site (it's free, won't cost you any data usage) and download the support documents for this device. Then read and get familiar with how the Connect Manager works and how others solved issues you may encounter. There is not much to read, and it won't require more than a couple hours of your time. Most issues I saw were not biggies, and could have been avoided if the user had only taken the time to get familiar with how to use it. Also suggest you Google how to utilize your Internet data efficiently as I did. That way, you get more "bang for the buck" on each Internet data pass you purchase. I promise if you do this, you will have a wonderful trouble free experience with this little beauty on the Internet for your particular need. Looking back, had I known how well this Laptop Stick works, I would have gladly paid the regular price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Review 9 for T-Mobile 4G Laptop Stick
09/18/2012
By ,
Navasota, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very well satifisfied with the T-Mobile 4G Laptop. So far it has met it's expectations.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 10 for T-Mobile 4G Laptop Stick

Horrible Service

04/12/2013
By ,
Clovis, NM
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm not sure if its the area I live in or what but this is the most frustrating service I ever had to deal with. I called T-mobile and they gave me courtesy airtime, thank god I would have spent double the money for the stick and the bad service. I took the device back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 11 for T-Mobile 4G Laptop Stick
02/12/2013
By ,
Ontario CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only used this for about 4 days and each time it has been for about 1 hour. So far so good. I can really appreciate that I am able to connect to internet even in a storage unit when I had to send an email on my laptop.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 12 for T-Mobile 4G Laptop Stick

T-Mobile 4G Laptop Stick

06/25/2013
By ,
Glen Allen, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I did not get a chance to use this product. T-Mobile wanted to charge a $50.00 deposit to activate this product. I have been with T-Mobile for 10 years, I felt this was not necessary.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 13 for T-Mobile 4G Laptop Stick

Irritating!

02/20/2013
By ,
Charlotte, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do NOT buy this stick if you wish to keep your sanity! I'm stuck with it because, as you know, you're forced into contracts but this thing DROPS constantly. It has a horrible radius. The T-Mobile Stick is the opposite of what the customer is looking for ... do yourself a favor and buy a different one!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 14 for T-Mobile 4G Laptop Stick

It works!?

01/28/2013
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Got Pruduct - wasn't activated! Price to activate (make useful) was quite high.
I would not buy another online!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for T-Mobile 4G Laptop Stick
05/07/2013
By ,
Opa-Locka,FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I chose it for the price, but the process of loading it with funds for use and monitoring the usage is not easy and makes you think twice on staying with it, and not switching to another company which allows reloading on the website with out calling TWICE or THREE times to get the stick to function. Now if they had roll over minutes, one would not even think twice about changing companies. I imagine the T-Mobil agents also deal with more of there share of I-rate clients trying to get there sticks reloaded. But the products WORKS! the method needs to be more efficient.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for T-Mobile 4G Laptop Stick

doesn't work with an Android tablet.

06/10/2013
By ,
D'Iberville, MS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Looks like a good idea, but it doesn't work with an Android tablet.
I tried to get it to work on the tablet, nothing. It did start up its connect wizard on my Windows desktop.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 17 for T-Mobile 4G Laptop Stick

Works Great So Far

05/03/2013
By ,
Pasco, Wa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Have Had the T-Mobile 4G Stick For 1 Week. Some Areas I Get 2G, But When I Get 4G It Works Great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for T-Mobile 4G Laptop Stick

good price

03/17/2013
By ,
tacoma wa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
its great for a prepaid had a couple problems at first but great after all
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for T-Mobile 4G Laptop Stick
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5