Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for General Electric GE Attic Mount Antenna

General Electric GE Attic Mount Antenna

GE Attic Mount Antenna is universal and will work with all TV and converter box brands. It installs quickly in your attic and is designed for maximum reception ranges.
Average Customer Rating:
4.349 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(126 Reviews) 125
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
83
4 stars
25
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation89%112 out of 126reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
40 Questions | 136 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
83
4 stars
25
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

Much Better Than I Expected

07/31/2013
By ,
Lancaster, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tired of our outrageous cable bill and sad selection of shows, we decided to cut the cable. We have Netflix, Hulu, and other options that are much cheaper, but we were missing the local channels.
I bought this antenna, not expecting too much due to the low price, our aluminum sided house, our hilly terrain, and the distance from the transmitters (apx 30 miles). But I did get it as there were some encouraging reviews. I'm not disappointed! Sure... it had to be assembled, but it wasn't difficult. Most of the pieces snap together, and yes, it appears flimsy. But that's how a lot of antennas are! They're not a single piece carved out of a solid chunk of aluminum! Don't be discouraged by those who said it is difficult to put together. Take your time, and it isn't.
As I didn't know if it would work or not, I carried a TV (of course, not a big one!) up into the attic and hooked it up there for testing. I didn't want to run coax only to find it didn't work! I used the compass to find the general direction of the transmitters I wanted (see TV Fool for how to do this). I hung it from the center of the roof in a position where it would point out the side of the roof, and not through the aluminum siding in the front of the house. Turned on the TV... ran the auto scan for channels, and immediately received 22 digital channels!! Sure, there are some we will not watch, but we received all the ones we were missing.
Again... this is attic mounted, and 30 miles from the transmitters through some hilly terrain. Also, no rotation necessary for my stations. I would highly recommend this product! BTW... before doing this, I called a company that installs antennas, and they said it would cost between $300 and $400 to install an antenna and get it working, and they weren't sure if I would have any reception due to our location.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+120points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

Easy to assemble and goes the distance in miles.

03/21/2015
By ,
San Francisco Bay Area
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tested Mohu Leaf, Antenna Direct and GE antennas. The GE antenna did the best job for the price. Very happy with the results and able to pull in over 70 channels that are a little less than 40 miles away. Added an amplifier due to placement in the attic and running cable to multiple TVs off this little gem. Would highly recommend over the other two antennas tested.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

Fair value for your money.

07/17/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This product does a sufficient if all you want is to pick up a few location stations within 30mi from your broadcast stations. This product looks flimsy and put together like pieces of Lego.
Went to a store that specialized in radio equipment with much better selections. Got a Nippon AU-14 antenna which is directional and looks like an arrow. Mounted it outside and pulled in out-of-town stations from over 40mi away. The antenna is made in Japan (not China) which is surprising.
The GE Attic Mount Antenna is like a hyped up version of most indoor antenna which often works no better than rabbit ears but costing several times more. The Nippon antenna recently bought is under $100. Even for a few extra dollar, would rather get an outdoor antenna. They are more reliable and allows you to pick up a few out-of-town stations where available.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

Exceeds Expectations

07/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had done quite a bit of searching before deciding on the GE Attic Mount Antenna. I live 30 miles from the closest antenna farm. I wanted an antenna that would physically fit in my attic (there's no way I wanted to put anything on my roof) but still perform well even though its attic placement would restrict its ability to pick up signal. Ultimately, I decided on this antenna because of the price and previous good reviews. According to the FCC I should be able to pick up 38 channels in my location… I was able to pick up 48 crystal clear digital channels and 1 analog channel (which is also very clear). Even though the GE Attic Mount Antenna is an omni-directional antenna (it only picks up signals from the direction it is pointed in) I was still able to pick up three addititional channels that are pretty much in the opposite direction (pointed 117 degrees ESE, still able to pick up channels from 349 degrees NNW). Definitely recommending this product. I'm a fan.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

Wasn't expecting much but this thing delivered!

04/22/2013
By ,
Texarkana, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've never written a product review on this site but just had to becasue I was so impressed by this thing. I live 50+ miles away from the OTA stations I was hoping to receive. My local Walmart was out of the external antennas so I gave this one a shot. Directions for assembly were pretty bad but once it was together I plugged it in inside my home and instantly received about 10 HD quality signals! Installed on the leftover Dish network (so long $90+ a month) pole connected to my roof and pointed towards the stations I wanted. Note: Each time you split the signal (if you are running to more than one TV) you suffer a signal loss. That would be true with any antenna though even if it cost a $1000, so try to keep your splits to a minimum. I have it going to 2 TVs without a problem but am concerned on quality signal with connecting a 3rd. That's not a knock on this antenna by any means, just may have to add an amplifier. Overall, I was pleasantly surprised with this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

Replaces the standard swept-wing outdoor antenna

07/03/2013
By ,
Amarillo, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are many variables with OTA broadcast capture, ie distance, terrain, TV equipment. But, for me I have a new LED flatscreen and I didn't want to pay for cable basically because cable bundles too much stuff I never want. Having said that, I tried an old swept-wing antenna in the attic and got too much snow in the picture. Futhermore, I did not pick up 2 stations. Moving the swept-wing into the garage and I had all the available channels with a bright picture and sharp on the HD broadcasters. Not so much on the HD secondary channels. I was faced with mounting a mast on the roof and running 40 feet of coax cable to get the massive swept-wing out of my garage. I tried the flat box indoor antenna. Took that back. I spotted the GE Attic Mount and decided to try it. Assembly wasn't that hard. I took the coax cable from the swept-wing and attached to the GE AMA. It worked. Very sharp picture, but slightly dark. Mounted the GE antenna in the attic and got the best picture reception out of all of my attenna experiments
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

IT WORKS!!!

02/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i live in bridgewater, nj ... about 30-35 miles away from nyc broadcast antenna's...
and i had purchased a Clearstream indoor/outdoor antenna (rated at the same distance - 60miles) as the GE antenna.
But with the Clearstream, i was unable to get ch. 4 and the other channels during heavy rain and heavy cloud coverage would pixalize the picture for time to time...
this clearstream was in the attic...i was going to mount in the summer time on the roof...thinking i would have a better chance of getting ch. 4.
but then i saw the ratings on this GE antenna and thought i would give it a try..b/c i was still within my 90day warranty with the Clearstream.
as soon as i hooked it up in the attic...within seconds it worked...started getting all the channels i got with the Clearstream and more!!! and during the snow storm....hardly any pixalization....
well worth the $40!!! as compared to the $100 Clearstream...couldn't believe it...
first time...where "you get what you pay for" wasn't the case.
:-)
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

Reception from about 60 miles no problem

06/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So ditched cable and switched to SlingTV. I needed an antenna to get my locals. I live in a prime location East and South East from 21 stations that offer close to 55 channels all together. Some channels that are beyond 55 miles away only come in around Dusk but I pull in only 43 (average distance is 43 Miles away) of them. I'm sure that has more to do with transmitter strength from their towers then anything.
I mounted my antenna about 12 feet off the ground outside my bedroom window facing North-West, Installed a RCA Antenna PreAmp (TVPRAMP1R - 21.99 Walmart.com) which from there goes about 60 feet to a signal amplifier that dumps into a 4 way splitter. Then off to the TV sets. Without the preamp signal was spotty. So would I recommend this Antenna, You bet your life I do. And if your more then 30 miles away I recomend the PreAmp, and if you are running a splitter then I would run an adjustable gain signal-amplifier. I get ALL important local channels, ABC,CBS,NBC,CW,MyTV38,PBS, WHGH and ION. All the main anchor stations are flawless HD and your local cable or satellite company cannot beat the picture quality because this is a PURE UN-COMPRESSED HD SIGNAL.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

Did the job well and cheaply

06/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Couldn't believe it. Got both "local" stations (about 35 miles) and 3 others about 40- 50 miles away which were about 90 degrees from the direction it was finally set at. All stations except one are in the green (good) on my signal monitor and the one exception is very close to green. Much better than the other rectangular-shaped one I was previously using. It has a very versatile mounting bracket. GE seems to have really done their homework on this one. My wife is now a happy camper.
It doesn't appear to be real sturdy, but who cares when it is up in the attic? I ended up hanging it upside down from the rafters so I put a pipe clamp on the mast to be sure that, if the clamp provided for the mast came loose, it wouldn't slide off the mast and fall to the floor. However, the first location I tried where the line of sight to the 2 local stations was blocked by my chimney passing thru the attic, didn't work well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

Glad I bought it

06/25/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The instructions could use some work. But really were not complex so I did figure it out. I pretested inside the house before moving it to the attic. Got lots of channels. I am about 40 miles from the tv stations but I received them very clear. Antenna itself was compact enough that i could put it together in the house and carry it to the attic for the final installation. Over all i am extremely satisfied with the purchase. I get more channels than when I had basic cable and its free.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

Does what it says.

09/24/2014
By ,
Plaistow, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you're thinking of cutting the cable and want to try an antenna, goto tvfool.com and have it lookup your address to find the strongest stations in a list of descending order...this will give you an idea of what stations you'll pull in. It also graphs the patterns of stations on a compass so you can get an idea of what direction to aim the antenna. If there are stations over 25 miles away this antenna will get you up to 60 miles. I also purchased the $15.95 signal booster/amplifier to maximize fringe station signal strength. There are 30 stations 40 miles away from me and they all come in crystal clear. I may get even more once I raise the antenna from the attic floor to a higher point near the peak.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

GE Attic Mount Antenna

07/12/2012
By ,
Lowell, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After purchasing a 32 inch flat screen for our 3 season porch and hooking it up to the existing rabbit ears already up high in the attic I realized I was missing a few channels (PBS and CBS). I thought I would give this antenna a chance, the price was good and it seemed simple enough. Assembly is straightforward although there are a lot of small parts, took me approximately 30 minutes. After the install I was very happy to get the channels I was missing previously. The picture is excellent on all the major channels but there is some pixeling and pausing on a couple of other channels (weaker broadcast strength I assume). I live approximately 25 miles East of a large city, quite rural, lot's of trees. I placed it in the attic as high as I could. I'd have to say that this unit delivered quite nicely. Recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
dunlap
Works great in the mountains of Tenn
Posted 11/24/2012
Purchased this as a last effort to get decent tv reception. Pulled all the channels from before the transition to digital and even some that we did not have before. We feel it is a great price for the quality of reception we get. Unable to get reception with several other anetnnas. We are aproximate 40 miles from Chattanooga. Now we can even get some channes out of north GA. Hope this helps
+2points
Customer Avatar
WOrks Great !
Posted 11/14/2012
I live in Lorain, Ohio and use this antenna to get 35+ channels, its installed in my attic.
Instructions weren't very good but you can build it from the picture on the box.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Newton, KS
Horrible
Posted 08/03/2012
Live in a 2 story older Victorian and we cut cable. have a amplified/powered flat antenna that barely gets any channels so I picked this up. I mounted it in 3 different places and got NO CHANNELS. my amplified/powered flat antenna in a closet on the top floor gets better reception. This is going back in the morning.
-1point
Customer Avatar
GRANTS PASS OR
was not good for me
Posted 07/16/2012
i had rabbit ears (amplified) for my digital tv and it worked got all 10 channels in my area, expect when a car went by . so i wanted to put this in the attic and i did , took 1/2 hour just to assemble took another 1/2 hour just to find reception from stations(need help for reception in your ares go to antennaweb.org.) you see where i am i have signals coming from 4 different directions and this did not work well i lost 3 channels so i went back to the rabbit ears . i then returned it and got the rca digital amplified antenna for 4 cents more , in the rca instruction it says it can be mounted in attic and i did in the same place i put the ge one and i got all my channels and stronger signal went from 18 strength to 40.amplified antennas are the way to go.
0points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 13 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

good antenna in Houston

11/11/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After deciding to go with over the air channels, I was using a small indoor antenna that for the most part worked fine, but I would have to adjust the direction occasionally. I decided to try the GE attic mount antenna. It does take some assembly, took maybe 20 minutes and that was while I was watching a football game. The one thing I changed was instead of mounting the base directly to my attic decking, rafters, etc., I just mounted it to a piece of thick pine board so it could stand on its own and I could move it if needed. I put it in my attic, pointed it in the proper direction to the antenna farm, ran 50 feet of coaxial cable to my TV and it picks up ALL of the useful Houston channels (even Spanish language) with either good or great reception (I live about 20 miles east-northeast of the antenna farm). I haven't experienced a windy day with it yet but am hopeful that it will do fine. In fair weather, it is great. If you can spare the time to do a little bit of work, it is really good for at least homes within 20 miles of transmitters.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AL
Wind
Posted 04/02/2014
I thought you mounted it in your attic. Why would wind be a factor?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

Excellent reception about 7 foot from a window.

06/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I previously purchased one of them flat, flexible antennas for the window. I got one channel from it. I purchased it from Home Depot. I got this one at Walmart and hooked it up and received 21 channels out of the SW window, and 3 out of the front window. Couldn't be happier. Perfect for a 2nd home. It feels slightly flimsy, but that is the aluminum/plastic effect. I is supposed to go in the attic, where there is no wind anyway. For the price, it is just fine.................
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for GE Attic Mount Antenna
08/23/2012
By ,
Spring, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this antenna after purchasing a new HDTV. Old antenna was only getting a few channels and was missing most of the ones I wanted. Tried installing old antenna in attic but got even fewer channels than when it was downstairs. Looked at available antennas on-line and went to Wal Mart to buy one, they did not have the one I had chosen so "settled" for this one. It was easy to put together and install. It is a directional antenna so must be pointed toward the broadcast antennas. All in our area are 34 miles south on the other side of Houston. When I scanned for channels, it came up with 93, including one that is not on the channel list at AntennaWeb.org. Very impressed with this antenna. Even hooked up a second TV to it without any loss of signal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

Attic-mount antenna

06/01/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this because I wanted to get rid of cable tv and because I didn't want to have to get on my roof to mount an antenna. I wasn't expecting much as I live 30-65 miles from the nearest tv stations; however, since all the stations I want to receive are in the same general direction, I can receive all of them without a rotor as long as the weather isn't bad. I have added a pre-amp which has helped. The antenna requires assembly which is easy, but takes 20-30 minutes. I'm pleased with this purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

Realy Good ANTENNA

06/08/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i conected the antenna to one amplifier and we can see more tv chanels that The cable supply me ,and with HD, and it is FREE!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

spot on performance for the price

11/13/2012
By ,
blue mound, IL.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
no need for an attic i mounted it on a microphone stand extended to ceiling height ground floor in my house 11 inch block walls nomatter though did four scans n,e,s,w. 26 channels all hdsurround. 3 channels are over 35 miles away 2 are over 70 miles away. i live in central ill. i get terrahaute ind. st.loius. indy. peoria.ill. plus the regs. within a 40 mile range. i think the people who did'nt like this product don't really understand how to use them correctly or use the signal meter on they're tuner. u find your station check your capture rate and adjust if needed. i must say, the picture quality is better than anything i've seen i swear i'm watching a dvd. football games look like i can reach in a touch the players. my advice is do your home work on using antennas and getting good capture rates maybe a signal booster if needed but i'm getting reception like this inside a brick house i can't imagine what the attic or outdoors would be like but hey i'm allready getting everything in my area and then some. so i'll end on this cut the cable . along with sat tv aswell. the air is free and so are the signals. so go get them and enjoy your money on better things then paying to watch tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

Immediate Improvement

06/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Replacing my old cross-shaped attic antenna with this one immediately improved reception - no more pixelating on the screen. The number of stations I could receive also increased. After researching other brands, I found this one very fairly priced. Just be sure to face it in the correct direction.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

You've got to try it.

02/11/2013
By ,
North Olmsted, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got tired of paying almost $100.00 a month to watch re-runs and junk on cable and only 6-8 new episodes of my shows a year. Best Buy has some fancy antennas, but they charge a restocking fee. I very reluctlantly bought this antenna from Walmart for less than $37.00, figuring I could just return it if it didn't work.
We now get 35 crystal clear channels! I didn't even know we had that many in the Cleveland Suburbs. I am about 15 miles away from the closest station.
It took about 30 minutes to assemble the array, but it was simple. We just disconnected the incoming cable line in the attic and connected the array to the existing splitter, so all 4 of our tv's get the signal. We set it on the rafters in the attic. We didn't have to move it around or anything, it was so easy. I am kicking myself for the $1200.00 a year we paid for cable for so many years.
We also subscribed to Netflix through our wireless blu-ray player we bought from Walmart for (about $79.00). We pay $7.95 a month for Netflix, and we can watch all of our regular shows just 1 to 8 days after they premier on the cable channels, and when watching full seasons Netflix keeps track of where you left off so you don't forget which episodes you already watched.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 126 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next