Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Forest City Models and Patterns Forest City Models and Patterns Yimby Tumbler Composter

Forest City Models and Patterns Forest City Models and Patterns Yimby Tumbler Composter

Average Customer Rating:
4.414 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%29 out of 29reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 25 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Forest City Models and Patterns Yimby Tumbler Composter

Great Composter!

03/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just got this and managed to assembly easily. parts all were high grade and fit nicely, even had quite a few nuts and bolts left over as spares since it came shipped with extras. Few things to be aware of:
1. Be sure to note the extra hole on the one side edge for the hexagonal sections. the sides that hold the door have an extra hole in the center of the edge. if you don't line them up in the beginning you'll have to start over.
2. For assembling the tumbler section: a ratcheting screwdriver is recommended over an electric one. the electric can over tighten too much and cause the plastic to break ruining the seal.
3. Might want to have two people do this though one person can if they are careful. the tumbler section will want to rotate on its own when you are assembling the panels and it helps to have an extra set of hands just to hold it. otherwise it can be a bit awkward.
I cant wait to see how well this thing composts. perfect for my small back yard garden!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Forest City Models and Patterns Yimby Tumbler Composter

Great for a beginner

12/03/2013
By ,
Westminster, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a beginner, yes. Overall, I feel happy with the tumbler. First, the price is much better than other places. Shipping is timely, answering my expectation. Regarding assembly process, my experience is good, very good. I am not technically smart, but I was able to complete it within 1 hour. But I did not use the instructions on the printout. Thanks to another reviewer comments, I was able to find online instructions, which make assembly an exciting and easy process.
Ah, I have to say that with the tumbler, I can recycle a lot of things from home, which makes us really happy. So far, I have no problems or complaints about it. The reason why I give it 4 stars (while putting 5 stars on hold) is that I have the tumbler for only 8 days, and just started composting 6 days, I haven't got any compost finished yet. I am waiting to see my products.
Thanks for giving me a chance to review the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Forest City Models and Patterns Yimby Tumbler Composter

Everything's good

04/22/2013
By ,
Front Range, Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only had this product a couple of weeks, so no compost yet - and this review ONLY covers cost, delivery and ease of assembly.
Cost: At least $20 cheaper than rival websites (Lowes, Home Depot etc). I'm cool with that...
Delivery: Wow. FREE UPS Ground shipping direct from the manufacturer in MI and it arrived in just 4 days (not the 7-10 I expected).
Assembly: Instructions were very easy to follow. But there are a LOT of screws (56 from memory) so I almost developed a blister on my thumb! Only downside was that they'd supplied 12 screws, and 5 nuts too many. So once everything was assembled, I began to freak at these extras. What had I missed?! But I went over everything again, and I'd used all the screws I should have.
And now it's sitting there in the garden, doing its thing - one chamber already full of garden waste, and vegetable scraps. Can't wait for the results!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Forest City Models and Patterns Yimby Tumbler Composter

Great price but bad instructions

09/21/2012
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My first order was missing several screws (10 to be exact) and 5 nuts. The instructions were horrible. The bars for which the barrel is identified as AA, BB, etc but the actual item is not marked making it very difficult to figure out which bar goes where. I wish somehow they were marked or some sort of measurement would have been nice. Once the actual metal pieces were together, the instruction on putting the black slots were a little complicated to figure out how it went. After trying for several seconds to get a slot to fit it was figured out. The picture for how to put the item together was poorly written, it was very confusing trying to figure out which way the nut went. Better clearer instructions for the whole item would be nice. The price for the product was great compare to other home improvement places so I can't complain about that. The customer service rep who helped place a second order so that I had the correct number of screws and nuts was very good, interesting enough I had extra nuts but still was missing at least 2 screws (problem solved with a trip to Lowes).
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Forest City Models and Patterns Yimby Tumbler Composter

Just the right size for a two person family

03/25/2013
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The composter arrived on the day stated. The box was open, but all of the parts were there. It took about two hours to put together by myself. All I needed was a flathead screw driver and an adjustable wrench. The unit spins easily. It is not large, so check the dimensions to make sure it is the size you want. I think it is perfect for just the two of us. I really like having two chambers. It seems sturdy. The cost was right, a good value for the money. My daughter bought a much larger unit. I really prefer the compact size of the one I purchased. I definitely recommend this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Forest City Models and Patterns Yimby Tumbler Composter
07/20/2012
By ,
Seven Springs NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used a different tumbling composter before I bought this one. It went together easily, took me about an hour I think. Its in use now in North Carolina where it has been very hot recently and the half of the composter that is in use if half full. I tumble it each time I add kitchen vegetable peelings to it and have added some previously mulched grass from my mower. The compost has begun to rot down but somehow, some flying insects have got into it and the whole compost is wriggling with insct larvae of different kinds. That said, I am sure they will break it all down but the resulting compost may not be very good and may not smell very good. This problem is nothing to do with the compost bin, more likely the way I have loaded it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Forest City Models and Patterns Yimby Tumbler Composter

Holds a good amount!

03/08/2013
By ,
SantaClarita, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were able to fit a lot of gardening waste in this big dual composter. We were pleasantlyable surprised. Spinning is easy. A lot of pieces to put together, but with two of us we got it done in 15-20 minutes. Not hard just tedious. Very pleased with the results.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Southern Georgia
How Long to decompose?
Posted 02/04/2014
How long did it take for the load to decompose? Thanks
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Forest City Models and Patterns Yimby Tumbler Composter

Absolutely fantastic!

07/16/2012
By ,
Athens, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Even better than I had hoped. Went together easily and spins very well. The only metal is the screws and stand, so the barrel won't rust through.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Forest City Models and Patterns Yimby Tumbler Composter

Faulty Construction

04/12/2014
By ,
Louisville, KY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have yet to actually use this composter so, I will just be reviewing the construction.
Assembly is not difficult; however, it will take a little ingenuity on your part. This is made out of molded plastic and there are tabs on pieces that are supposed to fit into holes on the adjoining pieces. Not all of these tabs line up to the holes. We had cut off some of the holes to make the pieces fit together. In addition, there are also holes to affix the included bolts & nuts. Not all of these holes line up either. The majority of them did so, we just left the other holes empty but, someone could easily drill through the plastic to create a hole. Even missing a few of the bolts/nuts it still seemed sturdy. However, I am concerned that the metal base will not hold up well to the outside elements. Only time will tell.
:Wayfair.com
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Forest City Models and Patterns Yimby Tumbler Composter

Good product, bad quality control, good cust svc

01/21/2013
By ,
Mansfield, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The on-line instructions at http://tumblingcomposters.com are much more detailed and helpful than the printed manual. We got it (almost) assembled in less than an hour, only to discover to our great disappointment that the box only contained 6 rather than the 7 required side panels. (The door panel makes up the eighth side of this octagonal container.) High marks to Wayfair customer service -- they quickly arranged shipment of the missing part and refunded us 10 percent of the purchase price. Kudos to Wayfair agent Honaye for her handling of this. We're now eagerly awaiting delivery of the missing part so we can use what appears to be a well-constructed product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Forest City Models and Patterns Yimby Tumbler Composter

Awesome starter!

04/11/2013
By ,
Delaware
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First time with a composter and bought two. Took two people an hour to put both together. You get into a groove and it was EASY once you start. Read all directions! Easy to spin and looks pretty big in person. My 2 3 and 4 year olds like adding scraps and spinning the bins FAST for me. EASY to use. EXCITED! Will buy one more (we go through a lot of fresh fruits and veggies) love! Super value for price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Forest City Models and Patterns Yimby Tumbler Composter
03/22/2013
By ,
76117
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far so good. We've only had it a few weeks so I have no idea how well it will actually compost, but set up wasn't too bad (lots of small screws to put together--but easy enough for my young kids to help). Also, make sure you line up the two round sides correctly before you start attaching all of the middle pieces. (the section for the panel that opens has a different line up of holes). The instructions are confusing (useless) but it's easy to figure it out without instructions.
Easy to add materials and easy to rotate. I'm very excited about it!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Forest City Models and Patterns Yimby Tumbler Composter

Great Composter for the price.

09/18/2013
By ,
LaGrange Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I do love my composter. Have had it now a few months. Works great for Kitchen scraps. Door opening is a little small for branches or limbs, but you can always just break them down and this is recommended. The Door slides and this is a nice touch although, it does get in the way or the leg gets in the way when trying to dump one side and not the other. So you do have to scoop the compost out. *CORRECTION* As per writing this Hubby is prof reading and points out that I could always spin barrel, door facing down into bucket and THEN slide door. So I am changing the 4 out of 5 rating to a 5 and ending the review. Great Little Composter! Enjoy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Forest City Models and Patterns Yimby Tumbler Composter

Good tumbler for the price

08/05/2013
By ,
Reading PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I didn't realize why you need 2 people to assemble the tumbler until we started. The instructions definitely need to improve. We disassembled and reassembled probably 3 times. The parts are interlocking but without good instructions, one can not match up the parts correct the first time. For the money, it's an excellent tumbler to get started with.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Forest City Models and Patterns Yimby Tumbler Composter

It went together well

02/28/2013
By ,
Charleston, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is so exciting getting our first composter together. It was easy to assemble - especially with two of us working together. Our first batch is in the bin and we look forward to many as we alternate emptying one as another is "cooking". We think the two batch machine will work best for us.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Forest City Models and Patterns Yimby Tumbler Composter

Perfect for me

05/16/2013
By ,
Manlius, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was shopping for my first composter. I knew I wanted a rotating model off the ground. The ones I looked at locally at garden centers were too big for me as a single person. I dont't generate that much material for composting. I especially like that this model has two compartments. You can "cook" one side when it is full and then start to fill the second half. All the parts (and extra screws) came in a compact box. Love the free shipping. It arrived about a week earlier than the e-mail message predicted ..I put it together by myself in about an hour. An extra set of hands would have been very helpful. Very easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Forest City Models and Patterns Yimby Tumbler Composter

Good quality product-solid construction

05/10/2013
By ,
Paducah, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dual compartment is a great idea-reduces waiting time for compost.
Recommended assembly tools are screwdriver and adjustable wrench.
However, a 3/8" nut driver sped up assembly of panels.
Instructions are a little vague-pay close attention to alignment of octagonal end sides(Part A) when attaching first panel. Assembly hole template on end is different on the feed access panel (#8)side-rotate end side until it matches with other end side or else panels will not fit together tightly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Forest City Models and Patterns Yimby Tumbler Composter
10/09/2013
By ,
Warrenton, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Included instructions were too little, on-line were somewhat better, but there should be provision to print the entire instructions. With a little basic mechanical skill, assembly is not difficult.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Forest City Models and Patterns Yimby Tumbler Composter

Good product, not so good assembly instructions

05/22/2013
By ,
Seattle
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The tumbler is durable, and the instructions were not clear. I had to assemble it twice, because one piece didn't fit. When I found online assembly instructions, they said to line up the middle hole on the outer pieces first...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Forest City Models and Patterns Yimby Tumbler Composter

Very happy with this composter.

05/13/2013
By ,
Ft. Worth, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first composting project and I am very happy with it. It was very easy to put together. I put it together by myself in about 30 minutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1 2 Next