Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for General Electric GE Attic Mount Antenna

General Electric GE Attic Mount Antenna

GE Attic Mount Antenna is universal and will work with all TV and converter box brands. It installs quickly in your attic and is designed for maximum reception ranges.
Average Customer Rating:
4.421 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(76 Reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
52
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation89%68 out of 76reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 104 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
52
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

Much Better Than I Expected

07/31/2013
By ,
Lancaster, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tired of our outrageous cable bill and sad selection of shows, we decided to cut the cable. We have Netflix, Hulu, and other options that are much cheaper, but we were missing the local channels.
I bought this antenna, not expecting too much due to the low price, our aluminum sided house, our hilly terrain, and the distance from the transmitters (apx 30 miles). But I did get it as there were some encouraging reviews. I'm not disappointed! Sure... it had to be assembled, but it wasn't difficult. Most of the pieces snap together, and yes, it appears flimsy. But that's how a lot of antennas are! They're not a single piece carved out of a solid chunk of aluminum! Don't be discouraged by those who said it is difficult to put together. Take your time, and it isn't.
As I didn't know if it would work or not, I carried a TV (of course, not a big one!) up into the attic and hooked it up there for testing. I didn't want to run coax only to find it didn't work! I used the compass to find the general direction of the transmitters I wanted (see TV Fool for how to do this). I hung it from the center of the roof in a position where it would point out the side of the roof, and not through the aluminum siding in the front of the house. Turned on the TV... ran the auto scan for channels, and immediately received 22 digital channels!! Sure, there are some we will not watch, but we received all the ones we were missing.
Again... this is attic mounted, and 30 miles from the transmitters through some hilly terrain. Also, no rotation necessary for my stations. I would highly recommend this product! BTW... before doing this, I called a company that installs antennas, and they said it would cost between $300 and $400 to install an antenna and get it working, and they weren't sure if I would have any reception due to our location.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

Fair value for your money.

07/17/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This product does a sufficient if all you want is to pick up a few location stations within 30mi from your broadcast stations. This product looks flimsy and put together like pieces of Lego.
Went to a store that specialized in radio equipment with much better selections. Got a Nippon AU-14 antenna which is directional and looks like an arrow. Mounted it outside and pulled in out-of-town stations from over 40mi away. The antenna is made in Japan (not China) which is surprising.
The GE Attic Mount Antenna is like a hyped up version of most indoor antenna which often works no better than rabbit ears but costing several times more. The Nippon antenna recently bought is under $100. Even for a few extra dollar, would rather get an outdoor antenna. They are more reliable and allows you to pick up a few out-of-town stations where available.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

Exceeds Expectations

07/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had done quite a bit of searching before deciding on the GE Attic Mount Antenna. I live 30 miles from the closest antenna farm. I wanted an antenna that would physically fit in my attic (there's no way I wanted to put anything on my roof) but still perform well even though its attic placement would restrict its ability to pick up signal. Ultimately, I decided on this antenna because of the price and previous good reviews. According to the FCC I should be able to pick up 38 channels in my location… I was able to pick up 48 crystal clear digital channels and 1 analog channel (which is also very clear). Even though the GE Attic Mount Antenna is an omni-directional antenna (it only picks up signals from the direction it is pointed in) I was still able to pick up three addititional channels that are pretty much in the opposite direction (pointed 117 degrees ESE, still able to pick up channels from 349 degrees NNW). Definitely recommending this product. I'm a fan.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

Replaces the standard swept-wing outdoor antenna

07/03/2013
By ,
Amarillo, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are many variables with OTA broadcast capture, ie distance, terrain, TV equipment. But, for me I have a new LED flatscreen and I didn't want to pay for cable basically because cable bundles too much stuff I never want. Having said that, I tried an old swept-wing antenna in the attic and got too much snow in the picture. Futhermore, I did not pick up 2 stations. Moving the swept-wing into the garage and I had all the available channels with a bright picture and sharp on the HD broadcasters. Not so much on the HD secondary channels. I was faced with mounting a mast on the roof and running 40 feet of coax cable to get the massive swept-wing out of my garage. I tried the flat box indoor antenna. Took that back. I spotted the GE Attic Mount and decided to try it. Assembly wasn't that hard. I took the coax cable from the swept-wing and attached to the GE AMA. It worked. Very sharp picture, but slightly dark. Mounted the GE antenna in the attic and got the best picture reception out of all of my attenna experiments
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

Wasn't expecting much but this thing delivered!

04/22/2013
By ,
Texarkana, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've never written a product review on this site but just had to becasue I was so impressed by this thing. I live 50+ miles away from the OTA stations I was hoping to receive. My local Walmart was out of the external antennas so I gave this one a shot. Directions for assembly were pretty bad but once it was together I plugged it in inside my home and instantly received about 10 HD quality signals! Installed on the leftover Dish network (so long $90+ a month) pole connected to my roof and pointed towards the stations I wanted. Note: Each time you split the signal (if you are running to more than one TV) you suffer a signal loss. That would be true with any antenna though even if it cost a $1000, so try to keep your splits to a minimum. I have it going to 2 TVs without a problem but am concerned on quality signal with connecting a 3rd. That's not a knock on this antenna by any means, just may have to add an amplifier. Overall, I was pleasantly surprised with this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

Did the job well and cheaply

06/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Couldn't believe it. Got both "local" stations (about 35 miles) and 3 others about 40- 50 miles away which were about 90 degrees from the direction it was finally set at. All stations except one are in the green (good) on my signal monitor and the one exception is very close to green. Much better than the other rectangular-shaped one I was previously using. It has a very versatile mounting bracket. GE seems to have really done their homework on this one. My wife is now a happy camper.
It doesn't appear to be real sturdy, but who cares when it is up in the attic? I ended up hanging it upside down from the rafters so I put a pipe clamp on the mast to be sure that, if the clamp provided for the mast came loose, it wouldn't slide off the mast and fall to the floor. However, the first location I tried where the line of sight to the 2 local stations was blocked by my chimney passing thru the attic, didn't work well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

Unbelievably awesome

08/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Live in north nj so we are very close to nyc. Attached the antenna and did not even put in the attic, started on 2nd fl and reception was very good. Place in attic and reception was unbelievably awesome!! Better than the compressed cable signal. 50+ channels.
This is our first step to cutting the cord from the greedy monopolistic cable company cablevision. We decided no more cable in the bed rooms and would just have in the family room and rec room for now. Once we figure out how to get nhl local hockey games on the internet without cablevision we are cutting the rest of our cable cords. Sell your cable tv stock. The end of the road is near for cable companies.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

Tried three antennas, this was the best overall!

08/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This antenna was one of three antennas I tried out. The nearest city is 47 miles away on flat land. I first tried the Mohu leaf ultimate ($60). It had a 50 mile range and was aesthetically pleasing to look at. It didn't pull in but 5 channels. I then bought the GE attic antenna (this one $40). I was impressed! It was cheaper than the Mohu and it pulled in 28 channels! The box said it had a 60 mile range and it didn't fail! It does need a little assembly but it is very easy! However, I was still missing CBS so I bought the Clearstream 2 for $100 thinking bigger price, better reception. I was wrong it only brought in 23 channels and it was $60 more! I took it back. All three were pointed the same direction (42 degrees north). The GE attic antenna was the cheapest and worked the best! I highly recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

GE Attic Mount Antenna

09/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the Best Digital Antenna I have Found, and I have tried several brands, takes about 10 minutes to put it together the first time you do it and you can put it in the attic or where ever you want to inside your house and it will bring in more channels then any other indoor digital antenna, at least it did for me!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

Exactly what I wanted.

07/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I mounted the antenna in my attic, pointed it in the general direction of the nearest city, and ran coax from it to every TV in my house. Fantastic picture, no adjustment needed really. Fantastic product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

Wonderful Antenna

09/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We installed this antenna in our attic and when we ran the channel scan we ended up getting more channels over the air than we have ever got and our signal strength is at 100% you never get 100% with an indoor antenna but this one gave us that we are very happy with it and highly recommend it. You do have to put it together but that is pretty easy and quick just follow the simple instructions and then you will have wonderful tv reception. We don't have to get cable now with this antenna!! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

GE Attic Mount Antenna

07/12/2012
By ,
Lowell, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After purchasing a 32 inch flat screen for our 3 season porch and hooking it up to the existing rabbit ears already up high in the attic I realized I was missing a few channels (PBS and CBS). I thought I would give this antenna a chance, the price was good and it seemed simple enough. Assembly is straightforward although there are a lot of small parts, took me approximately 30 minutes. After the install I was very happy to get the channels I was missing previously. The picture is excellent on all the major channels but there is some pixeling and pausing on a couple of other channels (weaker broadcast strength I assume). I live approximately 25 miles East of a large city, quite rural, lot's of trees. I placed it in the attic as high as I could. I'd have to say that this unit delivered quite nicely. Recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
dunlap
Works great in the mountains of Tenn
Posted 11/24/2012
Purchased this as a last effort to get decent tv reception. Pulled all the channels from before the transition to digital and even some that we did not have before. We feel it is a great price for the quality of reception we get. Unable to get reception with several other anetnnas. We are aproximate 40 miles from Chattanooga. Now we can even get some channes out of north GA. Hope this helps
+2points
Customer Avatar
WOrks Great !
Posted 11/14/2012
I live in Lorain, Ohio and use this antenna to get 35+ channels, its installed in my attic.
Instructions weren't very good but you can build it from the picture on the box.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Newton, KS
Horrible
Posted 08/03/2012
Live in a 2 story older Victorian and we cut cable. have a amplified/powered flat antenna that barely gets any channels so I picked this up. I mounted it in 3 different places and got NO CHANNELS. my amplified/powered flat antenna in a closet on the top floor gets better reception. This is going back in the morning.
-1point
Customer Avatar
GRANTS PASS OR
was not good for me
Posted 07/16/2012
i had rabbit ears (amplified) for my digital tv and it worked got all 10 channels in my area, expect when a car went by . so i wanted to put this in the attic and i did , took 1/2 hour just to assemble took another 1/2 hour just to find reception from stations(need help for reception in your ares go to antennaweb.org.) you see where i am i have signals coming from 4 different directions and this did not work well i lost 3 channels so i went back to the rabbit ears . i then returned it and got the rca digital amplified antenna for 4 cents more , in the rca instruction it says it can be mounted in attic and i did in the same place i put the ge one and i got all my channels and stronger signal went from 18 strength to 40.amplified antennas are the way to go.
0points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 13 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

Okay with reservations.

09/04/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I live approximately 20 miles from downtown Chicago and get DECENT reception (85% quality with occasional pixilation) with a 40 year-old antenna in the attic. I had hoped to improve on that with this antenna but actually lost one station and had no significant improvement in the others so I returned the antenna and went back to my original antique. I will admit that the GE antenna is significantly smaller than the old-style antenna and was quite easy to assemble and setup. If I was not replacing a working antenna the GE antenna would have done the job.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
From Tech Support09/08/2014
HomewoodGuy there are many factures that can cause you not to receive more channels or better quality in the channels you currently are receiving. The building materials of your roof and the thickness of it and any tall building between you and the tower are just a couple of things that can cause issues with the reception. Jasco Products Tech Suport(Manufacturer)GETechSupport
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

Despite Stated Range, Did Not Help Reception

08/24/2014
By ,
Rogers, AR
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We have tried several antennas for local news after recently cancelling our cable service. Quickly found that we are not in a good area for antenna reception, and settled on the Mohu Leaf which provides only 2 reliable stations and 4 more (all PBS) sporadically. We hoped to do better with this one since the range is 60 miles, and it's so BIG. Unfortunately it only provided the same channels as the Mohu. Tried it in several places in our 2-story house, including top of the attic and facing every which way. No luck, so it's going back. By the way, it takes quite a while to assemble (and disassemble) this thing, and the pieces are really flimsy. So allocate some time if you're trying it out.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
From Tech Support08/26/2014
LilDrmmrBoy sorry to hear that this antenna didn’t pick up all of the channels that you wanted. www.tvfool.com is a website that you can enter your address information and see from which direction the signals are coming from and how far away they are. If more than one antenna is giving the same results more than likely it’s the location or there is something that inferring with the signals.
Jasco Products Tech Suport(Manufacturer)GETechSupport
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

More channels than any other antenna tried.

04/11/2014
By ,
Monument, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The last antenna I tried GE Amplified Antenna (http://www.walmart.com/ip/GE-Amplified-Antenna/20976616) got me 11 channels about 26 miles away according to tvfool.com, but I wasn't getting all the channels I wanted, so I got the GE Attic Mount Antenna(http://www.walmart.com/ip/GE-Attic-Mount-Antenna/20976617) which I mounted to the wall in my room. I now have 26 channels the farthest being 52.1 miles away. After mounting the antenna in the attic it gets 45 channels the farthest being 77.9 miles. I am very happy I get all the channels I wanted plus some.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
From Tech Support05/20/2014
CharlesTech,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the attic antenna. I am glad to hear that the antenna is receiving so many channels for you. Jasco Products Tech Suport(Manufacturer)
contact: http://www.jascoproducts.com/contactus/index.asp
phone number: 1-800-654-8483 option 1GETechSupport
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

spot on performance for the price

11/13/2012
By ,
blue mound, IL.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
no need for an attic i mounted it on a microphone stand extended to ceiling height ground floor in my house 11 inch block walls nomatter though did four scans n,e,s,w. 26 channels all hdsurround. 3 channels are over 35 miles away 2 are over 70 miles away. i live in central ill. i get terrahaute ind. st.loius. indy. peoria.ill. plus the regs. within a 40 mile range. i think the people who did'nt like this product don't really understand how to use them correctly or use the signal meter on they're tuner. u find your station check your capture rate and adjust if needed. i must say, the picture quality is better than anything i've seen i swear i'm watching a dvd. football games look like i can reach in a touch the players. my advice is do your home work on using antennas and getting good capture rates maybe a signal booster if needed but i'm getting reception like this inside a brick house i can't imagine what the attic or outdoors would be like but hey i'm allready getting everything in my area and then some. so i'll end on this cut the cable . along with sat tv aswell. the air is free and so are the signals. so go get them and enjoy your money on better things then paying to watch tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

Good indoor antenna for the money

08/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I checked the antenna dimensions prior to purchase but the real thing is smaller and lighter than I expected. So, I placed it on a shelf behind a 50" TV in which it is mostly hidden. Its closer to the TV and I don't have to climb a ladder. I picked up more channels than I had with my old indoor antenna. I am using an attached 24db amplified. The main reason for the purchase was I was hoping to get NBC which is about 60 miles away. Still can't get NBC. {:>(
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

Picking up Dallas area stations from Rowlett!

09/02/2012
By ,
Rowlett, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hello my neighbors! I cut the "cable" this month and picked up this antenna and installed it in my attic today. Works like a champ! In a nutshell, I receive these channels: 4, 5, 8, 11, 13-1/13-2 (my favorites), 27, 68 and several others I don't really care about. All these channels come in without any power amplifiers.
I live in a two-story house and is pointed generally south-west from where I live (towards the TV stations).
I don't know what more I can say but I'm pretty happy with the ease of installation and quality of channels I'm receiving.
As compared to cable, this thing will pay for itself over and over! Now if we could figure out how to get rid of ads and commercials!
Hope this review helped!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

Performs better than expected

07/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found it quick and easy to assemble (about 20 min) and easy to install (about 20 min). I didn't have a compass so I just pointed the antenna in the direction I believed the towers to be. It worked! I was pleasantly surprised at the picture quality (equal to or better than cable) and the number of channels received (about 50). An excellent value for my money. Cost me less than $30. My monthly cable bill used to be $90/month. After disconnecting the incoming cable line, I connected the antenna via coaxial cable to the existing cable splitter in my attic. I didn't have to run any additional cables and all my sets received the same strong signal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for GE Attic Mount Antenna

Newcastle Ok Attic Antenna

07/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great. 100 percent reception on all primary channels. Working on 34.1 It still has a week signal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 76 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next