Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for General Electric GE Attic Mount Antenna

General Electric GE Attic Mount Antenna

GE Attic Mount Antenna is universal and will work with all TV and converter box brands. It installs quickly in your attic and is designed for maximum reception ranges.
Average Customer Rating:
4.318 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation86%38 out of 44reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 97 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

Much Better Than I Expected

07/31/2013
By ,
Lancaster, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tired of our outrageous cable bill and sad selection of shows, we decided to cut the cable. We have Netflix, Hulu, and other options that are much cheaper, but we were missing the local channels.
I bought this antenna, not expecting too much due to the low price, our aluminum sided house, our hilly terrain, and the distance from the transmitters (apx 30 miles). But I did get it as there were some encouraging reviews. I'm not disappointed! Sure... it had to be assembled, but it wasn't difficult. Most of the pieces snap together, and yes, it appears flimsy. But that's how a lot of antennas are! They're not a single piece carved out of a solid chunk of aluminum! Don't be discouraged by those who said it is difficult to put together. Take your time, and it isn't.
As I didn't know if it would work or not, I carried a TV (of course, not a big one!) up into the attic and hooked it up there for testing. I didn't want to run coax only to find it didn't work! I used the compass to find the general direction of the transmitters I wanted (see TV Fool for how to do this). I hung it from the center of the roof in a position where it would point out the side of the roof, and not through the aluminum siding in the front of the house. Turned on the TV... ran the auto scan for channels, and immediately received 22 digital channels!! Sure, there are some we will not watch, but we received all the ones we were missing.
Again... this is attic mounted, and 30 miles from the transmitters through some hilly terrain. Also, no rotation necessary for my stations. I would highly recommend this product! BTW... before doing this, I called a company that installs antennas, and they said it would cost between $300 and $400 to install an antenna and get it working, and they weren't sure if I would have any reception due to our location.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

Fair value for your money.

07/17/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This product does a sufficient if all you want is to pick up a few location stations within 30mi from your broadcast stations. This product looks flimsy and put together like pieces of Lego.
Went to a store that specialized in radio equipment with much better selections. Got a Nippon AU-14 antenna which is directional and looks like an arrow. Mounted it outside and pulled in out-of-town stations from over 40mi away. The antenna is made in Japan (not China) which is surprising.
The GE Attic Mount Antenna is like a hyped up version of most indoor antenna which often works no better than rabbit ears but costing several times more. The Nippon antenna recently bought is under $100. Even for a few extra dollar, would rather get an outdoor antenna. They are more reliable and allows you to pick up a few out-of-town stations where available.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

Replaces the standard swept-wing outdoor antenna

07/03/2013
By ,
Amarillo, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are many variables with OTA broadcast capture, ie distance, terrain, TV equipment. But, for me I have a new LED flatscreen and I didn't want to pay for cable basically because cable bundles too much stuff I never want. Having said that, I tried an old swept-wing antenna in the attic and got too much snow in the picture. Futhermore, I did not pick up 2 stations. Moving the swept-wing into the garage and I had all the available channels with a bright picture and sharp on the HD broadcasters. Not so much on the HD secondary channels. I was faced with mounting a mast on the roof and running 40 feet of coax cable to get the massive swept-wing out of my garage. I tried the flat box indoor antenna. Took that back. I spotted the GE Attic Mount and decided to try it. Assembly wasn't that hard. I took the coax cable from the swept-wing and attached to the GE AMA. It worked. Very sharp picture, but slightly dark. Mounted the GE antenna in the attic and got the best picture reception out of all of my attenna experiments
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

Wasn't expecting much but this thing delivered!

04/22/2013
By ,
Texarkana, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've never written a product review on this site but just had to becasue I was so impressed by this thing. I live 50+ miles away from the OTA stations I was hoping to receive. My local Walmart was out of the external antennas so I gave this one a shot. Directions for assembly were pretty bad but once it was together I plugged it in inside my home and instantly received about 10 HD quality signals! Installed on the leftover Dish network (so long $90+ a month) pole connected to my roof and pointed towards the stations I wanted. Note: Each time you split the signal (if you are running to more than one TV) you suffer a signal loss. That would be true with any antenna though even if it cost a $1000, so try to keep your splits to a minimum. I have it going to 2 TVs without a problem but am concerned on quality signal with connecting a 3rd. That's not a knock on this antenna by any means, just may have to add an amplifier. Overall, I was pleasantly surprised with this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

More channels than any other antenna tried.

04/11/2014
By ,
Monument, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The last antenna I tried GE Amplified Antenna (http://www.walmart.com/ip/GE-Amplified-Antenna/20976616) got me 11 channels about 26 miles away according to tvfool.com, but I wasn't getting all the channels I wanted, so I got the GE Attic Mount Antenna(http://www.walmart.com/ip/GE-Attic-Mount-Antenna/20976617) which I mounted to the wall in my room. I now have 26 channels the farthest being 52.1 miles away. After mounting the antenna in the attic it gets 45 channels the farthest being 77.9 miles. I am very happy I get all the channels I wanted plus some.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

good antenna in Houston

11/11/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After deciding to go with over the air channels, I was using a small indoor antenna that for the most part worked fine, but I would have to adjust the direction occasionally. I decided to try the GE attic mount antenna. It does take some assembly, took maybe 20 minutes and that was while I was watching a football game. The one thing I changed was instead of mounting the base directly to my attic decking, rafters, etc., I just mounted it to a piece of thick pine board so it could stand on its own and I could move it if needed. I put it in my attic, pointed it in the proper direction to the antenna farm, ran 50 feet of coaxial cable to my TV and it picks up ALL of the useful Houston channels (even Spanish language) with either good or great reception (I live about 20 miles east-northeast of the antenna farm). I haven't experienced a windy day with it yet but am hopeful that it will do fine. In fair weather, it is great. If you can spare the time to do a little bit of work, it is really good for at least homes within 20 miles of transmitters.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AL
Wind
Posted 04/02/2014
I thought you mounted it in your attic. Why would wind be a factor?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

GE Attic Mount Antenna

07/12/2012
By ,
Lowell, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After purchasing a 32 inch flat screen for our 3 season porch and hooking it up to the existing rabbit ears already up high in the attic I realized I was missing a few channels (PBS and CBS). I thought I would give this antenna a chance, the price was good and it seemed simple enough. Assembly is straightforward although there are a lot of small parts, took me approximately 30 minutes. After the install I was very happy to get the channels I was missing previously. The picture is excellent on all the major channels but there is some pixeling and pausing on a couple of other channels (weaker broadcast strength I assume). I live approximately 25 miles East of a large city, quite rural, lot's of trees. I placed it in the attic as high as I could. I'd have to say that this unit delivered quite nicely. Recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
dunlap
Works great in the mountains of Tenn
Posted 11/24/2012
Purchased this as a last effort to get decent tv reception. Pulled all the channels from before the transition to digital and even some that we did not have before. We feel it is a great price for the quality of reception we get. Unable to get reception with several other anetnnas. We are aproximate 40 miles from Chattanooga. Now we can even get some channes out of north GA. Hope this helps
+2points
Customer Avatar
WOrks Great !
Posted 11/14/2012
I live in Lorain, Ohio and use this antenna to get 35+ channels, its installed in my attic.
Instructions weren't very good but you can build it from the picture on the box.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Newton, KS
Horrible
Posted 08/03/2012
Live in a 2 story older Victorian and we cut cable. have a amplified/powered flat antenna that barely gets any channels so I picked this up. I mounted it in 3 different places and got NO CHANNELS. my amplified/powered flat antenna in a closet on the top floor gets better reception. This is going back in the morning.
-1point
Customer Avatar
GRANTS PASS OR
was not good for me
Posted 07/16/2012
i had rabbit ears (amplified) for my digital tv and it worked got all 10 channels in my area, expect when a car went by . so i wanted to put this in the attic and i did , took 1/2 hour just to assemble took another 1/2 hour just to find reception from stations(need help for reception in your ares go to antennaweb.org.) you see where i am i have signals coming from 4 different directions and this did not work well i lost 3 channels so i went back to the rabbit ears . i then returned it and got the rca digital amplified antenna for 4 cents more , in the rca instruction it says it can be mounted in attic and i did in the same place i put the ge one and i got all my channels and stronger signal went from 18 strength to 40.amplified antennas are the way to go.
0points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 8 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

Reception Not adequate !

04/13/2014
By ,
Idaho
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Although it works it is hard to put togrther, Impossible to take apart and only brings in some channels. Was not what I need for my area, 50+ miles from tower!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

Nice antenna

02/16/2014
By ,
Bedford TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Seems flimsy when assembling but after it is together it is pretty solid. It is an attic antenna and I have installed it away for areas where I would expect to crawl around in the attic. I purchased this because the indoor unit only got 22 channels. I now receive 60 digital and one analog channel. It is a directional antenna so I will be purchasing a power unit to direct the antenna for better reception from Dallas. I live in Bedford , TX and would expect this to receive channels with no problem and without an amplifier, and no I will not be purchasing an amplifier. Cedar Hill is 22 miles away and Dallas is 25 miles. I would recommend this product for metro area installations. I am using this for now when we lose satellite but plan to remove satellite at end of my contract.
For installation note the strip of paper included for setting up the vhf antenna bars.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

spot on performance for the price

11/13/2012
By ,
blue mound, IL.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
no need for an attic i mounted it on a microphone stand extended to ceiling height ground floor in my house 11 inch block walls nomatter though did four scans n,e,s,w. 26 channels all hdsurround. 3 channels are over 35 miles away 2 are over 70 miles away. i live in central ill. i get terrahaute ind. st.loius. indy. peoria.ill. plus the regs. within a 40 mile range. i think the people who did'nt like this product don't really understand how to use them correctly or use the signal meter on they're tuner. u find your station check your capture rate and adjust if needed. i must say, the picture quality is better than anything i've seen i swear i'm watching a dvd. football games look like i can reach in a touch the players. my advice is do your home work on using antennas and getting good capture rates maybe a signal booster if needed but i'm getting reception like this inside a brick house i can't imagine what the attic or outdoors would be like but hey i'm allready getting everything in my area and then some. so i'll end on this cut the cable . along with sat tv aswell. the air is free and so are the signals. so go get them and enjoy your money on better things then paying to watch tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

Picking up Dallas area stations from Rowlett!

09/02/2012
By ,
Rowlett, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hello my neighbors! I cut the "cable" this month and picked up this antenna and installed it in my attic today. Works like a champ! In a nutshell, I receive these channels: 4, 5, 8, 11, 13-1/13-2 (my favorites), 27, 68 and several others I don't really care about. All these channels come in without any power amplifiers.
I live in a two-story house and is pointed generally south-west from where I live (towards the TV stations).
I don't know what more I can say but I'm pretty happy with the ease of installation and quality of channels I'm receiving.
As compared to cable, this thing will pay for itself over and over! Now if we could figure out how to get rid of ads and commercials!
Hope this review helped!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for GE Attic Mount Antenna
08/23/2012
By ,
Spring, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this antenna after purchasing a new HDTV. Old antenna was only getting a few channels and was missing most of the ones I wanted. Tried installing old antenna in attic but got even fewer channels than when it was downstairs. Looked at available antennas on-line and went to Wal Mart to buy one, they did not have the one I had chosen so "settled" for this one. It was easy to put together and install. It is a directional antenna so must be pointed toward the broadcast antennas. All in our area are 34 miles south on the other side of Houston. When I scanned for channels, it came up with 93, including one that is not on the channel list at AntennaWeb.org. Very impressed with this antenna. Even hooked up a second TV to it without any loss of signal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

Great air antenna

09/25/2012
By ,
Pinnacle, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a back up antenna for RCA HD flat screen and decided to try this one. Easy to assemble and to my surprise worked much better than I expected. On my first channel scan found 35 channels and at least twenty five have very good picture quallity and no tiling and breaking. Some of the through the air channels I don't get with the cable system on the den set. I did fudge somewhat and did some re-inforcing to make it an outside mount. So far no problems and the reception is fantastic for me.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

no kidding

07/16/2012
By ,
GRANTS PASS OR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
well depending i guess where u are reception may be different , but for me i lost 3 channels with this product. i also have signals coming from 3 different directions . but product not easy to put together took me 1/2 hour then i had to put it in the attic , i almost broke it doing that. if u r going to go to all the work of putting a antenna in ur attic find something better, i returned it a week later and put another antenna (rca same price) in the same spot and bingo reception improved by 50% and i got all my channels. do not buy this DO NOT BUY THIS if u need to know where ur signals come from and how far antennaweb.org is great for that
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Vancouver, WA
Outstanding!
Posted 06/01/2013
I bought a Roku 3 and ditched cable last week. Using the Roku and a couple services (mostly HuluPlus), I can get most of the shows I used to watch on cable. The only shows I really missed were things like my local news channel, and I can get that off the air.
I tried a couple indoor antennas that are designed to be set up next to my TV, but neither of them pulled in the two VHF HD channels I most wanted. Even the RCA flat-panel with an amplifier was no good. (Most HDTV channels are "UHF" radio, but some are VHF channels, and the antennas I tried were no good at pulling those in.)
So, I returned those and bought this antenna. Sitting in my family room, it got all my local channels, just not all of them at the same time. I had to turn the antenna this way and that to get a couple, probably because I'm on the backside of a hill that stands between me and the TV towers. After installing this antenna in my attic, however, it pulled them all in. Now I get nice, clear pictures. Exactly what a TV antenna is supposed to do.
I used two websites to help me get my antenna pointed correctly: Using my zip code to search my local area, www.antennapoint.com told me what compass heading to point my antenna in to get my various local TV transmission towers. Lucky for me, they are all in the same general area, 15 miles from here (on the other side of a hill) on a compass heading of about 205 degrees.
Once I had that information, I turned to http://www.ngdc.noaa.gov/geomag/img/DeclinationMap_US.png to figure out how to adjust for the difference between magnetic and true north on my compass. Magnetic north is about 16 degrees to the east for my location here on the west coast. I added that number to the 205 degree heading I got from antennapoint.com, and pointed my antenna on a compass heading of 221 degrees. Once all the cables were hooked up (I needed to buy a 50 foot RG-6 TV cable to connect to my family room TV), the pictures from all the stations came in nice and clear on the first try.
So, yes, installing this GE attic antenna was a real pain in the neck, but it delivered the results I was looking for. A good buy for $40.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

You've got to try it.

02/11/2013
By ,
North Olmsted, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got tired of paying almost $100.00 a month to watch re-runs and junk on cable and only 6-8 new episodes of my shows a year. Best Buy has some fancy antennas, but they charge a restocking fee. I very reluctlantly bought this antenna from Walmart for less than $37.00, figuring I could just return it if it didn't work.
We now get 35 crystal clear channels! I didn't even know we had that many in the Cleveland Suburbs. I am about 15 miles away from the closest station.
It took about 30 minutes to assemble the array, but it was simple. We just disconnected the incoming cable line in the attic and connected the array to the existing splitter, so all 4 of our tv's get the signal. We set it on the rafters in the attic. We didn't have to move it around or anything, it was so easy. I am kicking myself for the $1200.00 a year we paid for cable for so many years.
We also subscribed to Netflix through our wireless blu-ray player we bought from Walmart for (about $79.00). We pay $7.95 a month for Netflix, and we can watch all of our regular shows just 1 to 8 days after they premier on the cable channels, and when watching full seasons Netflix keeps track of where you left off so you don't forget which episodes you already watched.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for GE Attic Mount Antenna
01/19/2013
By ,
Chandler, AZ.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had to write a review on this product because I'm so impressed. GREAT antenna! I fired my cable company because I'm streaming with ROKU. So I needed a way to get local channels in the metro Phoenix area. I bought this antenna and mounted it in my attic. Picked up 43 local digital television stations. (Of couse only about 20 interest me.) The antenaa gives super HD reception. Keep in mind I'm about 18 miles from South Mountain where most of the local tv towers are located. I just pointed the antenna towards South Mountain and connected up through the exsisting coax cable lines used for the cable tv. Did not even use a amplifier. You may need an amp if connecting muliple tv's. Everything needed comes with the antenna for installation and mounting. No need to buy any mounting hardware. I'm through getting ripped off by the cable tv companies. Streaming and free local tv. ALRIGHT!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

works great in the attic

01/20/2014
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The good:
Brings in all my channels from about 25-30 miles. Fits in the attic. Very light.
The bad:
Assembly is a pain, cheap screws that strip out easily.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

Works as good as more expensive antennas

02/25/2014
By ,
Bealeton, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I live about 40 miles from D. C. and with a $15 RCA digital amplifier (available at Walmart) I consistantly get channels 4, 14, 20, 26, 30, 32 and 66 and sometimes get channels 5 and 9. I also consistently get from Charlottesville, VA (50 miles away and to the south) channels 19 and 29. This antenna is hooked up to a TV in our spare bedroom and are greatly satisfied with it. It does as well, if not better than $150 Mohu.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

Looks nice but does not perform

07/01/2012
By ,
Arizona
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After quitting cable, we decided to buy one of these today bcs we only have 1 set with rabbit ears-but the reception is not good. We only get about 30% on our digital converter. We get better reception with the rabbit ears at 74%! So, it will be returned tomorrow!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AL
Love it!
Posted 07/07/2012
We are over 100 miles from the stations and we are picking up all kinds of channels. It seems that the right angle has to do with your reception. I would buy again, this and the Roku box have allowed us to cut the cord from pay tv permanently!
+4points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

Cheap and fairly easy to self install

01/03/2013
By ,
Denver, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used other amplified antennas with less success. I am within 30 miles of my local broadcast towers; I was able to pick up higher quality signals on several channels and less interference with this antenna.
The assembly was not too difficult for someone with some mechanical sense. If I had given this to my spouse to put together, she would have thrown it out the window. The diagrams could use some closer views of what parts you are inserting into one another, specifically the UHF element and VHF Dipole installation. The reflector brackets have very poor plastic connections which break as soon as you try to snap them together. Good thing for duct tape.
I have not tried to split the signal yet, so I hope it holds up with two TV's. In theory it should depending on the distance I am running and whether or not it needs amplified.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 44 total reviews
1 2 3 Next