Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Soda Stream SodaStream Jet Home Soda Maker Black Starter Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Soda Stream SodaStream Jet Home Soda Maker Black Starter Kit

Making carbonated water and soft drinks with the SodaStream Jet Home Soda Maker is simple! Turn tap water into sparkling water in under 30 seconds, with no clean-up. Enjoy the freshness and convenience of homemade soda and protect the environment at the same time. No heavy bottles to carry, store at home or throw away. Fizz to your taste and add the flavor of your choice to make your favorite drink. Simple to clean and reuse. With a variety of colors and silhouettes, you'll be sure to find a soda maker to match with any decor. The SodaStream Jet Home Soda Maker Starter Kit includes everything you need to make great tasting soda in your own home.
Average Customer Rating:
3.889 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation83%15 out of 18reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for SodaStream Jet Home Soda Maker Black Starter Kit

Very Good Home Soda Maker System!

08/03/2012
By ,
Raleigh NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the Sodastream home soda making kit because I like sodas. The starter kit came with everything needed to make sodas out of the box. There are so many flavors of syrup that I can make sodas anytime without having to store soda cans or bottles in my pantry.
I had trouble screwing in a full bottle of cold water into the carbonation cap head because I had to hold the carbonation cap head tab with one hand while screwing the full bottle of water into the carbonation cap head with the other hand. That is hard to do! But I finally worked out a way to attach the bottle easily and got the carbonation done.
It would be nice if the tab that angles the carbonator cap out would temporarily lock in the out-angled position so the full water bottle can be tightly screwed into the carbonation cap head with both hands. After the bottle is tight, press the carbonator head tab again to release the bottle to a vertical position so that the water can be carbonated.
Overall this purchase was a good choice and I am completely happy with the resulting carbonated drinks I have enjoyed! Very good product!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Review 2 for SodaStream Jet Home Soda Maker Black Starter Kit

WILL NEVER BUY POP AGAIN!

06/16/2012
By ,
mount sterling ky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my husband for fathers day. We decided to try it out. I really was hesitant on buying this because it costs a lot to get started. The cola was the first we tried its was a little flat so I'm thinking we didn't put enough in it. But orange tastes just like Sunkist. only reason I'm giving a 4 is i have only tried a few flavors. I cant wait to try the water. I would tell anyone if you are thinking about buying this get it. I just wished i would of bought more flavors...guess that means a trip to walmart tomorrow!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+68points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
California
You control the fizz & flavor!
Posted 06/26/2012
The great thing about this system is that you control the amount of carbonation & sweetness. The instructions recommend pumping the button on top for 3 loud buzzes for average fizz, but I love mine super fizzy & keep going for 5 buzzes. I also love to mix flavors together. Combining orange & cream soda syrups makes a creamsicle! FANTASTIC!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for SodaStream Jet Home Soda Maker Black Starter Kit

Wish I had researched..

06/23/2012
By ,
Florence, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the Sodastream, enjoy the flavors but I didn't look into the CO2 cartridge replacement system before I bought it. There are no exchange centers near me, so I have to get them through the mfg. website which is more costly than I thought but still worth it. They recommend having 3 carbonators on hand and you have to exchange at least one, but will only send at least 2. All Im saying is check that out first..
If you have anyone in your home that drinks a lot of energy drinks you know how expensive they are. So I would really recommend the energy drink flavors they not only taste name brand but they work too.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+40points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
California
Coming soon....
Posted 06/26/2012
BluLou, your local Walmart in Florence will be offering exchange cylinders starting in July. Bring your used cylinder to customer service, & they will sell you a new one for $15.
+4points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for SodaStream Jet Home Soda Maker Black Starter Kit

Definitely worth it!!! I love Sodastream!!!

07/23/2012
By ,
Fort Worth
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this product recently and could not be happier! Not only does the soda taste much better than name brands, it is also MUCH healthier and does not contain all the calories and high fructose corn syrup that comes with canned sodas. I love experimenting with all the different flavor combinations...I think there are over 60 different flavors available right now. You won't be disappointed if you buy a Sodastream maker. Also makes for a great gift!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Review 5 for SodaStream Jet Home Soda Maker Black Starter Kit

Great, saves mone

07/02/2012
By ,
Pgh area
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love it and use it everyday. But directions were in two other languages. Not English
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Arkansas
English Directions
Posted 09/03/2012
Look in your manual..I think you will find the English version on page 22. We are loving our Soda Stream!!
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for SodaStream Jet Home Soda Maker Black Starter Kit

Great Product

08/23/2012
By ,
Hamilton, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is so much better than buying endless bottles of seltzer. Our recycling pile has shrunk down to nothing.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 7 for SodaStream Jet Home Soda Maker Black Starter Kit
09/01/2012
By ,
long island
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome product absolutely love the soda stream machine I love testing new flavors and so much more affordable than purchasing cans or bottles of soda prices for mixes cheap and affordable The Energy mix is the best tastes better than red bull from a can and is great for a pick me up works better than red bull to and other energy drinks, the crystal light energy is great to I love Soda Stream and would recommend it to everyone, I love the fact that Walmart has it cheaper than the soda stream company and other stores and i can get everything i need for my achine all at one place ( spare tank extra bottles and the mixes).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 8 for SodaStream Jet Home Soda Maker Black Starter Kit

LOVE THE SODA STREAM!!!!!

09/02/2012
By ,
indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love my Soda Stream very very much the only down fall is that it seems it wont last long unless you treat it like a baby to me it is made from a very easily broken plastic one fall and it will crack and break so be careful it does what it claims and i treat mine very well because I love it so much and the price i paid for it when i get enough money ill buy a better model i understand you get what you pay for with price but it should have been 40 to 50 bucks in my opinion and when you click the button to carbonate it you have to push all the way down really hard to get it to work but that isnt a big issue with me it is the duribility and i think they could have done a little better for the price is all.. BUT I LOVE IT !!! and i do reccomend it to everyone especially people trying it out like i did and if you have a low income it is perfect for you
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 9 for SodaStream Jet Home Soda Maker Black Starter Kit

Not economical - read on for the math...

10/10/2012
By ,
CT
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Let me start by saying I had one of these and it was fun... For a while - until the novelty wore off... Then you realize it's expensive and you can NEVER seem to get the bottles clean enough. Then you stop using it and it's just a waste of space...
Okay, so here's how the cost breaks down. Each cylinder makes 60 liters and each flavor bottle makes 12 liters, so you'll use 5 flavor bottles and one cylinder to make 60 liters. Lets compare that to 30 2-liter bottles from the store - also totals 60 liters.
Soda Stream
Cylinder $15 *refill/trade in existing cylinder - a new cylinder will run you $30
5 Flavors $25
Your water $Next to nothing
Total $40 *this assumes no tax or shipping
30 2-liter store bought sodas
2-liter on sale $1.00 *I stock up when it's cheap
Bottle deposit $0.05
Tax CT $0.06
Sub total $1.11 per bottle
30 bottles $33.18
SodaStream actually cost $6.82 MORE for each 60 liters you make.
When I started the calculation I planned on using the savings to figure out how long it would take to actually make it worth the purchase price of the machine, but since SodaStream actually cost MORE the only savings is trips to the store and storage space, I guess...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Never
+3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
New Boston, TX
Voice of reason
Posted 10/29/2012
Before everyone rushes out to buy this as a Christmas gift, let me also offer that if you live in an area that is shall we say less populated you may find as I did that not only can I not replace my Co2 cartridge at my nearest WM but they never heard of the Soda Maker and had to ask several emplyees before they even understood what I was inquiring about - had I bought this appliance I would have been facing a 100 mile round trip to get supplies so - pass! Not all WM stoes are up to speed - Lucky City folks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for SodaStream Jet Home Soda Maker Black Starter Kit

He loves it!

10/20/2012
By ,
Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a gift for my husband; he had been going through a lot of sodas each month, and I decided to give this a try. He was dubious at first, but after trying the different flavors, he really likes it. And I do, too, since we aren't buying and carrying around all those 24-packs of sodas all the time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 11 for SodaStream Jet Home Soda Maker Black Starter Kit

I have been wanting one of these for a long time!

10/20/2012
By ,
Portland, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this the other day and have already gone through all the samples and bought three of the refills.
After the initial cost, a one liter bottle comes out to less than 10 cents each! No buy expensive soda again! Can't wait to buy the other flavors!
My son likes the orange and the root beer and I like the diet pink grapefruit and the diet dr. pete. I also added a little grenadine syrup to the diet dr. pete and it tastes just like diet dr. pepper with cherry.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for SodaStream Jet Home Soda Maker Black Starter Kit

OK product

09/11/2012
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only had the unit for about 2 weeks. Only tried the samples that came with it. The orange and lemon lime seem to be ok. Cola takes a bit getting used to. One thing I do like is you can add extra carbonation to your drink. Also the 1 liter does not go flat before I can finish the bottle.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 13 for SodaStream Jet Home Soda Maker Black Starter Kit

not worth the price. Makes very expensive soda!

10/07/2012
By ,
Leechburg, Pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We are soda drinkers! When my husband saw this product he got excited and wanted to have it for months, but because it is pricey we couldn't afford it...he convinced me to buy it because it will cost us less on a long run, since it claims to make up to 60 liters...well, it does not make 60 liters!!!...not even 20 liters!!! and every time we have to refill the cylinder it costs $15...and you have to buy the flavorings as well for $5 so do the math please! For $20you can buy at least 20 2 Lt soda which is 40 liters, but when a 2 Lt soda is about 87 cent you can buy even more! We have it for about 3 weeks now and I'm just about to sell it on Craigslist to get rid of it! anybody wants it for $50?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-5points
Review 14 for SodaStream Jet Home Soda Maker Black Starter Kit
07/06/2012
By ,
needville,tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
we tryed the root beer,lemon-lime and orange. all the drinks that we tryed taste like diet soda....the grandkids wont drink it...save your money...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-23points
Review 15 for SodaStream Jet Home Soda Maker Black Starter Kit

Sad quality

09/27/2012
By ,
DFW, Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great idea, but the buzzer for telling you that you have injected enough CO2 does not work correctly. The unit is all plastic. I had hoped for better. But I do like the idea that you can carbonate your own drinks. At least there is a Walmart nearby for the replacement of the CO2 cartridge. Overall this beats schlepping colas home from the store each week.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for SodaStream Jet Home Soda Maker Black Starter Kit
09/16/2012
By ,
Pomeroy, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The directions on not very good for adding the co2 to the water. You need to hold down on the button until you get 3 blasts of co2 for a lot of fizz do this until the gas releases itself from your bottle, let the carbonated water sit for a little bit before pouring in the syrup or it will overflow.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for SodaStream Jet Home Soda Maker Black Starter Kit
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5