Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Dell Dell Pre-Owned, Refurbished GX740 Desktop PC with AMD Athlon X2 Processor, 4GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Professional (Monitor Not Included)

Dell Dell Pre-Owned, Refurbished GX740 Desktop PC with AMD Athlon X2 Processor, 4GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Professional (Monitor Not Included)

The Dell Refurbished GX740 Desktop PC features an AMD Athlon X2 processor and 4GB of memory to speed through all of your tasks. A large 1TB hard drive holds all of your multimedia. A DVD-RW drive lets you read and write CDs and DVDs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.054 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(411 Reviews) 289
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
213
4 stars
116
3 stars
23
2 stars
9
1 star
50
Customer Recommendation83%342 out of 411reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
73 Questions | 161 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
213
4 stars
116
3 stars
23
2 stars
9
1 star
50
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dell Pre-Owned, Refurbished GX740 Desktop PC with AMD Athlon X2 Processor, 4GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Professional (Monitor Not Included)

What a great value - just perfect - Power to spare

05/06/2014
By ,
Rock Hill, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our 10 year old Win XP had become very slow and outdated and when MS announced they will no longer support XP we knew we had to replace our aging computer, but we did not really want an iPad or a tablet.
We did not want Win 8 and so our search revealed Wal-Mart sells refurbished Windows 7 Desktops. We wanted storage and RAM: With Win 7 Pro, 1TB hard drive, 4GB RAM and a Super fast processor, the Dell GX740 seemed the ideal choice coming in at only $258 w/free site to store shipping - much less than buying a brand new one! No brainer for me.
We opened the box, examined and inspected the CPU (there were a few minor blemishes on the case, but I was most interested in performance, willing to overlook a couple battle scars knowing all new parts were inside) and after following the enclosed easy to understand instructions and connecting it to 19" HD TV, using the included mouse and keyboard, we were up, running and connected to our printer and the internet in less than 30 minutes!!!
It's been running 24/7 for over a week with no problems. I love Win 7 because it recognized all my devices for easy setup and my wife loves it because this computer is so fast and easy to use.
If you are a first timer or looking to replace your existing setup this is the most "bang for your buck" you'll find. Highly recommended!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dell Pre-Owned, Refurbished GX740 Desktop PC with AMD Athlon X2 Processor, 4GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Professional (Monitor Not Included)

Good value but the OS is 32 bit on a 64 bit proces

12/06/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this PC as a low cost system to manage my weather station and other "embedded" applications including home energy management and other always-on functions. This PC is small, quiet and just right for the job. But I was disappointed that the refurbisher didn't provide for installation of a 64-bit version of Win7 Pro. I had to do a lot of digging to find a 64-bit version when it could have (and should have) been installed on the PC to start with. Replacing the supplied OS with a 64-bit version of Win7 Pro means that I can no longer use the built-in recovery partition. Without a 64-bit OS, you can't make use of more that 3.5 GB of memory (the 740 is capable of 8 GB). A pity!
So, Joy Systems (the refurbisher), please consider either supplying Win7 Pro 64-bit or providing it as a option!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dell Pre-Owned, Refurbished GX740 Desktop PC with AMD Athlon X2 Processor, 4GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Professional (Monitor Not Included)

Outstanding value for price paid

09/02/2012
By ,
Estero, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I saw all of the reviews on this refurbished Dell Optiplex and all other consumer reviews and decided this was the new system to replace my aging older Dell tower. I added a 250 Gig SSD hard drive and kept the 1 Terabyte Hard drive in the tower for back up files. With the 4 Gig memory on the motherboard and SSD along with an added Dual antenna PCI WIFI card, plus Windows 7, 32 Bit Pro, this is 20 times quicker and more reliable than my old system. My boot up speed on my old system was approximately 5 minutes. This is approximately 30 seconds. I had purchased a Trendnet Mini Wireless N Speed USB Adapter from Walmart but will be returning it as it really is better suited to a lap top and was cutting out too often.
Walmart has always been great on returns and satisfaction so I feel very re-assured on being able to return the USB Adapter without any hassles.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dell Pre-Owned, Refurbished GX740 Desktop PC with AMD Athlon X2 Processor, 4GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Professional (Monitor Not Included)

Probably the most computer you can get for the $

03/30/2013
By ,
Chattanooga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scanning the reviews before I placed an order made me realize that buyers of this particular product from this particular seller have had one of two experiences: either they get exactly what they order and it's fantastic, or they get something they didn't order and returning it is a nightmare. For my part, I got exactly what I ordered and it seems fantastic - I get a little wary about reviewing tech so shortly after purchase, but the machine performs admirably right now. Essentially, you have to decide for yourself whether it's worth the gamble; if you win (and it seems most do) you get a very powerful machine for less than the cheapest piece of junk they stock in the store. All the specs check out. The one caveat, if you consider it one, is that the included USB keyboard and mouse are very flimsy; but I suppose you could argue that they didn't have to include one at all and it would still be a good value. I was mildly annoyed that all peripherals are USB, so I had to use the cheap included keyboard instead of my awesome (but older) one that had the older 5-pin connection. All in all, I did the research and I believe that this was the most computer I could get for my money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dell Pre-Owned, Refurbished GX740 Desktop PC with AMD Athlon X2 Processor, 4GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Professional (Monitor Not Included)

Best decission you can ever make.

07/24/2012
By ,
Mystic, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was reluctant to purchase a refurbished PC and it was better than a new one. easy to load and everything works extremely well! I even received software disks (which I did not need to use).
I will continue to look for similar items in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+212points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dell Pre-Owned, Refurbished GX740 Desktop PC with AMD Athlon X2 Processor, 4GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Professional (Monitor Not Included)

Great for whole family.

09/07/2012
By ,
Clarksville,IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a laptop that I use for home and work. But the rest of my family, husband, 2 sons, 2 daughter-in-laws and a (6 yr old) grandson use this desktop daily. The hard drive is big enough so that everyone can save their own music , pictures and even movies on their own profile. Plus the processor is fast. This desktop has been well worth the money, easily as good as much more expensive models. Highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dell Pre-Owned, Refurbished GX740 Desktop PC with AMD Athlon X2 Processor, 4GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Professional (Monitor Not Included)
07/23/2012
By ,
Butler, Missouri
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It seems to have a few minor slow opening programs, but overall it serves the purpose that is needed. I actually think that it was a better choice than buying a new "generic" computer because of the extra memory and storage available with this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+67points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dell Pre-Owned, Refurbished GX740 Desktop PC with AMD Athlon X2 Processor, 4GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Professional (Monitor Not Included)

Good price

12/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This computer is a good deal, but is a little hard to setup n doesn't come with very much installed. It had to do 175 updates prior to using n it is a little noisy. But it still operates great so far.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dell Pre-Owned, Refurbished GX740 Desktop PC with AMD Athlon X2 Processor, 4GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Professional (Monitor Not Included)
08/22/2012
By ,
Boston, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wanted a low priced desk top to replace my old one. This computer is fast and works well. It has excellent specs. for the money. The only problem is that it does not have any Microsoft office software with it. So if you want to write letters or do any type of work with it, you will need to buy the software. If you just want to surf the web, this computer is fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+78points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Or get free software
Posted 10/05/2012
To golden dragon's review.... Just download the freeware Open Office instead of purchasing Microsoft office. It's free, opens and saves all Microsoft office docs like excel, word, etc. totally free... I've been using it for years.
+8points
Customer Avatar
McAllen
Free Software
Posted 09/13/2012
If you need 100% Office compatibility with work computers, you may be more comfortable paying for Microsoft software. If you need it for your own use, OpenOffice or Libre Office for Windows will work fine, and is free for the download.
+5points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 10 for Dell Pre-Owned, Refurbished GX740 Desktop PC with AMD Athlon X2 Processor, 4GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Professional (Monitor Not Included)

Super fast and Great Buy!

10/21/2012
By ,
Enumclaw, Wa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I replaced a 5 year old computer, I purchased this one because of the memory...I wanted faster brousing capabilities and more storage for pictures and larger programs. What I didn't expect was the amazing speed at which my photo editing program now works. I am on this program almost daily and things that nearly took a half hour or more (multiple uploadings) now are instant. So needless to say I love this computer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dell Pre-Owned, Refurbished GX740 Desktop PC with AMD Athlon X2 Processor, 4GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Professional (Monitor Not Included)
11/08/2012
By ,
Richmond, VA.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was a little skeptical about choosing a refurbished unit but now I am convinced it is as good as a new one but at a fraction of the cost. I jumped from XP to 7 and in a short time I was up and running. It is the most user friendly computer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dell Pre-Owned, Refurbished GX740 Desktop PC with AMD Athlon X2 Processor, 4GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Professional (Monitor Not Included)

A real bargain

11/06/2013
By ,
Nyc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am loving this machine. Small footprint either laying flat or upright - the way I have it. It is very quiet and lots faster than my previous HP. This one has 1 terabyte of storage and 4 gigs of memory. Everything set up easily. I don't think I will ever buy "new" again. Refurbished is the way to go.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Compatibility
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dell Pre-Owned, Refurbished GX740 Desktop PC with AMD Athlon X2 Processor, 4GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Professional (Monitor Not Included)

Great Computer for the price

09/06/2012
By ,
Moyie Springs Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always had very good luck with refurbished computers and this one was no exception. It performs flawlessly. I would recommend this to anyone..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Dell Pre-Owned, Refurbished GX740 Desktop PC with AMD Athlon X2 Processor, 4GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Professional (Monitor Not Included)

WONDERFUL

11/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price i really didn't expect much. But I got more than i bargain for. wonderful colors, over 900GB. All that space is so great, I download so much. It's what I was looking for and more.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dell Pre-Owned, Refurbished GX740 Desktop PC with AMD Athlon X2 Processor, 4GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Professional (Monitor Not Included)

Invalid Windows 7 Product Key

11/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nice computer - a shame to return it to Walmart. It did not validate after a system restore because, according to Microsoft phone support, the product key was invalid. What a waste of time.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dell Pre-Owned, Refurbished GX740 Desktop PC with AMD Athlon X2 Processor, 4GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Professional (Monitor Not Included)

Don't order it

07/27/2012
By ,
Arkansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I worked with it for an hour, c alled for help and got it started, then it would not restart. I reinstalled twice and spent dozens of hours. I couldn't get it to work. I called for help on the weekend. Shop was closed. Called on Monday was referred to a mailbox which said that it was full. Bad product and service. I took it back to Walmart on Monday afternoon and bought a new one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dell Pre-Owned, Refurbished GX740 Desktop PC with AMD Athlon X2 Processor, 4GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Professional (Monitor Not Included)

Excellent computer, excellent price!

07/06/2012
By ,
Red Bluff, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little skeptical at first but am very happy with this computer. I would definatly recommend it to any and all whom are looking for a great computer at an affordable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dell Pre-Owned, Refurbished GX740 Desktop PC with AMD Athlon X2 Processor, 4GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Professional (Monitor Not Included)

Dell compt.

11/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It works well sometimes it is slow but most of the its great.For what I payed its great
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dell Pre-Owned, Refurbished GX740 Desktop PC with AMD Athlon X2 Processor, 4GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Professional (Monitor Not Included)

Okay machine.

11/06/2012
By ,
UTAH
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought 2 of these and 1 worked fine the other was LOUD! the vendor (a 3rd party -not walmart) is slow to respond. Works fine for light internet and office functions. Also it came with the 32 bit version of windows... No idea why. A few dings and paint issues nothing big. if your looking for new and awesome this is not the machine. If you want something for around the office this will work fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Dell Pre-Owned, Refurbished GX740 Desktop PC with AMD Athlon X2 Processor, 4GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Professional (Monitor Not Included)

Great Desktop!

11/02/2012
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was kind of leery to buy a refurbished desktop because I had a bad experience in the past with a refurbished product. But I trusted Walmart to make sure I was a satisfied customer. The desktop is great. I did have to re-install Windows though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 290 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next